OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Discounted price !!Large Farm House , Within 2 Acres Of Beautiful Gardens

Overview

Property

Updated: 15-May-2017
  • Sleeps 16
  • 8 Bedrooms
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Farmhouse in Sibdon, Nr. Ludlow, Shropshire, England - A Magical , Peaceful Location 10 Minutes From Ludlow

New House Farm is a large attractive stone farm house which has been completely renovated and finished to a high standard offering a superb package.. Nestled within the South Shropshire countryside, New House Farm is in the rural hamlet of Sibdon just 2 miles from the market town of Craven Arms therefore benefiting from country living yet minutes from town. New House Farm has a large amount of entertaining rooms creating a flexible layout of accommodation. The drawing room has a wonderful vaulted ceiling with exposed rafter beams . The room is double aspect and also has French patio doors offering beautiful views across the countryside. There are four other lovely reception rooms all having different features. The reception rooms are supported by a wonderful family kitchen breakfast room with an AGA. There is also a large utility, downstairs shower room and cloakroom. The property is approached via a long drive leading to the courtyard surrounding the house there are formal gardens as well as 12.4 acres of grounds. There is a working stable block, manage and about 12.4 acres.. It’s just beautiful to look from the windows and watch the horses run freely in the fields. We have chickens and welcome the children to collect the eggs each day.Its a truly beautiful place from the secret garden to the pond which homes the wild ducks and their young.We have converted one of the out door buildings into a games room which is a perfect sanctuary for youngsters,it homes table tennis,pool table ,football table.darts board,basket ball nets , a mini 3 aside football pitch and badminton court.Great fun to be had by all. The outdoors is furnished with tables chairs ,sun loungers. We have added a barbecue for the summer nights . For young children we have thought carefully and added a pirate ship and swings and slide. Perfect for youngsters to play freely and lose themselves in make believe play.

we provide all bedding, tea towels,dishwasher tablets,dish clothes , hand soap and fire wood . we do not provide any bath towels or hand towels

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Emma Scholes
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 May, 2017

20 Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

5

A great family week end

  • 5 of 5

11 of us stayed here April 28-May 1. It should have been 16 but 5 were missing as their baby was due that week end and in fact arrived on May 1st!

The house is big and well equipped but for us it was the grounds that really made it such a success. The little ones loved the pirate ship (the 2 year old agreed to wear his coat when we said it was a pirate coat!) and the older ones had a great time in the games room (table tennis, football, badminton, basket ball)

Two of the children spent a whole morning walking a dog each (Tara and Pollyanna) round the grounds. This was a huge achievement for the 5 year old who usually won't go near dogs. The ladies looking after the animals couldn't have been more helpful and played a big part in making our stay a memorable one.

We went to Ludlow one afternoon but other than this stayed on the premises as there was plenty to occupy all 3 generations.

Altogether an enjoyable and special week end.

  • Review Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fab location & more than ample room for a big family birthday celebration.

  • 5 of 5

We recently booked New House Farm to celebrate my husband's' 60th birthday, together with 14 other members of the family. It was a beautiful area & most of us took the opportunity to walk & explore the surrounding countryside. The cottage itself was more than big enough to cater for the hoards ! The dining tables (2 put together) easily sat 16 to enable us enjoy lunch & dinner together. The 4 lounges gave the opportunity for some quiet time if so desired. Children were part of the group & the games room proved to be a great hit - with the adults as well needless to say ! The slides & climbing frame were another of source of enjoyment for the little ones. All in all, a fantastic week-end & fabulous place to stay. We will definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review.I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. its so relaxing and is enjoyable for all ages .Perfect for families and friends coming together. We would love you to return, you would always be welcome x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous New Year break!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at New House Farm over New Year. The house was perfectly suited for three families (13 of us ranging from 9 to 50+). Spacious bedrooms all with plenty of storage and good bathroom facilities; all clean and tastefully decorated. Downstairs there are a number of lounges so we could choose to sit all together or spread out for some peace and quiet! Dining room easily seated all of us and kitchen was very well equipped and lovely and warm with the Aga.

The views from the property are stunning and we enjoyed wonderful walks across the beautiful countryside. The children loved the games barn and the stables next door. The lovely lady who looks after the animals couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming.

A great place to stay and we would definitely recommend!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing getaway

  • 5 of 5

Arrived late here however directions and instructions were great as we were able to get straight in and settle.

very tidy on arrival and everything we needed was there.

we were blown away at the beauty of the area and the scenery. with two younger boys and two older teenagers they were in their element. plenty of space and lots of freedom to explore. the outdoor games room was a hit with all ages. as competitive as we are there was plenty to keep us busy. The children loved the animals in the stables, especially the baby goats.

we were contacted by the owners during our stay to ensure we were happy with the accommodation, very friendly and very helpful and was able to put us in the right direction of a good pub lunch.

thank you again Andy and Emma. I would highly recommend this property and will definitely return next year.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments . That's what we like to hear !!! So glad you had a nice stay and it will be lovely to have you back next year !!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

a stay that began with domestic chores

  • 5 of 5

I feel the need to submit this having seen the response to my sister's very considered and rather generous review from our family stay. I have now had 2 previous reviews declined so will choose my wording carefully.

My wife and I arrived first and spent the rest of the day engaged in various tasks (our kids had to occupy themselves) so my parents could arrive to something bearable:

1.starting to deal with serious fly infestations, this involving literally hundreds of dead and alive flies falling on my head while opening a velux window

2. cleaning a filthy kitchen, locating hoovers etc etc

3. changing light bulbs

4. finding and operating the heating and hot water with no instructions at all

5. lighting a fire as the house was very cold as had been unoccupied with no heat on presumably.

It is true that the man came later that day and he did arrange for cleaners the next day to defrost filthy and chronically over frozen freezers and clean an oven that was grim too It is true a free meal was offered, though in comparison to the cost of the week this was small. My family are very loathe to leave negative feedback or cause difficulties but I believe it is proper that a genuine review is left given the feedback to my sisters entry. I would never have accepted the offer of the email but as mentioned other family members were keen to avoid any difficulties.

I have not been able to leave a star rating but it would certainly be a 2 at most. The issues we experienced have in part been flagged up in previous ratings- lack of dining space, problems with showers, lightbulbs to be replaced. it is for the reader of this review to make up their own mind as to what that might signify. I suspect there will be an owner response to this post but would like to point out I have not left such feed back before, have no vested interest, am not pursuing any repayment but simply wish a truthful account to be allowed to be posted. I have lived, worked, and travelled to many many places around the world and this experience was disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again I feel saddened that you would write a second negative review. I totally agree with your arrival issues and these were dealt with immediately. as I said previously we have had meeting with the cleaning company and all issues rectified. We have created a large dinning area so all 16 guests can sit together. All I can do is apologise ( as I did when you arrived ) and reassure future guests that this has been sorted. As you can see from our previous reviews we have excellent feedback and pride ourselves on guests having a wonderful stay. This is not a reflection of our normal standards.We were keen that you were happy which is why we paid for the house to be re cleaned and for you all to have a meal out. Again I am sorry , but cant help feeling disappointed by not only one but two reviews. Please come and stay again at a discounted price so we can show you just how lovely the farm can be xx
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Could be really lovely....

  • 3 of 5

We booked this lovely old farmhouse for a recent family reunion. It is a quiet and pleasant location and the accommodation is flexible for large groups with several entertaining spaces.

Unfortunately it was dirty on arrival, in particular the kitchen including the oven and the fridges. It was not possible to close the freezer due to ice. There was also an infestation of flies on the top floor.

The owners were very apologetic and one visited the property and arranged for cleaners the following day. They indicated they hadn't had any similar issues previously however there was fly spray in the house suggesting this may have been a problem before. To be fair the owners did pay for a meal out to compensate us for the inconvenience.

The house could also be improved by proving a dining space where everyone can eat together. Neither the current dining room or kitchen table allow for this.

This could be a fantastic property as whilst it's in a rural area it's also close to a village and only 15 minutes from Ludlow. The children loved the play barn and the nearby animals and the house has a really charm. Unfortunately the house is a little run down and the showers are a bit hit and miss with regards to pressure and temperature.

While not necessarily advising against going we would advise being very clear about what to expect in terms of cleaning and general welcome e.g. advice about the heating works etc.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jayne Thank you for your feedback, I will be honest I feel disappointed that you would write negative feedback as we went out of our way to ensure that all of your issues were sorted quickly and efficiently .Its a farm and we do get flies in the summer so the fly spray is handy for guests. However the infestation you describe had never happened before and we will ensure doesn't happen again. we had a meeting with the cleaning company and the issues we had have all been put right. the owner of the cleaning company was helpful and in agreement that changes to his team were needed. we have literally this week purchased a dinning suite and will be converting the large lounge off the kitchen into a large dinning room. I hope that people will see from previous comments that this feedback is not a reflection of the standards at the farm and that we were genuinely shocked and upset that you had this experience on your arrival. Andy travelled two hours to sort what he could the night of your arrival and as you stated paid for a meal as a way of saying sorry and hoping this would ensure you were happy for the rest of your stay. I did contact you several times and you seemed happy and I was confident your arrival issues had been sorted . I'm glad that the children enjoyed the space ,our aim is to cater for all ages.xxx
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
LATE SPRING 2017
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£712
for 3 nights
From
£650
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,900
 
 
MAY HALF TERM
27 May 2017 - 3 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
for 7 nights
£2,900
 
 
EARLY SUMMER 2017
4 Jun 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£825
for 3 nights
From
£533
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,700
 
 
SUMMER SCHOOL HOLS 2017
29 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
for 7 nights
£2,900
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner to ask any questions and to secure the booking. We ask for a 20% deposit and the remainder of balance paid 8 weeks before arrival date.We will send you a contract via email and request that this is returned signed to secure booking. Once contract returned we will send you the bank details to transfer the funds. we will then confirm via email that the booking is secure.

Changeover Day:
Change over date is saturday but we do make exceptions to weekend bookings . which are friday to Monday. We request that you arrive no earlier than 4.00pm. The property has to be vacated by 10.30 am.
we are also flexible with monday to friday bookings

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 15-May-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • farmhouse

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television

Suitability

  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, master bedroom ensuite stunning !!
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, ensuite to bedroom 2
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, ensuite to bedroom 3
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, ensuite to nortical top floor bedroom
  • Bathroom 5 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure, for bedrooms 6,7,8
  • 5 Bathrooms (4 En Suite)

Bedrooms

  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed, has ensuite
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Cot, master bedroom cot can moved to any room has large ensuite
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed, ensuite
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed, no ensuite could easily share bedroom 3 ensuite
  • nortical Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed, ensuite
  • Butterfly Bedroom 7 - 1 Double Bed, share bathroom 5
  • motor bike Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed, share bathroom 5
  • twin buttertfly Bedroom 8 - 2 Single Bed, share bathroom 5

Outside

  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome

Notes:

  • Utility Room: washing machine. iron.ironing board we provide washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets. tea towels logs for the burners . hand soap in all bathrooms. we provide all bed linen we do not provide hand or bath towels

Special Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot