OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cottage In Beautiful Gardens, Surrounded By Woodland

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England - Between Grasmere And Rydal

Ladywood Lodge is in a stunning position, with woodland and mountain views all around. It is very private, with easy parking on site. The Lodge shares 2 acres of garden with the main house, but has its own private woodland garden and a private entrance. It consists of a separate kitchen, large studio room and ensuite shower room.Furniture is period in style, reflecting that the property dates from early 1900's. There is a small patio with table and chairs outside. Ladywood is accessed via a quiet country road so it is extremely peaceful, with no road noise. Walks from the cottage include up White Moss Common, to Rydal Caves and down to Grasmere lake and Dove Cottage. There are lovely views of Nab Scar and Silver Howe.


Owner
Alison Alsbury
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French, alison.alsbury@phoenixinterims.co.uk
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2017

About Alison Alsbury

Ladywood was built by Ernest de Selincourt in the early 1900s, and has remained in the family for four generations. Ladywood Lodge was originally built to be a study, but has been offered as additional or holiday accommodation at various stages. The location of the house, surrounded by mountains and with views of Grasmere and Rydal lakes (now somewhat obscured by the trees but originally visible from the house and garden), makes it a very special place. The main house has always been a home, and has been the location for annual holidays for successive generations of family.

Alison Alsbury purchased this cottage in 1902

Why Alison Alsbury chose Windermere & Central Lakes

Ladywood is in a stunning location. Surrounded by views, it is very private and peaceful. The garden is beautiful year round. The closest neighbour is a farm along the road, and being a side road there is no traffic noise. Badgers and deer frequent the property (and we ask that you keep the gate shut to prevent the deer from eating the garden).

What makes this cottage unique

Ladywood Lodge provides a perfect location for walking or sightseeing, being right in the centre of the Lake District yet apart from the crowds that frequent the towns. There is plenty of onsite parking, which is unusual. The fitted mahogany furniture and fireplace are original and give the Lodge an air of elegance. The windows all look onto trees and mountain views. Although it is close to the main house the Lodge has a private entrance.

Location

Special interest holidays:

Dove Cottage, just down the road from Ladywood, runs numerous events and courses related to Wordsworth's poetry and other literary matters. Grasmere Village has good clothing and craft shops. The Heaton Cooper gallery in Grasmere Village exhibits paintings by the Lake Districts leading water colour artists. At the end of August, the Grasmere Sports is a leading sporting event featuring fell races, wrestling and hound trails, see http://grasmeresports.com/.

Travel:

Ladywood is situated on a small road just off the A591. Use of a car is essential, although there is a good bus service to Ambleside, Windermere and Keswick along the A591, about 10 mins walk from the cottage.

Distances:

Laydwood Lodge is less than a mile from Wordsworth's Dove Cottage, 1 mile from the village of Grasmere and 3 miles from Ambleside.

Further Details:

Local hotels - the Wordsworth, Daffodill, Gold Rill, Red Lion, Grasmere and Swan - all have restaurants. In Grasmere, the garden centre has a café which does inexpensive basic food, and there are numerous other cafes and restaurants including Greene's Café, Sara's Café, Baldry's tea room, and The Dining Room. Ambleside has many more, including The Old Stamp House, Rattle Gill Café, Atelier, Stiles and Fellinis. Small supermarkets include a good Co-op in Grasmere, and Tesco and Co-op in Ambleside. For a larger supermarket Booths in Windermere (near the rail station) is good. Local take aways include Walnut Fish Bar, Jintana Thai, Lucky Dragon and Jade Garden (Ambleside) and Lucia's Take Away (Grasmere).

Local things worth visiting/doing are Dove Cottage (Wordsworth), the Grasmere Gingerbread Shop, Stock Ghyll Waterfalls in Ambleside, Rydal Caves, and boats on Grasmere. Further afield, try Surprise View in Derwentwater, Borrowdale, the Steamers on Lakes Windermere and Ullswater, the ferry across Windermere to Hawkshead, Skelwith Falls, Great and Little Langdale, and any of the passes - our favourites are Wrynose and Hardknott (with the Duddon Valley in between and Scafell Pike above), and Kirkstone (which links Ambleside to Patterdale and Ullswater). The Kirkstone Pass Inn is one of the highest pubs in England.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Ambleside in Lakes

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • 1 ensuite shower room
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 studio bedroom with king bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Linen and towels are provided at no extra charge. The Lodge has storage heaters, one of which is also a convection heater and hence able to provide instant heat. A starter quantity of logs for the open fire is also provided. Sorry we are strictly non smoking. Outside: There is a small patio with table and chairs, and a private woodland garden with a bench seat. Guests have shared use of Ladywood's garden, which has lawns and extensive garden beds and trees. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels are provided. For week long stays the changeover is Saturday. Other: There is a private garden with a pond, lots of trees, a wooden bench, small patio area with table and chairs, and shared use of the main garden with lawns, flower beds and many shrubs and trees.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

45% Complete
20% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Cottage In Beautiful Gardens, Surrounded By Woodland
average rating of 3.7 based on 20 reviews
5

Peaceful weekend

  • 5 of 5

The Lodge is beautiful and also clean. No complaints. Our 2 dogs loved the walks and exploring the garden

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The property is looking very tired and could do with a big over hall. A lick of paint and new cover

  • 1 of 5

On arriving at the property it took 40 minutes to enter as the key safe was not working properly. The verbal instructions after the 3rd phone call was to use the key safe in the main property and these keys would open the lodge. (I don't think so). The property was not clean, the sink was a disgrace (stained black) needs to be renewed. There was no information on how to work the hot water in the kitchen or shower (which is two separate switches). There was string to open drawers. Steps down to the kitchen the cooker was covered in rust and a danger to use and bathroom which is not suitable for the elderly. The bathroom is a health hazard and does not look as if it has had a clean in a decade. There was no welcome pack as is in the details, It was only after I contacted the owner to find out what was included that I found this out, as it was my in laws diamond wedding and wanted to make sure it was suitable for them.. The garden was completely overgrown. As a property owner who also rents out a holiday home I thought this property was a disgrace. I would not rent out such a hazard to anyone. I honestly don't know how they have insurance to rent out. The only good thing about this property was the bed which appeared to be new and comfortable. I would definetly not recommend this property to anyone under any circumstances.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take our guests' concerns very seriously, and always try to respond quickly, as we did to help out over unfamiliarity with a key box. Sadly we were not made aware of any of the other issues at the time. Our property is traditional in a woodland garden, as we explain on the website. The bathroom and kitchen are both down a few steps from the living room - so if mobility is an issue, please find a suitably adapted property elsewhere.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Another enjoyable stay in spite of the weather.

  • 5 of 5

Rained every day, but always looked forward to coming back to the Lodge. Will be back again in November.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Absolutely atrocious, The place was filthy ! The kitchen utensils all had to be scrubbed before use.

  • 1 of 5

On arrival, the first impression was "FILTH" The main room was a good sized room, but the carpet was dirty, there were pieces of dog biscuit all over the floor, so it had not been vacuumed. The wooden floor was wet and when it dried it was sticky, so no idea what was on the floor. the worst was the kitchen, the cutlery and crockery had to be scrubbed before we could use them. The drain tray for washing up was put away in a corner as it could not be used it was so dirty. The cooker and oven were the same and we ended up having carry outs all week. The bathroom was the least dirty of the lot, but the glass for toothbrushes etc was a joke, but not funny. I did take pictures to back up this review. My advice would be AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: How sad that William didn't contact us when he first arrived and raise his concerns. We do take all our guests concerns very seriously. As we were away that week, we had used a cleaner - we'd have asked the cleaner to come back immediately and address all his concerns. We will, of course, make sure that the cleaning receives our closest attention as a result of this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Another super short break

  • 5 of 5

The seclusion, the surroundings, Grasmere a short walk away, everything on hand. The perfect location for a Lake District break.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Cottage within easy walking distance to Grasmere

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our week's stay at Ladywood Lodge Cottage. The Cottage is located in a beautiful part of the Lake District, and is cosy, quiet and comfortable.

Grasmere is 20 minutes walk away with local shops and a local country Pub, which served great food and real Ale. Coniston is close by car and you really are located in the heart of the Countryside. Would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Ambleside, Cumbria & Lake District National Park

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 9
21 Oct 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
Rate 10
4 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
£400
 
 
Rate 11
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
From
£80
Fri,Sat
£400
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
If you are interesting in booking the Lodge please send an enquiry and we will respond and confirm availability and rates. To secure a booking, we require a deposit of 50%, and payment of the balance one month prior to arrival. Check in is 3pm, and we ask that guests leave by 10.00am on the day of departure.

Changeover Day:
For weekly stays the changeover is Saturday. Check in is at 3pm, checkout at 10.00 am.

Notes on prices:
Rates are from £275 to £421 per week or £153 to £235 for a short break. Saturday start date for week long holidays from March to October. Short breaks Monday-Friday and Friday to Monday in November to February excluding Christmas & New Year.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable