OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Contemporary Holiday Cottage With Sea Glimpses

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

House in Mudeford, Nr. Christchurch, Dorset, England - Launch Your Kayak Straight Into The Harbour - Only 200 Meters Away

From the moment you walk in you will be pleased with the high level of cleanliness and the welcome hamper of local Dorset foodstuffs. Our lovely holiday cottage is positioned in a quiet cul-de-sac close to Mudeford Quay. It has a south facing balcony for alfresco dining and maybe the odd glass of wine or two. From the private shared slipway only 200 metres away you can launch your dingy, kayak or paddleboard into Christchurch Harbour. Situated 5 minuets walk away from the Christchurch Harbour Hotel well known for its weddings and spa.

David Bennion
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
20 April, 2017

About David Bennion

I first visited Mudeford 30 years ago while on a weekend windsurfing which was organised by a friend, really liked the area. I returned 15 years ago with a friend and stayed in Inveravon, tried out wake boarding the next day (which I was useless at) and really liked the feel of the place.

6 years ago we were looking for a holiday home with the aim of moving to the south coast in retirement and again ended up in Mudeford. This time after a few attempts we found the house we now own and feel for it, to be able to launch boats straight into the harbour from the residents only boat park was amazing. The area is a real find and is not like other more commercial areas on the coast.

We are always excited by the thought of our next trip down to Mudeford.

David Bennion purchased this house in 2011

Why David Bennion chose New Forest

It really is one of the most relaxing places to be. The house is bright and airy and has a south facing terrace. Being both close to the water and to the New Forest gives us endless opportunities for being out in the fresh air.

What makes this house unique

Launching our kayak into the harbour via the residents only slipway. Taking the ferry over to Mudeford spit to have a swim or coffee. Or walking all the way around Hengitsbury Head catching the Wick ferry and then walking into Christchurch along the river. Then on the way back depending on the tide to walk over the salt marshes and see the wild ponies and really good and sometimes rare bird life. Very good pubs and beach cafes are only a short stroll away. And for the very special occasion the Jetty restaurant at Christchurch Harbour Hotel is just 5 minutes away. Freshly baked bread is the same amount of time away at Avonmouth Bakery where the owners Jenny and Geoff are always there to serve us.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a fabulous house you have! We have only just arrived but the attention to details (hand-wash, welcome tray and the information leaflets) are very much appreciated. We have just got fish & chips from Alexanders- highly recommend to future visitors. Feels like home from home. House was spotlessly clean also. Looking forward to exploring Mudeford. Thank-you very much. PS The games box was extremely well received.xxx
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Christchurch in Hampshire

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
  • waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • A clean and well fitted family bathroom on the top floor with bedrooms 1 & 3 A shower room with toilet on the ground floor serving bedroom 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with 5' king sized bed, large flat screen TV, sofa and sea glimpses on top floor. Bedroom 2 with double bed and sink on ground floor. Bedroom 3 with two single beds and loads of storage. Bedroom 2 with two twin beds and large storage cupboards. Bedroom 3 with 4'6' double bed and it's own sink.
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Please note we have freeview TV and not Sky. Outside: South facing terrace that is off the lounge/ diner on the 1st floor. There is a secure shed situated at the rear of the premises for storage of bikes etc. The garden is cool in the summer as it is north facing. Utility Room: The utility room is on the ground floor and has a washing machine, tumble dryer and a sink for washing wetsuits etc. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen is freshly washed and the beds are made for your arrival. Towels are included (however you will need to bring your own beach towels)

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:


5/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)


The property was modern and clean and we have no complaints at all.

  • 5 of 5

We felt very comfortable from the onset of our arrival. Facilities were good and the property was clean. We were familiar with the area and always enjoy returning to Mudeford. The owner provided a good service and kept in touch appropriately. We would certainly recommend the property and location.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Les and family were a pleasure to communicate with and left our holiday home clean & tidy. We hope to see them again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Superb holiday home by the water

  • 5 of 5

We found the house true to its description and we were amazed by the proximity to the residents only slipway into the fabulous Christchurch harbour. It is the little extras and attention to detail that makes staying here a pleasurable and stress free holiday. We had two weeks and the weather played ball, we only had to do a jigsaw on one day. You must experience the fish and chip shop and the mega queue, great quality. If you have a boat this home will make your holiday one of the best.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoy paddle boarding and kayaking straight into the harbour, if the tides are right a paddle into Christchurch is not to be missed, best go with the tide both up and down river as it is a good distance, stopping for coffee and lunch at Christchurch Quay (near to the Priory) adds to the enjoyment. We like the house to always bring a smile onto both ours and our guests faces, hence the attention to detail.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Early Spring Holiday
29 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
6 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Late Spring Holiday
27 May 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Summer
10 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
High Summer
1 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
2 Sep 2017 - 6 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
A deposit of only 25% of the total hire charge is payable on booking to secure your holiday and the balance no later than 8 weeks before the start of your holiday.
A £50 deposit is requested to cover any breakages, damage or extra cleaning and is refunded shortly after completion of your holiday.

Changeover Day:
Saturday is change over day. Arrival is 15.00 and departure is 10.00 to allow the house to be fully prepared.

Notes on prices:
There may be some special offers so always worth a look at our website

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals