OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Luxury Beach, GOLF, Apartment, Saltwater Pool, Childrens Pool



Updated: 08-Oct-2016
Apartment in Cabanas De Tavira, East Algarve, Portugal - Beautiful, 4 Minute Walk To Beach Promenade, Aircon, Ground Floor, Pets, welcome GOLF

This ground floor apartment with wee grass garden, is filled with natural sunlight, taking advantage of the bright warm Mediterranean weather. The garden is surrounded by a hedge and catches the last rays of the sun. There is a BBQ and table with benches.

Inside the beds are new (2015) and kitchen fully stocked with modern equipment: cutting board, toaster, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, coffee units both plunger and French stove top, tea pots etc. The kitchen can be closed off from the lounge/diner and has a glass door which opens to 3-steps down to the garden. There is a safety gate across this door as well.

Both East facing bedrooms and the lounge/dining have independent air-conditioning (& heating in winter) units. The Master bedroom has large windows, double bed, en-suite with shower plus WC, the 'twin' bedroom has 2-single beds, large windows and includes a 'Safe'. Directly outside this bedroom is the family bathroom with bathtub, WC and Bidet. The West facing open plan lounge/dining room, with large windows includes table with seating for six, a couch which folds down into a double bed and two Art Deco arm chairs.

The apartment also has Internet access and a TV with DVD player.

We provide beach towels, water boards, some toys, English 'summer' books, beach umbrella and shopping/beach trolley. We also can provide a cot and high chair upon request.

The complex is mature, modest and clean. It's located in a picturesque neighborhood with lovely old Portuguese homes and gracious Palm trees, nearby is an active farm and from the apartment door there are endless walk/bike trails through Almond, Carob and Orange orchards and along the sea. The cacophony of birdsong every morning is splendid and uplifting; it DOES include a happy-don't-care-what-time-it-is, 'stewing' rooster from the farm.

The saltwater pool(s) are located about 70m behind the apartment. There is free WiFi at the pool area, lounges and umbrellas. During the summer season our private pool-side 'Snack Bar', serves hot food, snacks, ice cream, beer on Tap and amazing cocktails: Mojitos with fresh crushed mint...mmmmmm..

It's only a slow 3-4 minute walk to the promenade of the quaint fishing village of 'Cabanas' with shops, all categories of restaurants, grocery store(s), bakery and daily fresh fish and vegetable market.

The boat taxi takes you across the lagoon to the dazzling blue sea endless, white, sandy beaches. The beach here is classed as an 'Accessible Beach' and is supervised as well as having places to eat and drink. Praia de Cabanas (beach) has its own restaurant & bar, showers and toilet facilities, sunshades to rent and water sports such as windsurfing, sailing and jet-skiing and is supervised during the 'beach season'.

World class GOLF is 2km from the apartment and within 15km there a several award winning golf courses. FISHING: Deep sea and surf fishing guides, boats and equipment can be hired in Cabanas.

There are many attractions in the Algarve region, boat trips, Marine Zoo, slide Park and most offer both pick-up and drop-off in Cabanas.

The Cabanas working fishing fleet brings in fresh fish and octopus daily and on low tides folks dig for clams which are served later in your delicious restaurant meal. There are cute shops, daily market, butcher, bakery, restaurants, cafes, car, water-sport equipment and bike rental. There are also a couple of hoppin' nightclubs with dancing and a very cool Sports Bar with a popular karaoke night!

The train station is about 1km from the apartment from where you can ride to the Spanish border and take a ferry to Spain or the ride the other direction and spend the day in beautiful ancient Tavira, with its 2000 year old slat flats and 28 churches with an incredible mix of architecture from the Moors, Spaniards and Phoenicians. Tavira is also one of the eight UNESCO appointed locations representing the thousands of years old healthy "Mediterranean Diet'.

NOTE: electricity, water and Internet access are only included for bookings within the dates: 7th June to 1st October. From the 2nd October to 6th of June electricity, water and Internet used is charged in addition to the letting fee.

This is a beautiful place, not as built up as the Western Algarve...more quiet, more restful, no need for a car...just sit back, relax, breathe deep, let the sun warm your bones and enjoy your holiday.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Happy retired couple with dog and 10 grandchildren

Speaks English, German

Guestbook comments from the owner

I stayed at the apartment with my two young daughters (under 5 years of age) for a week. We arrived quite late, exhausted due to flight problems; the owners came and greeted us in person. To our total surprise, there was a basket of oranges, milk, coffee, tea, bread, butter and a bottle of wine in fridge. The owners were very thoughtful and helpful. As it was our first time to Portugal it made the holiday go smoother. The apartment was spotless, everything worked. With two small children being on the ground floor was much better the hauling everything up and down a flight of stairs. We'll come back and stay longer. Heather Graesch from California

My wife and I stayed in the apartment for four days. It was very clean, beds comfortable and we loved the birds singing each morning. The Welcome Book was a big help with maps of bike trails and restaurant reviews. I like to read and for once there were enough reading lights in a holiday-let! I recommend this apartment. Mr. and Mrs Renfro Hamilton
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 1

9 Reviews

based on 9 holidaymaker reviews


We loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Well, from the minute I emailed to enquire about the accommodation, everything went like clockwork. The enquiry/booking process was seamless and Betsy could not have been more helpful or responsive - regularly communicating with updates and more information to aid our planning (& during our stay). Betsy and Pat also went above and beyond by offering to pick us up from the airport due to a late flight (and not knowing where we were going!). The flight was delayed yet they were still there waiting for us at gone midnight - thank you sooo much! On arrival we were shown around the apartment and we were also provided with a generous welcome pack of wine/cheese/milk etc and all the essentials to get our holiday started (we felt this was a lovely touch and beyond our expectations). The apartment was tidy and well equipped with everything we needed and with lots of little extras such as BBQ and coals/firelighters / beach towels / trolley and equipment etc. The Information pack was also really useful and had details on everything from pool access to restaurant reviews / tour information etc. The apartment was situated in a quiet complex, felt safe and secure and had a lovely little garden which has the sun from afternoon to evening. The pool is a 2 minute walk and had a lovely atmosphere, relaxed, and well designed so that it felt quiet even when there were families around the poolside. The water quality was excellent in particular. There was also a pool bar serving snacks / drinks (cocktails!) and with very friendly staff. The location of the apartment is perfect - easily accessible to the beautiful fishing village (5 minutes walk) and to the boardwalk, beach (by water taxi!), restaurants, supermarkets and even the train station, should you want to explore further afield. This holiday was about relaxing for us - and it was perfect. We are planning on coming back with our family to explore further and enjoy again this idyllic location (the beach is to die for and goes on for miles if you want total seclusion!). Thank you again to Betsy and Pat - you were stars!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were wonderful guests, thank you for such a nice review and for choosing our wee apartment out of the thousands available in the Algarve. Thank you also for the wine and card AND, AND, AND for leaving the place as clean as my own mother would have done. Each year we try to upgrade the place a bit for our guests, this year was the installation of WiFi and a Smart LG TV. Next year we plan fresh paint, bedside rugs (for winter tozies) new garden furniture and maybe an under counter freezer (in August my kingdom for ice in my drink!). We are seriously considering your suggestion of taking out the shower box in the ensuite bathroom and creating a shower 'room', pouring over plans while sitting under air-con, will hit 42C today, 7th Sept, OMG. See you all during the coming year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

An ideal getaway for a couple!

  • 5 of 5

The fact that we decided to undertake a return visit to this fantastically well-appointed apartment, speaks volumes in itself. However this time we had embarked on a rare holiday experience - as a couple! Any guilt we experienced about leaving the children at home for the week soon evaporated as we relaxed into our time in Cabanas de Tavira. We were warmly greeted by the apartment’s amazingly kind and friendly owners, and soon made our way to the adjacent pool complex for cocktails, which was sublimely quiet and serene given the timing of our trip at the end of September. The apartment was incredibly clean and comfortable, and we benefited once more from its close proximity to a great bakery and wonderful cafes and restaurants, not to mention being just a few minutes’ walk to the water taxi which carries you to the most stunning beach. As much as we had enjoyed our family holiday with the children earlier in the year (and the town warmly welcomes children in all of its eateries), it was truly lovely to indulge ourselves in some grown-up time together with late evening strolls along the promenade and drinks in some of the town’s many friendly bars. We can’t wait to return!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I can't believe that you are coming all the way from Scotland for the THIRD time at the end of this month (September) 2016. We welcome you back anytime and look forward your visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely quiet place for a small family!

  • 5 of 5

Betsy's apartment is perfect for a small family: it has all we need, and as a plus they have beach towels, beach toys, sun umbrella...No need to worry about that. Debbie and Pat were really welcoming and friendly. Although we have been in Cabanas before, they gave us lots of new tips about the town, they were really useful.

The welcome basket was delicious!

All was working perfectly as described!

Thank you Debbie and Pat!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Teresa thank you for the kind review. Your family was a joy to have as our guests and we welcome you back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing home away from home in an amazing location

  • 5 of 5

Amazing apartment with amazing facilities that's only a few minutes walk away from the local beach,shops,restaurants and bars. The beautiful, spacious and clean apartment was equipped for every eventuality, from every beach equipment you can think of, iron, towels, books, kitchen appliances and more!!! Couldn't have asked for a better 'home' for our holiday! The owners were friendly, helpful and very funny and made us feel so welcome with a very warm welcome and basket full of local goodies!! It was super easy to leave the place 'clean as we found it' as was requested when we rented the apartment. We would 100% recommended this apartment and we will definitely be returning in the future. Diolch yn fawr iawn o'r teulu Gymraeg.

(massive thank you from the Welsh family)

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and we really enjoyed you and your extended family.... I never laughed so hard as I did watching the What's App video of your Mother laugh after your Dad's unfortunate plastic chair incident at the apartment. Come on back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great complex and location shame about the ending

  • 2 of 5

We are a party of 3 adults and 2 children. The location of this apartment is perfect, as was the pool complex. Our kids had a ball at the pool and the staff in the pool area are very helpful. We stayed for 2 weeks at this apartment and we got a very nice welcome upon our arrival, in terms of food and drinks in the fridge, local bread etc. Also the owner gave us lots of advise about the local area and restaurants which was also helpful. Overall our stay went very well and we were happy enough with the accommodation until the time came to check out unfortunately. We paid a sizeable security deposit which I paid no problem, however when we were checking out the owner called in to take a look around. I assumed all was ok although he did ask us to hoover the apartment which I thought a little odd as I assumed there were cleaners coming in to get the property ready for the next arrivals. He also pointed out sun-cream which had sprayed a little on a mirror (which was also a bit strange I thought since the cleaners would clean it in seconds). It then became apparent that the owners themselves clean the apartment and do not hire a cleaner. A week after our return home I was told that over 30% was being deducted due to the fact that we left the apartment dirty, had left pots/pans/glasses dirty and had bleached beach towels. I was very upset at these accusations as they simply are not true. My husband spent an hour hoovering and cleaning the apartment before we left it and we most certainly never put pots etc back in cupboards dirty. I tried to explain this to the owners but they were adamant that we had done this and I had no proof. I would never stay at this apartment again. I have stayed in accommodation throughout Ireland and never in all this time have we ever been treated like this. However, the complex and other apartments on the complex were lovely (also bigger and with front/back balconys) so if I was to return I would stay at one of these. I feel the owners expectation to do a deep clean upon check out is a bit much and I think they should hire the onsite cleaner who can do this for guests. They should have included this in their price as I don't go on holidays to clean but to rest and relax, but it must their way of saving money. Our stay at Cabanas was really lovely but was unfortunately marred by this owner's unpleasant treatment of us when we checked out.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In all the time we have rented the apartment you were the first guests that we EVER charged the 45€ exit cleaning fee. This fee is stated within and highlighted in the rental agreement which you read before you agreed to rent the apartment. You left the apartment dirty; very dirty! Items were damaged/broken then hidden, smudged glasses and dirty flatware return to the cupboard. We took photos (which are date and time stamped) and respectfully without rancor, explained to you why, we charged you for the (one) stained beach towel and for the Exit cleaning. Our set of matching ‘guest-beach-towels’ come from IKEA which is located several hours away in either Lisbon or Spain; (another guest lost one, went to her local IKEA and posted it to us). We do NOT require ‘deep’ cleaning, but only ask that guests “leave it as you found it” or don't rent our place. When we personally greet our guests we always review expectations and apartment rules. We are pleased that you enjoyed the wine, beer, milk, tea, bread, cheese, cookies, juice, etc. that we provide as a Welcome gift. Yes, the penthouse apartments have larger 'decks' but smaller interiors. The sqm of the apartment is listed, so no surprises. And I believe we are the only place with aircon in each room. We are a small close-nit group of owners & help each other by passing on the contact information of problem guests to the apartment managers.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We are a French family of four; Mom, Dad and children aged 7-years and 5-years. We really enjoyed staying in this apartment. EVERYTHING was exactly described in the advertisement including (unfortunately) the Coq-a-vin duelling roosters on the nearby farm.

The place was immaculate when we arrived. The owners met us personally. We were surprised at the generous ‘Welcome Gift’ of local wine, Tavira salt, olives plus a typical Olive dish, as well as coffee, tea, and milk, juice, fresh-baked bread, butter, cheese, fruit and such in the fridge. We went immediately to the pool and relaxed with a delicious Mojito while the kids swam and splashed around. It was only few minutes’ walk to take the water-taxi to the beach where we went nearly every day. We didn’t need a car. In the morning we walked to the village bakery for fresh bread. The large beach towels, water toys, beach umbrellas provided in the apartment were a God-send. Little nice things like reading lamps, Internet access, and digital bed-side clock were very helpful; quiet air-conditioning is in each room and the beds were very comfortable. The recommendations to best cafes and fun activities listed in the ‘Welcome Book’ were spot on. We had a great family holiday. We will come back!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a kind review and for being our guests. We thank YOU for leaving the apartment so very clean and tidy when you left much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

Beauty Dry winter warmth Sun Sea Miles of white, sandy beaches Walk to beachfront, a conversation 'n a pint Affordable, amazing delicious food The "Mediterranean Diet" Friendly Portuguese people Complex surrounded by orange and almond groves Cabanas is a real fishing village with a relaxed pace of life Miles of interesting walk/bike trails from the front door Close to airport and train station Most folks speak a wee bit of English

Activity and Interests

Nearest Barpub : 300 meters Nearest Golf : at 2 Kilometres Nearest Train : at 1 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : at 7 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : 300 meters Car: not necessary


A boat transfer (for 1 euro) can be taken to the unspoiled island beach which boasts its own bar/restaurant/changing facilities, sun lounges and umbrellas. No dogs are allowed on the water taxi.


How to get there

Faro airport is 39km (30 – 40 minutes) from Cabanas. Further away, Seville (1 hour 40 minutes) offers an alternative airport. With the beach (and Benamor golf club) so close, a car is only necessary to access more beaches, shops and golf clubs further afield. Railway station is 15 minutes walk away: Trains go from here to Faro and further such as Lisbon.

Distances Nearby towns include the historical town of Tavira (7 Kilometers),

Further Details:

We have a list of restaurants, local points of interest and other entertainments for kids and grownups in our "Welcome Book". There are truly exceptional Golf courses within a couple of km of the apartment. We are foodies and have spent time searching for and eating authentic regional foods that are delicious and affordable. Portugal is a dedicated UNESCO 'Mediterranean Diet' area, this diet is key to the healthy stature of the local population and consists of eating seasonally in a relaxed, friendly way: fresh baked breads, fish, olive oil, fruit, vegetables, herbs, legumes all from this region.

Rosalia's Cafe serves a full lunch, olives n bread, wine or beer, large homemade main dish maybe fresh caught grilled fish or Nana's Fava bean, Pork n clam stew YUMMY and local coffee for only 7 euros. She's within walking distance but not on the water or promenade hence the price.

There is WiFi at the pool if you want to Google-Map one of the restaurants in our book. More in this section later......

Yes there are also amazing high end restaurants here in Cabanas, Tavira and the area and we have a list of these too.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
11 Sep 2016 - 19 Nov 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £7 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £27

Booking Notes:
**During Summer high season we rent Saturday to Saturday. ** A non-refundable deposit of 25% of the total rental price is required to secure the booking, with balance payable 8-weeks prior to arrival. We advise guests to cover risk of cancellation within their own holiday insurance. A refundable deposit of €250 is required, payable on arrival prior at handover of keys, to cover any major breakages or excessive cleaning which will be deducted from deposit. Check-in 2pm-8pm, Check-out 10am

Changeover Day:
Change over day is SATURDAY Exit time CHECK IN between 14h00-20h00hrs, CHECK OUT 10h00in the high season (10 June-15 September) and can be flexible in the other seasons

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 08-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

A cool evening breeze blows through after the hottest day All bedrooms plus dining room/lounge are air-conditioned Walk....stroll to the beach, no car needed Walk to some really amazing places to eat The kitchen steps down to a wee hedged garden, with BBQ and large umbrella The double-bed is like sleeping on clouds Morning light pours into the bedrooms Sunsets across the lounge/dining room Our pools are saltwater, no chlorine

Property Type

  • apartment


  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Toys

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • village


  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Floor Area

  • 85 m²


  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Family bathroom: tiled, shower over bathtub, bidet, W/C, sink En-suite Master bathroom: tiled, shower, W/C, sink


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 1st bedroom, en-suite, double bed, morning light, reading lamps, integrated closets, remote control air-con. 2nd Bedroom two single beds, reading lamp, morning light, closets, remote control air-conditioning, SAFE, Couch folds open into double bed


  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering


  • Outside: The bijou front garden is enclosed by a hedge and includes a table with 2 benches, a briquette BBQ, tilting fixed umbrella & 2 garden chairs. The kitchen steps directly down into the garden. The shared pool area is lovely and sunny with plenty of lounge chairs, umbrellas and free WiFi. It's saltwater pool (much easier on skin, hair and eyes then chlorine), a shallow kiddies pool and a jacuzzi pool. The poolside Snack Bar is open seasonally. There is no need for a car, there are local taxis, buses and train station is only 11-15 min. walk. There is a large shopping mall within 5 mins drive in Tavira. Tavira is lovely, ancient w/strong Moorish influence. A blues/jazz bar or the seductive laments of Fado music can be heard most evenings. Spain is 15-mins drive away. Seville is 90-mins drive where you will find Isla Magica Theme Park. 35-min the other direction is the fabulous Aquashow Family Park slides, pools, waves, exotic birds and Europe’s biggest watercoaster, 23,5 meters high! Utility Room: Utility 'area' vs room, Iron, ironing board, Vacuum cleaner, broom, dustpan, mop, bucket, cleaning agents (Jif, Windex etc.) beach umbrella, shopping/ beach trolley, beach towels. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen, towels included + 4-beach towels, a mandatory cleaning is required every 7-days for multi-week lettings, cost 45-euros cleaning. Extra linen, towels and cleaning can be hired. Other: Clothes line, BBQ, outdoor table seats 6 persons and umbrella, shopping and/or beach trolley,

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot