Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Holiday Apartment Leith Edinburgh

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 172 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Edinburgh, Lothians, Scotland - Fantastic! Shore Location Traditional Tenament

Leith is a vivacious area jam-packed with top restaurants boasting the best chefs, delicious delis and chic drinking spots. Follow the water of leith walkway from the city and emerge into the picturesque shore area which is lined with bistros, stylish bars, traditional pubs and first-rate restaurants. The five-star royal yacht britannia berthed alongside ocean terminal shopping centre and cinema complex offers a fascinating insight into this unique, royal residence. Leith is also known for its culture and creativity. As you explore the area, uncover independent galleries where you can purchase artworks and contemporary galleries too, such as the corn exchange gallery. The district also plays host to various cultural festivals such as the leith festival and the Edinburgh mela. Leith even has its own radio station. the district of leith rests on the shores of the firth of forth at the mouth of the water of leith and has been the port of Edinburgh for hundreds of years. The original harbour dates back to the 14th century, and thus has witnessed many travelling kings and queens. the area has excellent public transport. The city centre is 10 mins by bus or approx £6 in a taxi. The seaside villages of cramond, joppa and portobello are 10 mins by car and a direct bus journey.


Owner
CATHERINE MCNAMARA
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
25 May, 2018

Why CATHERINE MCNAMARA chose Leith

Located in the heart of the Shore district with excellent restaurants, pubs and cafe's on the the door step. This is the ideal location for a city break and to enjoy all that Edinburgh and Scotland has to offer.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Leith in Edinburgh

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 172 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 3
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Large Shower Head
  • wc Bathroom with large walk in Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 Adults and 2 Children or 3 Adults. 1 Bedroom and 1 Sofa in the Lounge Notes on bedrooms: One Bedroom with King Size Bed, Lounge with Sofa Bed which would sleep 2 children or 1 Adult
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Utility Room: Clothes airer, Iron, Ironing board. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Includes Weekly cleaning and Towel and Linen change.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
29% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Holiday Apartment Leith Edinburgh
average rating of 4.703704 based on 27 reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Fantastic flat in an absolutely gorgeous location! Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5

I can’t say enough positive things about this flat in Edinburgh! Upon arrival I was surprised with juice, milk and bottled water waiting in the refrigerator as well as shortbread and sweets on the counter. The flat was very clean, spacious and had all the amenities that anyone could want. The bed was extremely comfortable and Catherine was kind enough to provide housekeeping during my two week stay. As far as building security, it’s very secure with a lighted and keyed entrance. The area around the flat is absolutely gorgeous as well. Very quiet, safe and an absolute pleasure to explore on foot, a welcomed break from the busy city center. Plenty of restaurants are within walking distance and provide numerous dining options. I would recommend this flat to anyone who is looking to spend time in Edinburgh. Couldn't be happier with my experience with Catherine and her beautiful property. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jason for your positive comments. We do our best to please our guests and hope you will return to Edinburgh in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

I had a very quiet and comfortable stay. It is a lovely gesture to leave milk, water and orange juice as well as sweet treats. I arrived late as my flight was delayed so it was great to have a cuppa on arrival without having to trek to Sainsbury’s (conveniently just around the corner making self catering very easy). The flat is brilliantly situated on the Water (no view from the flat though) with an excellent bus service. The bus stop is close enough to run to if you see the bus as you come out of the door. I never had to wait! There is a lovely walk along the Water of Leith Walkway keeping you well away from the traffic to walk into town, Stockbridge, the Botanic Gardens and beyond. There was a lot of interesting wildlife, especially birds. The flat itself is well equipped in the kitchen and I found it very quiet. Having the TV, DVD and wifi was excellent for me as this was not a holiday but a bolt hole while renovating my son’s flat in Leith. I was well able to recharge my batteries at the end of each day. Thank you! I would recommend this flat for a single person or a couple and I will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-
5

Pretty, cosy flat in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay in Edinburgh for a family get together. The flat was ideal, well equipped and very comfortable, with the added bonus of parking nearby! We hope to return!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

first time in Edinburgh

  • 4 of 5

Arrived at the apartment on a Sunday afternoon so fine to park outside and unload the car. First impressions- communal hall way and staircase- very old fashioned - not dirty but needs updating, strong smell of joss sticks and tobacco emanating from the apartments. Apartment 9 on the 3rd floor, so travel lightly as no lift.

Apartment great for 2 people - sofa bed available, but think it would be cramped for 4- apartment clean and well kitted out, again fine for a base and as we were out and about all day sight seeing.

The apartment in a great location for getting into Edinburgh city - 30 min walk or lots of buses.

We had the 48 hour hop on and off sightseeing tour busses so a walk to Ocean point ( Where Royal Yacht birthed) 10mins walk tour bus stopped outside so took this into the city after doing the tour - well worth a visit. Leith waterfront - Shore area, great restaurants - had 3 lovely meals in different establishments- excellent sea food.

Only negative to apartment- 16-18 " tv and spotlessly clean but bed linen a little garish and student like.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent apartment in a brillian location

  • 5 of 5

Loved Leith - a very pretty place and just that little bit further out - still with lots of fantastic restaurants and pubs so a great buzzy atmosphere but not the city 'crush'. Great transport links made this the perfect location. Apartment was everything I needed and the kitchen was very well equipped - the welcome pack was lovely too and most appreciated. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great apartment, fabulous location, just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Everything about this apartment in Leith was perfect! Catherine is a wonderfully gracious host. The apartment is bright, clean and cheery. The bed was comfortable, the pull out sofa worked fine for the week, the linens were warm and soft, the shower was great! What I really liked about this apartment was that we had everything we needed - an electric tea pot, a coffee maker, tea bags, coffee, oil, salt, malt vinegar for cooking, all the right dishes, glasses, pots and pans etc. Catherine even left us a small container of milk, a few bottles of water and snacks which came in handy but the supermarket is literally right around the corner. The apartment is centrally located - lots of good restaurants around (we particularly liked The Kings Wark and their warm and gracious staff and The Roseleaf which is a lovely little place), shopping and a short walk to Ocean Terminal. The bus stop is practically right in front of the apartment right into Edinburgh. We took the bus everywhere - so easy, fast and efficient. Catherine was responsive to all of our questions and so helpful. We would definitely stay there again in a heartbeat!! You will not be disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Car: not necessary

Travel:

Edinburgh airport is about 10 miles away. Direct AIRLINK BUS 300 from the Airport to the property. Waverly train station is about 40 minutes walk, a taxi from there is about £8/£10. If the main purpose of your visit is to see historic edinburgh a car is not recommended. There are a number of good tour operators organizing day trips to countryside, including Loch Ness, Stirling, St Andrews , Highlands etc.

Distances:

Castle , tattoo, royal mile - 2. 4 mile.

Princess Street - 1. 8 mile.

Holyrood palace - 2 mile.

Scottish National Gallery

Usher hall , bus 22, 25 min

Queens hall, Festival Theatre, bus 22, 25 min.

Further Details:

The flat is within walking distance of a large shopping Mall and Cinema complex but also has a supermarket around the corner.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Leith, Edinburgh and Lothians

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
1 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
1 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£285
for 3 nights
From
£95
£650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Edinburgh Festival
4 Aug 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Wednesday
7 night minimum stay
£770
for 7 nights
£770
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2018 - 26 Dec 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£625
for 5 nights
From
£125
£750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
New Year 18-19
29 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£625
for 5 nights
From
£125
£750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£160
for 2 nights
From
£80
From
£85
Fri,Sat
£480
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
1.Rentals can start on any day of the week.
2.£100 deposit, non returnable, balance payable on entry. On receipt of deposit we will confirm booking.
4.We will meet you at an agreed time in the apartment to let you in.

Changeover Day:
We have no fixed change over day as we have a minimum stay of 3/5 nights. We meet every customer in person on arrival at an agreed time. The apartment is available from 12 midday onwards. Check out time is 10am. Other times by arrangement, please ask.

Notes on prices:
1.Minimum stay 3 nights, (5 nights July and August). 2.Prices are all inclusive per apartment for 2 persons , extra persons £5 p/n. 3.Deposit £100 at time of booking, non returnable. Remainder is payable on entry. 4.We accept cash (£ and €), Debit/Creditcard (£ only), Cheques on UK banks, Bank Transfers(£ and €). 5. Monthly rates apply for stays longer than 21 nights. (pro rata) 6. Longer off season lets are available at discounted prices from £200 per week, please ask.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable