OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

House with riverside views

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

About the property

Riverside Walk, Larpool Lane, Whitby - Situated just outside Whitby Town Centre, 20 minute walk in to Whitby or 5 minutes Drive

A modern 3 storey mews style end cottage on the banks of the River Esk with excellent views. It has 3 bedrooms, 2 doubles and 2 bunk beds, sleeps a maximum 6 people, It is ideal for families, wildlife lovers and walkers or people looking for peace and quiet. It is situated under the magnificent Larpool brick Viaduct, and the NYM steam train passes on the opposite side of the river. The is ample parking.

LRD Plant Hire Ltd
Bridgett Dickin
Sprink House Farm, Hill Lane
ST10 4PF Stoke-on-Trent Staffordshire United Kingdom
VAT Reg No695 3354 03

Property Manager
Mrs Bridgett Dickin
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
30 January, 2017

About Mrs Bridgett Dickin

My husband and myself only purchased this property in 2014. But we have visited Whitby many times and after falling on love with the place decided to purchase this beautiful holiday cottage on the River Esk.

Why Mrs Bridgett Dickin chose Yorkshire Moors and Coast

We bought this property mainly because of its location. It is out of the main town of Whitby, but is only a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk in to the town. It has fabulous views of the River Esk and the Viaduct that stands above it. There is a train line on the opposite side of the river on which the steam trains runs between March & October. If you like walking there are many lovely walks within Whitby and the surrounding countryside.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)


Lovely clean, spacious and comfortable property for a group of 4 (plus baby!)!

  • 5 of 5

I found this house after searching for properties within walking distance of Whitby, on the Esk river; a favourite spot for my family and I for years!

I was initially impressed by the location, underneath the striking viaduct, and was not disappointed when I arrived. I was staying with my parents, husband and new baby, and we found the house clean, with all the mod cons we needed and perfect for my 3 month old baby.

Bridgett, who owns the property, was good at emailing directly and I found Owners Direct were good too.

I would definitely recommend this property and hope to stay here again soon!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the property to have everything you required for your family break. I would be more than happy to have you return again sometime in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely property in fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic long weekend at this property. Location is lovely - right on the river and so close to the passing steam trains. Our 22 month old son loved watching the boats and trains go past! Lovely walk into Whitby along the Cinder track. The property was very well equipped and spacious. We had a lovely stay and hope to come back in the future! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Well equipped house with everything you could need to make you feel at home. Fabulous location with fantastic views over the river with lots of wildlife around. Great to watch the Pickering to Whitby steam train pass by every few hours. Good Base for walking and Whitby centre only a short treck along the cinder track (old railway line). We did a coastal walk to Robin Hoods Bay and back via the Cinder track. Good location for cycling too.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well equipped and laid out beautiful property, with stunning views

  • 5 of 5

Just returned after a weeks stay at this beautiful property. Party consisted of two families which included two teenage boys so having two bathrooms and a separate loo downstairs was great especially in the morning. Good sized and well equipped kitchen, very large lounge with advantage of having a balcony with seating, flat screen tv's with Sky in the lounge and also the dining room. Excellent wifi is also included. The property is also the closest to the River Esk on the complex, under the viaduct which made sitting out of an evening on the patio very enjoyable. Lots of wildlife, the ducks often came up to the patio of a morning for their breakfast. If you are up early enough you sometimes even see deer and fawns at the rivers edge only yards away. Whitby is only a short walk down the cinder path from the top of the viaduct, supermarket close by and plenty of parking at the property.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent; lovely place for a holiday.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely house. Loved the location, plenty of walking direct from the house. Good parking; the key code entry was really useful when we were out separately. Really peaceful, lovely views of the river, we even saw a seal in the river! The first floor lounge and balcony meant that we could all benefit from the beautiful view. My daughter would have liked a lamp in the lounge (she was the only one that mentioned this!!). The blind in the top bathroom didn't work but this was not a major issue. The only thing that will stop us booking this cottage again is that we intend getting another dog soon (we are, sadly, between dogs at the moment), the property does not allow dogs and we always take our dog with us when we go on holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review we appreciate all feedback. I would just like to say that the blind in the top bathroom has been replaced and is now fully functional. Thanks again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great base for a holiday

  • 5 of 5

Had a lovely stay in this house.

Has everything you need for a holiday. Clean and well furnished.

Great views over the river and to the viaduct overhead.

Easy walk into Whiby on the Cinder track ,avoids the traffic but bring a torch as it is unlit.

We went as a couple but could easily sleep 6 people.

Hope to be back soon.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 14
17 Feb 2017 - 3 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 9
7 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 13
26 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 16
21 Jul 2017 - 7 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100
Tax Rate 20.0%

Booking Notes:


A 10% deposit is required 3-5 days of booking and the remaining payment would be due 20 days prior to your arrival date. Full payment will be taken at the time of booking for any booking made less than 20 days in advance.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible but is typically Friday in High Season.

Notes on prices:
Prices quoted are based on a 7 night stay. If your require 4 to 6 nights please inquire for a price.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Whitby in North Yorkshire

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • town
  • waterfront
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Ground Floor Toilet - Toilet
  • Master bathroom with WC, wash basin, bath and shower on the top floor Shower room on middle floor with WC, wash basin, shaver point and shower WC on ground floor with wash hand basin
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , The beds in this room are bunk beds
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with 1 double bed Bedroom 2 with 1 double bed and room for a travel cot or single airbed (not provided). Bedroom 3 with bunk beds (sleeps 2)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
Notes on accommodation: Sorry, no pets and no smoking We offer a minimum 5 night stay Outside: The property has a small patio area with table & chairs, off the dining room on the ground floor . Also a small balcony with table & chairs, off the living room on the middle floor. Utility Room: N/A Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bed lining and towels are included. The property will not be cleaned during your stay unless your stay is for a period of 2 weeks or more Other: N/A

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot