Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Castello Balcone Venice is a Spacious Traditional Venetian Home With Superb View

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet


About the property

Apartment in Castello, Venice, Veneto, Italy - 3 Min Walk to Ferry, 10 Min Walk to St Marks Square. Close to Restaurants, Bars and Supermarket

Castello Balcone Venice is a pacious family home decorated in authentic Italian style. The home features two bedrooms, one double and 1 twin room, two bathrooms (one of which is ensuite) a family size living room, ample wardrobe space and fitted kitchen.Open up the shutters to reveal the charming village of castello before you plus a delightful view of the grand canal! Stand on the balcony and take in the village life below you. The home benefits from its convenient location close to amenities such as the fish and vegetable market, cafe bar with delicious pastries, a wine bar loved by locals and some superb Venetian trattoria's away from the tourist mass. For lovers of art and the biennale festival, the giardino area and park is only a few minutes walk. Yet the buzz of St Marks square is reachable within a 10 minute walk or via the ferry stop located just 3 minutes walk from the home giving you the best of both worlds! Contact us today for more details or to book your stay with us at Castello Balcone Venice.

Property Manager
Italian Apartments
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 June, 2018

About Italian Apartments


Guestbook comments from the manager

Brand new home advertised August 2014. We will add comments asap!!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Castello in Venice-Murano-Burano

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • village
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • The home boasts two bathrooms. Bathroom 1 with bath and wc, bathroom 2 is ensuite and features a shower and wc (the ensuite bathroom features a shower and wc)
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 2 bedrooms (double and twin rooms) with ample wardrobe space
Outside: Private balcony with view of the canal and village. Steps to access the home may deem the property unsuitable for elderly, infirm or young children Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The home is fully cleaned on arrival for each guest with linen and bedding and towels for each guest Heating paid as used in winter.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Castello Balcone Venice is a Spacious Traditional Venetian Home With Superb View
average rating of 4.5 based on 7 reviews

Viva venice!

  • 5 of 5

Really loved our stay here. The apartment was spot on, spacious with a magical view from the living room window of the canal and venetian life. The home is well positioned, just a 10 minute walk to St Marks square or 3 minutes walk to the artists garden which our children enjoyed and the same distance to the ferry. Arsenale is far less touristy than other parts of Venice with great bars, restaurants, supermarket and daily fish and vegetable markets, we really felt part of the community here. The home for 4 of us worked ever so well and over all is excellent value. Will definitely return and recommend this home.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Castello, a great find!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here as part of a two centre break in Como and Venice. The stay was a real highlight and the home a real gem of a find. The property is beautifully furnished and was very spacious for our party of 4 with magical views towards the lagoon. We were only 10 minutes walk from St Marks square and the famous venetian sites yet the area where the apartment is located is extremely authentic, venetian and in no way touritsy. Cafes, restaurants, supermarket and artists garden to relax were virtually outside the front door and in 3 minutes you could reach the ferry on foot. For a family of 4 this home represented excellent value for money and i would not hesitate to recommend this home to friends.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very tired property in need of refurbishment. Shame as the location is superb.

  • 2 of 5

Outside shade broken and felt dangerous. Kitchen appliances running on electrical extension lead - not recommended! Mosquito blinds broken or not present. Bathroom 1 functions but no shower curtain. Bathroom 2 functional. Main bedroom comfortable. Second bedroom uncomfortable - mattresses very thin. Curtains in property torn and old. Paid extra for wifi which did not work. Overall impression of this property - needs a complete refurbishment before renting again.

  • Review Submitted: 27-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your stay did not reach your expectations. We have checked the wifi and confirm the connection is working fine as usual. From time to time the connection can break however if you contact the house manager at any time they will be delighted to help. Thank you also for your feedback re the beds and showers. We value all guests feedback so thank you for writing. However this is the first negative feedback in 3 seasons of renting with 60 plus families staying so of course we need to take a balanced and subjective view. We do not have a shower curtain in the bathroom as mentioned as we feel it is not aesthetically pleasing and the other guests have commented that the beds are very comfortable as we have purchased quality mattresses for both rooms. The mosquito nets are replaced as new at the start of every season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5

Very clean well equipped apartment.A bonus having two bathrooms. Good size light and airy.Great location with lots of restaurants outside the door. Bedrooms at back apartment make it quiet for sleeping.Have rented many apartments in Venice over the last 20 years and this is the best. We will be back

  • Review Submitted: 14-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Lovely well located Venetian apartment

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Venice, we did a lot of research before deciding on this apartment. Its is in an excellent quiet location in Arsenale/Castello (a 10 minute walk to St Marks square, easy to find, and very near to Arsenale and Giardini Vaparretto stops. There are several osteria / trattoria nearby, a nice bakery and a small but adequate COOP store on the same road.

The apartment is as described and is on the 2nd floor, clean, tidy, roomy and comfortable it exceeded our expectations. There are pleasing views from the balcony.The local representative came to meet us promptly - he showed us where everything was and supplied 2 sets of keys. He was friendly and helpful and said to ring him at any time if we needed ( we did not), he checked all had been OK before we left too. We really enjoyed our stay, there was too much to see and do in 4 days. Most things in Venice are easily walkable, the frequent Vaparretto service is excellent (buy a 3/5/7 day pass its much cheaper), to visit the other islands. No bicycles/motorbikes/scooters/cars just the chug of boats - it was surprisingly peaceful just away from the centre.

We would highly recommend the apartment and the letting company, and will most probably go back again.

  • Review Submitted: 05-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Authentic Arsenale!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay here in Venice. Deborah was the perfect host, with loads of local tips. The home is spacious located just 10 minutes walk from St Marks square and has a terrific balcony view of typical local venetian life (as per the photos)

It was lovely to come back to Arsenale after the days sightseeing and enjoy local unspoilt life with superb restaurants, cafes, artists garden and daily market. I would recommend this home to friends and family and would definitely book again when staying in Venice.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Special interest holidays:

Artists garden close by popular for the biennale artist festival.


1 hour from Marco Polo airport. Full directions supplied on request or with each booking. 30 minutes from railway station only.


All amenities close by including restaurants, bars mini market, cafe bar, bakery, fish and vegetable market. Artist garden is located close by.

10 minutes walk to St Marks square and 3 minutes walk to the ferry.

Further Details:

The property manager has lived in Venice for 20 years so can provide a fountain of knowledge from museums and local restaurants


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Castello, Venice

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Sep 2017 - 31 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Final cleaning £43.94
Booking administration £17.58

Booking Notes:
20% non refundable deposit to reserve.

Changeover Day:

Notes on prices:

Home is fully cleaned and prepared for every arrival.
with Newly laundered linen, bedding, and final cleaning

Home is immaculately presented and fully cleaned before and after every visit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Manager a Question