OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Country Estate, Family & Pet friendly

People14
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms5
Separate WC's1
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Country house, 8 bedrooms, 5 &1/2 bathrooms, heated indoor pool

The newly built country house embedded in National Parkland offers exclusive accommodation with the latest advances in technology, such as intelligent controlled housing, under floor heating, heated pool and Wi-Fi. Surrounded by oaks & carobs, the House offers the peace and quietness that you need to completely disconnect from the outer world.The double height living room offers two different seating areas with chimney and direct access to the large terrace. Enjoy the astonishing views of the Strait of Gibraltar while sip on a glass of wine sitting in the sofas of the cover terrace, even in winter as a second chimney is located here. During nights have barbecues under the moonlight while feeling totally relaxed in the heart of the mountain. Leading from the living room is a staircase that provides access to four double rooms newly furnished and 5 generously sized bathrooms with all facilities. On the ground floor you can have a swim in the heated indoor pool or rest on the sunbeds.

Surroundings: Gaucín is one of the famous white villages of Andalusia. The village is perched on the edge of the Sierra de Ronda and its known for its breathtaking views out over the rolling countryside below, all the way to the Rif mountains of Morocco, 120 miles away, across the Gibraltar Straits. Ronda 49 km away, with the oldest Bullring in Spain and its famous gorge is about 1 h drive through enormous cork forests. Jerez, an unforgettable drive through beautiful country side, were the famous Sherry wine is produced,(visits to its wine cellars and wine tastings can be arranged), the internationally known dancing horses show is worth a visit. Beaches of Manilva are 27 km away, Gibraltar and the resorts of the Costa del Sol such as Estepona, and Marbella, for shops. The Atlantic beaches and Tarifa with its famous windsurfing and kitting about 1 h drive and Golf courses from 40 min drive. Morocco with Tanger and its traditional markets is 40 min on boat from Tarifa.

Description of The Country House: The Country house with a modern touch provides spacious and comfortable accommodation for up to 14 people and is ideal for groups, families and children, and to hold events. The generously sized and Elegantly decorated Bedrooms have spacious en suite Bathrooms and the new beds are very comfortable. The newly installed Kitchen with access to a separated summer breakfast terrace, has all the appliances of a professional kitchen, Ice Machine, American Fridge, microwave, and extra large oven. The double hight living room with a classic touch, sits 14, the porch-terrace, fully furnished with beautiful outdoor sofas and tables, will allow you to contemplate the panoramic views even in winter, since is equipped with a fireplace. The heated indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views, is situated in a big area that can be used to hold a party, lecture, seminar, or even as a gym. Parking gated, many cars can be parked outside the villa right next door to entrance door, which makes an easy task to bring the luggage in.

Places to visit -2: The old monumental cities of Andalucia: Cádiz, Córdoba, Granada, Málaga, Sevilla and Ronda are within a few hours drive and well worth a day trip.

More Details

Owner
Miren Valle
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 June, 2017

About Miren Valle

My name is Miren, I am from Bilbao.

I currently live in between the coast and Gaucin.

I love walking, reading, swimming and i'm interested in psychology and oriental philosophy.

Miren Valle purchased this chateau / country house in 2004

Why Miren Valle chose Ronda area

My husband's dream was to have a house in the Country, and he found his dream spot in Gaucin.

We bought the finca in 2003, and build what is today La Posada Romana.

We are very proud of the house and the gardens that we have surrounding us.

I fell in love of the area when we came to buy the finca, because is so green and there is forest everywhere, is very peaceful and specially we love the views over the strait of Gibraltar.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

The whole project was drawn in a restaurant napkin and passed on to a wonderful arquitect: Gustavo Kloster, who made our dream reality and managed the building project following to the point our wishes.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Gaucín in Malaga Province (Costa del Sol)

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet , Very luxurios with separate toilet & Jacuzzy+separate shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet , En suite with bedroom 2
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet , Ensuite with Bedroom 3
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Guest toilet in living room area.
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , In Spa area
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , In Swimmin pool level for room 6
  • All bathrooms have windows. Underfloor heating in all bathrooms. Hair drier in en-suite bathrooms. All bathrooms are built whit the most exclusive Italian marble. All tabs in bathrooms are the exclusive Montreaux model from Hans Grohe.
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , (in 1st floor 70m2) cot available, fits foldable bed+ cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Child Bed , (in main Floor)Extra bed or cot available
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , (In main floor)cot available
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , (in first floor) no en-suit bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Child Bed , (In first floor)bunk beds
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed , Down stairs Floor Level, Quiet room with window.
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Large Double Bed , Downstairs. This bedroom has ensuite bathroom.
    Bedroom 7 - 2 Single Bed , Downstairs ground floor level. Quiet room with window.
  • Towels provided Bed linen provided. Shower gel provided All bedrooms have air conditioning and underfloor heating. The bedrooms are newly furnished. There are 2 extra baby cots and a junior bed plus 2 foldable beds availables to place in any bedroom on request, Bedrooms 1 y 3 have panoramic views and are very large you can fit an extra cot and a junior bed in them.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck Chairs
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Private Pool ...
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Cleaning is included one time a week. For stays of +10 nights one midle cleaning is included. Less than 10 nights no midle cleaning included. Extra maid service can be arranged, if required at 10€/hour. Play Station Available and various games, Table Tenis, Darts, Books, etc. Walking and hiking: Local guides can take you off the beaten track, across the mountains and into the valleys, for wonderful views you cannot get from the road. We can put you in touch with them to make your own arrangements, depending on your ability. NOTE: Access to the house is a dirt track of 1,5 km. This has recently been repaired and now any car can easily access the house without any problem.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

5

A beautiful house in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week here, enjoying the comforts of the house and its views. If anything, it's even better than it seems on the photos.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Outstanding place to share with your family

  • 5 of 5

This place is fantastic. The house is extremely beautiful and comfortable, with a ridiculous view of the Genal river valley, the coast (even Africa) and if you just want to stay there, it's a great place to do so. But you also have all the beautiful "pueblos blancos" to visit including awesome Gaucin, beautiful Ronda, and if you want to travel more, you can go to Sevilla, Granada, or Cordoba. You also have the beaches, if that's your thing. Great place to hike and bike in the mountains too.

A word apart for Diego and Ester, the couple that take care of the house. They are both wonderful people, and Ester is a great cook too. For a very reasonable price she can cook for your whole group, which makes the stay even more fun. Her lamb leg, roasted chicken and paella are outstanding.

The owner Miren is also wonderful. My flight was delayed a whole day, so she went to pick up members of my family twice to the Granada airport for a very reasonable fee.

We were there in Christmas-New Year. Weather was great. Sunny every day, and coming from Iowa, I didn't even wear a sweater most of the time. Locals wear coats since they are spoiled with all the warmth they have year-round, but it was really mild, even at night.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alejandro and family, It has been a real pleasure to have you staying at the villa. I m so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful to meet happy and positive people. I wish you all the best. Miren
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sandwich, Kent
5

fabulous

  • 5 of 5

Eight of us (four couples - young pensioners!) shared La Posada Romana in early October. We had wall-to-wall sunshine and real warmth.

The house is fabulous and the description, photos and video on the HomeAway site do not overstate. We were very comfortable. Esther cooked for us on three evenings which was a great boon - she is a good cook and we particularly recommend her gazpacho, lamb and paella.

We were there to relax and so did not travel large distances. We enjoyably visited several towns within a 30 mile radius - the pick was probably Casares where there were 50 eagles circling and swooping above our heads.

The main supermarket in Gaucin was more than adequate for us and has a large selection of wine.

Several reviewers have commented on the approach road which is about a mile partly concreted and partly unmade. It was daunting at first sight but we were soon used to it. 4WD is unnecessary but we would recommend a vehicle with adequate ground clearance as a low-slung sports car would ground on one of the concrete sections.

Strongly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Highly Recommend, Five Star Rating

  • 5 of 5

We stay at La Posada Romana twice a year because of the inspiring beauty of the forest-covered mountains with unparalleled views rain

or shine. It's quiet with surrounding nature preserved, yet only 10 minutes to the village, which pretty much has everything you can get down at the coast. The host and caretakers are amazing people who

are always available when needed yet never interfere. The track is

like all the mountains roads -- a bit windy and bumpy -- but any little

hired car we've ever brought down has made it without issue (and it

helps get you out of the rush mentality that is the whole purpose of coming to such a special, natural place)! The images of the house

speak for themselves and accurately depict what you can expect to

find on your arrival. The two principal rooms are gorgeous with

panoramic views, perfect for joint family holidays. The kitchen has

just about everything you would have at home and the many

outdoor seating areas offer options for lounging and relaxing, even if

you have a big group or family. And, unlike many places in the area,

the wifi works well throughout the house.

-- Heather C, UK

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Palatial property in the hills

  • 5 of 5

Other than the nerve wracking drive to get to the villa, the house in the hills was absolutely jaw dropping. It was clean, tidy and immaculately kept. The owner was very helpful and we utilised the chef on several occasions. My whole family loved the location and the experience. Thank you very much!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr Jagger, Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm very pleased that everyone enjoyed their stay. All the best Miren
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great villa with spectacular views

  • 4 of 5

We have just spent a week in this great villa. The villa is only a few years old and in perfect shape.

We where up to 15 persons in the villa including children age 4-12. No problem with space!

I would have given it a 5 if it was not for the gravel road and lack of outdoor swimming pool.

Positive:

The views from the house is really stunning

Space, large bed rooms

Quality of the building, furniture, TV etc

Large common area/living room

Kitchen

Efficient and silent AC

Nice with three floors when you are as many as we where in the house.

Easy to communicate with owner

Negative:

The major downside of of the villa is the terrible gravel/concrete road which was longer and worse than expected.

The official road 377 leading to AP7 is also mountain road in bad shape. The roads are so bad that some people in our party even

hesitated to leave the house. To walk to Guacin is 30-40 minutes.

Beds not living up to the standard of the villa

Kind of difficult to get AC started in some rooms

Strange height of the chairs at the dining table (to low)

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. I'm very happy that you enjoy your stay at the villa. All the best Miren
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
April to June 2017
29 Apr 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,280
for 4 nights
From
£295
From
£358
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
July 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,754
for 7 nights
From
£379
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
August 2017
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,933
for 7 nights
From
£547
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
September 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,754
for 7 nights
From
£379
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
October to December 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,179
for 4 nights
From
£270
From
£358
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,607
for 7 nights
From
£358
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
January to March 2018
8 Jan 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,213
for 4 nights
From
£278
 
 
EASTER 2018
24 Mar 2018 - 6 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,522
for 7 nights
From
£333
From
£379
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
April to June 2018
7 Apr 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,381
for 4 nights
From
£320
From
£379
Fri,Sat
 
 
July 2018
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,043
for 7 nights
From
£420
 
 
August 2018
1 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,933
for 7 nights
From
£547
 
 
September 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,996
for 5 nights
From
£379
 
 
October to December 2018
1 Oct 2018 - 2 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,280
for 4 nights
From
£295
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,722
for 7 nights
From
£232
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0
Final cleaning £101.06
Refundable Damage Deposit £421.1

For groups of more than 8 persons 140€ per week(20€ per day) per Extra guest.
Stays of more than 10 days one middle stay cleaning included.

Extra Cleaning 10€/hour available on Request. There's a cook available on request, please contact the owner.

There are discounts available for groups of 4 people or less, please ask the owner.The owner accepts well-behaved dogs.
Rates are subject to change until reservation has been made.
The breakage deposit of 500€, is to be paid at check-in, which will be returned during the week by bank transfer if nothing was broken.
There's a fee of 150€/week to pay for the cost of heating the Indoor Swimming Pool. I need a week of notice since it is the time it takes to heat the water up to 26º-28ºC.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals