OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Stylish four bedroom house in Central Totnes



Updated: 25-May-2016
Charming house in Totnes, South Hams, Devon, Minutes to Medieval Town Centre and Castle. Short car/taxi ride to Riverford/Sharpham Vineyard

Airy and well-equipped Edwardian end of terrace with very large and light open plan living space downstairs, essentially four living areas knocked into one so ideal for entertaining and gatherings of friends/family. Ercol and other collectable furniture and original artwork. Soak up the sunlight through Velux windows in downstairs rear extension and in new loft which also has lovely views. Stripped wooden floorboards downstairs, mainly white walls. Two new bathrooms with top of the range Grohe fittings. South facing courtyard and small grassed area at rear. If you let us know your requirements, we can customise bed linens and also pack away surplus crockery and other things you do not require. Welcome to bring your own cot(s): plenty of room for at least one in all the bedrooms and in the loft.

  • Sleeps 9
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

About the Owner

Hello, our home is available to selected guests when we aren't using it ourselves.

We think Totnes is a great place to live and to visit. It has a special ethos, good shops, interesting art, excellent markets (food/flea/craft), friendly people, street music and is a great base for exploring the South Hams, Dartmoor and the many beaches within a 35 minute drive.

Our house is comfortable and very well-positioned just minutes from the station, the high st, the market, the castle and the river. It is lightly furnished with some interesting 20th century paintings and furniture.

Please think of coming to stay!

Call Owner
Speaks English, French

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was both clean and spacious.
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1

2 Reviews

2 holidaymaker reviews


needs some attention

  • 2 of 5

like the previous review property was in a good spot to get to shops ect , but the house on arrival was not clean , the bathroom was a problem as we all kept walking in on each other , awful beds says playhouse in garden you could never get in as as full of stuff , there was a few things with the house that were disappointing , wouldn't stay again

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The lock on the bathroom has been replaced. As stated in the listing, the loft has futons and the second bed in the twin is also a futon. They are good quality futons but futons are not for everybody.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs a lot of tlc .

  • 2 of 5

Okay this property is big enough for 4 adults and 4 children. Property was not very clean in fact it was cleaner when we had left. I had to phone about the bathroom lock that didn't work and it wasn't put right. We were two separate family's and it was a bit awkward to say the least when having to use toilet or bathing.

There was no p.a.t tested electricals and a toaster which had melted on the top and when used smoked rather badly. So didn't use it. The property is not well maintained and mattresses are stained. Grass had not been cut , front garden was not maintained. There is a list of things. To be honest for paying guests for nearly a grand a week things need to change. I wouldn't recommend this property unless the property got a make over in a lot of areas. Attractions and town and restaurants all within walking distance but you will need walking boots. Also only room for two cars other wise you have to park in public car park up another road. Limited parking every where. It cost £32 a week each car. We were totally disappointed with the cleanliness and garden.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry this guest had a poor impression of the property. It is the first time we have had a negative response. The house is professionally cleaned at each changeover, as it was on this occasion also. As you can see from the listing map, the house is very central, being just a few minutes walk from St Mary's church, the castle and the high st. Unfortunately, parking in Totnes is difficult especially when you are so central but we are lucky to have two spaces. We like the wild flowers in the front and to keep the grass long in the back. All mattresses have mattress protectors. We have not had our appliances tested as this is our home and we share with you what we consider safe for ourselves and our children.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

It is really hard to find property in Totnes - it took 2/3 years of looking for this house which I bought from friends. I wanted: big living/dining space because we enjoy having guests over; 3/4 bedrooms; outdoor space including grass (small but adequate) two bathrooms (unfortunately no downstairs loo though); parking; close to the station (for those quick 30 min trips to the shops in Exeter and Plymouth, and for getting to London); wood burner for cosiness and to help with the bills in winter; good neighbours/community. And it's central but quiet.

Activity and Interests


25/30 minutes drive to Torbay beaches, 35 minutes to Blackpool Sands, 40 minutes to Bantham and Bigbury


45 minutes easy drive from Exeter airport where rental cars available. Totnes is on the main trainline from Paddington to Penzance - three hours from Paddington direct. Car rental available at station. Property is easy walking distance of station, town, supermarket for those coming by train.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
August 16
31 Jul 2016 - 28 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £300

Booking Notes:
£200 deposit on booking which will be deducted from rental fee. Refundable with eight weeks notice. Balance payable six weeks in advance. Deposit of £300 per week, refundable at end of stay, minus any damages, due by arrival.

Changeover Day:
Saturdays but some flexibility

Notes on prices:
Please feel free to contact me if your proposed dates do not fit with those listed and you require a quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 25-May-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Belmont Terrace is great, being really quiet and having a semi-cul de sac at the back (Alexandra Terrace) where the kids can play on bikes/scooters, yet literally 5 mins walk to the station and 3 mins to Fore St (our High St). Also one minute walk from a good car park for extra cars/day guests. It is very convenient and safe/secure (as much as anywhere can be).

Property Type

  • house


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • near the sea
  • river


  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • scenic drives
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Loft has en-suite with low bath and shower attachment. On first floor is a pretty and light family bathroom with Grohe shower over bath and a window that opens. Both have good lighting and mirrors for shaving/make-up.


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Description of sleeping capacity: 1 double, 1 triple, 1 twin, 1 single, Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - double, with plenty of room for cot and/or a mattress for a child Bedroom 2 - single bed, plus one futon bed available Bedroom 3 - single with room for mattress on floor for a child Loft - one double futon, one single futon. Limited headspace. Welcome to bring your own cot(s).


  • Golf ...
  • Garden


  • Self-catering


  • Outside: Paved area with table/chairs and lovely potted plants/herbs. Behind/above it a small grassed area with attractive shrubs. Utility Room: Washing machine. No dryer (not needed - clothes dry quickly all year round in the sunny snug area next to the kitchen). Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Property cleaned weekly. Towels and linen included, but not beach towels. Other: Master bedroom, 1st floor front, benefits from 1930s walnut suite in fantastic condition. Comprises comfortable quiet bed (reinforced springs), chest of drawers, wardrobe and bedside cabinet. Two chairs + bookcase/table from same set elsewhere in house.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot