OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

The Hollies Nairn. Family, pet and disabled friendly holiday home.

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Located in quiet street in Town Centre close to shops, local amenties, beaches, river and Golf Courses

This attractive, spacious cottage is located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Nairn. Off road parking is provided in the private, well maintained, walled garden. Nairn is an elegant, Victorian sea side resort with golden sandy beaches and a Marina. It is renowned for its mild and sunny climate and is ideally located for touring the Highlands. The property is used by the owner as their family holiday home so it is a well equipped home from home including free unlimited wi-fi. Despite being so close to the High Street, the property and garden are peaceful and offer a tranquil setting for your holiday. The cottage caters for families and those with poor mobility. Small, well behaved dogs with responsible owners are welcome too!


Property Manager
Anne Mackintosh
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French
Calendar last updated:
27 June, 2017

About Anne Mackintosh

My family home was in Nairn from age of 11 and we love to return there as often as we can to our now holiday home.

Anne Mackintosh purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Anne Mackintosh chose Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn

The house was my much loved family home so when my mother moved we took the opportunity to buy the house, primarily for our own holiday use. We have twin boys who love the outdoors, our favourite places include the beach and the nearby Culbin Forest with its cycle paths. Further afield (less than an hour's drive), we love to visit Landmark the Forest Adventure Park, Highland Wildlife Park and Folk Museum and skiing in the Cairngorms. If you are looking for a holiday home from home in an attractive seaside location that offers a variety of things for you and the family to see and do, whether its a round of golf, discovering how whiskey is made, dolphin watching or exploring the beautiful scenery and historical sites, this is the place for you.

What makes this cottage unique

This holiday home is uniquely placed in the centre of Nairn off the High Street in a quiet residential street. It has off road parking and a walled, private garden which plays host to a variety of small garden birds. There is a patio with outdoor furniture. It is particularly suited for families and as my husband has MS, we have installed an electric stair lift and have a variety of aids for a guest with poor mobility, including a portable ramp for direct wheelchair access from the street. The artisan baker, Ashers is only around the corner and you are within walking distance of all Nairn has to offer including the beach. It offers great, spacious accommodation for families and anyone with limited mobility.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Lovely house with everything we needed.
May 2016
  • 1 of 14

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Nairn in Scottish Highlands & Islands

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • river
  • town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Lift ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet , On ground floor with good access
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Grab rails, bath shelf, raised toilet seat mobility aids
  • Downstairs WC and cloakroom. Upstairs bathroom newly refitted throughout - bath/ shower and grab rails. Mobility aids available on request.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , TV
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , TV for gaming and X Box 360 with games
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king sized bed, chest of drawers and wardrobe. Bedroom 2 with twin beds, chest of drawers and TV for gaming. Bedroom 3 with double bed, wardrobe, small chest of drawers, travel cot and TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: On arrival you will be welcomed by Lynn the housekeeper who will show you around and offer you a hot drink. As the house is our family holiday home you will find our personal stuff in the house. Things which are left out like umbrellas you are welcome to borrow, other things are stowed away in drawers and cupboards still leaving plenty of space for your thngs. Outside: A well maintained, private, mature garden with patio and furniture. Guests are welcome (at their own risk) to pick the fresh herbs growing by the shed for cooking. Utility Room: vacuum cleaner, iron and ironing board, laundry basket, pegs, clothes airer, cleaning equipment/materials. Also a picnic cool bag, thermos flask and plastic plates and crockery for picnics. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bed linen is included. If your stay is longer than one week the linen and cottage will be changed and cleaned weekly. Please bring your own towels.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Glenrothes
4

Everything needed for holiday was there

  • 4 of 5

Positive comments from most of family. We usually hire a caravan so we appreciated the space internally. The garden was a hit with our 2 small dogs, especially the dog flap. When showed how to use it the smallest dog loved it. The stairlift was invaluable for us. Top of the stairs splits , up 3steps on left and on right. The kingsize bed and bathroom are on the left, where the stairlift terminates so my husband and i took that room whilst daughter, hubbie and children got the double and twin on the right side, over the livingroom.. Loved table and chairs in both the kitchen and living room. Board games, books, tourist info, etc. Facilities well provided in the kitchen. No tumble dryer, but there are screens to dry washing around kitchen radiator. Kitchen window is on the street, so potentially visible through to livingroom at night with lights on and doors open. Parking for one car, we found it best to reverse in, as we both had long cars and whomever got back first, parked in garden. A good base for the area. We went from Channonry point on the black isle (dolphin watching) to Brodie castle , culloden, fort george, findhorn, spey bey, A96 a great main artery. Cuts through Nairn so can get busy but rarely jams up. From the hollies, we went walking, round the corner onto high street, keep walking down the hill past bakers, all the other useful shops, the CO-OP, all the chinese and indian takeaways, all the way down to Fishertown, walked the " nature reserve" the path next to the river, all the way down to harbour.. That was interesting. Across the footbridge to the right there is parkdean resort Nairn lochloy. We went in for coffee, the bar area looks out over the harbour/marina. Nairn east beach is accessed from the path here. On the other side of the harbour is the west beach, long long beach with playpark and stuff. Most of the holiday cost very little. We have national trust membership so we got in to Brodie castle and did a tour for nothing, also culloden, who partnered with historic scotland so that if you show your ticket from culloden you also got 20%off fort george.(disabled friendly, free mobility scooters at both culloden's 10 point tour of battlefield with audio tour. and fort george's mile walk round ramparts. Waterbowls for dogs.)

All in, it was enjoyable and convenient. Husband enjoyed the chinese takeaway from the busiest place ever! Across from the wee square at bottom of high street. Cant remember the name.Will use again!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely cottage in a great location

  • 4 of 5

The Hollies has all you need for a fantastic break in Nairn. Could not be more central with shops, restaurants and carry out available all right in your doorstep with only a short stroll down to the beach. While the cottage itself is not 5 star (only saying as have stayed in some very nice ones) it is above average for what we have stayed in on similar visits to other town and most importantly is very clean. Anne could not be better to deal with as an owner, would definately return.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the cottage's close location to Nairn's attractions. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our much loved family holiday home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week in this wonderful hidden gem in Nairn. The cottage is perfect for a family break as it is like a home from home and located just off the high street where you can find everything you need. Fresh milk in the fridge & a Victoria sponge were nice welcome touches. The cottage is clean & tidy and the beds are extremely comfortable, providing a fab nights sleep even with our 3 month old baby in the room. The lounge is great for relaxing with your feet up & a glass of wine after a walk on the beach (10 mins). Really loved the garden area too. Plenty to do in the area if you have a car, we visited a whisky distillery, the Boath House for a truly fantastic lunch & Inverness for a day trip. Thank you for a lovely first family holiday, we will be back very soon!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Disappointing

  • 3 of 5

We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the last 30 years and many have been excellent. However the Hollies did not meet our expectations mainly due to a lack of care and attention. The property lacked a good clean as was evidenced by the patio door windows which were covered in children's hand prints until we cleaned them. Also the owner " forgot to change the heating schedule" so we woke up to a cold cottage on three mornings until it was remotely re-set to come on in a morning. To round things off I had to chase for a refund of my £100 deposit as it had slipped the owners mind to do it. Not great!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that the stay was disappointing. As soon as we were advised about the heating we remedied the issue (its a shame it wasn't reported on the first morning so we could have altered the heating schedule from summer to winter and the guests would've had a warm stay all week). We agree it was not great that the guests had to chase the deposit, this too was remedied promptly ie the same evening we received the guest's email, we requested their bank details so we could pay via the internet, which we did immediately. This was the quickest means of returning the deposit. We pride ourselves in providing a well cleaned property for guests, we hope that if guests spot anything that then are not happy with that they advise us immediately so we can put it right. This feedback is helpful and we will ensure that we take greater care to remove handprints from patio windows etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Perfect holiday base and accommodation

  • 5 of 5

The Hollies was the perfect base to explore. It was quiet and peaceful providing the ideal home from home. We have 2 children 6 and 4 it was ideal with them with a secure garden for them to play in. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great house, great location, fab holiday.

  • 5 of 5

Prior to arrival received very comprehensive and excellent information from owner, the house was perfect for our needs, my springer spaniel made himself right at home adopting the garden as his new favourite location to relax in after very busy days exploring the surrounding areas. The house is lovely and feels like a home, it is well equipped and very characterful. Nairn is beautiful and we spent our week exploring, there are lots of attractions that are easily accessible from Nairn so a great base to explore a beautiful area. A wonderful holiday and will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
June
5 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£560
for 7 nights
£560
 
 
High Season
1 Jul 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
September
4 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£540
for 7 nights
£540
 
 
October
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
£1,400
 
 
November
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£375
for 7 nights
£375
£1,400
 
 
December
1 Dec 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £30
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
The above rates exclude the service fee that Owners Direct will charge you if you book through this web site. Booking is confirmed with £100 non refundable deposit and a completed booking form. Full payment is due 1 month before the start of your stay or in full if booked less then 4 weeks or for short breaks. If cancelled 30 days or less before the start of the holiday, no refund. If cancelled more than 30 days before the holiday only the balance will be returned. No return of fees for Christmas and New Year. Please call 07824 642250 if you have any queries. On arrival you will need to provide a refundable security deposit of £100.00 which will be returned to you within 5 days of departure by bank transfer, assuming you have left the house, garden, fixtures and contents in good order with no damage or breakages.

Changeover Day:
Sundays arrival 3 00 pm, departures 11 00 am unless otherwise agreed.

Notes on prices:
Letting is usually weekly Sunday to Sunday, for shorter breaks these are agreed on an individual basis, minimum of 3 nights stay. Prices for Christmas and New Year are available by contacting the owner.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals