OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cottage in Snowdonia with Private Terrace and Mountain Views of the Cadir Range

Overview

Property

Updated: 01-Dec-2016
Cottage in Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales - Tranquil Location Below The Foothills Of The Rhinog Mountains in Snowdonia

Pretty Hawddamor cottage boasts mountain views from every window providing plenty of peace for that much needed rest and relaxation. There is plenty of space for everyone with a lounge featuring a wood stove with character stone fire surround, a spacious kitchen/dining room, mudroom for all the coats and boots, and a private terrace with table, chairs and BBQ. The cottage is set in a tranquil, wooded environment in a small hamlet situated between Bontddu and Dolgellau on the picturesque, south-facing side of the Mawddach Estuary. Views of Cadir Idris and surrounding mountains can be seen from the cottage grounds. The local market town of Dolgellau is 2 miles and the harbour town of Barmouth is 6 miles with magnificent sandy beaches. Main Features : Quiet location Ironed bed linen and towels provided Bathroom with bath and super high pressure shower Central heating Cosy Fire place/Stove with 1 complementary basket of wood supplied 40 inch Flat screen smart TV. Open Plan Ktchen/Diner with modern fittings, Washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave and double oven, hob and ample utensils. Attractive terrace BBQ & Chiminea Woodland & Mountain/Hill walks from the doorstep Discounts for couples and smaller groups outside of High/Peak season. Pets accepted (small additional charge).

Parking space for 2 cars

More Details
  • Sleeps 5
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Speaks English, Portuguese

5 Reviews

4.6
based on 5 holidaymaker reviews

north adams, MA, US
5

Just beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this beautiful house and used it as a base to explore northern Wales. But we could've easily just stayed in the house and explored the immediate area. Or just stayed in the house. It's large, and warm and comfortable and beautifully decorated. We had everything we could've possibly needed. We loved the town of Dolgellau. We wish we could've stayed longer... or forever. We highly recommend walking down to the King George for a pint and some food.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent cottag, best location you could wish for

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely gorgeous location and cottage, it's in probably one of the most sort after locations in Snowdonia, in a valley with lush views of the mountains, and surrounded by great walking paths such as the new precipice walk, the best cycle path in Wales is 3 mins away. The town Dolgellau is a haven of celtic and Welsh speakers with so many high quality restaurants and shops, its real Wales. I am a Brit that lives in Hong Kong and stays in some of the best hotels in the greatest locations in the World, and i can honestly say hand on heart this is one of the best cottages, nicest owners and locations for an enchanting and unique holiday. We spent 2 weeks here and never ran out of things to do as its location is the apex to accessing everything in the area, and at the end of a adventurous day its a wonderful retreat, quiet, beautiful and serene. Highly recommended we will be back, we came as a family from the other side of the world and will come again. We love this location in Wales and the cottage. Sad to be leaving and going back to reality !

  • Review Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent base to explore a lovely area

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at the cottage as a base to do some walking in the area. It fitted our needs very well and proved to be well equipped and well laid out, everything you could need was close to hand and the only thing that took any figuring out was the local councils recycling scheme. Overall I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this property to anyone wanting to holiday in this lovely part of Wales.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Lovely cottage but some issues.

  • 3 of 5

The cottage is located in a beautiful mountainous area with wonderful views and surrounded by waterfalls and streams which make for wonderful sound effects. The cottage is next to the owners cottage.

The cottage is beautful but sadly there were some issues. Firstly, one bed was made up, I imagine this was due to a couple only staying but it would have been nice to have been able to choose which bedroom we wanted to use. There were only 2 larger towels given for a 9 night stay. The washing machine leaked terribly but due to the lack of towels, we had no choice but to use it!

No blind or frosting on the bathroom window which overlooks the owners property.

The sofa was broken in parts and rather uncomfortable.

However, the beds are heated which is lovely, the kitchen is a great size and well equipped and it is in a great location.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Poppy, Thank you for your honest review of your stay at Hawddamor. In response to your concerns. We offer discounted prices to couples staying on their own. In order to do this, as you mentioned, we only make up 1 bed. All sheets are washed and ironed for our guests and if we had to make up 3 beds every time we had couples staying, then we could not offer these discounted prices. That said we do always make up the nicest room for couples. Had you wanted a different room, then we could have very easily transferred the duvet and pillows to the other double room. Regarding the lounge seating, this has now been changed. In respect of the towels, we supply two large and two medium towels as well as 2 face towels. We appreciate that perhaps for stays longer than a week that maybe a second set of towels would have been useful. We will certainly look into doing that for longer stays from now on. With regards to the washing machine. We were not aware of there being any problems with the machine at all. We use the washing machine to wash the towels and sheets in between each stay, so, it is pretty bad luck that it just happened to have a leak when you used it. That said, we have since tested the washing machine again and it seems that the drain hose had loosened from behind the machine, so the problem was easily solved. With regards to the bathroom window. Hawddamor is at a considerably elevated height to the property next door, which is set behind it in fact. And, there is absolutely no way that anyone can see into the window from anywhere outside. It has a beautiful view towards the RSPB reserve, so changing it to frosted glass is both unnecessary and would be detrimental to the property. It is somewhat disappointing to have to learn of these problems in a review like this. I spoke to you several times during your stay over the 9 days and every time I asked If everything was ok. I was assured on each occasion that it was. In particular it would have been nice to know about the washing machine before the end of your stay and also had you simply wanted more towels we would have been more than happy to have provided them.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Lovely cosy cottage

  • 5 of 5

A little gem of a place - has a nice, easy, relaxing atmosphere - perfect for our weekend break.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1-5 of 5

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Train : Barmouth at 6 Miles Nearest Restaurant : George III at 1 Miles Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

The Cambrian coast offers miles of gorgeous dune sandy beaches, the nearest of which is Barmouth just 6 miles away.

Travel:

We recommend bringing your car, but for those who prefer to travel light, then Barmouth train station is just 6 miles away and the BUS stops at the bottom of the hill.

Distances:

Beach - Barmouth - (6 Miles)

Coed Y Brenin Mountain Biking Centre (10 Miles)

Cadir Idris (3 Miles)

Snowdon (50 Miles)

Further Details:

Shops, Leisure Centres etc. - Dolgellau (4 Miles)

Pub - The George III (15 Minutes walk across the estuary or a 2 Minute Drive)

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
29 Oct 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£198
for 3 nights
From
£66
£258
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £6 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas & New Year
17 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£485
for 3 nights
From
£162
£742
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£248
for 3 nights
From
£82
£330
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £6 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £25 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

50% Deposit at the time of booking with the balance due 1 Month before the start of your stay.
Payments accepted Via either Direct Transfer, Cheque or PayPal.


Changeover Day:
Flexible Changeovers and short stays offered throughout the Year except during peak season where Saturday changeovers are preferred.

Notes on prices:
Short stays are accepted throughout most of the year
3 Nights 65% of the weekly price
4 Nights 80% of the weekly price
5 Nights 90% of the weekly price.
** Special Discounts for couples throughout the year ** (Excluding peak season)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 01-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic

General

  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • mountain
  • river
  • rural

Attractions

  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • 1 Master bathroom with overhead shower, sink and toilet. Towels provided.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed, 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 2 Double Bedrooms both with double beds and 1 single bedroom with single bed.

Outside

  • Terrace
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: The cottage is supplied with a cot, but please note that we do not supply sheets for the cot. Outside: Spacious private terrace complete with large outdoor table, chairs, loungers and BBQ. Utility Room: Space for Muddy shoes and wet coats. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Sheets and Towels supplied

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot