OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Luxury, dog friendly, 2 bed cottage in beautiful mountain valley at Elterwater

Overview

Property

Updated: 22-Apr-2017
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

About the property

Townfoot Cottage in Elterwater, Nr. Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England - Dog Friendly, With Spectacular Mountain Walks Straight From The Door. Ten Minutes From Ambleside

Found in the corner of a small courtyard of traditional Lakeland cottages, dog friendly, Townfoot Cottage provides two bedrooms and a family bathroom. The holiday cottage entrance brings you into the contemporary, luxury-fitted kitchen and eating area. Alongside is the living area where you can relax and in colder weather, enjoy the warmth of a log-burning stove, while the large windows allow the Lakeland light to flood in. There is a useful laundry/cloakroom at the foot of the stairs and upstairs there are two stylish bedrooms with window seats, where you can enjoy the lovely views. The modern family bathroom is designed for long soaks after a hard day on the fells! Private parking is right outside the cottage.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Alun Knott
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2017

18 Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

5

A very comfortable and well equipped cottage.

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Townfoot, the cottage was clean, well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. Ideally situated and just a stroll from the pub, essential after a day on the fells, which are all easily accessed from the cottage - a car free week! Groceries available from the stores just a short walk away in a very well stocked shop. When eating out we used The Wainwrights and were never disappointed and a lovely lunch was had in the Eltermere, again very nearby. The ONLY issue was that the smoke detector was a little too enthusiastic but we soon learnt to put the toaster under the cooker hood!

A little message from Alun to check that all was well was nice to receive and we had no problem's at all.

A great place to stay and we look forward to a return visit,

Thanks Alun.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm happy that you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the over-enthusiastic smoke alarm.... maybe a less enthusiastic toaster would help? I'll take a look. Cheers, alun
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Brilliant week away

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful cottage in a stunning location, lovely kitchen which had everything we needed and all the appliances were very high quality. Alun responded to a query we had promptly. The log burner in the lounge kept us cosy! We also found the cupboard under the stairs great for drying walking boots and coats. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Emma, for the kind words. I am happy that you had a lovely break, and even got lucky with the weather! Alun
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Elterwater Cottage at Christmas

  • 5 of 5

We booked the cottage in Elterwater for the Christmas week and we were delighted by the whole experience. The cottage is perfect....beautifully equipped and very cosy and comfortable. It's location means that there are plenty of beautiful walks right from the door and the village was so quiet and peaceful at that time of year.

The cottage had a very homely feel and we would love to return in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much Jane. I am pleased that you had a lovely stay! Alun
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect cottage in beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

Our second visit as we loved it the first time. Great walks straight from the door, friendly pubs with good food in walking distance . Alun came straight round to sort minor problem.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Leeds, UK
4

elterwater cottage

  • 4 of 5

Great quality of accommodation with everything you need and in a good location. Unfortunately the weather was so poor we left early. This was nothing to do with the accommodation which was of very good quality. Minor issue: there was no sign on the cottage to tell us it was the right one. Had to go to the pub down the road to find out. Can I suggest a name plate.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely beautiful cottage in a fantastic and stunning location. We found the cottage very clean and well maintained, the decor was lovely with very modern facilities. It was so lovely to come back to at the end of a very busy day, Our family didn't want our stay to end. Alun Knott provided excellent customer service and always answered any queries very promptly prior to our stay. The cottage located in beautiful Elterwater, with the Britannia Pub just a walk up the road was a lovely, traditional country pub where they served beautiful food. Great location for walks, cycling etc. Would recommend a climb up 'Old Man Coniston', with fantastic views from the top. Also would recommend Low Wood Bay Watersports for any waters activities. We had a wonderful morning Kayaking etc and Angus and staff were so helpful, knowledgeable and re-assuring. Our family said this was one of our best holidays and can't wait to come back to the Lake District. I would certainly recommend staying at Townfoot Cottage and hope to return in the near future. Thanks again Alun and Staff.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Travel:

The nearest major Airport would be Blackpool or Manchester, roughly one to two hours away. Car hire would be recommended, although there is a pretty reasonable local bus service running through the Lake District.

Distances:

Ambleside is about four miles away, and for a supermarket, Windermere is roughly eight miles away.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
22apr
22 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£599
for 7 nights
£599
 
 
6may
6 May 2017 - 12 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£649
for 7 nights
£649
 
 
13 may
13 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£599
for 7 nights
£599
 
 
27may
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£849
for 7 nights
£849
 
 
3 june
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£649
for 7 nights
£649
 
 
1 july
1 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£749
for 7 nights
£749
 
 
22 july
22 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£849
for 7 nights
£849
 
 
26 aug
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£749
for 7 nights
£749
 
 
2 sept
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£649
for 7 nights
£649
 
 
30 sept
30 Sep 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£599
for 7 nights
£599
 
 
14 oct
14 Oct 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£649
for 7 nights
£649
 
 
21 oct
21 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£849
for 7 nights
£849
 
 
28 oct
28 Oct 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£599
for 7 nights
£599
 
 
4 nov
4 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£499
for 7 nights
£499
 
 
2017xmas
21 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£849
for 7 nights
£849
 
 
NY2017/18
28 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£899
for 7 nights
£899
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
On receipt of a booking request, we will send payment information.

If the arrival date is within 6 weeks, the full cost of the holiday will be due at the time of the booking.

If booking more than 6 weeks in advance, then a deposit of 30% of the total rental (non-refundable) must be paid on reservation. Reservations are subject to written confirmation by email upon receipt of deposit.

Where an outstanding balance remains payable, a reminder will be sent (by email where possible) asking for payment of the balance. Payment of the outstanding amount must then be made no later than 6 weeks prior to the arrival date. Failure to full pay the full balance by the due date may be viewed as the customer cancelling the holiday. Under such circumstances, the deposit will not be refunded.
You can book online using the form here:
http://townfootcottages.com/townfoot-cottage-bookings/

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday only. Except for Christmas/New Year, when the dates vary.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 22-Apr-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television

Location Type

  • lake
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Family bathroom with bath and shower over bath, WC, basin. Heated towel rail and mirror with light and shaver point.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 and 2 - Both have: King size bed, Egyptian Cotton bed linen, Pocket sprung pillows, solid oak furniture, double wardrobe and drawers, window seat with valley views.

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: We welcome up to two well behaved dogs to Townfoot Cottage, at no additional charge. Outside: There is private parking for one vehicle outside of the cottage Utility Room: Siemens washer/dryer, radiator and drying rails. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and bed linen are supplied. The property will be cleaned before your arrival and all the beds made.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot