OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spectacular Views, Amazing Location In Heart Of Snowdonia

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Dolwyddelan, Nr. Betws-y-Coed, snowdonia, North Wales

Delightful holiday cottage in the village of Dolwyddelan, in the heart of Snowdonia. Secluded but not remote and with easy access to main transport links. 4 bedrooms, 2 double, 1 single(plus fold out bed), 1 bunk bed room, and cot. Sleeps up to 7 people. 3 large reception rooms, full central heating, log effect electric fire. Comfortably furnished. Fully equipped kitchen including, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, cooker, electric oven and 4 ring hob, two fridge freezers. Cot and high chair provided. Plenty of off-street parking. Beautiful location with spectacular mountain views. Set in 4 acres of garden and meadow-land with a stream and the River Lledr running through the grounds. Perfect location for walking, cycling and all mountain pursuits. The beaches of Harlech, Llandudno and Borth-y-gest are all within 30 mins drive. The cottage includes fishing rights on the Lledr. The village centre, 5 minutes walk, has all facilities including a shop, post office, pub, restaurant and railway station. The Conwy valley rail line is a day out in itself, linking to Llandudno (the beach and Great Orme), Conwy (castle and historic town), Betws-y-Coed (resort town and gateway to Snowdon), and Bleaunau Ffestiniog (Britain's best steam railway, and slate caverns). Also links to the main rail network to London etc at Llandudno. Flexible booking arrangements allow for long weekends or mid-week breaks. Find it on the A470 midway between Betws-y-Coed and Bleanau Ffestiniog.

More Details

Owner
Nicola Bull
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2017

About Nicola Bull

.My name is Nicky. I have been an owner of Pont Arenig since 1990. my father lived in the house for many years and furnished and decorated it in keeping with the age of the property. My children spent all their holidays at Pont Arenig, climbing mountains, cycling along the quieter lanes and playing in the river. On wet days we always found plenty to do. Our greatest and most lasting love however, are the trains of North Wales! steam, electric or diesel they all are captivating and pass through unparalled scenery.

Nicola Bull purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Nicola Bull chose Conwy

.

What makes this cottage unique

.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Dolwyddelan in Conwy

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • river
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs bathroom has shower, toilet and washbasin
  • Upstairs bathroom, bath, bidet, toilet and washbasin. Downstairs toilet and washbasin separate shower area.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Fold out bed can be placed in any room
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size double, bedroom 2 double bed, bedroom 3 single with fold out bed available, bedroom 4 bunk beds, cot available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Music Library ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • caving
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: This is an old property with character and still maintained as a family home. No smoking is allowed anywhere inside the property. Well behaved pets are accepted at the owners discretion. Outside: A well kept garden surrounds the house with lawns and perennial plants and bushes. A stream flows to the side of the driveway. There is a gate at the end of the driveway leading to the fields, used for lambing in spring then left for hay. The fields are great for football, cricket or frisbee. The River Lledr borders the property and there is a beach area that is great for stone skimming, bar-be-ques and sunbathing. Guests may fish for salmon (providing they have a rod license) and swim. Utility Room: Mop, bucket, drying racks, hoover, broom, dustpan and brush, ironing board and iron. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Property is cleaned before guests arrive and for longer stays cleaning is available after 7 days for no extra charge. Linen is changed weekly, kitchen towels are provided but guests need to bring their own bath towels. Other: Conservatory, large table with chairs, rattan coffee table and chairs. Dining room: Large table with extent able leaf, seats 8,

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

35% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular Views, Amazing Location In Heart Of Snowdonia
average rating of 4.071429 based on 14 reviews
5

great place for family groups

  • 5 of 5

Great place with plenty of room for us all (5 adults and 3 children and dog).

Children (7, 4 and 18m)and dog, loved the river beach and we went there every day.

Pub in village serves good plain home cooked food. Also small Spar in the village for shopping.

Plenty to see within 40 mins drive and walks in the forest from the village plus castle round the corner.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lots of character and very roomy. Great views of Snowdonia!

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 6 had a very enjoyable stay. Home has lots of space and nice sun room overlooking mountains. Lots of character.

Just beware, if you on the tall side, you will likely bump your head a few times. Low doorways and ceilings in the bathrooms!

Town is very close with Spa store and has great place to eat at Ellen's Castie Hotel.

Location is very central for all there is to see in the area.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great place, could do with a good clean

  • 2 of 5

Very tired place, very dirty.

I had to clean the bunk bed room, and remove a layer of cobweb before I'd let my children sleep in there. I dropped a banana on the dinning room floor. I considered the 3 second rule, but when I picked it up, it was covered in dog hair and dirt.

The wallpaper is mouldy and peeling off, all over the place. The oven took 50 mins to reach temperature. The beds creaked so bad, they wake you as you move, and the bedding is cheap and nasty

All this is such a shame, as the location is epic, and the house could be so welcoming, with just a tiny bit of effort.

I really hope the owner reads this and makes some changes so that other people's stay isn't as disappointing as ours

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always very disappointing when someone posts a bad review, this is especially so when a guest has failed to inform the owner of any problems at the time. Complaints and issues such as this guest experienced can usually be rectified immediately, all that is needed is a quick phone call. All my guests receive an information sheet prior to arrival, this includes phone numbers of who to contact if there are any problems. My housekeeper is always available. Having said that, all these issues are now being addressed. It would appear that a key member of staff was taken into hospital. Unfortunately, as a consequence of this, our usual high standards had slipped, due to Please accept our apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful Country Home in Snowdonia

  • 4 of 5

Our family group of 8 enjoyed our brief (2 day) stay in this country home. The home has space for 7 in beds and a small cot suitable for a child or small adult. On the positive side, the home is cozy, comfortable and well-situated within a 3-minute walk of the village of Dolwyddelan. The home is well-appointed and there are amazing views of the mountains and Castell Dolwyddelan from the home and garden. The babbling river and "hidden" garden walk added to the charm of the home. Also, the location is convenient for visiting both Snowdonia and Conwy and the owner has lots of information about the sights, activities and hikes in the area on hand at the home. Also, and importantly, the owner's communications were very timely and clear. We did not cook any meals, so I cannot speak to the kitchen facilities other than to say they appeared adequate, though the kitchen is somewhat compact. The only negatives of mention were the few cobwebs and small spiders we found and lack of hot water upon our arrival. The hot water was easily remedied by switching the boiler on and the spiders -- well, it is the country and a certain amount of critters and insects are to be expected. Neither of these things detracted from our very pleasant stay. In fact, I have already recommended this home to a family member and friend.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. There is a cot for a child and an adult size quality fold out bed. This is usually stored in one of the back rooms. I'm sorry about the cobwebs. My housekeeper is always available if you can't find something or if anything is amiss. I'm delighted that you have recommended Pont Arenig to someone else.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great setting, spacious, good value. Would consider returning.

  • 4 of 5

Found the house no problem, loved the views of the mountains and the castle through the valley. The house was a Good size for the 8 of us. (4 adults, 1 teen 3 young) the kids loved the garden! The decor as others have mentioned is dated but that added to the homely feel for us. I would agree though there are a few minor repairs that are needed. The conservatory is big and the views great but the door needs looking at and the seat cover needs replacing, the living room was cosy with books and a few games, the kitchen was fine, dining room was big enough for us all to eat and play games at night. There was a spare kids duvet we found at night but didn't realise till the morning it had a load of holes in it, just wants binning! The spare fold out bed isn't great although my 7 year old had no complaints. And finally there is crack in the tile in the shower that wants sorting or it will get worse and become more costly to fix. The water pressure and temperature was great though, no complaints about that! Overall I was pleased with the house, we all had a great time and I was pleased with the price. The house doesn't need "modernising" but with a few minor repairs and maintaining it would get 5 stars. Thanks for a great few days.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I will make a note of the minor repairs you have listed. Unfortunately guests do not report the damage they cause and repairs can't always be dealt with immediately between changeovers. Everything you mention is news to me, with the exception of the fold out bed which has been repaired. We don't even have a 'kids' duvet, maybe previous guests left it behind. I will chase all these things up with my housekeeper.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cottage lovely location

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was absolutely lovely. Had everything we needed (8 adults and dog) awesome views. Great location too.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
85 Miles
Liverpool
Nearest Barpub
400 Metres
Y Gwydir
Nearest Ferry
55 Miles
Hollyhead
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Betws-y-Coed
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Dolwyddelan
Nearest Restaurant
800 Metres
Ellen's Castle Hotel

Special interest holidays:

Fishing on site

Coast/Beach:

30 minutes drive to Harlech, long sandy beach backed by dunes and magnificent castle. Borth-y-gest 30 minutes drive or 1 hour by steam train! sandy beaches, coves and islands plus lovely cafe! 30 minutes drive or 30 minutes by classic scenic Conwy railway, typical Victorian resort, pier, promenade with Punch and Judy and seaside activities.

Travel:

Under two hours drive from Liverpool or Manchester airport. Dolwyddelan station is served by six trains a day to Llandudno Junction, direct connections to London, Manchester and Birmingham. Car is not essential, regular bus and train service, village shop and pub 5 minutes walk.

Distances:

Cottage on edge of village, shop 5 minutes walk. Station 10 minutes walk, connect at Blaenau Ffestiniog for Ffestiniog steam railway to Porthmadog. Ellen's castle 5 mins walk. Harlech and Portmeirion less than 30 minutes drive. Pen-y-pass, base for ascent of Snowdon 30 minutes drive, Betwys-y-coed Snowdonia tourist town, shops and hotels, including spa open to non-residents 15 minutes drive, 10 minutes by train.

Further Details:

Local shop very well stocked with everything you could need, gives cash back. Bank and post office in Betwys-y-coed. More shops in Blaenau or Porthmadog(30minutes). Masses of things to do: walking,cycling,climbing, high rope challenge, pony trekking, canoeing, beaches, steam railways, ancient castles, Portmeirion, Bodnant gardens and other national trust properties. Hydo-power stations, Snowdon railway, lakes and local food.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Dolwyddelan, Wales

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
29 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£215
for 2 nights
From
£100
£665
£2,815
 
 
Peak
21 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£765
for 7 nights
£765
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£215
for 2 nights
From
£100
£665
£2,815
 

Additional pricing information

Booking Notes:
Contact owner to check availability, deposit of 20% taken to confirm booking, balance must be paid 6 weeks before arrival. Once balance is paid full house details, including access to keys, are sent to guests.

Changeover Day:
Changeover flexible

Notes on prices:
Please contact owner about pricing for short breaks or longer periods.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable