Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

4 Bed Executive Character Cottage Within The Heart Of The Village

Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage in Grassington, Yorkshire Dales, England - Private Wallled Garden And Large Living Areas Makes This An Ideal Family Or Party Location

This truly enchanting 18th century stone built cottage provides spacious four bedroom en-suite accommodation with beautiful character features throughout and is superbly positioned just 30m from the village square. With an attractive private walled garden area with heated summerhouse and a detached single garage, this EXECUTIVE standard home has large living areas including lounge, sitting room and large dining kitchen, as well as the added benefits of a downstairs toilet, study and laundry

paul cribb
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 June, 2018

About paul cribb

We are the proud owners of the 2 best cottages within the village; Ellesmere is a 15th century cottage and Brown Fold is an executive standard cottage; We ensure both properties are maintained to a high level as we and our family spend a lot of time there in between rentals


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Grassington in Grassington

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • village
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Downstairs has a bathroom with shower; house bathroom on the first floor with bath; en suite off master bedroom with shower.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size bed and en suite; Bedroom 2 with double bed; Bedroom 3 with twin beds; Bed 4 with bunk beds;
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Garden
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Outside: Garden includes water feature and summer house. A walled garden ensures privacy. Utility Room: Washing machine, dryer and extra fridge freezer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen included


Very Good! 4/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

30% Complete
50% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
4 Bed Executive Character Cottage Within The Heart Of The Village
average rating of 4.0 based on 10 reviews

Lovely quirky cottage full of character

  • 4 of 5

We were a little worried that 8 adults might be a little too close knit in one cottage but no, plenty of room, kitchen diner was fab. It was fully kitted out with pots and pans, we really were surprised how good it was. Only problem we had was over parking. I had read parking for 2 cars so we arrived and put ours into garage neighbour came out and said he,was going to a wedding so needed access. Our next car parked up against garage door and tight against cottage wall providing plenty of room for access. Third car went into town hall carpark. Unfortunately neighbour decided the car had to be moved and started ranting in the main street that he hated holiday lets and holiday makers and we had to move the car. Lots of swearing too which was totally inappropriate with me and my sister in law there. I asked him to calm down and stop shouting. I kept calm and said we would move the car once the next couple arrived as we had been to the pub so couldnt move it which is what we did. I have never been sworn and shouted at this way. It needs to be clearly stated when booking if the garage is the only space for parking. There was plenty of room for him to drive out of garage but he is obviously upset with the cottage and holiday lets. It spoiled our night and was unacceptable behaviour. The rest of the stay and grassington were brilliant. We,would love to go back in the summer months and enjoy the lovely garden. Such a shame it was marred by a temper tantrum.

Full marks for the cottage, it really was lovely.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent location

  • 2 of 5

Unfortunately the cottage had not been thoroughly cleaned before our stay. Milk had been spilt in the fridge which i had to clean before we could use. The lights above the range in the cooker hood were filthy . The lock in the door to the back garden kept jamming which was worrying should there have been a fire. There was no heating in the ensuite and the toilet had not been cleaned properly.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback which is important and the issues around cleaning are unusual and not in line with previous feedback. Sorry bout that but do wonder if thats a reflection on the issues we had to highlight to you and the way you let the house? We have had a look at the lock and works fine so not sure if you were using the right key? Sorry the weather was cold and the en suite wasn't warm enough for you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quaint cottage in the heart of Grassington

  • 4 of 5

A beautiful cottage with plenty of room for a family of eight. There are a few things that need updating in the cottage but overall it was a very comfortable stay equipped with everything that we needed. We loved the easy access to the Grassington square-restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops. A great location for days out to other villages and places in the Yorkshire Dales. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

very much enjoyed our stay in this beautiful cottage, position was excellant, a very quaint village

  • 4 of 5

a beautiful part of the country, visited Harrogate, York and Skipton all within a hours drive, will definitely be returning in the this part of the world

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location

  • 3 of 5

Central location with parking, but the property while clean, needs a bit of tlc in several areas. Good for two couples with plenty of space.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A comfortable, well equipped and perfectly positioned property for a family holiday

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a week in August with another family of four, and found that the cottage suited us perfectly. Comfortable spaces for teenagers to enjoy the wifi, a lovely and well-equipped kitchen/diner where we could enjoy family meals together while we cooked, very comfy beds and plenty of hot water for baths and showers. The garden and summerhouse were very private and big enough to accommodate us all. Right in the heart of Grassington, we enjoyed walks directly from the cottage, and there was something for everyone in the area.

Great local shops and pubs, and mention must be made of the helpful and friendly neighbours!

Getting out of the garage was a bit a tricky for the less confident drivers, (cue the helpful neighbour!) but fine for most. Plenty of free parking a couple of minutes walk away if you prefer. One of the bedrooms has bunk beds, but this suited our party well.

Well recommended!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner.

Changeover Day:
Arrival from 3pm Fridays; short weekend breaks available and departure by 11am on day of departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.