OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Quiet Village location, Sea Views, Near Coast Path And Beaches - Sleeps 12

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

House in St Nicholas, Nr. Fishguard, Pembrokeshire, Wales - Great Value Self- Contained Accommodation For Groups, Clubs And Families

Located close to the Pembrokeshire National Coastal Park, near; Mathry, Porth Gain, Trevin, Abercastle, Pwll Dewi, Strumble Head

•Great value large self contained accommodation, up to 12 persons, kitchen/ diner, separate dining room, utility room, lounge with cosy wood burning stove.

•1 x double bedroom ensuite & cot, 1 x double bedroom, 2 x twin rooms, 1 x kiddies room with 2 bunks sleeps 4

•3 x shower rooms with sink and toilet, 1 x separate toilet and sink

•Stunning sea view with sunsets from the lounge and balcony. There is off road parking for 6 vehicles, the garden has a lawn, patios, bench tables and bbq, great for al fresco dining.

•Opposite the house is the church, village hall and we are adjacent to the village green, very convenient for ball games etc.

•One mile from the Pembrokeshire coastal path and nearby beaches, convenient for Fishguard and St Davids.

A great base for exploring, walking, kayaking, surfing, running, wildlife observation, painting, photography or just getting away from it all !

•Plenty to see and do, nearby places to eat.

The whole region hosts a dazzling array of wildlife both large and small. A haven for rare plants and birds, also known as the "Dolphin Coast".

•Perfect for large family groups or clubs and societies.

Check in after 4pm and check out by 10am. Bedding is provided but bring your own towels.

More Details

Owner
Mark Deane
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
23 February, 2018

About Mark Deane

We live just outside the village of St Nicholas, which is quiet and very pretty. We like to walk the coast path, go kayaking, surfing, fishing and hack out on horseback, the Pencaer Peninsular is hallowed ground for that !

Mark Deane purchased this house in 2013

Why Mark Deane chose Pencaer

The whole place is crisscrossed with foot paths and bridleways through woods, up hills across moors and down to beaches. So much flora, wildlife and beautiful scenery, every season is so different here and brings out amazing variations for you to enjoy.

What makes this house unique

We made the house comfortable but not fussy, it is easy to keep tidy, just the sort of place we would like to stay at with a group of family or friends. Not just tidy, easy to keep clean, practical and comfortable, but also very good value for money.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Pencaer in Pembrokeshire

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Downstairs: 1 x shower & wc Upstairs: 1 x shower & wc, 1 x shower & wc en suite, 1 x separate wc
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Ensuite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 4 Single Bed , 2 x full size bunks sleeps 4 (great for kiddies room)
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 12 in 5 Bedrooms; 2 x double, 2 x twin, 1 x bunk room (sleeps 4)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • reefs
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Outside: Off road parking for 6 cars, private garden, patio, BBQ, outdoor picnic tables. Cleaning / Linen Ty Newydd is cleaned prior to letting. Bed linen is supplied.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

46% Complete
30% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet Village location, Sea Views, Near Coast Path And Beaches - Sleeps 12
average rating of 4.230769 based on 13 reviews
5

Great place for holiday with family

  • 5 of 5

The place is really quiet, pecaefull and also beautiful. The house is equipt with good equipment. The rooms are clean and tidy. Great place for holiday with family. Good communication with the owner. Thank you Mark.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review Johanna, it was a real pleasure to meet you and thank you very much for leaving the house so tidy. We are very happy that you liked the house and enjoyed your holiday. You and your friends and family are very welcome any time and we look forward to seeing you again ! Best regards, Mark and Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a great place

  • 5 of 5

The house was just exactly as described, which is one reason I've given it 5 stars. It's not luxurious, but it doesn't claim to be. It is homely, well equipped, in a great location for beach days or coast walking, wonderful for extended family or multi generation holidays. There was good secure parking and garden space, as well as light airy rooms indoors.

The facilities were just what we needed, and everything looked well maintained, clean and fresh. The owners Mark and Cathy made us very welcome and gave us a load of useful information and tips about local places to go, especially with the children. They couldn't have been more helpful. We didn't need to call on them during the holiday, but it was a comfort to know they would have been on hand if we had needed any help.

I'd recommend a day in St Davids at the Oriel y Parc gallery with good food, the Cathedral, and also Whitesands Bay, Porthgain Harbour with brilliant fish and seafood bistro and good pub food, and Strumble Head is a must.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review Marie, it was a pleasure to have you, Steve, Lizzie, Richard and family to stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Mark and Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Spot on !

  • 5 of 5

Secluded and spacious. This is a great house for families, lovely walks nearby and super location. The rooms are bright and clean, the house is well equipped. Saw some fantastic sunsets from the balcony, Good communication with the owners. Have come away feeling refreshed.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you again, best regards, Mark and Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Clean and tidy, lovely location.

  • 5 of 5

This house was just perfect for our family half term holiday. The children really enjoyed the bunk room. The house is spacious and comfortable situated in the village. Take a trip up to Strumble Head the views are to die for ! If you are lucky you might even see a seal or two. We had no problems, Mark and Cathy were very welcoming and helpful. We hope to be back again next year !

  • Review Submitted: 03-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again, best regards, Mark and Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Burton on trent
3

We had a good time!

  • 3 of 5

We had no issues in reaching the property. We had a good time overall.

The only thing that we did not know was that all the rooms had twin beds.

The Good.

1. Excellent places and beaches to visit nearby.

2. Very good local pubs

3. Well maintained and clean property

4. Very helpful owners who took care of all our needs

What needs improvement?

1. Family beds for folks who have little kids.

2. Needs a washing machine

3. Add more DVDs to the collection especially for Kids, just in case.

4. Improve the quality of the mattresses and bedding in general.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review Ashish, We are very happy that you had a good time. We work extremely hard to prepare the house for guests and keep such a large house that can accommodate so many people in good order. 3 stars is a bit harsh as this reflects our description of the house and customers expectations. We feel that the house is accurately described and we are not out to convince anyone it is not anything other that what it is. The house at the time of your stay had only twin beds it was clearly stated in the description. We now offer 2 double beds and a cot. Again we did not advertise a washing machine at the time of your stay, we have installed one now. DVD's, books and games etc are supplied by us as a courtesy, it is probably best to bring entertainment for any rainy days. We do renew sheets, bedding etc on a regular basis. Best regards, Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Comfortable and clean

  • 4 of 5

The house was clean and comfortable and there was plenty of room for four young children to play. The oven, dishwasher and shower drains were not 100% efficient but did not spoil a most enjoyable holiday. It was a good base for a beautiful part of the country.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We have replaced the oven since your stay. We have investigated the dishwasher drain, it was a little blocked by food waste and the downstairs shower had quite a bit of sand in the trap. They are all clear now and we will keep an eye out for those in the future. Hope you will stay again. Best regards Mark and Cathy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

Coastal Path, Abermawr and Aberbach Beaches, both quiet and secluded rugged beaches, mixture of sand, stones and pebbles. About 15 min walk through lovely woods to get there. Strumble Head Lighthouse 4 miles.

Distances:

Mathry 3 miles

Porth Gain 5 miles

Goodwick 5 miles

Fishguard 6 miles

St Davids 8 miles

Further Details:

Nearest shops Goodwick and Fishguard

Nearest pub Farmers Arms Mathry serves food

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £300

Booking Notes:

25% deposit secures dates

Balance due latest 28 days before holiday starts

Check in after 16:00 - Check out 10:00

Full Payment
Guests will receive a 50% refund of the total cost (minus the booking fee ) if they cancel at least four weeks before the start of the holiday.

If the guest cancels or the balance is not paid on time, the booking deposit (including the booking fee) cannot be refunded.

Changeover Day:
Flexible

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable