OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Oceanfront Villa situated on the white sand beach ***NEW: A/C IN BEDROOMS!!***

Bedrooms 2
Space 3,229 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Private beach area with ocean access,1 double bed, 2 singles and 2 double sofas


Is a Mayan word, which means “house of the north” and which describes with precision the place where this picturesque villa is, framed by a tropical panorama with turquoise greenish colored seawater and soft, fine and very white sand on the northwest coast of the State of Yucatan.

Villa Xaman-Nah is an enchanting villa, which preserves the construction style of the ancient inhabitants of this region as a form of respect to the culture that our Mayas tried to communicate to the present generations. Stucco, stone and wood are an essential part of the construction of this villa, which was redone not long ago to offer you comfort and the necessary facilities for a perfect vacation without forgetting the ancestral magical touch, which we try to transmit. Due to its privileged location inside the Ria Lagartos National Park, Villa Xaman-Nah offers everything you always dreamed about magical and unforgettable vacations surrounded by natural beauty. Nature and relaxation!

Fishing: The extraordinary marine life around El Cuyo presents a mysterious world of adventures. This is the reason why fishing is one of the activities most exciting and relaxing here. El Cuyo has a great diversity of fish. At depths up to 20 to 25 feet (6 meters) you will find Mero (Grouper), Canane, Pargo, colored and white Corvina, red Snaper, Chac Chi, Robalo (Snook), Sabalo (Tarpon), Jurel, Cojinuda, Ronco, Macabi, Bagre (Catfish) and Barracuda among others... In only 20 minutes your boat can be at fishing depth, easily in sight of the nearby shore.The fish you catch varyes from 1 to 4 pounds.

If you're looking for something more exciting, you can go out to a depth of 90 feet, approximately an hour by boat. At this depth you'll be able to catch fish from 2 to 20 pounds or more. Here you'll find Meros (Grouper), Pargos, Mojarras, Negrillos, Esmedregal, Carito, Bonito, Barrilito and Jurel among others.

Spectacular walks along the beach: Walking over water seems to be possible in El Cuyo beaches. Try gathering seashells in the morning between 8 AM and 9 AM when the sun is not as strong. Many different kinds of all colors, shapes, and sizes can be found beyond the town pier and boat landing. Here you'll often be the only ones on the beach.

At night you can stroll the beach and admire the stars. With luck you may spot a turtle laying eggs. Always carry a flashlight to capture these moments. Do not touch, only observe. Don't be surprised if at night you see a four-wheeler on the beach. Personnel drive it from SEMARNAT (Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources of Mexico) who are watching for turtle nests and protecting the environment. Fires on the beach are not permitted at night as they disorient the turtles when they come to lay their eggs. Respect this magic moment of the nature and alone observe being grateful for the opportunity of this meeting with a real miracle of the life....

Excursion to Isla Holbox: It is the most northern isle in Yucatan Peninsula. Home to the rare sea turtle and a whale-shark observation site. The many shades of the waters graze at the quiet, sugar-like beaches of Holbox. You're able to go to Isla Holbox on a day tour. Visiting this beautiful island takes less than an hour, and you're able to enjoy the trip by launch, admiring the coastal scenery and having a refreshment and snack along the way. Before arriving to Holbox Island, you can stop at the Yalahao lagoon. This amazing place can be reached by boat from El Cuyo bordering on the coast. Yalahao lagoon opens up as a flower and fruit garden surrounded by mangroves, on one brink, lays a water spring that gives the place a unique characteristic. Dolphins, as well as flamingoes come to this place to frisk in these waters. From April to October flamingoes satiate their hunger with the many fish that dwell here.

More Details

Property Manager
Maria Motta de Beck
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, German, Spanish, Spanish and German
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 July, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hi Marilu,

I am the person who came with Sarah Moody to the glorious Villa Xaman-nah

this past week. I just want to tell you how much we enjoyed our visit, due

to the place itself, of course, but also because of the warmth and

generosity of Iraide, Gaby, Beudi, Cleybert, and your wonderful son, Bryan.

What a sweet young man he is! He, Beudi, and their friend Gustavo took us

to view the flamingos, and they were so patient and thoughtful with us, and

wonderful guides. They were all so respectful of the environment and took a

lot of pleasure in sharing this place that they love. I like to think Bryan

enjoyed trying out his English with us, too. He is a real delight.

El Cuyo, la familia Pacheco, and your son have captured our hearts. I only

wish we could have met you, too. Bryan told us you had broken your leg -- I

hope you are well on the mend.

Warm regards from Albuquerque...

Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in El Cuyo, Mexico

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3229 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • waterfront
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom with shower, hot and cold water. Bed and bath linens provided and beach towels. Full time maintenance man. Soap and shampoo and conditioner provided.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , sleep 3
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , sleep 1
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , sleep 2
  • ***** NEW AMENITY: A/C IN BEDROOMS FOR OUR GUESTS ENJOYMENT!!!! ***** Ceiling fans in every room, one double bed, two singles beds and two double sofa beds, mosquito screens, bed and bath linens provided, maid service upon request (extra fee applies)
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
  • caves
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
A/C IN BEDROOMS!!!!!! Ceiling fans in every room. Private beach area with ocean access. Terrace with porch and solarium. Double kayak. T.V. with cable local system. D.V.D. with more than 70 premier movies for kids and adults. One double bed, two singles beds and two double sofa bed. Hammocks and armchairs. Mosquito screens. Bathroom with shower, hot and cold water Fully equipped kitchen including microwave oven. Cook available upon request. Extra fee applies. BBQ grill. Stereo and Cd's Full time maintenance man. Bed and bath linens. Beach towels. Magazines for kids and adults. Purified drinking water provided. Please –no smoking inside of the villa.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
6% Complete
12% Complete
6% Complete
12% Complete
Oceanfront Villa situated on the white sand beach ***NEW: A/C IN BEDROOMS!!***
average rating of 4.0 based on 17 reviews

Just returned home

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned home from 3 weeks in Mexico and spent three nights at Villa Xaman-ha. The accomodation was great and having the wild beach on our doorstep was fantastic. Don;t expect luxury but the lovely house is full of charm and the manager and his wife extremely helpful; they made us very welcome.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Feb-2011
  • Date of Stay: February 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank so much for taking the time to review our charming Villa. We're always very happy if we have the opportunity to serve such a nice people like you and your family at our home in our little piece of paradise in El Cuyo. We hope to see you again very soon. Best and special regards also from Iraide and Gaby, our caretaker and maid. Kindly, Marilu
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3

Looks better in the picture!

  • 1 of 5

The villa´s location on the beach is great. The care taker very nice and always willing to help and do errands. The super uncomfortable kitchen since it does not have a decent stove since it was staying above of the knees and it was necessary to bend for cooking. Ther was a terrible smell of gas all the time and it was not possible to open the window why it had no mosquito net and there were thousand flies, so we could not open it! old kitchen tools also and the new few ones that existed were of bad quality and don´t work properly. The bath had a wash-basin with conches and snails, it was not possible to put anything above and if you were trying to wash your face you were colliding with the immense snail where it was going out it waters down; almost there was not going out water of the shower, the shower´s curtin too short and the whole bath was wetted.

In the rooms there were neither bedspreads or blanquets, only blanquets and in this time of the is a bit cold and humed.

pets are not accepted and in the villa but the other villa had a dog and it was barking all the time, in addition to the town´s dogs t were all the time there. the wooden windows were inflated and it was costing

a lot of work to open them and to close them, others one could never.

There is no container to empty the trashcans and it was necessary to leave them practically in the street and the animals were breaking the bags!

We had opportunity to visit other towns on the beach and they were in better conditions and some of the with better rates. In the whole interior of the villa there are cables of current of light.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Patricia, Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. I understand that it is too difficult to keep good memories of a stay with a lot of family and personal problems during your Holidays. Anyway we will take into consideration your comments and we will look forward for your next visit in El Cuyo. Sincerely, Marilu
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Simple, back to nature hideaway!

  • 4 of 5

(We are a British family of 5 - with 17 and 14 year old boys and a 10 year old girl)

El Cuyo beach is stunning, a strip of endless white sand where the sun rises and sets at opposite ends of turquoise waters. The villa is simple but has everything you need, from hot water showers, to a hammock on the porch with an ocean view and air con in the two spacious bedrooms. If you like peace and quiet, long walks by the sea, time to think and reconnect with your loved ones, or just yourself, then this could be the place for you. If you like luxury and/ or all the trappings of your life at home like wifi, bars and restaurants, shops, a fully equipped kitchen, etc, etc. it's probably not the place for you. This is simple living, bare foot and back to nature. On our first morning we watched the sun rise as dolphins leaped and dived in front of the villa, over the next few days we watched all sorts of gorgeous birds visit the palm trees around the property, there are flamingos in the lagoon, frigate birds flying overhead, pelicans skimming the water and lizards darting in and out of the rocks and plants. I loved every minute....but my teenage boys....well they were less impressed! It's a long way from anywhere, a two hour round trip to the nearest supermarket, really no nightlife to speak of, theres a shop where for 10 pesos you can spend a frustrating hour trying to get onto the internet - an hour of your life you will feel you have wasted! If you have teenagers or kids who want more than a swim and a bucket and spade you may only want to spend around

5 days here, if you are a stressed out adult in need of some R and R then this could be exactly what you are looking for and two weeks in El Cuyo would be amazing. Be aware, however long you decide to stay, that's it's around 3 and a half hours to drive there from Cancun, an hour to Tizimin where the nearest supermarket is for supplies, Chichen Itza is an hour and three quarters away....so yes El Cuyo is definitely off the beaten track! Beudi the caretaker is a lovely person, very kind and helpful, but be aware, he really does only speak Spanish ( but does his very best to communicate with you whatever language you speak). For the best of both worlds you could do what we ended up doing, one week in El Cuyo and one week in Akumal....you may find, like us, that after a week of blissful decompression in a natural paradise and a week in holiday makers heaven on the Rivera Maya, you have had the perfect holiday!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our Villa in El Cuyo, Yucatan. It was our pleasure to serve you. We were delighted to read your review and were happy that our beach at so nice, ecological, peaceful and quiet location met with your expectations. We know that for being an ecological place surrounded only by the nature immerse in a Biosphere Reserve with many technological and accommodation limitations could result in a frustrating experience for guests who are looking for the same facilities as they have at home, as you described so well. So it is our goal to get the most improvements we can do despite the limitations of the area either by lack of technology or the remoteness of the place. I have shared also your nice feedback with the entire team at Villa Kokobeach in Akumal, our luxury place to stay at the Maya Riviera and we would like to thank you for supporting us at that place as well. We look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to El Cuyo or Akumal or both in the future. It is from feedbacks such as yours, that we are able to improve our services and we will address these matters to ensure that we are meeting our guests’ expectations in future. Thank you once again for being our guest and please feel free to contact us when you decide to come and stay with us again. We will be glad to welcome you to Villa Xaman-Nah or Villa Kokobeach in the near future. Yours sincerely, Marilu
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Beautiful Location; Let down by Owner.

  • 3 of 5

El Cuyo is the perfect fisherman's village and beach to get away and experience real Mexcio--our plan for February 8-March 9. We were looking forward to leave LA behind to work & relax from a more peaceful location.

We arrived after dark on the 8th to a sparkling clean, lit, and breezy beach house complete w/ crib w/ mosquito net for our baby (thank you for going out of your way to get this!!) The onsite manager met us and helped us get settled however we were surprised to find the internet connection to be a USB key, meaning we couldn't connect our three smartphones and two iPads at all--bad news for my husband who was needing to take care of some work immediately.

We contacted the owner, Marilu, to see what solution she could offer. She was so enthusiastic, sweet and accommodating in all her emails regarding our booking that I figured we would find an easy solution. Instead, we were told she never promised wifi only a very good internet connection, we had to sign the rental agreement right then or leave, we could move to her other luxury house with wifi in Akumal but it was $900 per night and we probably didn't have the money, etc. Marilu didn't listen (literally, I had to ask her several times to find a solution with me instead of defending her stance) and, with nowhere else to go and $2400 at stake, we signed the agreement and decided to resolve the problem with the kind, humble and helpful local manager, Beudi.

In short, I never got the USB to function in my MacBook Air, even after over an hour of updating and installing things to make it work so we went to the local pharmacy every day to use the internet (a great local experience if you don't have to get a lot of work done!) With no internet connection in the house the other issues seemed a bit greater--electricity going out, cable TV not working, no radio/stereo--for a few days or a week, no problem, but for 5 weeks as an alternate home, not ok. We asked about getting wifi installed (it would only take one day) or moving to another one of Marilu's properties with wifi at no additional cost, but after a week of no response from her by phone or email, we decided to leave on the 16th. Spoke to her that morning by phone and was called a liar and hung up on after 10 mins of accusations. No word from her since, no $ back, no apology, no solution. Just us scrambling to find places to stay, moving baby, MIL and bags from hotel to hotel for 1 month during high season....)-:

  • Review Submitted: 02-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: February 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry for the technical inconveniences you may have faced, but Wifi connections were never offered or published, neither promised, having also clarified that being in an ecological reserve the scope of internet is good but limited. At your arrival our on site manager provided you with a Modem USB device and he stated that you were able to connect since he helped in this task. Worth to mention also are additional efforts done to please another requirements requested by you at arrival to our on site manager, so a little bit surprised about comments on cable TV, radio / stereo, which were working well. We always recommend our guests that El Cuyo is a place to disconnect from world, enjoy nature and simple life and have a relaxing and energizing time, since it is immersed in a Biosphere Reserve and therefore with some tech-limitations. Obviously this also is reflected in more accesible prices and If you are really seeking to move your office, El Cuyo is not the right place to do this. Just at the neighbor house family members of you is enjoying a beautiful time with us. We are sorry that your expectations were not met.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Very Unsatisfactory Experience

  • 1 of 5

I would like to preface the following by saying that my husband and I are good travelers and not overly fussy. We speak Spanish and have traveled throughout Mexico and have spent time in many small towns, frequently renting little cottages where we can unwind and live simply. We are accustomed to the small inconveniences of these places and generally feel the benefits outweigh the quirks. However, we found this VRBO ad very inaccurate.

To begin with, El Cuyo is actually at least 3 hours from Cancun and more than that if one is driving from the airport, driving the speed limit or if you are traveling at night. When we arrived at the villa, no one was there to give us the keys. The house was completely closed, the windows were shuttered and barred. There was no furniture on the patio, no hammocks, etc. It was clearly not prepared for our arrival. After waiting for a bit we drove back into town to see if we could find anyone who might know where to find the caretaker. A police officer had to help us find him. After letting us in he said he would be back in the morning to put out all of the outdoor furniture and do other things. When we got in the place was not ready for guests. Besides being closed with all of the windows barred there was no drinking water. The hot water was not functional. The bed had no sheets or blankets and we could find no extra bedding anywhere in the house. The house was dusty, with lots of cobwebs and a dirty, stained cover on the sofa.

In the morning we procured our own drinking water. I looked around the house and could find no maps or restaurant guides or many of the other things listed. There was no information about the Wifi connection either. When the caretaker finally came over at noon to put out the outdoor furniture we asked about the wifi and we were told the house had none and there was no access in town.

With no wifi, no landline and no cell phone service we were unable to contact anyone regarding these issues. We left 2 days into our 8 day stay. As soon as we were settled into a more comfortable, clean and well equipped rental we sent a very polite email to the owner describing our experience. She refuted all of our claims although she had not personally inspected the property. She refused to acknowledge that anything was wrong, basically told us we were falsely making claims because we didn't like the town/weather (both of which were fine) and refused to give us even a partial refund.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Feb-2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sad about your comments and that you left the property without any notice after 2 days of stay. Our associate on place confirmed that offered amenities were available for you and your party at the Villa, which was clean and all items provided in perfect working. Regretfully you left the place without any notice to our manager on site, not allowing us any opportunity to address and fix any inconveniences or needs you could have had. He is in permanent communication with us to solve any issue that could arise. According to our cancellation policies, no refunds apply for no shows or early check out. Looking forward for an opportunity to welcome you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
South Jordan, Ut

Beautiful El Cuyo

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing you home with a Million dollar view with us.

We had an amazing trip.

We felt very safe walking to and around town and on the beach. The people were very friendly.

Some tips I would pass along..

*Go to the restaurant recommended. It was clean, YUMMY and a good price. cheeper than making your own meals. My favorite were the Nachos that aren't on the menu.

* We stopped at costco to get drinks but found the many little store in El Cuyo have bottled water and sodas at a good rate so we will get drinks there next time.

We had read some reviews about people disappointed they were not offered aditional services from the caregivers. Since we saw this as a bonus we went with the mind set that it is what it is and didn't expect anything. We were pleased when my husband mentioned he would like to go fishing and a man showed up that night to make arrangments.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is good to hear that you enjoyed this amazing place named El Cuyo, a secret jewel located in the Yucatan Peninsula and that you were even able to go fishing which is one of the most popular activities here. Thank you so much also for leaving your helpful tips about shopping and eating here. I'm sure that all our future guests will be delighted reading from your experience in this paradise. Hope we can welcome you again in the near future!!! With a big hug, Marilu
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2


Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Nearest Ferry
93 Miles
Nearest Train
124 Miles
Nearest Motorway
62 Miles
Car: recommended

El Cuyo is a quaint fishermen village in the Yucatecan emerald coast. You can find this charming village on the beach at the northeast coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, where the turquoise blue Caribbean get together with the shallow waters of the Gulf of Mexico. It is located over two hours from Cancun and three and a half hours from the colonial city of Merida, capital of the Yucatan state. El Cuyo is a small beach community where you will enjoy the ambiance of a port. Everything about it invites you to relax and enjoy the beauty of the nature.

El Cuyo is located inside the National Park of Ria Lagartos, which is internationally famous for the 30,000 pink flamingos that come to the area between January and September for reproduction. It is also the home of the Sea Turtle that visits the beach shores between June and August to lay their eggs in the sand. You can visit also: Chichen Itza, Ek Balam, Holbox Island, Valladolid, Izamal, private cenotes and undiscovered caverns!.

Other Activities: snorkeling in cenotes, dive in caverns, visit archaeological sites


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in El Cuyo, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

$800 US dollars per week up to maximum 6 guests.
$125 US dollars daily rate up to 6 guests.
$1000 US dollars per week at Christmas &New Year up to maximum
6 guests (only full week rentals). $250 US dollars fully refundable security deposit required payable at villa
(cash or traveller’s checks).
* If your reservation is done in 30 days before your arrival, the complete payment
is needed on having done your reservation. * If the reservation is done before 60 days, there is needed a deposit of 50 % to make the reservation. You will have to confirm your reservation and pay the rest 30 days before the date of your arrival.

• All holiday reservations require the complete payment to consider them to be considered confirmed.

• Holidays are defined as the weeks of: Christmas & New Years weeks.

• The payment of the rent of the Villa cannot be prorated between different persons. A person has to take the responsibility of doing the payment for the rent of the property.
The following assessments will apply to cancellations for Villa Xaman-Nah:

-Cancellation prior 90 days from arrival date will result in the forfeit of one night’s rent

-Cancellation prior 60 days from arrival date will result in the forfeit of 50% of deposit

-Cancellation prior 30 days from arrival date will result in the forfeit of 100% of deposit

-Cancellation prior 20 days from arrival date will result in the forfeit of 100% of total rent

-There are no refunds on cancelled holiday reservations

-Holidays are defined as the weeks of: US Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years and Easter.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.