OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Traditional 18th century 2 bed cottage with access to pool. Dogs welcome

Overview

Property

Updated: 26-Nov-2016
2 bed fishermans cottage in Fowey, babysitters available, dogs welcome.

1 Albert Place is over 200 years old. Originally a fisherman’s cottage, it is nestled a stone’s throw from the water’s edge, right in the heart of Fowey. Set off the main street down a private alleyway, it is easily accessible to all amenities and just 3 miles from the world famous Eden Project.

You also have free use of the exclusive Fowey Hall Hotel swimming pool and hot tub, just 10 minutes walk away, plus a discount on spa treatments and products. There is also a zipwire and trampoline.

Want to bring the dog? That's fine with us.

Planning a trip with the children? We can organise babysitters for you.

Lovingly restored by the current owners, it features an original slate and lime wall, lit with fairy lights, as well as slate tile flooring. Modern features include a whirlpool bath and underfloor heating.

The property is lit with vintage marine lights from our shop Any Old Lights, just next to the church.

You are 10 seconds from the Mace (Fowey’s mini-market) and minutes from all of Fowey’s shops, pubs and restaurants.

We do not have our own parking space but Albert Quay car park is next door.

The living area downstairs is an open plan kitchen and living room, with a corner sofa (also a sofa bed for which extra linen can be provided) and 4 seat dining table as well a We have BT superfast fibre broadband installed - the best you can get in Cornwall! There is also a landline phone for use of guests as well as a TV, DVD player - plus books and games for both children and adults.

The well equipped kitchen has an oven, hob, fridge freezer, washing machine and microwave as well as kettle, toaster and cafetiere.

Bedroom one has a double bed with Egyptian cotton bedding, chest of drawers, bedside cabinets and hanging space. The second bedroom has adult sized bunk beds, as well as children's books and toys. There is also a travel cot.

The alley outside is private and used only by one adjoining properties, but can also be use to store bikes or pushchairs.

We have several toys and board games and the property is great for families and friends as well as couples.

Being so central means it's an ideal base for young families offering a degree of independence for children. For couples you never have to walk very far to get home!

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Unlike most second home owners in Fowey, we love it so much we live here too and have excellent local knowledge. Our useful links with local businesses mean that if we can't help, will know someone who can.

We (Nick and Sinead) moved to Fowey in 2011. Sinead had spent an idyllic childhood here - after-school evenings on the beach, sand in her hair and dodgy tales of Gossips ‘nightclub’. Nick (though it was hardly his fault) grew up in Hampshire.

Both moved to London to find their fortunes, Sinead as a press officer, working with charities and social entrepreneurs, Nick as a journalist (Daily Mail, Guardian, Times Magazine, Radio Times) and author (Dalek I Loved You). After meeting over a love of karaoke and pub quizzes, they waved goodbye to the city for Fowey with their baby daughter, Regan (named after John Thaw’s character in The Sweeney), so she too could have afternoons on a beach. Fortunately for them, Gossips had shut down.

Together they set up the popular Love Fowey website which promotes the town, and Nick also runs the Any Old Lights vintage marine lighting shop next to the church.

We are closely involved with local activities including the Community Bus, Squires Field Community Centre, Regatta Week and Fowey Christmas Market

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful place Fowey is! We were lucky enough to stay for 3 weeks and Sinead's little cottage is just lovely and has everything you need. She has taken the time to write a thorough welcome guide which she also emails to you before you arrive so that you know exactly what to expect which is so helpful. Fowey itself is just magic and we were able to do some wonderful walking, catch the ferry to Polruan, lovely warm swims at Fowey Hall and crabbing most days!! We will definitely miss Fowey - the bakery (run by Sinead's sister) in particular! Everything in the little town is walkable and there are 2 small convenience stores with most basic household needs. The cottage is cozy and has fabulous toys, books and games for kids (and adults!) which we really appreciated. It is warm - we loved the under floor heating downstairs and the kids loved the fluffy hot water bottles too :) Sinead mentions the parking which is available on the outskirts of town and works fine. Overall a really wonderful stay - thanks Sinead.
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 2

12 Reviews

4.3
based on 12 holidaymaker reviews

4

Charming cottage on main street of beautiful Fowey village, right by the sea

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay at this beautifully restored fisherman's cottage - Sinead provided everything we could need, including fishing nets and the most delicious fresh bread from her sister's bakery across the lane. This is a lovely little welcoming cottage, comfortable for 4 people, or at a stretch - 5 (our daughter slept on the sofa). The decor was lovely throughout and the kitchen had absolutely everything and was spotlessly clean. The bookshelves were full of interesting books on the area and more, and plenty of games and kid's toys too. The other bonus was having access to Fowey Hall where we walked up to have a swim and the kids played. It would have been nice to have a dryer - none of our clothes dried because the cottage gets almost no sun (being down an alleyway and on the ground floor). Fowey is so quaint, friendly and beautiful, with so much to do in the outdoors.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent stay clean accomaditing and very welcoming

  • 4 of 5

Thank you Sinead and family for allowing us to spend 3 great nights in 1 Albert Place, we recommend this property for a wonderful stay.

All in place, parking as per Cornwallis narrow streets etc but this makes it a pleasant challenge and keeps you fit.

A couple of pubs not pushchair friendly and £9.95 for a chicken korma curry rice not included is very steep.

Great time spent at Fowey Hall Hotel which is a massive bonus if the weather is not great.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A wonderful week in a perfectly located cottage in one of the best towns in Cornwall

  • 4 of 5

Sinead was there to meet us to let us into the property and gave us lots of helpful advice about Fowey and the area. The cottage is down a quaint little Mews right in the middle of Fowey. Walking distance to everywhere. Property was great. There were five of us and there was plenty of room. Washing Machine and DVD player need an upgrade (but not all visitors will use them) and previous clients bent the frame of the sofa bed so it's a little tricky folding it up again but apart from that - everything is in working order. Access to a nearby hotel pool, spa and play area is a real bonus. Parking can be an issue - but that's an issue with Fowey in general. If you're going to get a weekly pass from the Council, you have to get it days in advance (I learnt that to my cost). I would definitely recommend this property to others and could see myself renting it again. Try nearby Polkerris Beach for watersports and Sam's restaurant. The bakery over the road from the Mews is awesome (run by Sinead's sister).

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

poor condition and dirty

  • 1 of 5

Damp walls and black mould in lounge/kitchen. Bunk beds only for children.bathroom toilet area dirty.sofa bed dirty and fabick rotten due to damp wall.Would not recommend anyone to book this property. we left the morning after arrival.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to see Colin leave. However, he rang up and announced he was leaving without giving us any chance at all to look at what he claimed was black mould. It wasn't - it's a 200 year old slate and flint wall with flecks of black where the flint shows - and we have had no other complaints of this nature. If you'd like to see a photo of this wall, do let us know! Or have a look at our video tour. This guest was expecting a modern new build. Being a 200 year old cottage we are not that and make this very clear. The sofa covers had been washed the previous day. They are not rotten (they're still on the sofa and you're welcome to come and check). The adult sized bunk beds are sturdy and are comfortable for adults as many happy guests will confirm. The bathroom and toilet area had been cleaned prior to Colin's visit, in the same fastidious way we always clean. Please check all of our other reviews - not one mentions issues with cleanliness.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Great location, attentive owners, no fussiness

  • 4 of 5

Great place with very thoughtful owners who sorted out everything we needed, including a last minute highchair when we realised we had forgotten our own.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Cosy and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We spent a very relaxing week here with our teenage boys and terrier. The cottage was cosy, comfortable and very central. The owner was quick to help with queries, and the fresh bread was a bonus!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments - all our guests receive complimentary bread from the artisan Quay Bakery opposite, where it is freshly made each day. I am glad we were able to assist with your queries promptly - we are local and only live up the road - very happy to help with any information about the town. We run the popular community website LoveFowey.net so if we don't know something, we'll know someone who will. The cottage is great for children - we lived there with our two girls - and teenagers love it being so central as it gives them some independence. It's also popular with dog owners as Fowey is a very dog friendly town. Do come again! Sinead and Nick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

From the Owner

After returning to Fowey in 2011, we stayed with Sinead's mum, also in Fowey, desperately looking for somewhere to live. No easy task, as we were looking for somewhere old yet full of character. And as soon as we saw Albert Place, we knew we had found it. Neglected and in dire need of some love and care, yet we could immediately see how beautiful and cosy it could be. Many months and restoration from skilled local builders and specialists later, we moved in with our three year old daughter in 2012. We include 'before and after' shots' in our Welcome Pack so you can see how far we have come! By 2015, another wee one arrived and we had outgrown our little cottage - however we still live in Fowey and loved our time at 1 Albert Place, bang in the middle of town - the ‘Soho’ of Fowey!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Newquay Airport at 20 Miles Nearest Barpub : The Galleon at 0.1 Miles Nearest Ferry : Polruan at 0.1 Miles Nearest Golf : Carlyon Bay Golf Club at 5 Miles Nearest Train : Par at 3 Miles Nearest Motorway : M5 at 80 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Old Quay House Nearest Beach : Whitehouse at 0.25 Miles Car: recommended

Fowey is a vibrant town surrounded by beautiful countryside and sandy beaches. Our cottage also offers free membership to the exclusive Fowey Hall Hotel swimming pool and hot tub, as well as a discount on treatments.

Just 3 miles from the world famous Eden Project, the location is perfect for families, walkers and those who love water-based activities including sailing and canoeing. It’s also a popular area for cycling, with Lanhydrock, Cardinham Woods and the Camel Trail cycle tracks all nearby.

Highlights of the year are the Fowey Regatta (with Red Arrows and Giant Pasty ceremony) and the Fowey Festival of Words and Music in May. We have a wide range of shops, restaurants to suit all tastes and pubs full of character.

A passenger ferry makes regular trips across the River Fowey to the village of Polruan and a car ferry gives easy access to the popular resorts of Polperro and Looe. Just 38 miles south of Plymouth there is easy access to the national rail network from the nearby town of Par.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
December
3 Dec 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£490
 
 
Christmas
17 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
Feb Half Term
11 Feb 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£390
for 7 nights
£390
 
 
March
25 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
£390
 
 
Easter
1 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Late April/May
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£490
for 7 nights
£490
 
 
Summer Half Term
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£590
for 7 nights
£590
 
 
June
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£590
for 7 nights
£590
 
 
July
1 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£690
for 7 nights
£690
 
 
August
29 Jul 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£790
for 7 nights
£790
 
 
Regatta Week
12 Aug 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
Late August & Bank Holiday
19 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£790
for 7 nights
£790
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£350
for 7 nights
£350
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 26-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

You are so ridiculously close to all amenities - 10 seconds from Fowey's main shop and just minutes from all the pubs and restaurants. Yet tucked down an alley you can get away from it all! You have use of the Fowey Hall Hotel swimming pool and hot tub and are just three miles from the world famous Eden Project 300 years of history means that the place has a traditional, cosy feel to it yet also includes underfloor heating and a whilrlpool bath. It is a unique property in a very special part of Cornwall.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool

Suitability

  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • rural
  • town
  • village

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Jacuzzi
  • Jacuzzi bath and shower.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, Bunk beds
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Master bedroom has a double bed with Egyptian cotton bedding. Chest of drawers, two bedside cabinets with lamps, hanging space, mirrors, hairdryer and electric blanket. Second bedroom has adult sized bunk beds, shelving unit with childrens books and games and space for clothes, travel cot.

Outside

  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Unlike most holiday let owners, we live in Fowey and run the Love Fowey website. We can tell you everything you need to know about our beautiful town from tennis lessons, to the best fresh fish, to where to get your car mended. Our links with local businesses are invaluable. If we don't know how to help, we'll kow someone who will!

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot