OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

BEST FAMILY VALUE ON UPPER EAST SIDE. ONLY STEPS FROM CENTRAL PARK. - 1 BEDROOM SUITE C

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Property

Updated: 30-Aug-2016
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Description

1 BEDROOM SUITE C

ALL WINDOWS FACE AVENUE. THIS UNIT MAY BE COMBINED INTERNALLY WITH ONE BEDROOM SUITE B.


About the property

OXBRIDGE CARNEGIE HILL

Don't miss this rare opportunity to live like a New Yorker in 'Carnegie Hill' one of Manhattan's most prestigious neighborhoods. stroll down famous 5th avenue along Central Park to visit many major museums. Dine and shop on ultra chic Madison Avenue. Easy access to city subways and buses.

Small 5 story brownstone with suites above and pharmacy below. All units completely renovated in 1999 to our specifications. Security system bell, intercom & buzzer.. Double glazed windows, central heating and window air conditioners. One Bedroom suites are 2 flights up from street. Two Bedroom suites are 3 flights up from street. There is no elevator (lift).

Check in - After 15:00.

Check out - Before 10:00

Early check in or late check out subject to availability and additional cost. Prior written authorization required.

All units are non smoking.

Registered Guest must be at least 25 years old.

This property does not have any luggage storage facilities.

We turn over units clean and provide the following items:

1 set of towels per guest

1 set of bed clothes per bed in use

Initial supply of soap (dish, hand and bath bar)

Initial supply of toilet tissue

Rubbish bags

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Douglas Cooper, Managing Director Oxbridge Properrty Services
Member since: 2002
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Italian, Dutch, Swedish, Czech, Danish, Norwegian, Polish, Hungarian, Arabic, Finnish, Turkish, Mandarin
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
30 August, 2016

Guestbook comments from the manager

Great location and atmosphere – you almost expect to see the cast of Seinfeld waiting at your front door each time you venture out!



The apartment is well presented and clean. And while you have a kitchen, you are probably unlikely to use it as there is a great selection of food outlets and restaurants all around you...and a nice little wine shop just further along Madison Avenue (between 96th and 95th Streets).



Proximity to Central Park and the ‘Museums Strip’ is an added bonus – all within easy walking distance (Central Park is only one block over). Also, it is just a short walk to the Subway Station (two blocks), and there is a very good bus service.



The apartment is up a couple of flights of stairs, so you will need to have enough puff left after your travels in order to carry your bags up – however, once you get inside it will have all been worthwhile. And sure there is a little bit of street noise – but hey, this is the city that never sleeps!



Another plus was the ease of booking online, and the helpful interaction with Douglas the Manager. This was our first trip to New York: the people were nice and friendly, the weather was kind, and the accommodation was just the icing on the cake.



Thanks



Mark
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Guestbook comments from the manager

Great location and atmosphere – you almost expect to see the cast of Seinfeld waiting at your front door each time you venture out!



The apartment is well presented and clean. And while you have a kitchen, you are probably unlikely to use it as there is a great selection of food outlets and restaurants all around you...and a nice little wine shop just further along Madison Avenue (between 96th and 95th Streets).



Proximity to Central Park and the ‘Museums Strip’ is an added bonus – all within easy walking distance (Central Park is only one block over). Also, it is just a short walk to the Subway Station (two blocks), and there is a very good bus service.



The apartment is up a couple of flights of stairs, so you will need to have enough puff left after your travels in order to carry your bags up – however, once you get inside it will have all been worthwhile. And sure there is a little bit of street noise – but hey, this is the city that never sleeps!



Another plus was the ease of booking online, and the helpful interaction with Douglas the Manager. This was our first trip to New York: the people were nice and friendly, the weather was kind, and the accommodation was just the icing on the cake.



Thanks



Mark
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

FOR MONTHLY CUSTOMERS THE REFUNDABLE DAMAGE DEPOSIT WILL BE $500 - $1500 DEPENDING ON THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE IN THE RENTAL PARTY AND THEIR QUALIFICATIONS. THERE IS A $150 MONTHLY CLEANING FEE.

28 Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

4

Great apartment with all necessary requirements

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay in our Upper East Side Apartment. All necessary requirements for a comfortable stay, close enough to tube stop, although we enjoyed the walk through Central Park into the tourist spots. Nice to stay in an apartment instead of a small hotel room, small grocery stores not too far away for shopping for necessities. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this accommodation even though it is not right in the main hub area.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Received with pleasure!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Ripp off property

  • 2 of 5

The owners of this property are not the most friendly hosts.They will charge you extortionate fees to leave your luggage over the allotted time even if the property is empty.they will also leave you waiting weeks for the return of your deposit.This place is not a good advert for owners direct.Awful people-would never use this again

  • Review Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A full refund of this Guest's security deposit was issued to her HomeAway (Owner's Direct) online account 17 days after departure. As Owner's are never provided with Guest credit card details it is then up to HomeAway to credit their cards. Our published check out time is 10:00. Furthermore we offer complimentary luggage storage until 12:00. A couple of days prior to departure This Guest inquired as to the possibility of storing luggage after 12:00. We offered to do so at additional cost and also informed her that such services were available from other independent vendors. Although under no obligation to accept our offer the Guest did so with thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good value, good position

  • 4 of 5

The apartment (we were in A, not C!) in Madison Ave, was in a great position and we loved being so close to Central Park. Lots of little restaurants and food shops close by, and subway station not too far away. Close to 5th Ave "Museum Mile" was a real bonus for us as well.

Don't expect any sort of view from the apartment, unless you really like brick walls and rusty fire escapes. It's quite dark - lights on all the time - but clean and well equipped. No complaints!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stay away

  • 1 of 5

The landlord, investment firm, unsympathetic to say the least

Back us return fee excuse no sense

Appartment very noisy, lots of stairs but well equipped should be noted.

We recommended home away that the site be removed from advertising so as not to harm others.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest rented two adjoining apartments for their stay in New York City. On the day of check-out, their packed luggage was not retrieved until more than 2 hours after check-out time, forcing a member of our staff to wait hours for this party to retrieve their luggage and do the final inspection prior to the next guests arrival in less than one hour. We reached out to this guest via email regarding this problem and they claimed that their luggage had been picked up already which was clearly not the case. Moreover, during their stay the housekeeper reported that all the clean towels and bath mats in the storage closet needed for the change-over, had been removed and used by these guests, forcing the housekeeper to spend several hours doing an emergency load of laundry. In addition, when this party returned shortly before check-in to retrieve their luggage, they used the facilities and bathroom which required the housekeeper to do a second cleaning of the bathroom and floors in both apartments. We sent an email to this party advising them that they had violated our stated policies and that they would incur an additional night's cost as a result. The remaining portion of their security deposit was refunded to this party. Please note the following correspondence with guest: 1. Security Deposit Deductions - Failure to surrender premises by noon on day of departure and Second cleaning fee for use of facilities after 10:00 on day of departure 2. Please be advised that when I returned to the apartment yesterday at 14:00 to make sure you had removed your personal property I found the bathroom door open. I left it closed when I left at 13:25. This indicated that you used the bathroom after it had been cleaned for the guest checking in at 15:00. This was also unauthorized under the terms of our complimentary offer to store luggage until noon. This left us no alternative but to call our house keeping staff to return to the apartment in order to clean it again for the second time in one day. 3. Your claim that you finally checked out at 13:13 today is not correct. I was on the premises waiting for you until 13:25. 4. Please note that you were not authorized to check out later than 12:00.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

We had an amazing stay in the 2 bedroom apartment

  • 4 of 5

This property was an oasis! Although it was hard to face the stairs each night, the five of us were delighted with the quality of furnishings, wifi, well equipped kitchen and great shower. The beds were all a bit firm but having the ability to sleep up to 9 people allowed us all to have our own beds. Location was great, close to Central Park, downtown buses and subway. There was a lovely restaurant/bar next door where we had a number of meals and evening drinks - Tre OTTO. The streets are clean and the locals friendly. Douglas also left extra sets of keys for us which was greatly appreciated. Key pick up was simple in a cab as instructed. I would totally recommend this property to others and would return again. Thanks Douglas!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Received with pleasure.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our stay at Oxbridge

  • 5 of 5

Apartment exactly as described. Very well maintained and easy process to get the keys. Information provided in due time on key pickup and we loved you don't have to drop off the keys but rather just shut the door behind you :). Subway very close although we walked for the most part.

Wi-Fi is a bit slow.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Received with pleasure. Will look into WiFi (our router is 300 mbs!). Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : LGA at 10 Miles Nearest Barpub : Fox & Fiddle Nearest Ferry : Staten island ferry at 5 Miles Nearest Train : SUBWAY #6 STATION EAST 96 ST & LEXINGTON AVENUE at 0.25 Miles Nearest Restaurant : LE PAIN QUOTIDIEN Nearest Beach : at 15 Miles Car: not necessary

LOCATED ON MADISON AVENUE IN THE PRESTIGIOUS UPPER EAST SIDE RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD CALLED CARNEGIE HILL. AROUND THE CORNER IS CENTRAL PARK, THE FAMOUS SECTION OF FIFTH AVENUE CALLED MUSEUM MILE AND THE NYC MARATHON ROUTE. MOUNT SINAI HOSPITAL IS NEXT DOOR. SUBWAY AND BUS STOPS CLOSE BY.

REACH TIMES SQUARE IN UNDER 15 MIN BY BUS OR SUBWAY

WALK TO RESTAURANTS, CAFES, BOUTIQUE SHOPING

GOURMET GARAGE SUPERMARKET AND TOUR BUS STOP. LE PAIN QUOTIDIEN IS RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET.

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • CD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • city centre

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • roller blading
  • tennis

Floor Area

  • 51 m²

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom - Toilet, Bath with Shower, EN SUITE
  • HAIR DRYER PROVIDED

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • THIS UNIT HAS A DOUBLE FUTON IN THE LIVING ROOM.

Meals

  • Self-catering

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot