OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lovely country veiws over the Hills and grounds - The Willow



Updated: 06-Sep-2016
Cottages and Apartment in Buchlyvie, Stirling, Central Scotland, Scotland - Great Location to Discover History of Rob Roy Mcgregor and Outdoors Activities

Auchentroig Estate ; The apartment and cottage is situated at the very centre of mainland Scotland. within the beautiful grounds with fantastic views .Buchlyvie is 2 mile away with Rob Roy inn and several shops. Aberfoyle a few miles north is a centre for hill walking and has a golfing course. There is good fishing on the Lake of Monteith. The lochs and glens of the Trossachs are a short drive away and Loch Lomand is within easy reach.

Details for holiday home The Willow , 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 1 Bathroom

The accommodation is modern and spacious with a private entrance,rural location in the heart of the Trossachs.

Bedrooms are on the top floor

Bedroom 1. King sized bed

Bedroom 2. Double bed

Bedroom 3. Double bed

Kitchen Lounge and dining area is large and open plan

Kitchen Electric Fan double oven, ceramic hob, and microwave, fridge/freezer.

Bed linen and towels included

Laundry room

Central heating and open fireplace

internet access and TV/CD

Dining area large table and chairs, sideboard

Sitting area 2 leather sofas, large recliner chair lamps and pictures TV and CD

Amenities: Barbecue and furniture. lovely trees and shrubs with the bluebell wood.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Speaks English

8 Reviews

based on 8 holidaymaker reviews


Wonderful old building

  • 4 of 5

After reading some of the other negative reviews I feel I should probably address some of the points in those.

We weren't sure where we were to go for The Willows, and we had no phone signal to call to find out once we got there. It's actually just signposted as The Apartment, and is in the little courtyard area at the side of the building. We hadn't had much communication prior to arriving, more instructions and details should be ideally be provided in advance.

The place was clean, but if I'm to nit pick the windows outside could do with a bit of a clean.

We had a microwave, kettle, enough cutlery etc. and a big pile of towels in the main bedroom. Again if I'm to be picky, some more basics like tea/coffee/sugar, bin bags, washing up liquid etc. would have been nice. Oh and we needed more toilet roll!

We found it warm, using the heater downstairs a few times in the evenings. We only used the heater in the bedroom one evening, but found it more than enough, but then we were there during July/August.

We sort of had wifi. It's actually next door in The Rowan. Speaking with the couple staying there they gave us the wireless password (it's different to the one written down in The Willows) when we first arrived and were trying to get on our OwnersDirect e-mail. I'd consider providing this info to future guests, as it came in handy for planning sat nav routes. We found it was accessible stood by the dividing door upstairs, or out in the car park area. It's a big old house and the wireless signal isn't going to travel through those thick walls. Perhaps run a cable from the router next door to a wireless repeater in the stairwell area.

We had hot water, but you did need to let the tap run for a minute or two for it to come through. Again it's a big old house so you have to accept some things!

I would have loved to have explored the rest of the house, I can only imagine what it must have been like as one big home. It looks very impressive driving up the long drive arriving at the house. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Rowan holiday cottage

  • 2 of 5

On arrival the grounds, the area and the building looked amazing, we had originally booked Willow holiday home but were put in Rowan which I doubt made much difference. The kitchen was very poorly equipped, no microwave, no toaster, no washing machine (details stated there was these items) very few pans or utensils, making it difficult to cook for a family of 5. Stated on the cottage details there was a cot but there wasn't (thankfully we took our own). The house was not clean at all, other guests underpants & toothbrushes left in various places and it didn't appear to have seen a Hoover for some time. The internet did not work, when we went onto the BT site to try & fix it, it stated there was an outstanding bill on the account, this made life difficult as my husband was working whilst we were there.

We actually did have a lovely week as for children there was plenty to do within the surrounding areas & we made the most of it however the accommodation really needs a good clean & a little tlc.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Before you book please read...

  • 2 of 5

We are not people who expect the world when staying away nor do we expect it to be like home but I am afraid 3 nights and 4 days with NO hot water bar a single electric shower and no one to speak to, as the contact number was not answered after 4 calls even though it stated any problems then call, was not helpful with a 2 year old. For washing up after our meals we had to use a kettle, once supplied, and for personal ablutions we had to fill a sauce pan from the shower.

There was NO microwave, no toaster, no tea spoons (?) and 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel per couple. The laundry room was not so much a room but more of a space for old rubbish and dirty towels left on the floor.

All of this and bar a small hand written "old" note stating the internet not working made the stay so much more difficult when with some small attention it could have made the experience in a nice building pleasurable. From the description when booking we had high hopes but did not see or have the chance to receive customer service from any one so no that was not particularly good and these issues were not things that had "just" happened.

We rang the contact no. to try and sort stuff but never saw him or anyone so never got a chance to put things right. I am sure the owner will object and make reasons for these comments but overall a good review would include the recommendation to a friend or relative. Well unless there were some changes then I am afraid we would not be able to stay here again nor suggest it to a friend or relative and for a business that thrives on word of mouth I don't think this is the desired effect ?

Please find out if these changes have taken place before booking otherwise "take your own", which is difficult if it is a week’s supply of hot water !

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi I'm sorry to hear you never enjoyed your stay with us however should you have made contact by phone email or calling round as I only stay next door I would have been happy to assist with any issues as we pride our self in providing a personal service and have done so for many years .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very disappointing

  • 1 of 5

The first thing we had to do was contact the owner for a kettle. He informed us that there was no hot water as he was waiting for a pump. Bearing in mind that we were a party of 5 adults and a 2 year old I would have thought this was a priority. However, we had no hot water other than the shower for the whole of our stay. We also found that there was no Wifi at the property because that wasn't working either. When we tried to contact the owner by phone, we had to leave a message and he made no attempt to return our call.

There were 3 bath towels and 3 hand towels for the whole of our group.

The bedroom windows were painted shut and some even had a wooden batten across them so you couldn't open them.

There wasn't a cot at the property, just a stained single mattress propped against the wall.

There was no information regarding emergency numbers or safety procedures. As we didn't have Wifi or a good phone signal it made things very difficult, particularly as the 2 year old in our group wasn't well and we had to call 111 for advice.

There was the remains of a bag of sugar in the kitchen cupboard and a handful of teabags were lying loose on the shelf.

There was an old car parking ticket for June 2015 under one of the beds and there was dust under all of them.

The laundry facilities were in a filthy shed outside the property.

We were not made to feel at all welcome at the property and given the fact that we had told the owner we were travelling to Scotland for a wedding you would have thought he could have made a bit of an effort.

We were all very disappointed with our stay although we tried to make the best of things. We would never stay in this property again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, good sized accommodation, disappointing facilities

  • 2 of 5

On arrival, it was not easy to find The Willows, as there was no clear signage. Once we finally found the front door, tucked away in a courtyard, we were extremely disappointed to find that the accommodation was filthy. The bathroom and kitchen were very dirty and the rest was covered in dog hairs. Once cleaned, with our limited resources and a vacuum cleaner that was not strong enough for the needs, we settled in. The weather was glorious, but the house was very cold in the evenings and there was limited heating available. We had booked this property as it said it had wifi and I needed to work whilst there. We were informed that the wifi wasn't working when we arrived and it didn't work all week, hence no work done. We also had no running hot water all week. This was reported within 2 hours of our arrival and we were assured that a plumber would be contacted; we had no hot water for washing up or washing all week. Fortunately, the shower was electric, so at least we had that. There were no teaspoons, no toaster or microwave, no cd or DVD player, which had the weather been poor might have been useful, especially as the wifi was down. It all felt a little under resourced.

We were very fortunate with the weather, sunshine every day, so we only used the accommodation as a base. The size of the rooms was good and the beds were clean and very comfortable. It was really well situated for days out in The Trossachs, or to Edinburgh and Glasgow.

The Willows was part of a much larger property, in lovely grounds, accessed by a rhododendron lined drive.

Despite our initial disappointment and continuing frustration with no hot water or wifi, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Stirling break.

  • 4 of 5

A beautiful building in lovely grounds. A quiet location . Staff and owners were very friendly. Apartment was extremely clean and spacious. Kitchen equipment, crockery and cutlery were a little lacking and lounge needed a coffee table but apart from that we could not fault our stay and would definitely recommend you to anyone

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Thanks for your comments I will take on board I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us your welcome anytime Thanks again Alexander
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

Boat trips on Loch Lomond or Loch Katrine,. Fishing on the lake of Monteith

Walkers and cyclists have fantastic trails to explore. Shoppers : Cities, Glasgow Stirling, Edinburgh.

Craft and Antiques at Doune, lots to do and see at Calander and Aberfoyle .


Glasgow car hire would be useful


Buchlyvie 2 mile drive

Stirling city 17 miles

Glasgow city 20 miles approx

Further Details:

Local Buchlyvie has good local shops Butcher , grocery superstore,

and several tea rooms with 2 hotels. Garage ,pottery and pubs.

Recreation there are walks from Buchlyvie in addition to the hills and mountains only a short drive away ,


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
tarriff 7
1 Nov 2016 - 18 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
bookings by card ,deposits,

Changeover Day:
Arrival from 3 30pm or by arrangement
departure by 11am or by arrangement

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 06-Sep-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Television ...


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural


  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • bay fishing
  • swimming


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Toilet bath with shower


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedrooms are large with views to the hills and grounds


  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • 1 bicycles


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: All properties on the estate are well equipped. Many outdoors activities Hill and mountain walks glens and Lochs, Fishing, and Sails on the lochs at Loch Lomand and Loch Katrine Outside: Grounds patio , barbecue, and outdoor furniture, etc.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot