OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Charming Grade 2 Period Apartment

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Apartment in Corsham, Wiltshire, England - Located In The Centre Of Corsham Old Town, Within Easy Reach Of All Amenities

A charming Grade 2 period Georgian apartment located on the High Street, famous for many period dramas and TV sets. The Apartment is located on the first floor offering self-catering accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and HD Freeview TV. Featuring magnificent cathedral ceilings, the living room boasts a double height sash windows, a 6 spoke chandelier, a Freeview HD TV, and a double sofa bed. With a mix of contemporary and period furniture, there is a double bedroom. The bathroom features natural stone tiles and a bath with an overhead shower. Alexander House has a fully fitted kitchen with an oven, refrigerator filter coffee machine. The apartment has views to the rear and side of the building. Bath is located 8 miles away and Bristol Airport is located 37 miles from the property. The nearest train station is Chippenham, 4 miles away which is on the London main line, you can be in the centre of London in just over an hour.

More Details

Alex Whittle
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Italian
Calendar last updated:
17 February, 2017

About Alex Whittle

Owner is Alex Whittle, I purchased the property in Corsham after visiting friends and just fell in love with the old town of Corsham.

Alex Whittle purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Alex Whittle chose Wiltshire

Just fell in love with the history, the old town of Corsham and the lovely people who I've met.

What makes this apartment unique

The location is ideal, the Apartment is in the High Street, I love the little boutique and antiques shops. The weekly market is fantastic for the fresh produce. Wiltshire towns don't come much better than this.


2/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)



  • 1 of 5

The photos of this flat make it look fairly attractive. It isn't. It is sparsely and badly furnished with a very cheap uncomfortable bed. It feels like a student flat from the 80s rather than a holiday let. As soon as you open the door you are hit by a strong smell of drains and damp. I wondered when I rented it why it had no reviews. I guess people were just too polite to tell the truth, but I wouldn't wish this place on anyone and left after one night. Definitely one to avoid.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guest booked the apartment for 3 nights. I received an email on the day of departure, saying she'd only stayed one night and wanted a refund or she would write a bad review. I checked the apartment and 7 towels were used, both beds were soiled and all the toiletries were used up, indicating someone stayed the duration. I advised guest that she should have addressed any issue as soon as she felt there was one so that any issue could be sorted as the last thing I would want is a unhappy guest. The photos clearly show its not student accommodation, I fear this guest used a bad review as a bargaining tool for a refund for nights she clearly did stay and took great pleasure in saying she'd hamper future bookings ,
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Wonderful location, but would I return? No.

  • 3 of 5

This unit could not be more centrally located in this small, attractive, and ancient village, home to all the Poldark TV series town scenes. The space itself was good, but not near as large as the pictures would make it seem. North Americans who are used to building floors being labeled "Ground"or "First Floor" are cautioned to remember that in England and Europe the "first floor' is the one above the "ground floor". I had forgotten this detail and was disappointed to find I had to walk up or down a flight of stairs every time I came or went. For someone with better knees than I, it would not be a big issue.

Lighting maintenance was an issue in the apartment and the building. When we first arrived and were getting our bearings in the village we found we had to use our mobile phone lights to find our way into the dark side alley and darker vestibule where one then had to fumble in the dark to find the keyhole. Fortunately this was fixed on the second night. Inside the apartment the main room was too dark after sundown. Only 4 of the 6 weak bulbs in the overhead light worked and in the bedroom the overhead did not work at all. Fortunately the bedroom had two table lamps. The main room could have also used another table light and a floor lamp to make it a more congenial an atmosphere.

Another issue was the radiator in the bedroom. The thermostatic control was completely erratic. Some times it was not on at all and several nights it went full blast during the night turning the bedroom into a sauna. All the other radiators worked normally.

The ultra tight bathroom, while it had a stone lined modern shower and tub, was awkward and made more so by the use of a ten pound stone which was needed if one wanted the door open to let out the steam. A simple, inexpensive, flip down door stop would have been far better than "minding the stone".

The kitchen was completely adequate and welcome. However, the available clothes washer in the kitchen did not seem as big a benefit when you realized there is no dryer. Hanging clothes on the patio works fine if you are living there, but it does not serve well for time constrained travelers who thought they might catch up their laundry.

The biggest complaint I had with the "services" of this rental was that there was less than a 1/4 roll of toilet paper when we arrived and no spares. We had to supply our own tissue after that. This seems like a major oversight or else indifference by the owner.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take all reviews to help ensure we are constantly improving the service that we offer, however, upon this occasion, feel the need to respond considering, the negatives mentioned and that the apartment was abused by your party, including the mess left in the kitchen and the fact that the ironing board was not used that was there for ironing and the duvet was used instead to iron upon and abused to the extent that it was damaged and destroyed, a minimum of 5 iron burns, it was so bad you burnt the duvet cover and burned the duvet they had to be thrown away. It is not acceptable under any circumstances for deliberate damages to be caused and mess left in the state it was left. You failed to raise any concern at the time during your stay, which could have been sensibly and easily addressed. A full toilet roll was left, however as it is a self catering apartment, an unlimited supply would not normally be left, consumables, food etc are not supplied given it is self catering. It would have been very easy to have addressed any issues you would have had by simply getting in contact, someone would always be to available and happy to assist. An unsatisfied customer is the last thing we would want, but also, we would not want customers who would cause damage unnecessarily.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1



Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 6
3 Sep 2016 - 24 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Bookings are confirmed with a 50% deposit and the balance three weeks prior to arrival. Please note that any unreasonable loss or damage incurred during your stay will be chargeable.

Changeover Day:
Flexible, prefer Saturday to Saturday.

Notes on prices:
If you require a longer stay, please email.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Corsham in Cotswolds

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • rural
  • town
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • A recently installed high specification bathroom suite comprising of low level WC, wash hand basin, bath with shower over. Tiled floor and wall finish. Extractor. Airing cupboard.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with a King Size bed and the lounge is equipped with a Double metal action Sofa Bed.
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and Bed linen are included, changed every three days unless otherwise agreed. Complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and body lotion. The apartment is cleaned every week.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot