OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Traditional Stone-Built ‘Maison Du Village’ With Four Floors Of Accommodation

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa in Cotignac, Brignoles, Var, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France - La Vue, Stone-Built ‘Maison Du Village’ In One Of The Most Beautiful Villages Of The Haut Var

Maison du Village, Cotignac is one of the most beautiful villages of the Haut Var region of Provence; a fifty-minute drive from Marseille and Toulon airports, and an hour and twenty minutes from Nice. La Vue is a traditional stone-built ‘maison du village’ with four floors of accommodation. It’s on a small, quiet street towards the top of the village; and sleeps up to eight people. It has two double bedrooms on the second floor, and a dormitory bedroom on the third floor. La Vue has a large, Provençal kitchen and breakfast room; a beautiful living room and dining area, two shower rooms, and a sunny kitchen balcony and outdoor terrace. Free, high-speed WiFi is included in the rental price, Exterior, A traditional ‘maison du village’, accessed from a quiet street, La Vue has a kitchen balcony which leads down to a sunny terrace. Salon, The first-floor Salon has a beautiful living room and dining area with a French window for evening dining

Kitchen & Breakfast Room La Vue has a large Provençal kitchen and breakfast room, with tiles made in the nearly village of Salernes. There is a dish washer; and a washing machine in the adjoining utility space. And a kitchen balcony leading to the terrace Bedrooms, There are two double bedrooms on the second floor, both with lovely views of the village, and a dormitory bedroom on the third floor, which sleeps up to four, and with one of the best views of Cotignac in the village Shower Rooms, There are two, fully-equipped, modern shower rooms; both with under-floor heating

More Details

Owner
Claire Dormer Thwaites
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French
Calendar last updated:
28 March, 2016

About Claire Dormer Thwaites

We are both Interior Designers and live in the UK. Our loves include being out in the great outdoors and art, which is why we bought in Provence. We love cooking, and also eating out. We have been holidaying in Cotignac for the past 14 years, where we have made many friends and have really fallen in love with the village.

Claire Dormer Thwaites purchased this house in 2013

Why Claire Dormer Thwaites chose Brignoles region

We have been visiting the village for the past 14 years and have fallen in love with it and the surrounding area. The village is beautiful, doesn’t have the crowds of the coast, but is easily accessible from Marseille, Toulon and Nice airports; or a nice drive from the UK, if staying a little longer.

The village retains a lovely French character with Provencal markets, restaurants and cafes. The surrounding scenery is very beautiful with lakes, rivers and mountains; or if you prefer art, there is so much to see and do in this area.

What makes this house unique

The house is a traditional 'maison du village' with wonderful views; it is situated off a quiet street in the old village but only a 2-3 minute walk from the cafés and restaurants of the lively village centre.

We have retained the traditional Provencal kitchen, which is very well equipped. The balcony and terrace, where you can have your morning coffee or your evening meal, are both south facing; and if you can’t switch off completely, there is free WiFi !

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cotignac in Var

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • There are two, fully-equipped, modern shower rooms; both with under-floor heating
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: There are two double bedrooms on the second floor, both with lovely views of the village, and a dormitory bedroom on the third floor, which sleeps up to four, and with one of the best views of Cotignac in the village
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Notes:
Outside: A traditional ‘maison du village’, accessed from a quiet street, La Vue has a kitchen balcony which leads down to a sunny terrace Cleaning / Towels / Linen are all included in the rental price. Interim cleaning and fresh linen are also available on request, however, there would be an small additional cost for this. We can also arrange for provisions to be left in the house on your arrival, this can be arranged through the owner. There is a security deposit to be paid prior to arrival of €300

Reviews

4/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

Devon, uk
2

Pretty but not practical

  • 2 of 5

Whilst it is true that the property is beautifully decorated the layout of the accommodation is not conjusive to a comfortable relaxing holiday and the description on the website is not clear in its portrayal of the property!

The description states their are 2 bathrooms however the location of these is not made clear in the description - the main bathroom is located on the ground floor next to the kitchen (2 floors down steep spiral staircases from the bedrooms) and the second bathroom located next to the lounge is nothing more than a toilet with a shower in it! Its location and flimsy door doesn't not offer any privacy and there's very little room to dry yourself after a shower! The shower pressure was good however. The lounge furniture whilst designer in looks was not comfortable.

The location of the property is good in relation to the town but the downside is very little outside space with a limited sun time - again the description states 'sunny terrace' however the sun arrives about midday and is gone from the terrace by 5pm! The property accommodates up to 8 people however there is not sufficient space on the 'sunny terrace' to accommodate 8 people comfortably - this was proven when we had friends to visit for coffee as we all squeezed around the patio table! It is also has no privacy. We were a party of 4 however there are only 2 ( and only enough space for 2) sun loungers.

Also there are little touches which are missing like a hairdryer, a microwave and as we were in France a garlic press!!! We paid for the linen package however this did not include tea towels or bath mats which you would expect as part of the package. The bedrooms are lovely and beds are comfortable however we had a king size quilt (5ft) on a 6 ft bed!

This house could have been so much more - very disappointed

  • Review Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jane We were very sorry to hear that our house didn't live up to your expectations and we have certainly taken on board your comments, we will do our very best to improve things wherever we can. Again, please accept our apologies for your disappointment. With kind regards Claire
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Village House

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to have an extended holiday in La Vue for 2 months. It is a very comfortable home from home with everything you need down to little things like shopping bags for the supermarket to a carefully selected shelf of books. The description in the listing is accurate although the house seems even better as it has a lovely atmosphere. It was very clean and well maintained. The owners were so helpful in providing information on where to park,they sent us a map of the village for our arrival and key pick up was easy too. The town is a great base to explore the Gorge, Lac de Sainte Croix, Nice, Cannes, Marseilles and lots of beautiful hilltop villages. There are some lovely walks to do from the house through the countryside. It's just a short stroll into the centre of the village to the boulangeries, shops and restaurants and the lovely market on a Tuesday morning. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone and can't wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house in a lovely town

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for 10 nights in August with family of various ages. Was met on arrival by caretaker of the house who was extremely helpful as too were the owners who emailed us frequently before our stay, making sure we had all we would need. House was beautiful and fully equipped with everything you might need. Location was lovely and very central for us as we wanted to tour the south of France, taking in places off the beaten track. Would definitely recommend this house and town to others thinking of touring round the area. We had a great time and hope to return maybe next year

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£417
for 3 nights
From
£139
£712
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £252.66

Booking Notes:
Please contact us for further details or with any queries

Changeover Day:
Saturday

Notes on prices:
The rates indicated include the clean at the end of your stay
If you would like linen provided, an additional cost of 20euro per person is all we charge
If you would like an additional clean during your stay, the charge is 120euro
Please contact us for special Christmas/New Year rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

You might like these similar holiday rentals