OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Semi Detached Charming Self Catering Gîtes With Fun Pool - Dennlys Gite



Updated: 15-Jul-2016
Semi Detached Gite in Le Quesnoy-en-Artois, Hesdin, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France - Rural & Surrounded By Picturesque Countryside

The Gîtes were created from a large barn, the two self-contained, semi-detached gîtes are modern, light and airy. Each has an open-plan lounge area with a sofa and chair, dining table and chairs, a kitchen area with fridge, hob and oven, cooking equipment, table and chairs and a shower room with toilet on the ground floor. The bedrooms are on the upper floor.

During the cooler months (October to April), all the properties can be fully heated to keep them warm and cosy for guests. (charges apply)

All the gîtes are surrounded by picturesque countryside, there are things to do and see to suit all ages - historical towns, beautiful beaches, forest walks, theme parks and magnificent scenery.

All the gîtes are perfect for short breaks and family holidays all year round. English Caretaker and French cleaner live within the same village. This property has been owned by us for the last ten years and previously by the caretaker.

Details for holiday cottage Dennlys Gite , 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, 1 Bathroom

Each gîte consists of

Ground floor

Open plan lounge and dining area with television with UK satellite TV, DVD player and CD radio, sofa and chair, dining table and chairs, and French doors opening onto large covered veranda where there is an additional table and seating.

The kitchen with a 4 ring gas hob and oven, toaster, refrigerator with freezer compartment, cooking equipment, coffee maker and kettle.

Shower room shower with hand basin and toilet.

First floor

One double room with storage leading to

Twin room with further storage and space for an additional bed/cot.


Each gîte has its own private outdoor covered dining area equipped with a garden table and chairs.

The Gîtes have large semi enclosed garden and shared BBQ.

Guests also have shared use of a covered veranda, a shared barbecue, the above ground fun pool, paddling pool and large wooden climbing frame, swings and array of children's garden toys. .

There is ample parking space for cars next to the gîtes.

  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

About the Owner

In 2005, we (Kate & Mark) exchanged a hectic life in South-East England for the quiet countryside of Pas-de-Calais. Having already had many holidays in the area, we and our daughters immediately felt at home in France.

Unfortunately this change of lifestyle has been side-tracked for the next few years, due to a change in our work. So we now live two lives, one in England and one in France as often as they can get there.

The gites are now managed by our friend and neighbour. He is always happy to offer guests advice about where to go and what to see during their stay, having lived in the area for some years.

Cavron St Martin house is owned by Stuart & Brigitte (our friends) as they live and work full time in Liverpool we manage their house for them.

Call Manager
Speaks English, French

Guestbook comments from the manager

'The Farmhouse is ideally located to explore an area of France that many people drive through, but offers a host of opportunities. We had a good week and were busy every day. Booking was easy and the Farmhouse itself was spacious and comfortable with plenty of space for the children in the garden. The bottle of wine and cakes on arrival was a nice touch. The directions to reach the property wer great and very helpful. i would recommend the Farmhouse'

'What a lovely week we had, in this fully equipped charming typically French farmhouse.

Beautiful large garden to relax in.

The house was larger than I had imaged it to be. There was everything there that you needed and more. It was clean and tidy. Plenty of comfortable seating and large dining table. We liked the small touches a bottle of wine on the table to welcome us and bottle of water in the fridge.

The area was great for what we wanted - a peaceful week to relax and explore the war graves and monuments. My son also enjoyed the theme park which was about an hours drive away.

There was plenty of lovely places to eat/drink near by. The four supermarkets within a couple of miles were really handy as well. We picked up some very drinkable wine for €1.25!

There is also a swimming pool and bowling complex in the town that my son enjoyed.

We have already booked to go back at Christmas with our parents, as it is such a large house and the great thing about it is that we live in Kent and were door to door in 2.5 hours including the tunnel crossing. Can't wait to try out the large log burning stove!

The owners were very polite and helpful and suggested places to see and eat/drink and even booked a table in a restaurant for us!

Thank you to Kate and mark. We look forward to our return trip at Christmas!'

'We spent a very pleasurable week in the Farmhouse at Le Quesnoy. Facilities were very good with unexpected extras, e.g a free bottle of wine and croissants on arrival. Beds very comfortable. Log fire for chillier evenings. A bar-b-que and patio furniture for eating al fresco. Wifi and Sky TV. Pleasant walks in the countryside with our dogs. The local vet speaks good English and is very helpful. Picturesque vista's and beautiful sunsets, ideal for photography. The town of Hesdin (5min drive) is typically French with good restaurants and cafe's. A good selection of supermarkets. Also there is a new swimming pool facility with a bowling complex.'
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 1

1 Reviews

based on 1 holidaymaker reviews


Lovely place. Not child friendly

  • 3 of 5

We hired the Farmhouse during early July and although it is a lovely old house, it was not a good choice for our family holiday with two small children. We have hired numerous French farmhouses in the past and every one has been blessed with wonderful shutters on the windows, providing the perfect darkness for night-time. Well not this one. I was surprised to find that this farmhouse only has net curtains on the large roof windows that are in each of the bedrooms. In July this meant that it did not get dark until around midnight and was light again by around 4am. Needless to say this made things pretty difficult in terms of getting the children to sleep and in fact my husband and I (and I believe most people) also would have preferred a dark room to sleep in. It seems odd that relatively expensive accommodation would not provide a basic essential such as bedroom curtains or blinds. I would not expect to be told by the owner to hang towels over the windows in a property at this price point. The problem was exacerbated by the noise of the cockerel (which we did know about in advance) crowing all night - which was very loud & piercing in rooms with no shutters. We did not get much sleep.

In addition, the laminated “rules” and “policies” that were pinned up around the property made it difficult to fully relax, especially as there were widespread breakable knickknacks crammed into each room. Of course it is personal choice how the owner chooses to decorate the property and I can see that they were looking to create a homely effect but fearing that my deposit would have been docked if any of these items had been broken it seems a more relaxing proposition to those renting the property for those items to be locked away out of harms way.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I welcome any reviews on my property, however as this has quite a negative feel to it, should this put you off then please do not hesitate to contact prior to your booking to clarify. My opinion (without prejudice) this lady, did not get the response she was looking for from me, as she told me by email about this review before posting it, I think in hope I would perhaps respond with a refund, however we do not offer refunds (only in exceptional circumstances). We have had our house for 10 years and she is the first to say there is a problem with too much light. There are curtains to the large windows, just not on the roof lights. This is quite typical in France. With regards to the cockerel, this is clearly an exaggeration as cockerels (unless he is different from the rest) do not crow or certainly not scream all night! Also again another exaggeration would be the word 'crammed' yes there are ornaments, however there is no reference anywhere to make you feel you would have to pay for any breakages to these, they are there purely to make the house cosy and welcoming. The laminated sheets are there to help, i.e guidance notes, as we can not be there all the time. As I said at the beginning should you read this exaggerated review and it gives you doubts please do not hesitate to contact me. I would never want to make people feel uncomfortable in my house and our aim is for you to enjoy your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

We bought the gites in 2005, they required some updating which was completed fairly quickly, however there is always something else to do! We choose this area due to it being rural but also in easy reach of everything we needed. The town of Hesdin is very pretty, only 5 mins drive away and has everything you could need. It now has a great swimming and bowling complex. There are some beautiful beaches and very pretty villages which boast a great range of bars and restaurants and other activities. There is something for everyone. The area is easily accessible with Calais port less than an hours drive away.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Lille at 100 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Hesdin at 5 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Calais at 100 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Abbeville at 35 Kilometres Nearest Train : Hesdin at 5 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : A16 at 35 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Hesdin at 5 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Berck at 35 Kilometres Car: necessary


The Cote d'Opale is a stunning coastline of sandy beaches, dunes and imposing cliffs which run for 120 kms, which leads into the Cote De Picardie containing many more superb beaches and nature reserves. There is the chic resort of Le Touquet with its designer shops and boutiques, Berck sur Mer with its bustling beaches and Etaples with its famous daily fish market, to the quieter resorts of Merlimont and Hardelot, which are all within easy reach approx. 30mins drive.


The channel port of Calais which is approx. 100km (approx. 1hr drive)

Car is essential as there is no local bus service.

The nearest Train station is Hesdin (5km) this is a local service running to Etaples to Arras, where national trains can then be caught.


Local Activities (Hesdin within 5km) include:

In and out doors Swimming Centre with flumes and slides

Tin Pin Bowling

Rambling (marked trails in the forest)

Horse riding

Fishing (mainly trout)

Cycle routes

Further afield are:

Theme & water parks

Beaches (with children's areas & lifeguards)

Windsurfing & sand surfing


Historical sites, war memorials & graves

Steam train rides

Antiques fairs & markets

Further Details:

The market town of Hesdin is just five minutes from Le Quesnoy Gîtes. It is a pretty town with ancient houses, narrow cobbled streets and historic monuments. Built on the banks of the River Canche, many of the buildings date back to the 16th century when the town was originally founded. Hesdin has several supermarkets and a range of shops, banks, boutiques, restaurants and pavement cafés. The town has a weekly market (every Thursday morning). It is a colourful and busy market selling fresh regional produce - cheese, meat, bread, fruit and vegetables - as well as clothes, textiles and household goods. There also a newly built indoor and outdoor Swimming Centre along with Ten Pin Bowling.


Rental rates

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Changeover Day:
The changeover day is Saturday, this can be flexible in most seasons except High Peak. The rental period will start at 4:00pm on the day of arrival and finish at 10:00am on the last day.
Security deposit must be made before the first day of the stay.

Payments: can be made by free direct bank transfer (details upon confirmation of booking). The completed Booking Form and Holiday Agreement must be returned by email or post in order to secure the booking. Final balances should be sent 8 weeks before commencement of your holiday. Security deposit payments must be made before the start of the stay and can be made direct bank transfer.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter your travel dates
Updated: 15-Jul-2016
Available arrival
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


From the Owner

The property is just five minutes drive from the local town. We provide bed linen and towels can be hired, so you can travel lighter. We provide free WiFi internet. (terms and conditions apply). For those who enjoy a more active holiday, you can take advantage of the nearby golf courses. If you are looking for great food in the comfort of the property, we can also recommend local takeaways who can provide delicious meals at reasonable prices. Just ask for information when booking.

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...


  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming


  • Downstairs Bathroom - Toilet, Shower Enclosure


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Cot, Cots can be provided free of charge, please ask upon booking
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, 1 Cot, Cots can be provided free of charge, please ask upon booking


  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda ...


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: Payments Can Be By Paypal (inc Card Payments) Or Interbank Transfer Bed Linen Is Included Heating and towels: are NOT included in the rental charge HEATING – from £20 per week. Please note that a charge is made in all seasons for heating if required. TOWELS £2 per towel. The owners do not permit the towels to be taken from the property. The Owners suggest the Client bring their own beach towels.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot