OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Detached Cottage With Heated Pool



Updated: 14-Sep-2016
Cottage in Paule, Nr. Rostrenen, Cotes D'Armor, Brittany, France - Peaceful Location Halfway Between Carhaix & Rostrenen

Situated on the edge of the small friendly village of Paule, this fully renovated cottage has been finished to a high standard to provide a comfortable holiday base. Available all year round, the excellent wall radiators and wood burners give a warm, inviting and peaceful stay.

Satellite TV is available in both English & French.

Free WIFI is also available and there is an Xbox with games .......

  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We live and work in England but go to the house as often as possible to enjoy the peace and tranquility.

We love the area and have made many good friends both in France and, though meeting guests, in England.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time thank you your gite is lovely I'm sure we will be back again another year .
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 1

5 Reviews

based on 5 holidaymaker reviews



  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our young Daughter Aug 2016 for 2/52. If you are looking for somewhere rural & peaceful, this is the place for you. Had a FABULOUS Holiday, felt like we had been away for a month. The Owners Jennifer & Kevin were just lovely, so helpful & welcoming!! The house is far bigger than it looks on the photographs, WELL EQUIPED & PEACEFUL!!!

The garden was gorgeous & the pool was a fab size and just perfect for a Family!

The value for money was exceptional & we will be back many times. Rustic, rural, beautiful.

Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you again and perhaps share a bottle of wine!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Overall we enjoyed our week stay in the property.

  • 4 of 5

If we were to,give feedback it sounds quite minor but we feel relevant. The property states that it is pet friendly. To make a property pet friendly would to,be able to leave the pet unattended in the garden. The property needs more fencing put up around the garden and also under the gates leading to the road. We were inundated with flies during the stay. We since found out that the neighbours dump their rubbish near the property which encourages the flies. The kitchen lights over the sink did not work. The steps up to the pool need to be looked at. Not only overgrown with weeds etc but a bit wobbly. The lock to the entrance door needs to be made more "old person" friendly. Anyone who did not have the necessary strength to push the handle up would have trouble securing the property. As stated earlier, the comments may sound minor but we felt they were worth mentioning to assist you in making the property a five star stay. The welcome pack was appreciated. Mind you it took us 2 days to realise the pungent aroma was the Camembert cheese in the fridge. We would recommend the property to our friends and would definitely book again , thankyou

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback and even if you feel them to be minor I would rather know and deal with them and keep our guests comfortable rather than leave them to become major issues. I will try and answer all your points. 1. Regarding the kitchen lights, if you had contact our local agent, Cliff, details are in the information pack, who lives in the next village. He would happily have popped down to check them out and fix them - he has now replaced the whole unit. 2. The pool steps - again if you had contacted Cliff he would have made sure they were clear and we will ask him to check them on a regular basis to stop them becoming overgrown. We are going out ourselves shortly and will check the pool steps and tighten them where needed. 3. Fencing - On our next visit we are going to put additional fencing around the garden and the gate to make it more secure. 4. The front door is a known problem and although we try and ease it, it remains stiff but again we will check it and see of there is anything more we can do. 5. The flies - I was not aware that neighbours were dumping rubbish and if you will email me the details privately, we can see if there is any action we can take. However the hot weather does bring out more flies. Hope this answers your concerns but please let me know if there is anything else I can do. Kind regards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peace, beauty and comfort

  • 5 of 5

We spent a wonderful week here with 2 small children. The property and grounds are beautiful. We were made to feel very welcome with essentials already in the fridge and even a bottle of wine! The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in. The hosts have really thought about all the little details to make a great stay. Stairgates, dishwasher, plenty of garden games, wifi and sky all made our family stay very relaxing. The pool was a wonderful addition and watching the combine harvester work in the field opposite was a treat for the children. We hope to return!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really lovely cottage peaceful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was like home from home, everything you could possibly need and more.The swimming pool was a added bonus .Would certainly stay in this cottage again and again

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 3 of 5

Le cottage est conforme à la description sauf la propreté qui laissait à désirer. Cela nous a valu une matinée de ménage pour éliminer la colonie d'araignées et l'odeur de renfermé ainsi que pour laver les ustensiles de cuisine que nous devions utiliser.

Le lit était inconfortable, le barbecue inutilisable et des odeurs de fosse septique dès que quelqu'un tire la chasse d'eau ou prend une douche.

Un projecteur éclairait dans la chambre dès qu'un hérisson passait sur la pelouse et pas de volet occultant donc réveil à 6h.

Malgré tout les propriétaires ont l'air d'être des gens charmants, nous avons eu droit à un petit cadeau de bienvenue.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

When we bought this property it was a series of old farm buildings and was completely overgrown but there was something that appealed to us and we could see the potential for building something lovely - we believe we have achieved this!

Activity and Interests


The cottage is about 60 minutes from both the north coast and the beaches of Finisterre


By air, Brest Airport is 45 minutes away, Dinard Airport is 90 minutes and Rennes airport is approximately 2 hours 30 minutes away.

By ferry, Paule is approximately 2 hours from St Malo and 60 minutes from Roscoff. Cherbourg and Caen are both about a 3 hours drive.


The Cottage is within easy walking distance of the friendly small village of Paule in the heart of Central Brittany. There is a local bar and a local shop which provides all your basic needs from your morning baguette to that bottle of wine!

Close to both the country town of Carhaix, with its Saturday Market and the small town of Rostrenen, whose market is on Tuesday, there is a good selection of small traditional shops and restaurants.

Further Details:

There are several places nearby for horse riding. Bowling Alley, Go Ape and several other activities are available in Carhaix. There is an excellent Tourist Office in both Carhaix and Rostrenen with details of all local interest


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Low 1
1 Oct 2016 - 31 Mar 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £50

Booking Notes:
At the time of booking a cheque for 25% of the booking should be returned with the booking form. The balance to be paid approximately 6 weeks before the start of the holiday.

Changeover Day:
Changeover is Saturday but we can be flexible. The minimum booking is 5 days at £47 per day.
Arrivals from 4pm and 10am on departure.

Notes on prices:
There is a £50 returnable security/breakages deposit payable with the balance of the holiday

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 14-Sep-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Whether you want a peaceful, relaxing break or a more active time, you will find it here. We are between the 2 towns of Carhaix and Rostrenen in a sleepy village. But if you want to get to the coast or explore the history of Brittany, you will be well situated. The garden pool is heated for comfort to approximately 25C, but it should be noted that in the event of heavy rains the temperature will drop until the heater can warm the rain through! There are a number of garden games or bikes available for you to enjoy. You can go canoeing locally and there are a number of excellent riding centres nearby. Alternatively, sit back in the garden with a book or have a snooze after a lunchtime glass of wine.

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Games
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool


  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • The beautifully finished shower room has a large walk-in shower and usual offices!!


  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: The large bedroom has a king size bed and plenty of storage. For the Kids, a section of the room has been curtained off gives a cosy small single sleeping space, ideal for a child. A curtained landing bedroom has been created for an older child.


  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 3 bicycles


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: Please note that the cottage is in the owners' garden. We do not live at the property and have a local agent, details will be supplied on booking. Outside: Garden There is a BBQ and some garden games are available for the young and young at heart! Mountain bikes are also available at no extra charge The swimming pool will be available from April to the end of September but heated from the end of May. Utility Room: There is a small utility room with the washing machine Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bedlinen and kitchen towels are provided but personal and beach towels are not included. Bedlinen is changed weekly.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot