OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Detached House With Private,heated Pool And Secluded Garden In Tranquil Village



Updated: 30-Sep-2016
House in Villarzel Du Razes, Limoux, Aude, Languedoc-Roussillon, France - Very Peaceful Location

Detached village house in tranquil location with private secluded heated pool. Situated in what has been described as one of the prettiest villages in the Aude, mid way between Carcassonne and Limoux is Villarzel du Razes. The South facing detached property on the edge of this village is surrounded by vineyards, woods and fields of sunflowers, it is a haven for walkers, cyclists and nature lovers.

The pool and gardens are for the sole use of guests. We would like to point out, however, that we need to check the pool on a daily basis and water the plants. We try to do this whilst guests are out.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We came on holiday to Villarzel eighteen years ago, fell in love with the village and returned the following year with the sole intention of buying a property here. We bought the only available house in the village from the then owner of the stunning chateau. His mother had lived in our house, but when we found it, it had been empty since 1952. It was, of course, a wreck. We spent several summers renovating the property, buying more land for a garden and pool and then buying a second, smaller house, before making the final, longed for move in 2002. We were followed by three children, who settled here and produced, to date, seven grandchildren. So this is home.

We have now decided to live in the smaller house which is across the road and offer our house and pool for holiday rental.

Call Owner
Speaks English, French

5 Reviews

based on 5 holidaymaker reviews


Delightful house and location

  • 5 of 5

The house is in a very tranquil village, so peace and quiet are guaranteed. The house is very light and airy, and very comfortable, and had everything we needed for our holiday. The small town of Limoux is only 15 mins away, and had every facility needed for our holiday. The heated swimming pool was a bonus. The owners, Bob and Hilary, live close by, and were on hand, should we have had a problem, but everything about the house was fine. The whole experience was an absolute delight, and we would definitely recommend this house, and we hope to return next year.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable rural gite

  • 3 of 5

The gite is located in a very small and quiet village in a rural location. The nearest shops are in Limoux approximately 15 minutes away and Carcassonne approximately 25 minutes by car. The property itself is rustic and comfortable with all the basic equipment needed and was clean and well maintained. Unfortunately the internet was quite slow and at times temperamental, and as the hub is based across the road at the owners house, you could not reset it yourself and had to ask them to do so. Furthermore the television was extremely small (although us adults didn't mind, the teenagers did). In the listing it states that the owners lived in another house in the village. In fact when we arrived, their other house was only 5 meters across a single track road and indeed overlooked the front door and patio area. On reading the welcome manual, the owners do say they will be over every day (to water the flowers and check the pool). In addition to this, the owners came across to hang out their washing, take things from the shed and their son parked and worked on his car on the drive. In an attempt for more privacy, we did offer to water the flowers, however we were told that they needed to also check their tomato plants daily so our offer was declined. On two or three occasions we went out in the morning to the supermarket leaving our college aged children to have breakfast. Although the owners knew we were leaving, on all these occasions, we would return to find them at the gite. While the owners were always polite and made us feel welcome, we did have the feeling of 'being watched' and felt we didn't have the privacy we wanted and expected when we booked. However, the outside area was beautiful with a great pool and a big garden. The six seated dining table on the back decking was a lovely area to eat, although the washing line hung across it to a degree which wasn't ideal when eating. While we had a lovely holiday and there were many aspects of the gite we liked, we were hoping for and expected more privacy and less intrusion which is why we wouldn't recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you are unable to recommend our property, especially when the note you left for us said thanks and you had had a great time. We are confused and concerned, as your review might impact on our future bookings. As you say, the welcome manual states that we will be over on a daily basis to water and check the pool and also states that we will try to do this when guests are out and it takes roughly five minutes. We always ask if it is convenient. Although we did service the pool and water the plants when you went out and left the children we did that in order not to disturb you. At no time during your stay did we enter the house, as you declined a change of bed linen. It also states that if you have any issues to please tell us sooner rather than later so that we can address them. If you remember, the property does not have a drive but a parking area outside the 2.4 meter high boundary wall. The washing line we use is in a secluded corner of this area and is accessed without entering the property. The “single track” road is the main road through the village and is 6 meters wide and the distance between the gates of the two properties is 11 meters. As far as your feeling of being watched is concerned, we can assure you that we value our own privacy and that of our guests. On the day before your departure you told us you would be leaving at ten the following morning, when you in fact left whilst we were out for dinner that night. You did not tell us that you had ripped and tried to sew a sun bed or pulled down a curtain rail, both of which had to be repaired before the next guests arrived. We will certainly amend the website regarding access for pool maintenance, watering and the proximity of the two properties. Glad you enjoyed the area. Regards, Hilary and Bob
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

peaceful location

  • 5 of 5

This is a pretty property in a quiet rural village. A perfect location for those wanting a peaceful break, but yet not too far from historic Carcassonne or Limoux. The property has everything you need, a lovely pool, area of lawn for boules or crocket plus all the usual kitchen equipment etc. The owners Bob and Hilary were welcoming and gave us plenty of helpful advice and information about the area. We arrived with bikes which we could safely store, the area is great for traffic free cycling. There are plenty of places of interest to visit, ie Lac de Cavayere is great for the family with beach, swimming and inflatables for 'big' kids as well as historic towns such as Mirepoix. This was also a good location this year for getting to see some of the stages of the Tour de France.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

A great place for a relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5

A lovely house and a lovely location. We stayed here for 2 weeks with our 4 teenage children and had a great time relaxing by the pool, playing table tennis and walking and cycling in the rolling hills. The house was great and the garden and pool were fantastic and beautifully kept. Hilary and Bob were great hosts, helpful but unobtrusive. We really enjoyed the outside space and would be happy to come back next year. And we even got to listen to England thrash the Aussies!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

A week wasn't long enough

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a marvelous, relaxing, child friendly holiday.

The owners promised us a peaceful, tranquil village and that is exactly what it was…… just bird song, the striking of the village clock and the occasional tractor sound to disturb us. It was like stepping back in time.

The weather was mixed during our stay, but the lovely heated swimming pool enabled us {especially the children} to swim and enjoy the pool every day.

Everything that mattered in the house was new…..range

cooker, washing machine, fridge, mattresses, towels etc.

There was so much to do in the nearby area that we were often spoilt for choice.

We found the owners, Hilary and Bob, friendly, helpful and accommodating.

We had planned on Italy for next year’s holiday, but who knows, we may find ourselves back in Villarzel du Razes in the same house, as we felt it was very good value for money. There was a lot left to see after only one week and the children were anxious to do plenty more.

The house comfortably accommodates six people and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Activity and Interests


The Mediterranean is 60 minutes away.


Carcassonne airport is 20 minutes away. Toulouse airport is 90 minutes away.


The nearest town of Limoux is 15 minutes away. A very large supermarket is 10 minutes away. The medieval city of Carcassonne is 25 minutes away.

Further Details:

There are numerous restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes drive of the property to suit all tastes from bistro to fine dining.

The area abounds with opportunities to make your holiday memorable... white water rafting, canoeing, quad biking, walking, golf, sailing, water skiing, climbing....the list is endless for the adventurous. Wine tasting, dining, museums, chateau, flora and fauna for those who may prefer to take it easier.

For something really different, why not try swimming with horses, picnic included.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
29 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
27 May 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
15 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
Payment may be made in either euros or sterling.
A deposit of 30% is required to secure the booking.
Balance to be paid 6 weeks prior to arrival.
A deposit of 200 euros or sterling equivalent is required upon arrival

Changeover Day:
Changeover day in high season is Saturday.
Arrival time is 4.00 pm.
Departure time is 10.00 am.
The pool is open from the end of April until the end of September.
From October to April the cost of electricity and wood will be charged extra at cost.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Updated: 30-Sep-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • house


  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool


  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • First floor bathroom has wc, wash hand basin, bath with shower over. Ground floor wc, wash hand basin.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: First floor Bedroom 1 with double bed. Bedroom 2 with full sized bunk beds. Ground floor Bedroom 3 with double bed. This room has 2 sets of French windows opening onto a large decked area and en suite wc/whb.


  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: The property is non smoking. Outside: The pool is 10x5 metres, heated and not overlooked. There is a private shaded area by the pool, plus a terraced area for relaxing. Sunbeds are provided. There is a secluded decked area at the rear of the property, which has a table and chairs for outdoor dining. There is a lawned area for ball games. Utility Room: Small utility area with washing machine. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels, pool towels and linen are provided on arrival.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot