OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Exceptional Detached Villa With Private Pool, No Neighbours But Not Isolated

Overview

Property

Updated: 01-Dec-2016
Villa in Luz, Lagos, Western Algarve, Portugal - Peaceful Location But Easy Access To Anything You Could Ever Need. 2 Levels For The Price Of 1-Bliss

Surrounded on three sides by rustic pasture lands and former almond and olive groves which once witnessed the departures to unmapped parts of the world of Christopher Columbus, Vasco da Gama and Magellan, Casa Luisandra has sensational views over neighbouring Praia da Luz and the Atlantic, from its wide-glazed open-plan first floor and its balustraded roof terrace not to mention the spectacular astronomical views at night, unaffected by light pollution and as much a heavenly guide to those early Discoverers as to today's visitors. This peaceful private house is not the average run-of-the mill villa: it has no neighbours but does not feel isolated, it boasts 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 2 balconies, 2 living rooms and a sea-view veranda, ample for 10 people, arranged on TWO separate floors EACH with its own entrance door and its own large kitchen and island, connected by a spiral staircase if desired or by an external staircase if preferred. The first floor has a dining table for 6 and an island with 6 stools, with plush leather sofas; the ground floor has another kitchen and island with 4 stools plus different but high quality comfortable sofas. This basically means that families and/or friends can share two homes for the price of one, without getting under each other's feet! Car parking is possible on the calcada-covered space between the fluted columns and the garden/pool area. The whole 800 square meter property has its own pool with beach towels, sundeck area with loungers and garden with fountain, providing privacy and an oasis of tranquillity, together with the seasonal blossom smells of homegrown oranges and satsumas - to which guests are welcome for that fresh morning juicing(sun and season permitting - juicer provided!). The whole pool area has elegant child-friendly safety railings, a charcoal barbecue and a bathroom...and very special pastoral views, often populated by bell-swinging cows and frisky fillies with stunningly white egrets picking their backs. The obelisk-shaped trig-point atop the nearby climbable Rocha Negra remains a landmark for past and present travellers, accessed by one of the many local cliff-top walks. The nearest beaches, golf course, restaurants, cafes and international supermarkets are 5 minutes by car(a necessity, although taxis are cheap enough), with local Lagos town and its medieval castellated walls, churches, museums, fortress and former slave market all dominated by unusual statues of Henry the Navigator, son of an English mother(the English were, after all, Portugal's oldest allies). Golfing addicts are spoilt for choice: Boa Vista Golf Club/Restaurant/Spa is 5 minutes away, with Parque da Florista, Espiche, Palmaras & Penina fairly close by and Oceanico courses further afield. Outside activities equally abound: surfing, sea fishing, dolphin watching, cave kayaking, snorkelling, jet-skiing, kite-surfing, scuba diving and pro-putting to name but a few plus low-tide rock pools for kids and Dads! The nearest airport is next to Faro in the East, less than an hour away by car on the A22 motorway, with Zoo Marine, Slide & Splash and Aqualand just 25 minutes away. The house is child-friendly with pool table and table tennis, plus Sky TV for Kids (Movies & Sport for adults) and free WiFi. Sorry, no Pets except rug-rats/kids...or Smoking (except strictly outside the house).

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We left London for the paradise that is Portugal and we were not disappointed - it has everything, but sadly not the kind of education our kids need, so we have decided to let others enjoy our lovely home and return to the UK, coming back to the Algarve as often as we can.

Call Manager
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish

16 Reviews

4.9
based on 16 holidaymaker reviews

5

Wonderful Villa for a big family holiday !!

  • 5 of 5

We had the the most wonderful holiday and 70th birthday celebration for my husband at Casa Luisandra, for 2 weeks in July/August. The Villa was amazing, it was spacious, comfortable and being 6 adults, my husband and I from South Africa, our son and family from Canada and daughter and family from the UK, and the 4 grandchildren aged between 7 and 10 it was just perfect for us!! The property was clean, beds comfortable and we had everything we needed. Natalia our Meet and Greet lady, was on hand to assist when ever necessary and was terrific. We loved the village of Praia da Luz, and spent most mornings on the beach, eating lunches daily in the various beach restaurants, which were all pretty good. The quality of the food was excellent (fish of course outstanding), and good value for money. Afternoons were spent back at the villa in the pool, and we would barbeque most evenings. We had many lovely evenings chatting over a bottle or two of wine, watching the stars and just having good quality family time. We did a few trips into Lagos, which has some wonderful beaches as well, the kids enjoyed snorkeling there, and then of course the shopping!! There were plenty of water activities, we did the Grotto boat tour which was fascinating and would highly recommend it.

We booked our last night at a restaurant called Onderluz which was the best restaurant in the area that we had been to and well worth the visit, but you need to book as soon as you arrive in Praia da Luz as it took us a week to get a booking!! In all were were extremely happy with our first holiday to Portugal and would most definitely go back to Casa Luisandra next time we visit, which hopefully will be sooner than later!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Luxurious comfort again & again

  • 5 of 5

Wow what a wonderful surprise! A villa that is even nicer than the listing. We've now been 3 times & have loved this place for so many reasons: the vast accommodation with a high spec throughout, great pool, kid/teenager friendly, fantastic views & local walks, easy access to Lagos & many other super towns & beaches, a great space to entertain if you have friends renting nearby. A holiday home that never disappoints.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A fine property but one that is not well equipped

  • 3 of 5

We have just spent a week here being a party of ten, six adults and four children (aged 8, 5, 5 and nearly 4).

Firstly the positives. It is a really good property with plenty of space for our party on the two floors. All the rooms are a good size and the living spaces are equally good. The beds are comfortable with white linen and plenty of bath towels, etc.

The pool area with its barbecue was really good for the young children; it's not a fitness pool for adults, we didn't want that, but is rather a plunge pool for adults but perfect for young children under supervision of course. It is well secured at least so far as young children are concerned having a sliding metal gate with a latch that only adult fingers could open. There were also pool toys and swimming towels.

The top floor terrace also has superb views and was a good chill out area in the evening for a drink or three although it was far too hot during the day when we were there as there is no shade other than a small inside seating area.

However our overall views were that the property was poorly equipped and we wouldn't consider going again. It had the feel of a property that had been neglected for a year or so whilst being heavily used. Maybe things had been broken and that was why they weren't there?

The kitchen was particularly lacking in what one needs to provide meals for ten people. Yes, plenty of plates and cutlery but very few utensils. There was no provision for young children eg smaller sized/plastic cutlery, plates or beakers. Yes we ate out a lot but with little ones the evening meals were cooked in the house. We also all enjoy good food and preparing it, so this lack of many basics was sorely felt. There was also essentially nothing in the downstairs kitchen. what there was, limited though it was, was all upstairs. There were also no plastic eating utensils in the pool area, indeed nothing there at all, and this we considered a major drawback in an eating space next to a swimming pool where broken glass can be so dangerous.

Even making coffee for five adults for breakfast was an effort requiring three fillings of the ridiculously small coffee maker with each taking five minutes to heat up on the rather slow electric hob.

We were there during the Olympics but with no instructions on how to use the television, (the particulars say there are three sets, but in fact only two and one of those was only for DVDs) even the sports mad technically minded amongst us couldn't find

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh dear, Alan & Family, we obviously did not repeat our traditional signing-off mantra enough: 'PLEASE call us if you have any questions whatsoever - that's what we are here for!'. Thanks for the many positives, but we are as disappointed as you that you did not have a 100% perfect experience, thereby spoiling our catalogue of a dozen or so 5-Star Reviews! Most Reviews have complimented both our Meet & Greet Manager Natalia and ourselves on the standards and responsiveness which we provide. Indeed, Natalia is always on hand by request, and she has a team of local experts on tap who know our Villa well, from TV/IT Technicians to Plumbers to Electricians to Garden Specialists to Pool Cleaners. If you sensed any neglect or had specific issues with the equipment, you really should have got right onto Natalia or us, so that we could have immediately remedied the situation. We are therefore inspecting Casa Luisandra next week, to make any improvements in the light of your helpful comments. Specifically: a. The Pool cannot obviously be expanded but, in fairness, it is a reasonable size at over 10 x 7m and hosted many birthday parties for our children and their dozen or more peers. b. The Roof Terrace is designed for sunbathing by day and sunset/star-gazing by night. As you kindly say, it's a great place to have 'a drink or three' and 'a good chill-out area' in the small inside seating area. c. We will check the Utensil Inventory which may well have been depleted by usage or breakages. We agree that the apparent lack of child-friendly plastic kitchenware is very limiting - unfortunately plastic cups/mugs for poolside use seem to degenerate rapidly in the local UV rays. Apologies for these annoying shortcomings on this occasion. d. We will ensure that there are Cafetieres - adequate in number and capacity - for both floors and the Pool. Not quite sure, until we get there, what happened in this instance. e. Sorry about the TV coverage of the Rio Olympics - there was a glitsch with the big flat screen during the week before you arrived. We thought Natalia and her Expert had fixed it in time but apparently not. There are normally 2 flat screens, 1 set and 1 screen for DVDs. Generally: Guests usually like to eat out a lot and leave Gordon Ramsay/Mary Berry/Nigela Lawson behind! The Pool is just as child-friendly as we described it but, yes, a lack of suitable kitchenware must have been a let-down. Thanks again, Alan, for your feedback - always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Villa and had an amazing Holiday

  • 5 of 5

My Family and I stayed at this Lovely Villa for 10 nights in July.

In our party were 7 adult and 3 children.When i booked the villa back in October I had several helpful and friendly chats with the owners Susie and Andrew .

We had a straight forward easy journey from the airport and when we arrived at the villa there was a very friendly housekeeper who showed us round and helped us settle in . The Villa was everything and more than we were expecting ,plenty of room for all of us , clean and well looked after, the location was great, lovely and safe for my grand children and the layout and facilities were perfect.

We all had a fantastic Holiday spent a lot of the time having fun by the pool and the barby. we loved the beach and restaurants in Priare da Luz and also spent time in Lagos by the Marina , boat trips to see the dolphins kayaking segway riding ,crazy golf , go carting etc ,sampling food and wine in some of the lovely resturauntsand bars not to mention celebrating with the Portuguese with their football wins over Wales and France when we were there! Then to finish the night of we used to sit on the Balcony back at the Villa.

We all felt as though we had been very lucky to find such a great place and will definitely be booking a visit again

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely villa, perfect holiday

  • 5 of 5

We had a really lovely week at Casa Luisandra in early June. The villa is beautiful. Very spacious and light and with stunning views over the countryside to the sea. The pool area was lovely and much enjoyed by all of us and we loved having breakfast on the balcony accompanied by the sound of cow bells. Well situated just a few minutes from Praia da Luz and Lagos. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyable Villa in the country

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful villa situated in the country outside the busy streets and vehicle traffic. We enjoyed hearing the birds in the morning and the cow bells ringing with the cattle and horses grazing in the field right beside the villa.

The villa was clean and neat and had everything we needed. They were very accommodating in meeting us when we arrived and when we want to check out. It is very spacious with more than enough room for everyone. We were 7 adults and there was more than enough space. The roof-top patio and pool area are fantastic. We would highly recommend this Villa!

One note though...although it is close to Lagos and Luz you cannot really walk there as the roads are narrow and with the traffic it would not be safe. So drive where you need to go. However you can take a walk in the countryside just outside the villa to the golf course near by.

  • Review Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

The Western Algarve has everything, you can be sociable or silent as the mood takes you, with easy access to whatever takes your fancy. Easy living, surrounded by natural beauty and friendly natives.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Faro at 75 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Picanhos Restaurant/Bar at 0.3 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Boa Vista Golf Resort at 1.5 Kilometres Nearest Train : Lagos at 4.5 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : N125 at 1 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Picanhos Brazilian Buffet, Valverde at 0.3 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Praia da Luz at 1.5 Kilometres Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

By car:

Praia da Luz - 5 minutes

Porto do Mos - 10 minutes

Burgau - 15 minutes

Meia Praia - 15 minutes

Alvor - 25 minutes

Salema - 20 minutes

Ingrina - 22 minutes

Travel:

Faro is the main airport that serves the entire Algarve region.

By car: 75 km, under 1 hr travelling time(A22 + Toll? - the N125 takes longer!).

We would recommend car hire. However, taxis, shuttle bus, and train service are available, but it is strongly advisable to pre-book these.

Distances:

Luz town centre - 1.5 km

Lagos town centre - 5km

Forte Ponta da Bandeira - 4 km

O Centro Cultural de Lagos - 5km

Sagres Fortress - 25km

Vila do Bispo Museum - 12 km

Ciência Viva de Lagos (science museum) - 5km

ZooMarine - 40km

Slide & Splash - 35km

Aqua Portimao (shopping centre) - 30km

Pro Putting Garden, Lagos - 4km

Further Details:

Bahia Bar & Restaurant on Meia Praia has live music on a Sunday evening. It is a very popular venue so we advise you to pre-book. The Fortaleza in Luz has live jazz on a Sunday, again book early. The Spice Cottage in Burgau is well known for its Indian cuisine. The Alloro restaurant, less than 5 minutes away in the Baia da Luz resort, is also a popular venue for Italian cuisuine, and the Brazilian buffet, Picanhos is 3 minutes away. The Adega da Marina on the main Avenida in Lagos is a popular affordable Portuguese food option. It gets very busy in the Summer, so be prepared to queue.

Nearby International supermarkets include Baptista & Spar in Luz, with Intermarche, Lidl, Aldi, Pingo Doce, & Contintente (Modelo) in Lagos.

If you require a cash point, all the supermarkets listed have one except Aldi. And there is a Credit Agricola beside the church in Luz, and Novo Bank in the village too. Please note: Pingo Doce checkouts require a minimum spend of €20 to use your credit card.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
1 Dec 2016 - 19 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 7 nights
£1,000
 
 
Christmas/New Year
20 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 7 nights
£1,500
 
 
Winter
6 Jan 2017 - 28 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 7 nights
£1,000
 
 
Spring
1 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,100
for 7 nights
£1,100
 
 
Spring
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 7 nights
£1,200
 
 
Early Summer
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 7 nights
£1,350
 
 
Summer
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 7 nights
£1,500
 
 
Summer
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,950
for 7 nights
£1,950
 
 
Summer
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,950
for 7 nights
£2,950
 
 
Autumn
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,400
for 7 nights
£1,400
 
 
Autumn
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 7 nights
£1,200
 
 
Late Autumn
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,100
for 7 nights
£1,100
 
 
Winter
1 Dec 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 7 nights
£1,000
 
 
Christmas/New Year
20 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 7 nights
£1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 7 nights
£1,000
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
a. Payment in British Pounds Sterling/£
b. Booking Deposit: 30% (Non-Refundable)
c. Damage Deposit: 300 euros payable on Arrival(Refundable subject to normal wear-and-tear/Agent's Inspection)
d. Balance Payable: 6 Weeks in Advance(or 2 Weeks before Start-Date, if not possible)
e. Minimum Stay: 7 nights(negotiable)
f. Start/Finish Day: Saturday(flexible)
g. Cleaning/Linen: free mid-stay linen/towel change plus kitchen/bathroom cleaning for holidays exceeding 10 nights
h. Insurance: gues

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible.
Check-in times are flexible, as are check-outs depending on flights, and we will take this on a case by case basis.

Notes on prices:
National/Bank Holidays, school holidays and half-terms, Christmas/Easter & other religious events are at the prices quoted...so best to book early to catch a good deal!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 01-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

It's a gateway to whatever you desire, tranquil but not isolated, with no invasive neighbours. Local cuisine can be ordered for delivery to the villa from the meet-and-greet agent.

Property Type

  • villa

General

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • rural

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 3 - Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite Bathroom 1 (from bedroom 1): bath, shower, WC, bidet, and wash hand- basin. Bathroom 2: shower, WC, and wash hand-basin. Bathroom 3: shower, WC, bidet, and wash hand-basin. Bathroom 4: shower, WC, and wash hand-basin.

Bedrooms

  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1: double bed, en-suite bathroom & balcony. Bedroom 2: double bed and sliding doors to balcony. Bedroom 3: double bed. Bedroom 4: double bed. Bedroom 5: 2 single beds, small Z-bed, cot, large flat screen TV and DVD.

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Outside: Private pool(7.5 x 4.5m, step-down) with large tiled perimeter, 3-person sofa and coffee table with overhead awning, 6-person dining table, 6 sun-loungers, 4 cast-iron chairs, round marble table, small 'grass' area with natural stone waterfall, wood/charcoal BBQ, cooler, landscaped gravel area overshadowed by yukka, orange and satsuma trees(please eat the fruit if in season!), small bathroom with WC/hand-basin and outside shower. Lockable sliding gate-and-railings and highish walls make the whole area child-safe(Non-swimmers to be supervised at ALL times). Lighting all round(inc.Pool/underwater). Large calcada area for parking and/or games(table-tennis, etc.). Utility Room: Washing machine, tumbler driver, and Butler sink for hand-washing. As well as a small storage cupboard for washing powders etc. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels, beach towels, & linen are included. There will be a full linen change and clean on Day 7. Mid-stay clean will be extra.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot