OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beach Retreat is moments from the sea front & a stroll to Milford village green

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Modern apartment close to sea front yet only a short distance to the New Forest

BEACH RETREAT

A warm welcome to Beach Retreat

This modern, bright and airy ground floor self-contained holiday apartment is in a premier location within a short walk of Milford seafront with its excellent beaches, café and restaurant with stunning views of the Isle of Wight, Needles and the Jurassic coast beyond. We are also conveniently situated within a short stroll of the popular coastal village of Milford on Sea.

With it’s own front entrance and parking space, Beach Retreat is equipped to a high standard. Provided for your stay are freshly laundered linen, towels and tea towels. All heating and lighting costs are included and a welcome tray is here for you on your arrival.

Milford on Sea Village

Situated around the village green are welcoming pubs, award wining restaurants (including French, Indian and Thai cuisine), tea rooms, traditional independent shops, convenience stores, a wine bar and also a couple of beauty salons for that little bit of holiday pampering !

The popular Village Community Centre in Milford offers a wide range of live performances, films and activities. A great venue for both locals and visitors alike.

Throughout the year, Milford’s village green is the centre for many events including Music and Arts week, the popular plant fair and the Food Festival to mention just a few. Visit for more information on the year round events.

Out and about

No need to drive during your stay, as well as being able to walk to the sea front and village centre, around the village there are many varied footpaths leading you through public woodland, along the Danestream or down to the coast and up onto the clifftop to enjoy the panoramic sea views.

Walk on the shingle bank to Hurst Castle (built by Henry VIII to defend the Solent and where Charles l was imprisoned before his trial & execution in London in 1649), takes approximately 45 minutes (or take the ferry from Keyhaven). On the return trip why not visit the 18th century Gun Inn (fresh locally caught crab a speciality and log fires in the winter).

Fossil hunting, paddle boarding and surfing are also popular activities along this interesting coastline.

Regular ferries from local Keyhaven harbour and Lymington will take you across to Hurst Castle and the Isle of Wight. If you want to explore further, there are many nearby interesting places such as Highcliffe Castle, the lovely village of Beaulieu with its well known motor museum and riverside walk to Buckler’s Hard and the maritime museum - all within easy reach. Visit the Georgian town of Lymington with its colourful Saturday market and cobbled quayside. (From May – October regular “Story of Lymington” walks are escorted by volunteer guides in the town).

Bird Watching – The area is a wildlife haven and very popular with bird enthusiasts. Walks straight from the door to the local nature reserve and the Keyhaven salt marshes – a favourite place to see swans, Brent geese, oyster catchers, little egrets and curlew. The hide located at the start of the shingle bank by Raft Rocks Café is a sheltered place to view the wildlife.

During the summer months you can take the Hop-on, hop-off New Forest bus tour from Milford on Sea – a great ‘car free’ way to experience a wide area of the New Forest National Park.

A short drive from Milford to the village of Hythe gives you the opportunity to take a ride on the World’s oldest pier train to the end of the 130 year old pier, from here you can catch the regular ferry to Southampton. Here you will find the Tudor House, Art Gallery and the Sea City Museum with its unique exhibition and interactive story of the Titanic.

The New Forest – ponies can be found grazing on the open heathland and you usually get to spot a deer or two as well. Cosy and traditional forest pubs are a welcome stop after exploring the many beauty spots in the forest, autumn is a great time of the year to capture all the wonderful changing colours and fungi of the forest with your camera.

In winter, Bournemouth and Winchester host their special Christmas Markets (Winchester also having its seasonal outdoor ice rink from November). Milford on Sea celebrates the run up to Christmas in true festive spirit having late night shopping with complimentary mince pies and sherry, carols on the village green and Father Christmas makes a visit too!

All year round, there is always something new to do and experience -

Planning a short break or longer holiday to this beautiful part of Hampshire, Beach Retreat is a great base to relax and enjoy the mix of the seaside and the New Forest.

We hope to welcome you soon !

More Details

Property Manager
Steve & Teresa
Member since: 2017
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
19 February, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

It was lovely to meet you both too. We had a lovely time and loved your new apartment. Thanks for making us so welcome
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Milford on Sea in Milford-on-Sea

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Large walk in shower (no bath)
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Living area - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sofa bed for extra guest available on request -small charge
  • 1 sofa bed in living area can be used for third person on request (there will be a small charge for the extra bedding and towels)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beach Retreat is moments from the sea front & a stroll to Milford village green
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 20 reviews
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Lovely short break in this beautiful apartment ...Steve and Teresa were the perfect hosts ...brilliant location.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay ,we hope you enjoyed the apples Steve and Teresa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Apartment is as pictured. But we were cold initially and TV was working intermittently.

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is conveniently situated a short walk from the beach and reasonably well located for exploring other parts of the New Forest. It is exactly as shown in the pictures, clean and bright and well equipped for a couple. We stayed in February when temperatures outside were close to freezing and when we arrived the apartment was cold - the floor in particular is not well insulated. Heating switched on earlier and a rug would be good for out of season stays. Although we understand that the TV aerial had come down in a storm, that meant that TV reception was intermittent, with some channels unobtainable. Good for encouraging us to talk to each other, but disappointing. We enjoyed a walk along the sea front and towards Hurst Castle and took the chance to explore more of the New Forest. We chose to eat in, other than one night at Vervaine - 10 minutes walk away. A stunningly good Michelin star quality meal, pricey but well worth it.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your helpful comments Adrian. Sorry if you felt chilly, there is a thermostat in the apartment to adjust the temperature. We are looking to buy a rug for the lounge to add an extra cosy feel to the newly tiled floor. With regards to the TV aerial, I spoke to you and sorted this out during your stay. As far as I was aware the problem was fixed. I am sorry you had further issues, had you mentioned this to me again I would have investigated the problem further. Kind Regards Steve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic, peaceful location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our trip. The location was fab, walking distance to the town and the lovely beachside. Plenty of places to eat and drink. Property had everything you would need for a very comfortable stay.

Steve was helpful showing us how everything worked on arrival. We had a great time and wouldn’t hesitate staying again.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rhian We are so glad you enjoyed your stay may next time you come it will be a bit warmer regards Steve andTeresa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

Brilliant place to stay, everything you could want or need. To be literally minutes walk from the sea, a short walk to the village with lots of brilliant places to eat and drink and a short drive to the New Forest.

Excellent hosts, lovely accommodation. Would throughly recommend staying at the Beach Retreat. Thanks again Steve and Teresa for making us so welcome, even putting up xmas decorations for us and supplying mince pies plus, very thoughtful.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for being such lovely guests and leaving everything so tidy, we are pleased you enjoyed the area and all the facilities our wonderful village has to offer. Wishing you both a very Happy New Year. Teresa & Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

V clean and well furnished. Comfy bed. As photos. Good location for exploring area.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: so glad you enjoyed your stay ,hope the shops were not to busy for you on your way home Steve and Teresa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beach Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Beach Retreat is just lovely. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable and very well equipped. A couple of minutes and you are on the beach. Very well located for surrounding area and facilities. My daughter and I had a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay ,hope to see you again thank you for leaving every were tidey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
bournemouth /southampton
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
milford village
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
lymington to yarmouth
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
barton on sea
Nearest Train
5 Miles
lymington
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
m27
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
milford village
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
milford beach

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £150

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable