OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Converted Barn in Brockenhurst



Updated: 16-Oct-2016
Barn in Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Please note that we only take weekly bookings from Saturday to Saturday in the school holidays. The property boasts a wealth of both original and new oak beams, solid oak doors and oak trims. The conversion has been to a very high standard. There is ample parking and access to an acre of private grounds plus direct access to the open forest. Easy walk to Brockenhurst. The local pub is 500m which is open all day and serves good food. Even closer that the pub is a farm shop and vineyard which includes a garden centre and day restaurant/tea room. 3 miles to the beautiful harbour town of Lymington where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants. Or hop on the ferry over the IOW to the lovely town of Yarmouth.

We also offer a babysitting service at £10 per hour.

Owners Direct website is not working properly. Please email me directly at: lizziebeth1970@googlemail.com.

  • Sleeps 7
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English

8 Reviews

based on 8 holidaymaker reviews


Great Holiday

  • 5 of 5

We have recently spent a week staying in the cottage with our 2 children, 7 & 3 yrs old. We had a fantastic week. The cottage offered everything we needed (apart from a freezer, but Lizzie kindly let us use hers 😉)

Our children got on so well with lizzie's children and will remain friends no doubt. The weather was on our side the week we spent there and we had an expectional week making use of the huge garden & bbq'ing several times!

The cottage was of great size for a family of 4 and Lizzie and Dave were very welcoming and friendly, they were always there to answer questions and even let our kids play in there garden.

Overall a fantastic week. 🌞😉

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to meet you all - so pleased you enjoyed yourself and the weather was kind! What fun! Lizzie and David.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Adequate facilities in a beautiful setting

  • 2 of 5

Having read the reviews after booking but before travelling, I was a bit worried about what we would find, but the property was OK. Sleeping 7 is a bit misleading as we found the property very small for ourselves and our 6 year old child. 2 adults would need to sleep on the sofa bed which was very uncomfortable to sit on so cannot imagine that it would be a good night sleep. Also the lounge had a very strong damp smell and not somewhere I would want to sleep. The second bedroom was fine for us but would only accommodate 2 small children and a baby as there are no full size single beds only junior beds and a cot.

I can understand all others comments; maintenance (especially resolving the over powering damp smell downstairs) and cleaning required. It does not appear that previous valid negative comments have been addressed. No personal touches and did not meet the owners. The post code provided for the property was incorrect but found the property thanks to the instructions provided by Lizzie.

If you're travelling with a dog like us then this property is OK, thanks to the lovely garden, but like a previous review this does mean that the garden may need a bit of cleaning up if previous guests overlooked this. If you do not like dogs then I would not recommend this property as we were woken by the owners dogs barking at the back door on a couple of mornings.

In summary, the property was OK and not the disaster as mentioned in previous reviews, but we would probably not return as there's better on offer for the money in the area.

Finally, commenting on previous reviews, I drive a 4x4 and I found the driveway had more than gentle undulations and would have trouble with a lower car.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not feel that you could discuss the issues mentioned with us at the time of your stay as we would have endeavoured to correct them for you, enabling you to enjoy your visit more. We can only apoolgise for your disappointment with regards to your holiday let, however we have taken your comments constructively and are dealing with the issues you have raised.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Returned from a mini break

  • 3 of 5

Lizzie was very sweet however I found Her husband a little rude when asking me to shut the back door as its his garden and his privacy. With two young children with me I found the children's room very dirty with ear buds on the floor and dusty beds and the bedrooms where super hot and only 1 tiny fan!

the cot side didn't go up either leaving me no choice but to use my travel cot. And with mr Bradley being quite rude earlier on I didn't fancy bothering them for help again.

The hose didn't work properly so the paddling pool took ages to fill up which was disappointing for my children.

There was dogs poo on our lawn as they let their beautiful dogs run free -

When arriving the door was left open but we were not greeted by a welcome pack or anything that explained more about what's in the area or of numbers of people or themselves if we needed any help. Where the local supermarket was etc.

thrbhouse outside was dierty with Broken wood sticking out - the table and chairs outside where disgusting haven't been cleaned.

The kitchen lacked everything - the cutlery draw was dirty I had to was everything ( bought my own cleaning products)

The BBQ was disgusting hadn't had a proper clean!!

To end up on a positive note the location was fantastic and the local people where friendly and the dogs where lovely

If they worked on cleaning the place and keeping it fresh and cool I think they could charge the amount they are but for now I don't think I would be returning

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We apologise for the cleaning inadequacies on this occasion, our regular cleaner being ill and having to resort to an agency. We are addressing the issues you have raised and thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


  • 2 of 5

Having stayed at other cottages in the New Forest this year, for less money, we were very disappointed.

Despite what is recommended on the HomeAway web site, there was no welcome pack - not a written one with a bit about the cottage and the local area, emergency contacts like hospital, doctor etc or a welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar and milk.

No hairdryer, oven gloves , kitchen scissors and only a fridge, no freezer, though Lizzie did let us use an outside freezer of the families.

The cottage wasn't particularly clean with lots of white dog hairs all over and very grubby windows.

The white towels were grey and tired.

If one of your selection criteria for your holiday stay is wifi, which it is for us, the wifi has a very weak signal unless stood next to the kitchen door.

If you are planning on having two people sleeping on the lounge, there is a blind to pull down for privacy, but no chest of drawers for clothes.

There are potholes in the drive which are more than undulations as described by one reviewer, but can be easily driven round, so unless you have a low sports car, they are not an issue.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The issues you raised, we are addressing and would have done so at the time had you brought it to our attention.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Perfect for small families

  • 5 of 5

The Barn itself lent itself perfectly to our circumstances, the two of us plus our 2 1/2 year old daughter, having the second bedroom off the main. It’s perfectly suited for most small families and there are a lot of touches for the young child available such as a high chair, a cot, a junior bed and plastic crockery. The extensive grounds are beautiful with plenty of space to kick a ball around, admire the grapevines or soak up the rays.

The location was ideal for our first visit to the new forest, very central for easy access to the lovely villages, forest, beach and Peppa Pig World. Noting the other reviews, yes there is road noise but there are also positives to the situation of the barn with the nearby pub and Farm shop / vineyard (which extends alongside the grounds) / garden centre / tearoom.

Lizzie, David and family including the dogs were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to meet you and so pleased you had a lovely time!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2


  • 5 of 5

Ignore the negative review. Yes there are a couple of 'potholes' although some would say that they were more like gentle undulations. Yes there's some traffic noise but not during the night. Would we stay there again? Definitely! Would we recommend it to friends? Definitely! Lizzie Bradley couldn't have been more friendly and helpful both before and during our stay. The property is very well appointed and is warm, with under-floor heating in both bathrooms. The grounds are huge and well fenced, so no worries about our (large) dog escaping. There's a dog friendly pub/restaurant (The Filly) five minutes walk south of the barn where we, and the dog, were made most welcome. The property is ideally placed for most of the New Forest either by car or on foot.

The only comment I would make regarding the sleeping arrangements are that while yes, it would sleep seven, three of the beds are off the main bedroom and comprise two kiddies' beds and a cot, with a further double sofa bed in the lounge. Ideal for my partner and I, plus her 22 year old son (sofa bed) and would be ideal for a young family.

The kitchen works well to the extent that we managed to cater for seven adults on the Saturday night without any trouble and the lack of a dishwasher didn't enter into the equation.

All in all, a great weekend. Our thanks to Lizzie and David.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3


Activity and Interests


3 miles to Lymington Waterfront.


1 mile from Brockenhurst mainline station. Nearest airport is Southampton which is about 25 min drive.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
4 Sep 2016 - 27 Oct 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
28 Oct 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Please note that we only take weekly bookings in the school holidays. These are Saturday to Saturday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Updated: 16-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • barn


  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine


  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • town
  • village


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • One Wet Room downstairs with shower and loo. Upstairs bathroom with bath, shower and loo.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed for the grown ups! Bedroom 2 with junior bed, cot and single bed for the little ones. Sofa bed downstairs.


  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: Dogs are welcome but they must be kept downstairs. No upstairs doggies in the Barn! We also offer a babysitting service at £10 per hour. Outside: Access to 1 acre private garden. Parking. Chairs and table. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included and are replaced weekly but always happy to replace in between if you need to. Other: Dining room which seats 6 hungry people and there is also a high chair for precious little people.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot