OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Rose Street - A Charming City Centre 1 Bedroom Apartment

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet

Overview

About the property

A wonderful, centrally located flat a one minute walk from Princes Street

This one bedroom apartment is located on Rose Street, which runs between Princes Street and George Street and can therefore boast a superb position in the very centre of Scotland's capital.

The apartment is on the first floor of a traditional building that was built around 1790. It is rated 3 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board and can accommodate 2 people very comfortably although this can be increased to accommodate 4 people by using the sofa-bed in the living room. The lovely sitting room has a 26 inch, wall-mounted, LCD TV which has multiple digital channels. There is a DVD player and hi-fi system (with DAB radio channels). This room also benefits from a remote controlled living-flame gas fire. The fully fitted, eat-in kitchen has quality appliances and includes a dishwasher and washer/dryer. The shower room has a mains power shower and the double bedroom has a large fitted wardrobe. Wifi internet access is provided.


Property Manager
Francois
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in New Town in Stockbridge

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Double sofa bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

48% Complete
38% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Rose Street - A Charming City Centre 1 Bedroom Apartment
average rating of 4.290323 based on 31 reviews
5

Central, cosy and clean. Suggested!

  • 5 of 5

Very good option to stay in the city centre of Edinburgh. Lots of shops and restaurants just around the corner; the rent is well balanced with the offer.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, close to everything

  • 4 of 5

Well equipped, we were inept with the appliances; had to get out the manuals. Thanks for providing those!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning

  • 5 of 5

The best location in Edinburgh.....The flat was clean and very nice ....Me and my friends we really enjoyed our stay .....I'm pretty sure I will come back...Thank you very much Francois

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very comfortable

  • 4 of 5

Nice and cosy for a winter stay, but noisy. Needs more sound insulation on windows. Well supplied and comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not that charming !!!

  • 1 of 5

Although booking the place in advance, it wasn't until we we we're 30 mins away, that we had the entry information. On entry the place stinks, and the next morning all was apparent. The hog roast shop underneath!! Location is good, but we were out enjoying Edinburgh. On arrival, looks good (apart from the smell). But on closer inspection needs updating and a clean wouldn't go a miss. Shower broken, dirty tissues under the bed and blood on the mattress protector etc......need I say more!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I was not aware that the shower bracket was broken and only noticed this after your stay so I thought it had been broken during your stay. As it happens we had already programmed in a shower room refurbishment for March 2017 so we will soon be posting new photos once the work is complete. The hog roast shop downstairs has been operating for about 2 years and this is the first really negative comment we have received about it. We have repeat guests a lot of the time so it does not seem to affect everyone the same way. At certain times the smell is stronger than I personally like so work on this front had also been planned. In these old buildings the floors do have some gaps in them which obviously allows smells to come through so we will be sealing the floors throughout at the same time we are refurbishing the shower room. It is a shame your visit could not have been after these works as I'm sure you would have a more enjoyable stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean but petit

  • 4 of 5

Stayed for a 3 night stay Thursday to Sunday in November.

Plus points:- Location, Rose Street is great for access to the Newtown, Rail, Tram & bus services & is a short walk(uphill) to the Old Town. Excellent value for money, clean, tidy, all the mod cons.

Negatives:- Not really a negative just a personal preference, the flat, especially the bedroom is on the small side but as we were out and about didn't really become an issue, possibly would for a longer stay, but you have to factor in whether you wish to pay circa 50% more for a bit more room for a similar location.

I certainly would return again & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to others.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: not necessary

The flat is located on Rose Street which runs parallel to both Princes Street and George Street making it a superb base from which to explore the city. You are just a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station on Princes Street so it's easy to arrive by train into the city. A host of shops, bars and restaurants are right on your doorstep so much so the only problem you'll have is trying to decide where to go and how to fit it in during your stay.

Other Activities: Shopping and dining out

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in New Town, Edinburgh and Lothians

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Festival
4 Aug 2017 - 28 Aug 2017
5 night minimum stay
£610
for 5 nights
From
£122
£790
 
 
Summer Low
29 Aug 2017 - 16 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£309
for 3 nights
From
£103
£490
 
 
Autum
17 Sep 2017 - 4 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£430
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rates vary due to the number of people staying and over Bank holidays, major sporting events and other special occasions. Please contact us with your precise dates for an accurate price.
Discounts are available for last minute bookings and longer stays.
Credit/debit cards accepted (2% charge)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable