OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spectacular Views, Amazing Location In Heart Of Snowdonia

Overview

Property

Updated: 24-Apr-2017
  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Cottage in Dolwyddelan, Nr. Betws-y-Coed, snowdonia, North Wales

Delightful holiday cottage in the village of Dolwyddelan, in the heart of Snowdonia. Secluded but not remote and with easy access to main transport links. 4 bedrooms, 2 double, 1 single(plus fold out bed), 1 bunk bed room, and cot. Sleeps up to 7 people. 3 large reception rooms, full central heating, log effect electric fire. Comfortably furnished. Fully equipped kitchen including, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, cooker, electric oven and 4 ring hob, two fridge freezers. Cot and high chair provided. Plenty of off-street parking. Beautiful location with spectacular mountain views. Set in 4 acres of garden and meadow-land with a stream and the River Lledr running through the grounds. Perfect location for walking, cycling and all mountain pursuits. The beaches of Harlech, Llandudno and Borth-y-gest are all within 30 mins drive. The cottage includes fishing rights on the Lledr. The village centre, 5 minutes walk, has all facilities including a shop, post office, pub, restaurant and railway station. The Conwy valley rail line is a day out in itself, linking to Llandudno (the beach and Great Orme), Conwy (castle and historic town), Betws-y-Coed (resort town and gateway to Snowdon), and Bleaunau Ffestiniog (Britain's best steam railway, and slate caverns). Also links to the main rail network to London etc at Llandudno. Flexible booking arrangements allow for long weekends or mid-week breaks. Find it on the A470 midway between Betws-y-Coed and Bleanau Ffestiniog.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Nicola Bull
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
24 April, 2017

About Nicola Bull

.My name is Nicky. I have been an owner of Pont Arenig since 1990. my father lived in the house for many years and furnished and decorated it in keeping with the age of the property. My children spent all their holidays at Pont Arenig, climbing mountains, cycling along the quieter lanes and playing in the river. On wet days we always found plenty to do. Our greatest and most lasting love however, are the trains of North Wales! steam, electric or diesel they all are captivating and pass through unparalled scenery.

Nicola Bull purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Nicola Bull chose Dolwyddelan

.

What makes this cottage unique

.

6 Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

West Midlands
4

Cosy

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is very cute and cosy.

It was initially difficult to find and we were unable to have access to the property at the time stated we could which was slightly inconvenient.

The location is not far from Snowdon, and is a nice stroll into the village which has a pub and hotel where you can get food, or buy it yourself from the SPAR.

Some of the decor is dated, but for a short stay it was fine. No TV was not a problem as the Wifi means you can just download games on a tablet if you don't want to play any if the board games.

The photos do not do it justice as we were pleasantly surprised with how big it was - very spacious!

The 8th bed - camp bed - was not very suitable however. It broke when it was sat on so the floor had to be used.

Overall, very nice :)

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you had a good holiday. I'm disappointed that you did not contact me immediately about the 'broken' fold out bed. I have an excellent housekeeper who deals with such things straight away and she would have made sure no one slept on the floor. However, your point is now noted and the bed will be repaired or replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, cozy and well l located

  • 5 of 5

Quaint, cozy house although the fireplace is not real it still adds warmth to the house. The wallpaper is quirky and you can feel this is a house that is loved and where a lot of memories were shared. Great base to go exploring the peaks of Snowdonia. Only visited in winter, but the property has a lovely outdoors area that would be great in warm weather

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your lovely review, I'm so glad you had a good holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cosy retreat

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for new year and loved the cottage and its quiet location.There were 8 of us including teenagers and there was enough space and everything we needed .The heating is fab and we didnt miss the TV at all.The location is close to all the sights in Snowdonia and the local pubs were very friendly.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

The property had the necessary features and adequately catered for the number staying.

  • 2 of 5

Whilst the property had wifi, there was no TV. In addition, the soft furnishing had no fire retardant labels being rather dated. This also applied to the electric cooker whose "solid" rings are now not recommended for use (NEW World cookers are no longer manufactured). There was no sofa bed as advertised, and the "put-me-up" was broken. There was no "fire blanket" or extinguisher in the kitchen.

The central heating and hot water worked well and the property was clean and tidy and plenty of parking.

It was surprising that the owner had not supplied washing up liquid or condiments such as Salt.

In conclusion, I would recommend that the property should be up-graded by the provision fire resistant furniture, TV, a modern cooker and fire fighting equipment (extinguisher and blanket) in the kitchen.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All my reviews for 2016 have been 5* including someone who stayed just before this guest! I'm sorry the guest found the property lacking. It is also unfortunate that they choose to write a review before contacting me directly. All guests are given both mine and my housekeeper’s phone number so they can make contact immediately, should anything be lacking or need repairing. Direct contact is always the best way to resolve issues. As an owner of rental property I am required to keep up to date with current legislation: New World cookers are still manufactured and they are indeed recommended for rental properties, a quick search shows that a cooker identical to the one in the cottage (bought 18months ago) can be purchased from Currys and Argos. A fire blanket hangs up in the kitchen. All Smoke alarms are new and working. The description of the house on the website makes clear there is no TV, there is no sofa bed listed either, so my description is honest and accurate. Condiments, tea, coffee, sugar, washing up liquid, toilet paper etc are always provided. I will check with my housekeeper on this instance, however, she has seldom let me down. Had she been called, I know she would have come immediately with anything that was needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Amazing cottage with panoramic scenic views!

  • 5 of 5

We spent an amazing three nights in this beautiful cottage which was comfortable, clean, cosy and had everything to make it a home from home. The surrounding scenery was breath taking, and the cottage is ideally situated to explore the surrounding areas. We travelled on the Snowdon Railway to the summit, and spent a day at Llandudno. The whole experience was one of peaceful tranquility, we highly recommend a stay at the cottage and we will definetly be booking again!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic place in an amazing location

  • 5 of 5

Not our first stay in this property and certainly not our last.

It is a large, but warm and comfortable holiday home with a lot of character in a fantastic location, ideally placed to get to almost anywhere in the national park or trips out to the coast.

Despite being near a village with a pub that serves food and a great, well stocked, little spar shop that is open long hours if you need it, the house is almost totally isolated from any neighbours and set in beautiful surroundings with its own river running past the front. It is set well back from the road, which is fairly quiet anyway and has plenty of space and parking outside in the grounds.

Even in winter it is great to sit in the conservatory in the warm looking out onto the misty snow topped mountains that surround you.

The central heating is excellent and the property is very warm throughout. The kitchen has basic but very clean and functional equipment including oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle etc. so it is easy to be self sufficient, or you have a choice of the local pub/hotel or several take-aways in Blaenau just a few minutes away.

There is no TV, but the place has windows where you can see the real world instead and if that isn't enough then the broadband is fast enough to watch Netflix, ITV catch up, BBC I-player etc.

The decor is not the most modern, but it is in keeping with the place and gives it character. On all our visits it has been meticulously clean and tidy throughout, but it has a sort of lived in feel where you are not permanently worried about walking on brand new expensive carpets, and it has a great hallway with radiator and coat hooks where you can get in out of the weather to remove your boots and hang up your coats before you go into the main hallway.

It has a downstairs bathroom with toilet and shower which is handy, and a nice bathroom with large bathtub upstairs too.

The beds/bedroom layouts mean it is pretty flexible accommodation for couples, with/without children or groups of friends. There are spare fold up beds, bunkbeds in one room and plenty of space throughout.

Finally if you are thinking of staying here then you probably already know about the great walking, mountain climbing, mine exploring, zip wires, mountain biking and so much more that goes on all around the area. This place provides a great comfortable base for all of those activities and more and I would highly recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Liverpool at 85 Miles Nearest Barpub : Y Gwydir at 400 Metres Nearest Ferry : Hollyhead at 55 Miles Nearest Golf : Betws-y-Coed at 5 Miles Nearest Train : Dolwyddelan at 0.5 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Ellen's Castle Hotel at 800 Metres

Special interest holidays:

Fishing on site

Coast/Beach:

30 minutes drive to Harlech, long sandy beach backed by dunes and magnificent castle. Borth-y-gest 30 minutes drive or 1 hour by steam train! sandy beaches, coves and islands plus lovely cafe! 30 minutes drive or 30 minutes by classic scenic Conwy railway, typical Victorian resort, pier, promenade with Punch and Judy and seaside activities.

Travel:

Under two hours drive from Liverpool or Manchester airport. Dolwyddelan station is served by six trains a day to Llandudno Junction, direct connections to London, Manchester and Birmingham. Car is not essential, regular bus and train service, village shop and pub 5 minutes walk.

Distances:

Cottage on edge of village, shop 5 minutes walk. Station 10 minutes walk, connect at Blaenau Ffestiniog for Ffestiniog steam railway to Porthmadog. Ellen's castle 5 mins walk. Harlech and Portmeirion less than 30 minutes drive. Pen-y-pass, base for ascent of Snowdon 30 minutes drive, Betwys-y-coed Snowdonia tourist town, shops and hotels, including spa open to non-residents 15 minutes drive, 10 minutes by train.

Further Details:

Local shop very well stocked with everything you could need, gives cash back. Bank and post office in Betwys-y-coed. More shops in Blaenau or Porthmadog(30minutes). Masses of things to do: walking,cycling,climbing, high rope challenge, pony trekking, canoeing, beaches, steam railways, ancient castles, Portmeirion, Bodnant gardens and other national trust properties. Hydo-power stations, Snowdon railway, lakes and local food.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
5 May 2017 - 8 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£215
for 2 nights
From
£100
£665
£2,815
 
 
Nightly Rate
16 Jul 2017 - 22 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£265
for 2 nights
From
£125
£665
£2,815
 
 
Peak
23 Jul 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
£715
£3,015
 
 
Nightly Rate
12 Aug 2017 - 26 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
 
 
Peak
27 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
£715
£3,015
 
 
Nightly Rate
2 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£125
£715
£3,015
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£215
for 2 nights
From
£100
£665
£2,815
 

Additional pricing information

Card payment £15

Booking Notes:
Contact owner to check availability, deposit of 20% taken to confirm booking, balance must be paid 6 weeks before arrival. Once balance is paid full house details, including access to keys, are sent to guests.

Changeover Day:
Changeover flexible

Notes on prices:
Please contact owner about pricing for short breaks or longer periods.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 24-Apr-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • Books
  • Music Library ...
  • Toys ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Location Type

  • mountain
  • river

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • caving
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Bidet
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, Downstairs bathroom has shower, toilet and washbasin
  • Upstairs bathroom, bath, bidet, toilet and washbasin. Downstairs toilet and washbasin separate shower area.

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed, Bunk beds
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed, 1 Sofa bed/Futon, Fold out bed can be placed in any room
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size double, bedroom 2 double bed, bedroom 3 single with fold out bed available, bedroom 4 bunk beds, cot available.

Outside

  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: This is an old property with character and still maintained as a family home. No smoking is allowed anywhere inside the property. Well behaved pets are accepted at the owners discretion. Outside: A well kept garden surrounds the house with lawns and perennial plants and bushes. A stream flows to the side of the driveway. There is a gate at the end of the driveway leading to the fields, used for lambing in spring then left for hay. The fields are great for football, cricket or frisbee. The River Lledr borders the property and there is a beach area that is great for stone skimming, bar-be-ques and sunbathing. Guests may fish for salmon (providing they have a rod license) and swim. Utility Room: Mop, bucket, drying racks, hoover, broom, dustpan and brush, ironing board and iron. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Property is cleaned before guests arrive and for longer stays cleaning is available after 7 days for no extra charge. Linen is changed weekly, kitchen towels are provided but guests need to bring their own bath towels. Other: Conservatory, large table with chairs, rattan coffee table and chairs. Dining room: Large table with extent able leaf, seats 8,

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot