OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Detached Character Cottage in the woods within Arnside-Silverdale AONB

Overview

Property

Updated: 05-Dec-2016
Cottage in Storth, Nr. Arnside, Silverdale and Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England - 5 Mins To The Coast, Sympathetically Renovated In 2014

A detached 2 bedroom period character cottage set against a limestone pavement within woodland in a stunning natural location on the edge of the tranquil coastal village of Storth within the Silverdale-Arnside Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in South Lakeland. This pretty cottage has all of the home comforts: a private natural woodland garden, hand built wooden country cottage kitchen with range cooker, a wood-burning stove to settle down in front of in the evening, modern country bathroom, and a comfortable king-size bed with quality linens to collapse into at the end of your day. The cottage was renovated in 2014 using quality natural materials and Farrow and Ball paints. With woodland and coastal walks from the doorstep, Leighton Moss RSPB and Lake District attractions a few minutes away, Rock Cottage is perfectly located to spend some time out enjoying the best of this region's beauty.

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We are both approaching 'middle youth', have a little boy and work at universities in the region. Having a family, running a holiday cottage and working too means that we understand how precious time spent together on holiday is!

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

'Beautifully renovated dog-friendly cottage in a lovely peaceful location. The cottage is a lovingly renovated spacious cottage with a fab range cooker. Local shops and pubs are very close (prob 2/3 mins in a car) and places like Kendal etc are easily accessible. This cottage is ideally located for visiting a number of Cumbria/Lake District areas and it's a real bonus that it's dog friendly.' Claire, Andy and Ruby the greyhound, Derby, September 2014.



'We have had a lovely rest in your beautiful cottage. Very relaxing - no traffic, no street lights. Long lie-ins every morning and cosy nights by the fire - bliss!! We would love to visit again!' Diane and Tim, Staffordshire.



'Cottage was ace. Fire and books/ DVDs combined well for chillin' evenings. Loved the location, esp. the woods, which our wee chaps romped about in with abandon.' Andy, Beth and sons, Glasgow.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1

9 Reviews

4.2
based on 9 holidaymaker reviews

4

Lovely cottage in a tranqual location,

  • 4 of 5

Only gave 4 out of 5 for this property due to the fact that there was very low pressure on the hot water and there for couldn't have a bath, (but would give the property 99% on recommendation rate) but other then that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would recommend it to others, as in an ideal location to explore the lake district.

We especially liked the welcome basket supplied especially the dog treats as this give the property that extra special touch.

We had a small problem on arrival, property not cleaned, but this was due to unforeseen circumstances, but Claire was quick to notify us, communication was excellent and we also received a refund of half first nights stay.we will definitely look in to staying here again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A lovely retreat

  • 4 of 5

It was exactly as stated; clean, comfortable, homely and very quiet. It was lovely to here all the woodland sounds at night especially the owls which our grandchild loved to talk to before bedtime.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Susan, it's much appreciated. I hope your grandchild got to see as well as hear some of the wildlife in the woods around Rock Cottage. Thanks again for choosing Rock Cottage for your winter break and I hope that we can welcome you back again. Best wishes Claire
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Take your own towels / bedding and make sure you receive your instructions for arrival.

  • 2 of 5

Arrived at the cottage hoping to find instructions to get in - none ! Rang the number provided 4 times and no answer having to drive around with 3 children in the dark didn't set off to a good start, welcome pack of wine and biscuits - no milk coffee tea as described, washing liquid toilet roll....? had a lovely stay , the cottage was lovely and the area beautiful with lots of lovely walks. There is no washing machine at the house and we was charged for bedding and towels (it was Halloween our 10 year old had facepaint on , that washed off her own clothes at home in a 30 wash!) so I would advise to take your own so this doesn't happen - especially if travelling with children! We wouldn't stay again for this reason but will definitely return to the same area.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: While it's really disappointing to get such negative comments from Emma and James, their review is in retaliation to a withheld damage deposit. It's not something we do lightly, in fact it's only the second time in five years that we've withheld a deposit. The full arrival information was sent to the guests following their payment, as is standard. I can still see this message in the Owners Direct message portal. Perhaps this was lost or spam-filtered from their email account, but it will still be visible in the conversation thread in the guest portal. Unfortunately we can't take phone calls 24/7 but we do get back to guests as quickly as possible if we can't answer. When we picked up Emma's telephone message stating that she didn't have access instructions an hour after it was left, we called her back immediately and talked her through access and also re-sent the instructions to Emma and James. We hope we're understanding owners and totally appreciate that a cup or two may be broken, or that make-up can come off on a towel, etc. We don't withhold money for this sort of accident as we want guests to be able to come to Rock Cottage and relax. However, at the end of this stay, the guests left the property two hours after the stated departure time, which made things very difficult for our housekeeper. They had also lost the cottage key, left their dog's mess in the garden, taken the kitchen linens, and unfortunately the master bed linen and towels were so completely covered in what appeared to be blood, mascara and 'other dirt' that they were beyond cleaning. I wish we were able to post pictures. We really had no choice but to withhold the deposit in these circumstances as the costs incurred were well over £100. The claim that toilet rolls and teabags etc. were missing is a mystery. I've spoken to my housekeeper and she assures me that these were left as usual. And we checked that the washing machine is still in the outside laundry room where it has been since Rock Cottage's renovation. Owning a rental cottage we accept that we will occasionally have this kind of experience with guests. We try to act on all constructive feedback but we struggle to learn anything from this experience other than to appreciate even more the 99% of guests we've had who have been a joy to let to and who we love to welcome back. Thumbs up to all of our wonderful guests and we'll try to move forward positively!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4
4

Rock Cottage Delight

  • 4 of 5

We had a fab time at rock cottage with wonderful walks in the woods and a few visits to the Ship Inn.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review Victoria. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay; those woodland walks are fabulous in the autumn with so much colour aren't they? I hope you'll consider Rock Cottage if you come back to the area in future. Best wishes Claire
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Bury .Lancashire.
4

Ideal place for a rest!

  • 4 of 5

Well looked after and pleasant cottage not far from the coast and an ideal base to visit the lake district.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Don, Linda and Matthew for taking the time to review Rock Cottage. Your kind words about the cottage and its beautiful location are much appreciated. Best wishes Claire
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A wonderful cottage in a wonderful location.

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful spot. So quiet yet within easy reach of the coast and lovely walks right from the front door. The cottage itself was everything we expected. Very clean, comfortable and the welcome pack (including wine!) was much appreciated. We will be back.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your kind review Alan; reviews make a huge difference to our success, and it's lovely to hear when guests find the cottage as comfortable and cosy as we try to make it. I hope we can welcome you back to Rock Cottage in the future. Best wishes Claire
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

From the Owner

We love the Arnside-Silverdale AONB and the Lake District as it suits our passion for woodland and coast. The AONB is more tranquil than many areas of the Lakes, and we love walking here. There are also some great pubs and eateries in the locality. We actually bought Rock Cottage with the idea of extending it to become our family home. However, we realised that the cottage is ideally suited as a holiday home as it is so characterful and in a stunning location and we love welcoming guests to stay.

Activity and Interests

Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

5 minutes walk to the coastline with amazing long distance views. The sunset over the bay on a clear day is unforgettable.

Distances:

300 metre stroll into the quiet village of Storth with Post office/shop and children's playground. 5 minutes walk to the coast and pub on the edge of the bay. Woodland trails from the doorstep! The delightful villages of Arnside, Silverdale, Milnthorpe and Leighton Moss RSPB are each a 5 minute drive away. The town of Kendal and the main attractions of the Lake District are a short drive.

Further Details:

The area is a haven for those wishing an active or relaxing holiday alike: beautiful scenery, wildlife and top eateries a-plenty, as well as a host of outdoor activities, and a multitude of interesting things to do for children and adults. We provide guests with lots of local information at the cottage on visitor attractions, good pubs and restaurants, as well as handy walking guides.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Late Autumn Term
6 Nov 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£150
for 2 nights
From
£75
£395
 
 
Christmas 2016 & New Year
24 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£375
for 3 nights
From
£125
From
£160
Fri,Sat,Sun
£875
 
 
Early Spring Term
2 Jan 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£395
 
 
Valentine's and Half Term
11 Feb 2017 - 24 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£285
for 3 nights
From
£95
£580
 
 
Late Spring Term
25 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£395
 
 
Easter
1 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£279
for 3 nights
From
£93
From
£133
Fri,Sat,Sun
£625
 
 
Early Summer Term
22 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£285
for 3 nights
From
£95
£575
 
 
May Bank Holiday and Half Term
26 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£825
 
 
Late Summer Term
3 Jun 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£699
 
 
School Summer Holiday 2017
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£795
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£250
for 2 nights
From
£125
£625
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £25
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Changeover Day:
Saturday changeover, flexible changeover days out of season. Arrive after 4pm, departure by 10am.

Notes on prices:
We can often offer shorter stays during off-peak periods and if we have late availability at other times.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 05-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Our favourite things to do at Rock Cottage: * Go for a walk with our dog through the woods to the 'Fairy Steps' or down to the coast. * Stop off for a pint during the above at the local dog-friendly pub with amazing views over the bay - perhaps you'll see the famous tidal bore coming in. * Sit in the garden with a favourite book and hear only birdsong. * Rustle up a simple, hearty supper on our fab range cooker. * Throw some logs into the wood-burning stove and settle down for a cosy evening in. Decide whether it's a wine or hot-chocolate night! * Collapse into the comfy king-size iron bed and know for sure that you won't be woken by traffic noise or street lights. You might hear an owl if you're lucky!

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Lovely modern cottage bathroom
  • Newly installed family bathroom in a modern country style. Victorian bath and electric shower over, basin, toilet.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Cot, Lovely king-size iron bed. Views into the woods.
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Child Bed, Adult size 3ft bunk beds for 2. Cot available. Wood views.
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size iron bed by Feather and Black; Bedroom 2 has full size 3ft wide bunk beds to sleep two. Both rooms enjoy views into the woods. High thread count cotton bedding. Cot available. Access to the master-bedroom is via the bunk bedroom.

Outside

  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Pet-friendly. A maximum of 2 well-behaved dogs will be accepted for a small additional fee of £25 for 1 dog (£30 if you bring two dogs) to cover the cost of the additional cleaning we do after your hairy friend's stay and additional risks. Dogs must not be allowed upstairs or on furniture. The cottage is decorated with artwork inspired by the local natural landscape by a small number of artists including the owner. Selected pieces are available to buy. Silverdale and Arnside have an annual Arts Trail, and is home to an active artistic community, and several art galleries. Outside: Private garden overlooking the woods verdant with native woodland plants, rare ferns and wildlife. Patio with table and chairs for 4. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Good quality cotton towels and cotton bed linens are included. Other: Free unlimited wi-fi broadband.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot