OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

CENTRAL LAKE DISTRICT HOUSE WITH MOUNTAIN VIEWS FROM GARDEN, Super Fast WiFi

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

House in Coniston, Central Lake District, Cumbria, England - CENTRAL VILLAGE LOCATION - 10 MINUTE WALK TO CONISTON WATER

Your holiday in Puddleduck House is a holiday you'll never forget. Step out of the front door and have everything at your fingertips .... A hearty lung-stretching hike up Coniston Old Man, a peaceful meander around Coniston Water, a stroll into the village with a choice of five pubs, lots of cafes and well stocked convenience stores for all you need for your stay.

Situated in the very heart of the Lake District, you simply do not need to venture outside of Coniston to have a truly delightful and memorable holiday. However, other parts of the Lakes are within very easy reach - Ambleside, Hawkshead, The Langdales - they are all within a short, breath-taking drive.

Puddleduck House is a spacious three bedroom house within a few steps of the picture postcard village of Coniston and the simply stunning lake and mountain scenery. Situated right in the heart of the village, you only need to walk to the end of the street to get to all the pubs, shops and cafes that Coniston has to offer. An 8 - 10 minute walk takes you to the Lake! In the house, there is a sensational fireplace and log-burner in the large, airy lounge and comfy leather seating with wall-mounted Smart TV, large dining room with easy seating for 6 people, country kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine (tumble dryer in garage), fridge-freezer (with another fridge/freezer in the garage), oven, microwave, slow cooker, and downstairs WC. On the first floor there is a large family room which has either a superking bed in or twin beds and another bedroom has a double bed with en-suite shower room and WC. On the top floor there is a master bedroom with lovely views across to the fields and mountain range, a stylish kingsize bed. On this floor there is also the main family bathroom with gorgeous roll top bath, fully tiled shower cubicle and WC. Outside there is large garage with parking for 1 or 2 cars and a separate garden with picnic bench, BBQ area and simply stunning views of Coniston Old Man!

The property comes with super-fast fibre WiFi.

More Details

Owner
Chloe Hibberd
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
21 September, 2017

About Chloe Hibberd

My name is Chloe White and for the past eight years or so, I have developed a real passion for the Lake District and the surrounding Cumbrian countryside. So much so that two years ago I got married to my husband on the banks of Lake Ullswater.

Having stayed at numerous other holiday cottages, I know what's really important when you are staying - and how important the little touches are! I really try and make sure guests have the best holiday - I have one guest who has just booked their fourth stay! I'm always happy to help if you have any queries whatsoever about the house, the area - or if you just simply want some ideas of things to do throughout your visit. Please do get in touch! :) Chloe x

Chloe Hibberd purchased this house in 2014

Why Chloe Hibberd chose Windermere & Central Lakes

We bought Puddleduck House in late November. We couldn't believe our luck in finding something right in the heart of Coniston - walking distance to the lake, all the pubs and being situated right in the heart of the lakes. The property is really spacious and we have a lovely little garden with a patio area - where you can sit and look up at the mountains. It's just so lovely!

What makes this house unique

We love everything about Coniston - from the convenience of being in the centre of a bustling village, to the tranquility of the lake and mountains surrounding the village. We offer a spacious property (three double bedrooms) plus an en-suite, which is ideal for families - and yet we try and keep the rates competitive. We also allow pets (up to two well behaved dogs) and it's a fantastic area for all the family - or equally a couple who just appreciate having a bit of space around them.

Location

Travel:

The nearest airport is either Preston or Carlisle. The nearest station is probably Windermere, although Barrow in Furness is also within reach. Car hire from Oxenholme or Windermere.

Distances:

Central Lakes Village Location - 2 min Walk into Village and on to Coniston Water.

Coniston has a bank, several convenience stores, gift shops, independent shops, five pubs, cafes - plus much more!

Further Details:

Puddleduck House is a holiday you'll never forget. Step out of the front door and have everything at your fingertips .... A hearty lung-stretching hike up Coniston Old Man, a peaceful meander around Coniston Water, a stroll into the village with a choice of five pubs, lots of cafes and well stocked convenience stores for all you need to stock up for your stay. Plus there is so much more to offer ...

In the very heart of the Lake District, you simply do not need to venture outside of Coniston to have a truly delightful and memorable holiday. However, other parts of the Lakes are within very easy reach - Ambleside, Hawkshead, The Langdales - they are all within a short, breath-taking drive.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Coniston in Torver

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Family Bathroom is on the Top Floor with Victorian Roll Top Bath and Separate Shower Cubicle En-Suite to Bedroom 3 is a shower cubicle, a wash hand basin and toilet. Downstairs WC - with WC and wash hand basin.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Superking Bed or Twin Beds, As Required
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , With En-Suite Shower Room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King-Size Bed in Master Bedroom
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Kingsize Bed, Two Single Beds and Double Notes on bedrooms: Master Bedroom - Kingsize bed Bedroom 2 - Two Single Beds or Superking Bed Zip and Link Style Bedroom 3 - Double Bed with En-Suite
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Central Coniston location and a very short walk into the village and down to the Lake. Outside: Back Yard - Leads directly from the Kitchen. You then cross a private track to the garden and garage. Garden - Beautifully calming place to enjoy the stunning views of Coniston Old Man (the Mountain!) Patio area, plus grassy area. Accessed through garage. Garage - Large double garage - plenty of room for bikes, canoes, car, outdoor kit etc.. Utility Room: Tumble Dryer in the Garage Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen provided. Other: Downstairs WC/Cloakroom

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
CENTRAL LAKE DISTRICT HOUSE WITH MOUNTAIN VIEWS FROM GARDEN, Super Fast WiFi
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
5

A very well deserved 5 stars

  • 5 of 5

Puddleduck House is situated in a quiet street within 2 minutes walk from all the amenities of Coniston. We found the house to be spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped with everything you could wish for. The 3 bedrooms (one with en-suite) were very comfortable and spacious and the main bathroom deserves special mention with a huge roll top bath as well as the separate shower.

There were freshly cut flowers to welcome our arrival as well as a bottle of wine and a sumptious strawberry cheesecake. Tea. coffee, sugar and milk were also provided so there was no rush to the shops for provisions.

Coniston itself is only a small village but there are 3 pubs, (The Yewdale Pub has the most welcoming bar staff I have ever come across) and plenty of shops for groceries and the usual range of gift and outdoor wear shops. A 15/20 minute drive brings you to the busy town of Ambleside if you need anything less relaxing.

We have rented properties in the Lake District for several years now and Puddleduck House is definitely the best we have found so far.

Prior to our visit we contacted Chloe, the owner, and found her to be very helpful giving us lots of useful information about the local area, walks and shops.

I am rarely so complimentary when giving reviews but this property is exceptional and we shall certainly be seeking to return.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

House was ok

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived we were disappointed to see a leaking ceiling in one of the bedrooms. Took several days and lots of phone calls to resolve. Had to wait in for British Gas to come and fix at 10.30pm when we had children in bed. Plumber left cold water off and two nails coming through main bathroom floor which we had to cover with some wood. By this time we had enough and just wanted to enjoy the remaining part of our holiday. Was disappointed that the garden wasn't part of the house had to walk the dogs over to the small garden. The owners of the house were helpful when we had the water leak.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa I'm very sorry that your stay was briefly impacted by an isolated issue with the plumbing at Puddleduck House. However, I do feel on balance that giving us 2 stars is extremely unfair because I think we both realise that these things can happen and are no one's fault. I do appreciate you saying we were helpful and we reacted very quickly to the situation and we were as cross as anyone that British Gas were so late in arriving. That is something I will be taking up with them - however, I will say that you arrived on the Saturday evening around 6pm and the leak was fixed by the Sunday evening, albeit late in the evening. I offered to pay for alternative accommodation in the village which I understand wasn't ideal for you, but it was an option. Instead, we offered you £200 after our initial offer of £150, so I do feel we more than adequately recompensed you - especially considering this only affected one bedroom in the house for not much more than 24 hours. We are understandably upset as we have never had a review like this - you only need to look on here at the other reviews and also the reviews on other sites to see that your 2 star rating is not at all indicative of our other guests' experience. As far as the garden is concerned, it is just a short step across a private road and has wonderful views of the mountains - everyone else has said how much they love it and enjoy bbq's out in the garden. There is a back yard immediately outside the kitchen door which you are welcome to let dogs out in in the middle of the night. We generally always have people who have pets stay at the property and up until now we have only received favourable feedback. Sincerely, Chloe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cottage

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of 5 who have stayed in many holiday cottages. Puddleduck House was by the the cleanest and best equipped we have ever stayed in. The wine, roses and homemade cake were a lovely touch. Chloe was so helpful with everything. I chatted to Sue the cleaner and she was lovely and its very obvious that she works hard to keep the house as clean as it is. This was our first time staying in Coniston but won't be our last.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dawn Thank you so much for your lovely review - I'm so pleased you had such a fun time in Coniston and that you loved Puddleduck and of course the cake :) We hope you come and stay again! All the very best, Chloe x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a lovely cottage in a wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

Puddleduck House in Coniston is a really lovely cottage in the heart of Coniston. We stayed for four nights in May. It was very well equipped and extremely comfortable. The location is ideal with shops on the doorstep and many lovely walks straight from the front door. It is a quieter part of the Lake District and all the better for it. We would highly recommend the property for those looking for comfort, tranquillity and wonderful scenery. We had a great time there.

  • Review Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review - so glad you had a lovely peaceful time! Coniston is definitely quieter than Windermere and Ambleside which makes it ideal, in my (albeit biased!!) opinion! However, the other villages are all within easy distance for day trips out. Hope you manage to come again one day! Chloe x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well equipped and comfortable in convenient location

  • 5 of 5

A thoughtfully furnished house with everything you need including a BBQ and a garden with great views. The garage was a bonus for us as we had two cars. The house is just two minutes' walk from Coniston's centre and there are pubs with decent food, shops and a regular bus service if you want to leave your car behind. The Steam Bistro at the end of the road is highly recommended if you want a really good meal - and at under £25 for three courses, it's great value. Take your own alcoholic drinks. A good base for walks - the routes to Coniston Old Man and Tarn Hows are both nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review - so pleased you had such a lovely time! Yes, I definitely recommend Steam too - at the time of writing, it is listed as number one on the most popular review site in the whole of Cumbria and the Lakes :) Hope you manage to come again one day! Chloe x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Puddleduck Cottage, Coniston

  • 5 of 5

Lovely spacious property, which copes with two dogs really well. One of the best equipped cottages that we have stayed in. Central to all amenities and good pubs. Lovely views and walking from the house.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review - so pleased you had a lovely time! :) Glad you enjoyed the central location and seem like you made the most of your holiday! Hope to see you back one day, Chloe x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Coniston, Cumbria & Lake District National Park

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
September
23 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£575
for 7 nights
£575
 
 
Late September/Early Oct
30 Sep 2017 - 1 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
£595
 
 
Early October
2 Oct 2017 - 7 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£595
 
 
Offer
8 Oct 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
 
 
Mid October
14 Oct 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
October Half Term
21 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
Late October
28 Oct 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Early November
4 Nov 2017 - 10 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
From
£99
Fri,Sat,Sun
£450
 
 
November
11 Nov 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
From
£90
Fri,Sat,Sun
£395
 
 
November
18 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
From
£90
Fri,Sat,Sun
£395
 
 
Late November
25 Nov 2017 - 1 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
From
£90
Fri,Sat,Sun
£395
 
 
Early December
2 Dec 2017 - 8 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
From
£90
Fri,Sat,Sun
£395
 
 
Mid December
9 Dec 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
From
£90
Fri,Sat,Sun
£395
 
 
Xmas
20 Dec 2017 - 26 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Wednesday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
New Year
27 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Wednesday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
January
3 Jan 2018 - 12 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£450
 
 
January
13 Jan 2018 - 19 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£450
 
 
Late January
20 Jan 2018 - 26 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£450
 
 
Late Jan/Early Feb
27 Jan 2018 - 2 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£450
 
 
February 2018
3 Feb 2018 - 9 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£450
 
 
Feb Half Term
10 Feb 2018 - 16 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
Feb Half Term
17 Feb 2018 - 23 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
Late Feb/Early March
24 Feb 2018 - 2 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£495
 
 
March 2018
3 Mar 2018 - 9 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
March 2018
10 Mar 2018 - 16 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
March 2018
17 Mar 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Easter
24 Mar 2018 - 30 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Easter
31 Mar 2018 - 6 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Easter 2018
7 Apr 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Late April
14 Apr 2018 - 20 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
Late April
21 Apr 2018 - 27 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
May 2018
28 Apr 2018 - 4 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
May 2018
5 May 2018 - 11 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
May 2018
12 May 2018 - 18 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
May 2018
19 May 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
Whitsun 2018
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
June 2018
2 Jun 2018 - 8 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
June 2018
9 Jun 2018 - 15 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
Mid June 2018
16 Jun 2018 - 22 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
Late June 2018
23 Jun 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
July 2018
30 Jun 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Summer Hols 2018
21 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
September 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 28 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£695
for 7 nights
£695
 
 
October 2018
29 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
October Half Term
20 Oct 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
 
Late Oct/Nov
27 Oct 2018 - 9 Nov 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Late Nov/Early Dec
10 Nov 2018 - 19 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£450
 
 
Xmas 2018
20 Dec 2018 - 26 Dec 2018
Changeover Day: Thursday
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
New Year 2018
27 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
Changeover Day: Thursday
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £15

We do ask for £15 surcharge for pets. One medium to large dog is allowed, or two small dogs.

Notes on prices:
SHORT BREAKS AVAILABLE OFF-PEAK - PLEASE ENQUIRE

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable