OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Delightful Josselin Townhouse, Private Gated Garden, Secure Off-Street Parking

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 3 bathroom/WC Prime Canal-Side Location In Historic Town, Perfect for Walking, Cycling, Boating and Sight-Seeing

The house can be accessed at street level and also through its garden. It benefits from a sought after, river-side setting, and yet it is just two minutes walk from Josselin's medieval heart, with its many restaurants, creperies and bars. Fresh baguettes, cakes and croissants are available from a boulangerie just seconds away. Our newly renovated and decorated townhouse has a beautiful bedroom and bathroom suite in a spacious, beamed room, across the entire top floor, two further double bedrooms and a shower room on the middle floor and a fully-equipped kitchen, sitting room with English TV and WC on the ground floor. The lower ground floor houses a utility room and provides access to the garden and river beyond. There is also secure parking for a car and bicycles, with further parking directly outside the rear of the house. The Nantes-Brest canal is at the bottom of the secure gated garden.


Owner
Ruth Corbett
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 June, 2017

About Ruth Corbett

We are a London based family, and we spend as much time as possible here, in our gorgeous French retreat! We usually bring our labradoodle, Scruffy, who is in her element here, never happier than when she's swimming in the Nante Brest canal. We live in north London and work in the centre, so our little house is a wonderful alternative to city living.

Ruth Corbett purchased this house in 2013

Why Ruth Corbett chose Ploermel area

We fell in love with Josselin in early 2013, after a flying visit, and bought our house that same summer. The minute we swept around from the main street onto the canal road and took in that sensational view, we knew we wanted a place here. The river, the chateau and our future home were right there in front of us.

Josselin has the lot in terms of traditional French charm, with its mix of cafes and quality restaurants, interesting little shops, chateau tours and Saturday market, as well as colourful annual festivals and holy days, gorgeous walks and opportunities for boating and cycling.

It's a beautiful town, bursting with history and culture. There are numerous places to discover and explore nearby, from the ancient megaliths at Carnac to stunning secret sandy beaches on the south coast and enchanting forests in all directions.

What makes this house unique

Our house has the advantage of two entrances: at the front, on the street side (with mouthwateringly good boulangerie seconds away), and at the back, through the garden, on the river side, where cars can be parked. A delightful promenade here is home to charming river-side cafes and bars.

The house's location is highly sought after and the views from our windows and garden of the river, and the ancient and beautiful 11th century church, on the far side of the river, are hard to beat.

With useful local shops and amenities a short walk away, and with the peace and tranquillity a river-side setting offers, it's an exceptional spot.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Josselin in Morbihan

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Top floor: en-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 with bath/shower and separate WC Middle floor: shower room with WC Ground floor: WC
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with super king-size bed and en-suite bathroom. Bedroom 2 with double bed and river view Bedroom 3 with double bed and river view
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: For stays shorter than 7 days please contact owner directly for a quote. For stays of over 2 weeks contact the owner for discounts. A cot and high-chair can be provided if requested at time of booking. Upstairs is out of bounds for pets. Outside: A long, terraced garden, with decking and lawn, stretches down to a secure double gate with river promenade beyond. Outdoor furniture and a BBQ are kept in the utility room with access to garden. There is parking for one car in the parking area inside the gates, as well as ample parking on the canal path. Utility Room: Extra fridge, storage for outdoor ware, BBQ, garden furniture Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bathroom towels and bed linen are included. Please leave the house as you find it. Check-out cleaning service is available - please enquire. Other: Here is no central heating in the house. 2 oil filled radiators and 2 electric heaters are available for use in cold weather.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

5

Lovely house in a fairly tale location

  • 5 of 5

This riverside house was enchanting from top to bottom. Beautifully decorated and full of personality, it felt like a home from home, but better! Filled with interesting artworks and quirky furnishings, plus a fabulous top floor ensuite and a pretty garden, we felt extremely lucky to land here.

There is a boulangerie directly opposite the front door, while at the back, from the sitting room and bedroom windows, are stunning views of the river, chateau and an idyllic 11th century chapel. Great restaurants and cafes, a historical town centre, wonderful Saturday market and five days of sunshine to boot. We'll be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sunriver / Seattle
4

Lovely town with good restaurants, good Saturday market, great location on the river for walking

  • 4 of 5

Kitchen was well equipped with everything you needed for cooking . Upper bedroom was quite hot on warm days and the central heat wasn't working on the cold days. Outdoor space will be lovely when the patio is completed. Living room is minimally furnished.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Naas Ireland
3

Fantastic location. There were a few slight hitches but Ruth sorted them out as soon as informed.

  • 3 of 5

Insufficient towels and tea towels provided initially, bit when we informed Ruth she organised some additional ones. The bedding was tired and mismatched but clean. The location was excellent and near several good restaurants. The view from the living room and bedrooms was beautiful and the off street parking was of great use to us!! The town has great character ...but the visit to the château disappointing as you don't get a chance to see much!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your helpful review. New bedding ordered and winging it's way to the house now!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Charming house, great location but no wow factor.

  • 3 of 5

The pretty garden and secure parking was a plus. Liked the quirky house and its great location. However, it lacked comfortable seating and the mismatched assortment of bedding, towels and crockery were disappointing. The TV needs attention and we had to buy light bulbs.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. It's good to have this feedback. We'll address the issues raised. Sorry about the lightbulbs! Will pop some spares in the larder for future use.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A charming house in a wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

This is a charming house in a wonderful location by the canal with easy secure parking. Josselin is lovely with many fine walks. And a patisserie within fifty metres is a real bonus! We loved it.

Rob and Shirley (Kent, UK)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

A little disappointing

  • 3 of 5

Excellent location, overlooking the canal. Good, private, secure parking. Well equipped with washing machine and dishwasher. Would have rated higher, but unfortunately we were disappointed immediately on arrival, by the lack of cleanliness - ie, dirty, used sponge left on the kitchen sink and more in cupboard; leftover bits of soap in soap dish; half used food items in fridge, sugar basin half full of solid, damp sugar - all off-putting. Bedding was clean, but very tired looking (adequate, but not welcoming). Lovely views spoilt looking through dirty windows. Expected better, particularly having paid £100 a night.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry you experienced a less than exceptional stay in our house, which is something we endeavour to provide at all times.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Mid
1 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
4 night minimum stay
£286
for 4 nights
£500
 
 
High
1 Jul 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
 
 
Mid
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
£286
for 4 nights
£500
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£229
for 4 nights
£400
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

Booking Notes:
A £100 deposit is required on confirmation of booking with full payment required 8 weeks prior to arrival.
A further deposit of £250 will be returned in full if no damage has been incurred and if the property is left in the condition it was rented in.
Please arrive after 4pm and depart by 10.30am to allow for housekeeping.

Changeover Day:
Preferred changeover day is Saturday, but is flexible by prior arrangement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals