OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Old stone cottage overlooking Salen bay

People3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Salen....Acharacle Argyll - Stunning location in the Ardnamurchan peninsula the most westerly part of the British mainland

Salen Cottage overlooks Salen bay and is 40 meters from the Atlantic Ocean

Salen Cottage was built in 1853 and was the original Police station incorporating the jail

The cottage has been extensively and tastefully renovated recently and has full central heating and a really cosy multi fuel stove

We also provide a 32"flat screen television and free view satellite and a DVD player

Free WI FI is also available as is a good mobile signal from the cottage and around the area generally


Owner
Graham Cameron
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
16 October, 2017

About Graham Cameron

My Dad Was born and brought up in Acharacle which is 2 Miles away .My Mum belonged to Tobermory ,Isle of Mull.

I stay in my new house in Acharacle but atayed in Salen Cottage for 17 years

Graham Cameron purchased this cottage in 1996

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Highland in Scotland

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • rural
  • village
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 1 bathroom with W.c wash hand basin and bath with shower over
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 3 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 bedroom with a king size bed or can be separated to provide 2 single beds A cot or blow up bed can also be provided if required
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • bay fishing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Salen cottage is a really unique experience. Just come and enjoy the cottage and chill ...Or come and explore the most remote part of the UK peninsula. Whether your into walking or climbing or wild life, its all here. Outside: There is a small walled garden to the front with a garden bench ideal to sit with your glass of wine and watch the activity in the bay A small barbecue is also provided as is an outdoor table and chairs A whirlybird clothes drier is situated at the rear of the cottage Utility Room: This is the boot room ideal for your boots and jackets bikes canoes etc In here is also a washing machine Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All required towels are included Other: We have a Boot room. Which is a room that is going to be knocked down soon and made part of the extension. It has proved so popular that we are thinking to incorporate that. Perfect for bikes canoes boots and wet stuff.

Reviews

4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Old stone cottage overlooking Salen bay
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
5

Loved the old cottage, all our needs were met here. Loved the log burning fire, am missing it now

  • 5 of 5

Cottage great, Graham great, great location for our holiday, so relaxing and we are going back in May 2018, can't wait. We slept like logs, so peaceful, met some lovely people. Rugged landscape but beautiful . Graham Thank You

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Janet . Thank you for your great review .You are a lovely couple and looking forward to spending more time with you in May. Graham n Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning views, a fab cottage, being woken up by the Buzzards call. For Us it was perfect !!!

  • 5 of 5

Firstly the owner - A nicer man you'll struggle to meet, most of the comments in the book said the same as a part of the holiday experience. The location is wonderful, very quiet but the road means you have good access to get to places. Food - Mingary Park - restaurant have just won an AA award - the food was the best I have tasted in my 55 years (Sorry Mum !) WOW ! The wildlife - We went out of our way to see most of it, Golden Eagles x2, Otter, Seals, Pine Martens, a Dolphin which I met out in my boat straight out from the cottage ! Sea Eagle head to Araracle look for Jim in his Green tour boat another wonderful interesting kind gent. Deer - Ah ! beware travelling back late at night there are thousands of them and it gets scary as they just walk out in front as we found out - bang ! This happened near Glen Coe, it is the same all around the Highlands, the immediate area around the cottage was no problem though a Pine Marten did run out in front on our way to Araracle for dinner - he was fine and great to see. All in all a wonderful stay, very relaxing, if Scotland is your thing then you won't be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments. What a lovely couple ..Just sorry that we could not have spent more time with you to chat . Great you enjoyed Salen cottage . You were very hard to track down as you were everywhere on your break . really nice to have met you both and would be great to see you again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing break

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to the cottage on Salen

The view overlooking the loch is simply wonderful,

The cottage is warm cosy and homely,

The bedroom is comfortable

The living room is great to relax with the view over the Loch and the kitchen is very very well equipped.

Owner graham is very nice with great communication before and during my stay we met as I was leaving.

Parking next to the cottage and the hotel next door is a florets bar and restaraunt.

I'm personally not a seafood fan however my partner advises the prawns from the loch which is usually a special are amazing.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

lovely cosy cottage.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage has all you need for a very comfortable stay .

Also has a great view of the loch .

Parking is to the side of the cottage ,off the road

The hotel near by offers good food ..

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Riddled with damp & black mould - do not stay here!!

  • 1 of 5

The location is superb and the cottage is actually spacious - however that's where the good news ends. We were shocked to find on arrival that there had been recent damp in the cottage with visible staining on the living room and kitchen ceilings and walls. The bedroom smelt rank and there was so much damp coming through the walls that the owner had left a dehumidifier on, and when we opened the cupboard for hanging clothes black mould was visible on the wall. Black mould caused by condensation and lack of proper ventilation was growing round many of the window frames and the front door frame. Grouting round the bath was also black. We expected the cottage to be plain and not particularly luxurious but we did expect it to be clean, sanitary and habitable. This was substandard to say the least and we felt that if someone had asthma or rheumatism, for instance, that this environment would be extremely bad for their health. Despite sleeping with the bedroom window open we couldn't get rid of the smell in the bedroom, and although Salen itself is beautiful, we were glad to leave.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were both deeply shocked and disappointed at this review left on Trip Advisor especially as the visit concerned involved a four day stay and not one word was mentioned to us r.e " The Health Hazard" There was a problem 3wks ago with water penetration on gable end bedroom wall and a new drain has now been installed hence the dehumidifier in bedroom. The cottage has been occupied since the problem was addressed and arrangements are in place for painters to redecorate throughout. We noticed the slight damp staining on kitchen ceiling and had a slater inspect it. He is coming next week to rectify problem which is to do with loose slates around chimney. A new bathroom suite was installed 3yrs ago. We are very proud of our lovely cottage and take pains to rectify any ongoing problems as and when they occur. Our latest visitors extended their stay as they loved the cottage and the area so much . As you can see we have only ever had very positive ,lovely reviews and this has been our only negative one.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Glasgow
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Salen
Nearest Ferry
28 Miles
Various
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
Arisaig
Nearest Train
18 Miles
Lochailort
Nearest Motorway
100 Miles
Glasgow
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Salen
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Fort William
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Ardtoe

Coast/Beach:

We have various beaches close by at Ardtoe (4miles) Dorlin (4 miles) and the singing sands about an hours walk along a superb forestry route Well worth the effort

Travel:

The nearest airports are Glasgow which is 3 hours drive or north to Inverness about 2.5 hours drive

Distances:

Loads of places of interest too many to mention here but Castle Tioram is located in Dorlin (4 miles) away a really stunning location

We also have a first class art gallery at Resipole Farm (1.5 ) miles away

Acharacle (2 miles) has restaurants hotel at he away and tea rooms bad grocery shop and post of office

Salen has a new jetty and a lovely small general store and cafe

Salen Hotel is 2 minutes walk from the cottage and are renowned for their superb hospitality and dining room and bar

Further Details:

Salen Is a Small village right on the sea .

we have a new Jetty and a really exciting new shop with all the groceries and daily paper one would require plus a wee cafe for coffee and tea and great home bakes .

Salen Hotel which is virtually less than 2 minutes away has a great bar and just brilliant food ( best to book for dinner)

Acharacle is just 2 Miles away and has a great hotel .Local grocery shop..post office ..take away ..bakery and really good tearoom

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Highland, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Season3
18 Sep 2017 - 16 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£234
for 3 nights
From
£78
£380
 
 
Season 4
18 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
£450
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A small deposit will secure your booking and balance due 2 weeks before arrival .
Just contact us via email or phone

Changeover Day:
Change over is normally Saturday to Saturday
Arriving after 4 pm and vacating by 10 am
Other days could be booked if so required at time of inquiry

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable