OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lovely country veiws over the Hills and grounds - Rob Roy



Updated: 17-Oct-2016
Cottages and Apartment in Buchlyvie, Stirling, Central Scotland, Scotland - Great Location to Discover History of Rob Roy Mcgregor and Outdoors Activities

Auchentroig Estate ; The apartment and cottage is situated at the very centre of mainland Scotland. within the beautiful grounds with fantastic views .Buchlyvie is 2 mile away with Rob Roy inn and several shops. Aberfoyle a few miles north is a centre for hill walking and has a golfing course. There is good fishing on the Lake of Monteith. The lochs and glens of the Trossachs are a short drive away and Loch Lomand is within easy reach.

Details for holiday cottage Rob Roy, 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 1 Bathroom

The Rob Roy Cottage has been the scene for Rob Roy dated 1702 .

The property is in the lovely grounds of the Auchentroig Estate .

2 double bedrooms,1 bathroom with shower fully fitted kitchen and dining.

1 living room with Log fire Stove . A walled garden with barbecue.to relax and enjoy the wonderful scenery.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Speaks English

4 Reviews

based on 4 holidaymaker reviews


Beautiful and almost too much on your own

  • 3 of 5

Beautifully situated and with historical touch. the 'owners direct feeling' was a bit lacking so finding the location and the heating switch was a challenge. Apart from things like this and the equipment being pretty basic ( don't rely on the internet...): highly romantic with fire place and complete silence.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very poorly

  • 1 of 5

A very damp, moldy and smelly house. The wifi is only good for email, a normal site is almost impossible to open.

The worst thing is the claim on the HomeAway-site '3 bedrooms, sleeps 6'. When in reality is has only two bedrooms (with twinbeds with terrible matrasses). The 'next' person can sleep on a singel matras-only on the ground and there is only linnen for a pillow and the duvet, not for the matras itself)

In short: not a good address.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr & Mrs Anonymous I'm sorry you haven't enjoyed your stay I would comment as follows wifi is in working order however can be slow at times due to factors outwith our control due to staying in a country location Damp there are no sign of damp in the property bedrooms as stated on web site sleeps 6 1 sofa bed & 1 king size bed & 1 double bed none of our properties have twin beds should you have contacted me during your stay we would have been happy to discuss your concerns regards alexander
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Serene and Picturesque location

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is located in a very remote and calm location close to a stream surrounded by lot of greenery.

The cottage is very old and rustic, which is the best part. It had all kinds of facilities like hot water, room heating, washing machine, induction hob, electric oven, refrigerator etc. It also had a wood burn fire place.

There are some stuff like toilet paper, detergent, whose availability was not clear. So, we had to go for shopping as soon as we arrived. There is a cost cutter in few miles and which was open till 9PM.

The bedrooms are nicely furnished with adequate number of beds for 2 families (4 adult + 2 kids). However, the spring mattress was not that comfy.

The bath/shower was nice and refreshing.

Less than 30 minutes drive to Loch Lomond.

Definitely recommend for very peaceful holiday.

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi I'm so please you enjoyed your stay with us your most welcome anytime Thanks again Alexander
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We booked this place with little notice! Luckily we got a slot- alister was excellent and got back to us straight away! We have two small children and a small dog and there was so much for the whole family to do! The dogs had such a large garden to run free in and the children had a swing set to play on and a large mass of land! It was a great location and not too far from aberfoyle where we all enjoyed Go Ape! Also Loch Lomond is only a 30 minute drive which we enjoyed very much! Over all are stay was excellent and have already booked again for the winter! We can't wait to return!- would definitely recommend

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

Boat trips on Loch Lomond or Loch Katrine,. Fishing on the lake of Monteith

Walkers and cyclists have fantastic trails to explore. Shoppers : Cities, Glasgow Stirling, Edinburgh.

Craft and Antiques at Doune, lots to do and see at Calander and Aberfoyle .


Glasgow car hire would be useful


Buchlyvie 2 mile drive

Stirling city 17 miles

Glasgow city 20 miles approx

Further Details:

Local Buchlyvie has good local shops Butcher , grocery superstore,

and several tea rooms with 2 hotels. Garage ,pottery and pubs.

Recreation there are walks from Buchlyvie in addition to the hills and mountains only a short drive away ,

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
tarriff 7
1 Nov 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Standard price
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
bookings by card ,deposits,

Changeover Day:
Arrival from 3 30pm or by arrangement
departure by 11am or by arrangement

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 17-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • cottage


  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural


  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • bay fishing
  • swimming


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed


  • Bicycles
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 1 bicycles


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: All properties on the estate are well equipped. Many outdoors activities Hill and mountain walks glens and Lochs, Fishing, and Sails on the lochs at Loch Lomand and Loch Katrine Outside: Grounds patio , barbecue, and outdoor furniture, etc.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot