OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Family Owned Caravan Isle Of Wight, Near Bembridge, St Helens, Ryde

Overview

Property

Updated: 18-Oct-2016
Mobile Home / Caravan in St Helens, Isle of Wight, England - Peaceful Location, 15 Minute Walk To Beach, Outdoor Pool On Site

Situated on the peaceful and relaxing St Helens Holiday Park, our family owned caravan is in a pleasant position, not too far from the car park and a short walk to the outdoor pool, launderette and games room. New in 2013 is the decking, giving extra space and a lovely place to sit on a warm summers evening. Our comfortable caravan, regularly used by our family, is fully equipped with added extras such as DVD's, books and games.

Visitors can also use the indoor pool at Rookley Park - 15 mins drive away.

The well stocked and fairly priced village store is a few minutes walk away, as is the local pub, cafe, village green and 2 x restaurants. The beach is a 15 minute walk away, by road or across the old golf golf course. If you prefer to drive there are plenty of parking spaces near the beach, where you can also find Baywatch on the Beach Cafe.

Nowhere is far on the Isle Of Wight and you will find something for everyone within a short distance; from popular beaches, historic houses, childrens activity parks, sailing, horse riding .... the list goes on.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Pets considered
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We love our children and grandchildren and hope that they enjoy our caravan as much as we do.

We work hard, but having the caravan gives us that magic escape pod, where we can relax and recharge our batteries.

We hope you enjoy our holiday home as much as we do. St Helens has fast become one of our favourite places, loving the peace and quiet, long walks on the beach, eating at a variety of cafe's and restaurants; or just reading a book in the caravan.

Call Owner
Speaks English, Danish, Danish

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great holiday thank you. The site was lovely and quiet and it was very handy having the shop nearby. The caravan was very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. We watched a couple of the DVDs and the children enjoyed the jigsaw puzzle. The beds were extremely comfortable, so much so that we are now considering buying a foam mattress because my husband preferred it to ours at home!



This was our second holiday to the Isle of Wight and we will most probably look to holiday there in the future, if so we would hope to book your caravan again.



Kind regards



Anna
May 2015
  • 1 of 2

4 Reviews

4.8
based on 4 holidaymaker reviews

Frilford, Oxfordshire
5

Perfect Island Holiday

  • 5 of 5

An absolutely spotless, spacious and comfortable caravan awaits you in St Helen's. We have been visiting IOW for 10 years now and many of the holiday parks are sadly overgrown and noisy places these days. St Helen's is location perfect with easy walks to the beach, park and pub. With attractions nearby there is something for everyone. We especially enjoyed walking to the beach daily and then a refreshing swim in the pool. Debbie the owner made our visit so easy with our children and dogs. Excellent bedding included, and a comfortable double bed in the master with soft mattress topper made this better than most springy hard caravan sleeps. Friendly neighbours in a peaceful surround made us feel like this was our own holiday van. I would highly recommend to families that want a relaxing break without the bingo halls and arcade games. Get back to sand castles, boat trips and good old fashioned exploring. A* all round, will definitely be back! Thank you :)

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely feedback. We love the caravan too and try hard to give our guests the same holiday feeling that we get every time we visit. it is important to use that our guests are comfortable and it is lovely to read that we have achieved that,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely caravan and spotlessly clean

  • 5 of 5

Caravan was very comfortable and lovely and clean, everything you needed as far as utensils and crockery were concerned. Owners were very helpful at all times. Excellent site and kids loved the pool, my grand-daughter was copletely taken with the little pony in next field. It was an extra bonus that we could take our little dog as he loves his holiday as well as us. Would thoroughly reccommend to friends.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely Stay

  • 4 of 5

Lovely quiet campsite with pool.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful time at St Helens Holiday park

  • 5 of 5

We have had a lovely week's holiday staying in this caravan at St Helen's holiday park. The caravan is spacious and was spotlessly clean on our arrival, it is in a nice quiet holiday park with a heated outdoor pool to use, and everyone we met on site were friendly and helpful if we had any questions. The park is in a great location for sightseeing and if you like Horse riding there are beach rides for all abilities about a 5 minute drive away at "Sally's Riding" which was amazing to. There is so much to do at the Isle of Wight it's beautiful and we wouldn't hesitate to book this caravan again and we hope to return next Summer.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had such a good time. We love the caravan and are so pleased that our visitors do too. Look forward to seeing you again,
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

From the Owner

We bought our lovely caravan in the summer of 2014 and the Isle of Wight was chosen because of how easy it is to get there. We love the ferry and our holiday starts as soon as we drive into the port. The caravan and site also had to be child friendly, and St Helens is perfect as it traffic free. (Don't worry as the car park is close by and trollies are provided) St Helens is pretty and peaceful, but with everything you need (other than bright lights and discos) on its doorstep. Nowhere is far on the Isle of Wight. We are trying out all the local cafes, pubs and restaurants and happy to give recommendations.

Activity and Interests

Coast/Beach:

St Helens Duver is a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk. But there are a number of beautiful, safe, sandy beaches - both quiet beaches and popular beaches within close proximity of the caravan site. Coastal walks are well signposted.

Travel:

Red Funnel Ferries to Cowes or Wight Link to Fishbourne or foot passenger to Ryde. Cowes is 30 mins, Fishbourne 20 mins and Ryde 10 mins drive. It is worth checking online for ferry discount codes before booking, or email the owners.

There is an excellent bus service from the ports to St Helens and around the island, so whilst a car is handy, it is not essential. Hovercraft goes into Ryde and the bus stop is literally a short walk away, with buses on the hour into St Helens.

Distances:

St Helens is approx a 25 minute drive from Cowes, 10 minutes from Ryde and 20 minutes from Sandown and Shanklin, but nowhere is far on the Isle of Wight.

Further Details:

The local village store is well stocked and just a few minutes walk down The Diggings. The nearest large supermarket (Tesco) is in Ryde - approx 5 minutes drive away. There is a Waitrose in Cowes as you drive off the ferry.

There are 2 x restaurants and 4 x cafes in St Helens, with lots more in nearby Bembridge.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2017 (exc Cowes Week)
15 Jul 2017 - 23 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£665
for 7 nights
£665
 
 
Cowes Week 2017
29 Jul 2017 - 5 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
 
August 2017 (exc Cowes Week)
6 Aug 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£685
for 7 nights
£685
 
 
September 2017
3 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please make initial reservation by phone and email. Booking forms will be sent out and we ask for a 20% deposit at time of booking please (non refundable) and the balance 6 weeks before start of holiday. For bookings made less than 6 weeks before start of holiday full balance is payable at the time of booking.

Small well behaved dog allowed at owners discretion - please call or email.

Lets are mainly 7 days but shorter lets (min 3 nights) are available at certain times of year. Please email or call for details.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday, but we can be flexible. Arrivals no earlier than 3pm and keys must be handed back to reception by 10am on the day of departure. Please contact the owner for prices for 3 or 4 day breaks.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for 7 days but we will take shorter bookings outside of the main season. Contact the owners for prices and availability.

If you need to cancel we will refund if cancelling 8 weeks before, refund 75% if cancelling up to 6 weeks before, 50% up to 4 weeks before. However we will always do our best to relet the caravan, and refund your money in full where possible, with just a £50 admin charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 18-Oct-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

We love the fact that we can walk to the beach or into the country from the caravan. There are so many attractions within a short drive, with something to suit everyone. Sometimes we leave the car and go by bus - again this is really easy to do with regular buses to all parts of the island. The decking is a real bonus as we love to sit outside on warm, sunny evenings. If the weather is wet, visitors can use the indoor pool at Rookley Park - approx 15 mins drive. The caravan is kept sparkly clean by Sue, our lovely cleaner.

Property Type

  • mobile home

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool

Suitability

  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • bay
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Bathrooms

  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Separate toilet with hand basin and mirror. Shower room with hand basin and storage cabinet with mirror. Toilet roll!

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed. Bedroom 2 with twin beds. Bedroom 3 with twin beds. All bedrooms have wardrobes and over bed storage. Electric wall panel heaters in all bedrooms. Shaver point in double bedroom.

Outside

  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: This is a family owned caravan which we use regularly and we love it. Outside: The caravan has decking, new in 2013 and a bench. There is a green area outside the caravan and childrens play areas and field, including badminton and football nets within a few minutes walk (one can be seen from the caravan). The site is car free and the caravan is a very short walk along a path from the car park. Trolleys are available for moving luggage. There is a shared heated outdoor pool on site and guests can use the indoor pool at nearby Rookley Park. The holiday park also has a games room, launderette, with washers, tumble dryer, iron and ironing board. Reception is manned during office hours, with 24 hour emergency call out. The village is a few minutes walk with a well stocked store, pub, cafes and restaurants. Order delicious pastries the day before! Nearby attractions include Blackgang Chine, Robin Hill Park, Osbourne House, Bembridge Harbour, Sandown Zoo, the Garlic Farm, Rosemary Vineyard, numerous beaches, country and coastal walks. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Property is cleaned after each visit. Bed linen is included in price, or a discount can be given if you wish to bring your own. Towels are not included. Other: Dining area with seating for 6, round table

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot