OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Well Established Gites With Heated Swimming Pool - Saanen Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms)

Overview

Property

Updated: 09-Nov-2016
Cottages with heated swimming pool near Melle, Deux-Sevres, Poitou-Charentes, France - La Chèvrerie, 3 Self-catering Gites, Sleep Between 4/6 People With Games Room

La Chèvrerie, 3 self-catering Gites, sleep between 4/6 people with games room 3 self-catering Gites. Our Gites are situated in a small hamlet in Les Alleuds in the Charente-Poitou region very close to the historical town of Melle. They were Farm Gites for the goat farm which was originally on site. With ancient exposed stone walls and wooden beams, our cottages provide modern convenience and old world charm. Attractions: In the Historic Town of Melle which is only 15 minutes drive away, there are Mines d'Argent (Silver Mines), Deux Arboretums ( There are 2 walks through the town ), Roman Monuments and 3 roman Churches for you to explore. At Chauvigny an hour away there is a Medieval City and a truly unique spectacle of amazing birds of prey from all corners of the earth; Les Géants du Ciel. If you would like to swim in the local Lakes there is Lambon 40 minutes away and St Macoux which is 20 minutes with lifeguards or there are outdoor Swimming Pools at Melle, Sauzé-Vaussais or Lezay all 15 minutes away. For the children La Vallee des Singes (Monkey Valley) and L'ile aux Serpents (Snake Island) are 40 minutes away. The canal system of the Venise-Verte makes a lovely day out, just an hour away, where you can punt or just walk. More to do: A must for the adults is a visit to Cognac where you can go on a guided tour and taste the local Brandy or just explore the lovely town with your children. The theme park of Futuroscope at Poitiers gives a whole new perspective on the Cinema. Don't leave before the night time show! All the local Towns have a market on different days of the week where you can savour the French way of life.

Details for holiday cottage Saanen Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms), 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 1 Bathroom

This cottage is suitable for a large family (2 Adults and up to 4 children) with is own front door, private patio and barbeque area. Full of character with original stone walls and beams. Upstairs 1 double bedroom and 2 twin bedrooms with fitted wardrobes and cupboards and a shower room. Downstairs a French HDTV and DVD player a lovely wood burning stove and a well equipped kitchen microwave, kettle,toaster and large fridge/freezer,large oven with 5 ring hob. All linen and towels are provided for our guests. Swimming pool towels are available to hire or you can bring your own. Large garden, Games room with table football and English TV, there is a laundry room and a wet room with bath if required for young children. Baby equipment available on request. Outside there is a 10m X 5m in -ground Heated Swimming Pool (Heated from May until September) with its own toilet and shower and table-tennis for everyone to use.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I moved here with my husband and 2 children then aged 11 & 13 in 2004.

We have been renovating the gites and our own home ever since and we all helped in building the swimming pool.

We love the countryside and growing most of our own vegetables and we have our very own bees with 3 different types of lovely honey each year.

Call Owner
Speaks English, French

17 Reviews

4.5
based on 17 holidaymaker reviews

5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

This property is a little gem! The description is accurate and offers so much more. It has everything you could wish for. The area is a wildlife haven and so peaceful.

The owners, Mike and Tania are always on hand if you need anything and are a mind of information of places to visit. But are not intrusive in anyway.

I would recommend anyone to stay here:young or old;couples or families.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing!

  • 4 of 5

We had a very enjoyable stay in this gite. It was very clean, spacious and well equipped with Tania providing some useful basics.Tania was very welcoming and on hand to give us useful tips about things to do in the surrounding area. We all thought the pool was great and found plenty to do in the surrounding area and with some mixed weather. Our 3 boys enjoyed our trip to the Vallee des singes and cycling at the Marais poitevin. We all enjoyed kayaking down the Charent at Ruffec and my husband enjoyed the brandy tour in Cognac. Would recommend the gite for anyone looking for a relaxing stay in rural France.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A super place for a quiet family get away

  • 5 of 5

This was our third stay in Saanen. As always the gite was clean and well maintained. The rural location provides a quite and peaceful get away. We spent most of our days cycling, walking and swimming in the pool. We also visited the local markets and cafes all within a short drive of the gite. We would recommend the restaurant 'Le Pistou' in the market square at Angouleme for a 'French' family meal, that is well priced. We would recommend the gite to any one who is looking for a real get away from the stresses of working life and want to see rural France at its best.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Brilliant

  • 5 of 5

Having booked a cottage, we were a little worried having read the review from a previous guest. All our concerns were unfounded! We had a fabulous week despite of the weather not being good. We found our hosts, Mike and Tania, friendly, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much for them. Their children were equally so when they were home. The cottage and facilities were excellent, and the area lovely. Hope to come back soon when the weather is better!! Thank you Mike and Tania for allowing us to share your home.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bridgwater,Somerset
5

Not disappointed by our return

  • 5 of 5

Well in need of a serious relax and revitalise we came back to stay with Mike and Tania. We were not disappointed the cottage continues to be home from home with pretty much every thing you can think of provided. The very hot weather in our first week meant the the pool was essential to cool off. We cycled and enjoyed the rolling landscape and the odd cheeky beer :)

Really enjoyed the chance to unwind in a quiet rural part of France and left feeling energised and relaxed.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Harpenden
1

Disappointing Summer holiday

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at the property at about 7pm on Saturday night, for a 2 week holiday, tired from our journey. Tania met us at the gate and proceeded to outline the rules as we walked to the gite.

Here are some positives, the property and garden was very clean and in good condition. However this was offset by its size. An estate agent might describe it as a “bijou clever conversion”. I would describe it as compact and efficiently designed.

The ceiling downstairs is very low, but it is the upstairs that is particularly challenging for anyone over 5 foot 9. Beams criss-cross the rooms such that even children have to be careful not to bang their head. There is 1 tiny window in each room. In 38 degree heat, it was so stuffy I didn’t manage to get a single good night’s sleep – the latter was compounded by incredibly uncomfortable beds where springs featured more than one would like.

The kitchen lacks a dishwasher, microwave and washing machine. The knives are all blunt and the kitchenware basic and cheap. We were offered a knife sharpener.

The guest guide book compounded our initial concern. It comprised rules/regulations, an inventory and 1 page on the local markets! A few leaflets were bundled carelessly beneath the book.

The particulars highlight that the pool is heated and secured by a fence – this was an important part of my decision as I have an adventurous 2 year old. Unfortunately the heating was never used. Further the pool was only accessible for 7 hours each day (unless you were family or friends). Sun tan lotion had to be applied an hour before. Further we were told that children could not jump into the pool, or use inflatables because of a hosepipe ban – this turned out to be untrue. Further the gate was left open during these times so we had to keep a watchful eye on our son.

Another aspect of the particulars that caught my attention was access to animals. On our first day we asked Tania about them. They had 3 caged rabbits in the play area but she didn’t mention the chickens, geese and other animals that featured in the particulars.

The proximity to the owners and layout made us feel like we were being monitored.

We found the guest book confusing as most of the reviews were positive. We concluded that M&T are reluctant hosts to people that they don't know. We found them at best unfriendly and, at worst, rude.

In the hope I would get my deposit back, I said that we had to leave early for work. In left for another another gite.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this review we presume has been written because we with held their caution as we discovered when they had left that there were two beds wet also the bedding, one the mattresses we had to replace. All of our other reviews for this gite cannot all be wrong and we can't please everybody.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

From the Owner

This is a very quiet area with country lanes to walk or go cycling or just sit by the pool in the sunshine.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Poitiers at 70 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Routiers at 500 Metres Nearest Train : Ruffec at 27 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : N10 at 20 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Chef Boutonne at 9 Kilometres Nearest Beach : La Rochelle at 100 Kilometres Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

The property is situated in a small hamlet between Sauzé-Vaussais and the historic town of Melle, an hour from La Rochelle, Poitiers and Angouleme.

Chaignepain is ideal for cycling and walking along meandering lanes past small vineyards, fields of sunflowers and maize, taking in panoramic views of the region. The way of life in this area is so rural and unhurried that it gives the impression of going back through time. The total absence of any light pollution, means that at night you can look up to an astonishingly crisp and clear sky and enjoy a glorious display of stars. Chaignepain is very well placed for visits to Cognac, La Rochelle, Ile de Re, Chauvigny, Venise-verte, Futuroscope at Poitiers and the local historic town of Melle. We benefit from living in the region that is recognised as the 2nd sunniest in France.

Coast/Beach:

Nearest Beach 100 Kilometres

La Rochelle

Travel:

Nearest Airport 61 Kilometres

Poitiers

Nearest Train 20 Kilometres

St Saviol

Nearest Ferry 250 Kilometres

St Malo

Nearest Motorway 14 Kilometres

Les Maisons Blanches

Distances:

Nearest Barpub 500 Metres

Les Routiers, Chaignepain

Nearest Restaurant 500 Metres

Les Routiers, Chaignepain

Further Details:

arboretum

caves

churches

cinemas

restaurants

water parks

zoo

horse riding

outlet shopping

scenic drives

sight seeing

walking

hospital

cycling

fishing

swimming

tennis

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£725
for 7 nights
£725
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250
Stay tax £0 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 13 years.

Booking Notes:
A deposit of 20% will be taken on booking and then the full balance at least 4 weeks before arrival with the security/damage deposit of £250 the security/damage deposit will be refunded within 2 weeks after your stay if no breakages/damages.
Cleaning charge £50 paid with balance (returned if left in a reasonable condition)
Taxe de sejour is charged 0.30€ per person per night over the age of 12. (Paid on arrival)
Swimming Pool towels are available for hire at 7€ per person per week.

Changeover Day:
Saturday

Notes on prices:
In winter there is a small charge for heating and logs.

Deposit paid on booking and balance paid with the security deposit and cleaning charge 4 weeks before your holiday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 09-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

We have a secure play area with play house swings and slide, large garden for all and games room with table football, table tennis and WIFI. You can have freshly baked croissants and pain au chocolat every morning to order. Heated 10m x 5m swimming pool with own toilet/shower room. Swimming pool towels for hire or bring your own.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television ...

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...

Suitability

  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 84 m²

Bathrooms

  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet rolls are provided. With a shower enclosure and thermostatic shower and modern suite.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed, With fitted wardrobe and cupboard
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, With fitted cupboards
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed, With fitted cupboards
  • All bedrooms have bedside shelf with a bedside light

Outside

  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • You can order Croissants or Pain au Chocolat the evening before and collect them in the morning from the games room as they are coked to order. We have a secure play area with a play house and swings. We have 4 bicycles for all to use from age 10 to adult. Car: necessary. Outside: Barbecue Bicycles Child's Swing Garden Barbecue Patio Terrace 6 garden chairs Communal Pool Heated Pool Sauna

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot