OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Large Farm House , Within 2 Acres Of Beautiful Gardens

Overview

Property

Updated: 05-Dec-2016
Farmhouse in Sibdon, Nr. Ludlow, Shropshire, England - A Magical , Peaceful Location 10 Minutes From Ludlow

New House Farm is a large attractive stone farm house which has been completely renovated and finished to a high standard offering a superb package.. Nestled within the South Shropshire countryside, New House Farm is in the rural hamlet of Sibdon just 2 miles from the market town of Craven Arms therefore benefiting from country living yet minutes from town. New House Farm has a large amount of entertaining rooms creating a flexible layout of accommodation. The drawing room has a wonderful vaulted ceiling with exposed rafter beams . The room is double aspect and also has French patio doors offering beautiful views across the countryside. There are four other lovely reception rooms all having different features. The reception rooms are supported by a wonderful family kitchen breakfast room with an AGA. There is also a large utility, downstairs shower room and cloakroom. The property is approached via a long drive leading to the courtyard surrounding the house there are formal gardens as well as 12.4 acres of grounds. There is a working stable block, manage and about 12.4 acres.. It’s just beautiful to look from the windows and watch the horses run freely in the fields. We have chickens and welcome the children to collect the eggs each day.Its a truly beautiful place from the secret garden to the pond which homes the wild ducks and their young.We have converted one of the out door buildings into a games room which is a perfect sanctuary for youngsters,it homes table tennis,pool table ,football table.darts board,basket ball nets , a mini 3 aside football pitch and badminton court.Great fun to be had by all. The outdoors is furnished with tables chairs ,sun loungers. We have added a barbecue for the summer nights . For young children we have thought carefully and added a pirate ship and swings and slide. Perfect for youngsters to play freely and lose themselves in make believe play.

we provide all bedding, tea towels,dishwasher tablets,dish clothes , hand soap and fire wood . we do not provide any bath towels or hand towels

More Details
  • Sleeps 16
  • 8 Bedrooms
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English

15 Reviews

4.6
based on 15 holidaymaker reviews

3

Could be really lovely....

  • 3 of 5

We booked this lovely old farmhouse for a recent family reunion. It is a quiet and pleasant location and the accommodation is flexible for large groups with several entertaining spaces.

Unfortunately it was dirty on arrival, in particular the kitchen including the oven and the fridges. It was not possible to close the freezer due to ice. There was also an infestation of flies on the top floor.

The owners were very apologetic and one visited the property and arranged for cleaners the following day. They indicated they hadn't had any similar issues previously however there was fly spray in the house suggesting this may have been a problem before. To be fair the owners did pay for a meal out to compensate us for the inconvenience.

The house could also be improved by proving a dining space where everyone can eat together. Neither the current dining room or kitchen table allow for this.

This could be a fantastic property as whilst it's in a rural area it's also close to a village and only 15 minutes from Ludlow. The children loved the play barn and the nearby animals and the house has a really charm. Unfortunately the house is a little run down and the showers are a bit hit and miss with regards to pressure and temperature.

While not necessarily advising against going we would advise being very clear about what to expect in terms of cleaning and general welcome e.g. advice about the heating works etc.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jayne Thank you for your feedback, I will be honest I feel disappointed that you would write negative feedback as we went out of our way to ensure that all of your issues were sorted quickly and efficiently .Its a farm and we do get flies in the summer so the fly spray is handy for guests. However the infestation you describe had never happened before and we will ensure doesn't happen again. we had a meeting with the cleaning company and the issues we had have all been put right. the owner of the cleaning company was helpful and in agreement that changes to his team were needed. we have literally this week purchased a dinning suite and will be converting the large lounge off the kitchen into a large dinning room. I hope that people will see from previous comments that this feedback is not a reflection of the standards at the farm and that we were genuinely shocked and upset that you had this experience on your arrival. Andy travelled two hours to sort what he could the night of your arrival and as you stated paid for a meal as a way of saying sorry and hoping this would ensure you were happy for the rest of your stay. I did contact you several times and you seemed happy and I was confident your arrival issues had been sorted . I'm glad that the children enjoyed the space ,our aim is to cater for all ages.xxx
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazingly big adaptable house great for big families/friends

  • 4 of 5

This house was perfect for a our large group. Bedrooms all large with good bathroom facilities. Loved options of different lounges for group to split up as needed. Outside space is amazing, lots of patios and chairs and the climbing frame was a big hit was the toddlers. The barn was a useful retreat in the rain.

Enough things to do in local location to keep us all entertained. Could do with enough wine glasses for the number of people it sleeps would be main advice for change, and more obviously place for keys for patios doors/window etc

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom
5

Paradise for all

  • 5 of 5

50th birthday party with 10 adults, 5 children and 5 dogs. The house was perfect for this family celebration with rooms plenty big enough for us all to get together but lots of other cosy rooms to have a quiet moment. The bedrooms were all large with comfy beds. The children adored the animals and play equipment while the dogs were in seventh heaven in the lovely garden. The best bit though is the location which is perfect for stepping out of the door for fantastic walks or going for a short ride to Ludlow, Much Wenlock, Church Stretton etc.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a weekend

  • 5 of 5

Family of 15 ranging from 14 months to 67 years. The accommodation is outstanding. Each and every room is beautifully decorated with plenty of space. We never felt on top of each other. The views from the property are stunning and even looked great on a wet Easter weekend. The children loved the games barn and the stables next door. They were able to pet the goat and rabbit and the lady who looks after the animals couldn't have been more accommodating. Walks from the property are great too. A fantastic place to stay would highly recommend!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect venue for a family get together

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at this beautiful home it was an ideal location for a family holiday with lots of living space so that we did not find ourselves 'on top' of each other.

The only problem I had was cooking with an aga (I have never used one before so that was a novelty!)

The resident goat was so friendly and loved by the children in our party, this place has everything for every age group - we will definitely be returning!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive comments . we are glad that you enjoyed your stay !! you were brave using the aga most families stick with the range oven !! We try hard to accommodate all ages so its nice to hear this works xx
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Charming and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

Eight of us had an enjoyable stay at this property. It's comfortable, spacious and well heated - with plenty of reception rooms for spreading about in. It's in a very rural location with nice views over the fields and only a short drive to the Ludlow Food Centre (great produce) and various places of interest (the Long Mynd, Ludlow, Stokesay Castle, a great Japanese restaurant called 'Koo' in Ludlow, etc). The house is quirky and perhaps not quite up to the standard of similarly-priced properties in my opinion. The water pressure and temperature control in the showers were very variable - and could scald if you are not careful. Quite a few of the bedside lamps were not working. The kitchen table only seats 6 comfortably, which is strange given that there is space for a bigger table and that the house could sleep many more (the dining room only sits 8 too). Be aware that you need to take your own towels and that one of the bedrooms is only accessible through another (not clear on the website) - and that yet another does not have easy access to a bathroom (again not clear on the website). Overall though this is a characterful and interesting place to stay, with nice furniture and fittings - and we enjoyed exploring the house and surrounds. We appreciated that the owners supplied tea towels and plenty of wood, despite the website saying otherwise.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback I thought it was important that I explained /answered all points. This is very useful to us so thank you for taking the time to write it xx .... I appreciate your useful information about the interesting places to visit in the local area. I however will have to politely disagree with your comments regarding quality. We take great pride in the quirky antique feel the house has and ensure that all of the beds are fitted with quality mattresses and quality bedding. The kitchen is well equipped with a large separate utility, two fridges and dishwasher and washing machine. And amazing outdoor space and games room to suit all ages of children. We have stable care that will happily involve any children in riding and grooming of the horses. I would agree that the farm house is not modern in its décor but has a unique quality that I feel outweighs this We have had a technician to look at the water temp and he assured us that all was as it should be; I think that perhaps if we add signs warning families of this it would help I’m glad you contacted us about the light bulbs during your stay as we were then able to replace all the light bulbs; we now have a replenished supply in the utility room. We have a large kitchen table plus an 8 seater dinning room however we are looking at converting one of the TV rooms into a large dinning room to enable all 16 guests to sit and eat together Over the summer months we have more than enough seating outdoors so families tend to sit together and enjoy the glorious views You can actually access this bedroom via another stair case off the downstairs porch way We have five rooms with ensuite only three bedrooms have to share . The top floor has one bathroom that is contusive to all three sharing it as it’s off a landing. Thank you for acknowledging that this is an interesting place to stay we offered wood as a gesture of good will as the weather was a little chilly ,but have decided to continue this offer indefinitely... we have updated the website accordingly regarding the tea towels
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Feb 2017 half term
18 Feb 2017 - 25 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,800
for 7 nights
£2,800
 
 
EARLY SPRING
26 Feb 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£638
for 3 nights
From
£650
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,800
 
 
EASTER HOLS 2017
8 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
for 7 nights
£2,900
 
 
LATE SPRING 2017
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£712
for 3 nights
From
£650
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,900
 
 
MAY HALF TERM
27 May 2017 - 3 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
for 7 nights
£2,900
 
 
EARLY SUMMER 2017
4 Jun 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£712
for 3 nights
From
£650
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,900
 
 
SUMMER SCHOOL HOLS 2017
29 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
for 7 nights
£2,900
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner to ask any questions and to secure the booking. We ask for a 20% deposit and the remainder of balance paid 8 weeks before arrival date.We will send you a contract via email and request that this is returned signed to secure booking. Once contract returned we will send you the bank details to transfer the funds. we will then confirm via email that the booking is secure.

Changeover Day:
Change over date is saturday but we do make exceptions to weekend bookings . which are friday to Monday. We request that you arrive no earlier than 4.00pm. The property has to be vacated by 10.30 am.
we are also flexible with monday to friday bookings

25% of the total cost to secure booking . Eight weeks before stay the remainder plus 100.00 security deposit required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: 05-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • farmhouse

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, master bedroom ensuite stunning !!
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, ensuite to bedroom 2
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, ensuite to bedroom 3
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, ensuite to nortical top floor bedroom
  • Bathroom 5 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure, for bedrooms 6,7,8
  • 5 Bathrooms (4 En Suite)

Bedrooms

  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed, has ensuite
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Cot, master bedroom cot can moved to any room has large ensuite
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed, ensuite
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed, no ensuite could easily share bedroom 3 ensuite
  • nortical Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed, ensuite
  • Butterfly Bedroom 7 - 1 Double Bed, share bathroom 5
  • motor bike Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed, share bathroom 5
  • twin buttertfly Bedroom 8 - 2 Single Bed, share bathroom 5

Outside

  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Utility Room: washing machine. iron.ironing board we provide washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets. tea towels logs for the burners . hand soap in all bathrooms. we provide all bed linen we do not provide hand or bath towels

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot