OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Rose Street - A Charming City Centre 1 Bedroom Apartment

Overview

Property

Updated: 22-Apr-2017
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

A wonderful, centrally located flat a one minute walk from Princes Street

This one bedroom apartment is located on Rose Street, which runs between Princes Street and George Street and can therefore boast a superb position in the very centre of Scotland's capital.

The apartment is on the first floor of a traditional building that was built around 1790. It is rated 3 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board and can accommodate 2 people very comfortably although this can be increased to accommodate 4 people by using the sofa-bed in the living room. The lovely sitting room has a 26 inch, wall-mounted, LCD TV which has multiple digital channels. There is a DVD player and hi-fi system (with DAB radio channels). This room also benefits from a remote controlled living-flame gas fire. The fully fitted, eat-in kitchen has quality appliances and includes a dishwasher and washer/dryer. The shower room has a mains power shower and the double bedroom has a large fitted wardrobe. Wifi internet access is provided.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Francois
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2017

26 Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

4

Very comfortable

  • 4 of 5

Nice and cosy for a winter stay, but noisy. Needs more sound insulation on windows. Well supplied and comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not that charming !!!

  • 1 of 5

Although booking the place in advance, it wasn't until we we we're 30 mins away, that we had the entry information. On entry the place stinks, and the next morning all was apparent. The hog roast shop underneath!! Location is good, but we were out enjoying Edinburgh. On arrival, looks good (apart from the smell). But on closer inspection needs updating and a clean wouldn't go a miss. Shower broken, dirty tissues under the bed and blood on the mattress protector etc......need I say more!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I was not aware that the shower bracket was broken and only noticed this after your stay so I thought it had been broken during your stay. As it happens we had already programmed in a shower room refurbishment for March 2017 so we will soon be posting new photos once the work is complete. The hog roast shop downstairs has been operating for about 2 years and this is the first really negative comment we have received about it. We have repeat guests a lot of the time so it does not seem to affect everyone the same way. At certain times the smell is stronger than I personally like so work on this front had also been planned. In these old buildings the floors do have some gaps in them which obviously allows smells to come through so we will be sealing the floors throughout at the same time we are refurbishing the shower room. It is a shame your visit could not have been after these works as I'm sure you would have a more enjoyable stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean but petit

  • 4 of 5

Stayed for a 3 night stay Thursday to Sunday in November.

Plus points:- Location, Rose Street is great for access to the Newtown, Rail, Tram & bus services & is a short walk(uphill) to the Old Town. Excellent value for money, clean, tidy, all the mod cons.

Negatives:- Not really a negative just a personal preference, the flat, especially the bedroom is on the small side but as we were out and about didn't really become an issue, possibly would for a longer stay, but you have to factor in whether you wish to pay circa 50% more for a bit more room for a similar location.

I certainly would return again & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to others.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent sejour, bel appartement, très bien situé. Merci François!

  • 5 of 5

C'est la deuxième fois que nous avons séjourné sous la gestion de François à Edinburgh, il fera au-delà du maximum pour vous aider, nous avons eu un problème de changement de vols et il nous a sauvés.

L'appartement est Idéalement situé au centre-ville sur une rue piétonne, animée la journée et très calme la nuit et la soirée, tout est à proximité: la gare, le tramway, les bus y compris le bus de l'aéroport, les commerces, les restaurants, pubs, vous pouvez le voir sur google maps.

L'appartement est très confortable et bien équipé, l'on trouve tout ce dont on a besoin, tout est prévu pour faciliter le quotidien. Exactement comme il est dans les photos.

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour dans cet appartement. Nous y retournerions et nous le recommandons à nos amis.

Un grand merci François.

Thanks Francois - see you next time !

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location Can Be Good and Bad

  • 3 of 5

Amazing location for restaurants, pubs, shopping and getting just about anywhere in the city. Nice little apartment, loaded with everything you'll need and a very friendly, informative host. With that said, the downside of being surrounded by many pubs etc is the street noise. Extremely loud! Expect to be woken up several times a night. At one point the neighbour above actually screamed out the window for people to shut up on the street....which is funny since they were yelling in the hallway waking us at 3am just the night before. If you're looking for a party trip or you're a heavy sleeper, this place is perfect. If you're like us where you enjoy the pubs and having some drinks but want to return from vacation well rested, this is not recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful place to stay and from which one can explore much of Edinburgh.

  • 5 of 5

An easeful location and a wonderful host.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : at 12 Kilometres Nearest Train : at 1 Kilometres Car: not necessary

The flat is located on Rose Street which runs parallel to both Princes Street and George Street making it a superb base from which to explore the city. You are just a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station on Princes Street so it's easy to arrive by train into the city. A host of shops, bars and restaurants are right on your doorstep so much so the only problem you'll have is trying to decide where to go and how to fit it in during your stay.

Other Activities: Shopping and dining out

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring High
19 Mar 2017 - 29 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£249
for 3 nights
From
£83
£405
 
 
Summer
30 Apr 2017 - 17 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£276
for 3 nights
From
£92
£460
 
 
Summer High
18 Jun 2017 - 3 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£309
for 3 nights
From
£103
£510
 
 
Festival
4 Aug 2017 - 28 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£820
for 7 nights
£820
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rates vary due to the number of people staying and over Bank holidays, major sporting events and other special occasions. Please contact us with your precise dates for an accurate price.
Discounts are available for last minute bookings and longer stays.
Credit/debit cards accepted (2% charge)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 22-Apr-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television

Location Type

  • city centre

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon, Double sofa bed

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot