OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spectacular Views, Amazing Location In Heart Of Snowdonia

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Dolwyddelan, Nr. Betws-y-Coed, snowdonia, North Wales

Delightful holiday cottage in the village of Dolwyddelan, in the heart of Snowdonia. Secluded but not remote and with easy access to main transport links. 4 bedrooms, 2 double, 1 single(plus fold out bed), 1 bunk bed room, and cot. Sleeps up to 7 people. 3 large reception rooms, full central heating, log effect electric fire. Comfortably furnished. Fully equipped kitchen including, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, cooker, electric oven and 4 ring hob, two fridge freezers. Cot and high chair provided. Plenty of off-street parking. Beautiful location with spectacular mountain views. Set in 4 acres of garden and meadow-land with a stream and the River Lledr running through the grounds. Perfect location for walking, cycling and all mountain pursuits. The beaches of Harlech, Llandudno and Borth-y-gest are all within 30 mins drive. The cottage includes fishing rights on the Lledr. The village centre, 5 minutes walk, has all facilities including a shop, post office, pub, restaurant and railway station. The Conwy valley rail line is a day out in itself, linking to Llandudno (the beach and Great Orme), Conwy (castle and historic town), Betws-y-Coed (resort town and gateway to Snowdon), and Bleaunau Ffestiniog (Britain's best steam railway, and slate caverns). Also links to the main rail network to London etc at Llandudno. Flexible booking arrangements allow for long weekends or mid-week breaks. Find it on the A470 midway between Betws-y-Coed and Bleanau Ffestiniog.

More Details

Owner
Nicola Bull
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2017

About Nicola Bull

.My name is Nicky. I have been an owner of Pont Arenig since 1990. my father lived in the house for many years and furnished and decorated it in keeping with the age of the property. My children spent all their holidays at Pont Arenig, climbing mountains, cycling along the quieter lanes and playing in the river. On wet days we always found plenty to do. Our greatest and most lasting love however, are the trains of North Wales! steam, electric or diesel they all are captivating and pass through unparalled scenery.

Nicola Bull purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Nicola Bull chose Dolwyddelan

.

What makes this cottage unique

.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Dolwyddelan in Conwy

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • river
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs bathroom has shower, toilet and washbasin
  • Upstairs bathroom, bath, bidet, toilet and washbasin. Downstairs toilet and washbasin separate shower area.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Fold out bed can be placed in any room
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size double, bedroom 2 double bed, bedroom 3 single with fold out bed available, bedroom 4 bunk beds, cot available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Music Library ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • caving
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: This is an old property with character and still maintained as a family home. No smoking is allowed anywhere inside the property. Well behaved pets are accepted at the owners discretion. Outside: A well kept garden surrounds the house with lawns and perennial plants and bushes. A stream flows to the side of the driveway. There is a gate at the end of the driveway leading to the fields, used for lambing in spring then left for hay. The fields are great for football, cricket or frisbee. The River Lledr borders the property and there is a beach area that is great for stone skimming, bar-be-ques and sunbathing. Guests may fish for salmon (providing they have a rod license) and swim. Utility Room: Mop, bucket, drying racks, hoover, broom, dustpan and brush, ironing board and iron. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Property is cleaned before guests arrive and for longer stays cleaning is available after 7 days for no extra charge. Linen is changed weekly, kitchen towels are provided but guests need to bring their own bath towels. Other: Conservatory, large table with chairs, rattan coffee table and chairs. Dining room: Large table with extent able leaf, seats 8,

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

4

Great setting, spacious, good value. Would consider returning.

  • 4 of 5

Found the house no problem, loved the views of the mountains and the castle through the valley. The house was a Good size for the 8 of us. (4 adults, 1 teen 3 young) the kids loved the garden! The decor as others have mentioned is dated but that added to the homely feel for us. I would agree though there are a few minor repairs that are needed. The conservatory is big and the views great but the door needs looking at and the seat cover needs replacing, the living room was cosy with books and a few games, the kitchen was fine, dining room was big enough for us all to eat and play games at night. There was a spare kids duvet we found at night but didn't realise till the morning it had a load of holes in it, just wants binning! The spare fold out bed isn't great although my 7 year old had no complaints. And finally there is crack in the tile in the shower that wants sorting or it will get worse and become more costly to fix. The water pressure and temperature was great though, no complaints about that! Overall I was pleased with the house, we all had a great time and I was pleased with the price. The house doesn't need "modernising" but with a few minor repairs and maintaining it would get 5 stars. Thanks for a great few days.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I will make a note of the minor repairs you have listed. Unfortunately guests do not report the damage they cause and repairs can't always be dealt with immediately between changeovers. Everything you mention is news to me, with the exception of the fold out bed which has been repaired. We don't even have a 'kids' duvet, maybe previous guests left it behind. I will chase all these things up with my housekeeper.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cottage lovely location

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was absolutely lovely. Had everything we needed (8 adults and dog) awesome views. Great location too.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect for what we needed.

  • 4 of 5

We are two families with two boys each, 9 and 11 years old. We came to Wales to visit Bounce Below and after having no luck on Airbnb, we found this perfect house at a not too expensive price (about £60/family/night). The house is clean, quaintly decorated and has real Welsh character. It was nice to see the family pictures and to feel that the house has been so loved. The garden was perfect for the boys-a field to run around in! The stream also provided a lot of fun for them. The village is walking distance and we made use of the hotel for a drink and the Spar to get cheap postcards and provisions we had forgotten. We spent one day climbing up Snowdon (a half hour or so drive) and it was sunny with perfect views. The next day we went to Bounce Below (advance booking essential) which is literally down the road from the property. The house has four good sized rooms and both double bedrooms had views of the mountains. The double beds were a bit rickety and even turning over made lots of squeaks which we rectified the second night by putting a blanket between the headboard and the wall! The housekeeper (Diana) was there when we arrived and she was so friendly and helpful. The extra bed (guest bed) which we needed had broken slats but we managed. The shower downstairs is good and the house was lovely and warm. The kitchen is well-stocked although the oven is a bit slow. We would love to come back if we visit again. Last year we were ripped off for £100 a night with a cold and dreary bunk room in a Youth Hostel which looked beautiful on the photos (except we were sent down to a 1970s outhouse which looked like schools stayed there!) so it was great to be in a proper house at a very reasonable cost. Thank-you for having us in your lovely house!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for you lovely review. The fold out bad has now been fixed and I'll get the other beds tightened up. Diana is always available to sort out any issues including creaky beds!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Midlands
4

Cosy

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is very cute and cosy.

It was initially difficult to find and we were unable to have access to the property at the time stated we could which was slightly inconvenient.

The location is not far from Snowdon, and is a nice stroll into the village which has a pub and hotel where you can get food, or buy it yourself from the SPAR.

Some of the decor is dated, but for a short stay it was fine. No TV was not a problem as the Wifi means you can just download games on a tablet if you don't want to play any if the board games.

The photos do not do it justice as we were pleasantly surprised with how big it was - very spacious!

The 8th bed - camp bed - was not very suitable however. It broke when it was sat on so the floor had to be used.

Overall, very nice :)

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you had a good holiday. I'm disappointed that you did not contact me immediately about the 'broken' fold out bed. I have an excellent housekeeper who deals with such things straight away and she would have made sure no one slept on the floor. However, your point is now noted and the bed will be repaired or replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, cozy and well l located

  • 5 of 5

Quaint, cozy house although the fireplace is not real it still adds warmth to the house. The wallpaper is quirky and you can feel this is a house that is loved and where a lot of memories were shared. Great base to go exploring the peaks of Snowdonia. Only visited in winter, but the property has a lovely outdoors area that would be great in warm weather

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your lovely review, I'm so glad you had a good holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cosy retreat

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for new year and loved the cottage and its quiet location.There were 8 of us including teenagers and there was enough space and everything we needed .The heating is fab and we didnt miss the TV at all.The location is close to all the sights in Snowdonia and the local pubs were very friendly.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
16 Jul 2017 - 22 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£265
for 2 nights
From
£125
£665
£2,815
 
 
Peak
23 Jul 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
£715
£3,015
 
 
Nightly Rate
12 Aug 2017 - 26 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
 
 
Peak
27 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
£715
£3,015
 
 
Nightly Rate
2 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
£715
£3,015
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£215
for 2 nights
From
£100
£665
£2,815
 

Additional pricing information

Card payment £15

Booking Notes:
Contact owner to check availability, deposit of 20% taken to confirm booking, balance must be paid 6 weeks before arrival. Once balance is paid full house details, including access to keys, are sent to guests.

Changeover Day:
Changeover flexible

Notes on prices:
Please contact owner about pricing for short breaks or longer periods.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot