OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Stunning Holiday Home With Unrivalled Valley Views - Log Burner, Pets Welcome

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Rothbury, Nr. Alnwick, Northumberland, England - Overlooking The Coquet Valley, Cheviot View Is A Short Walk Into Rothbury With All Its Amenities

A beautiful apartment at Westcliffe House which has allocated off street parking and a private patio with flower pots, table and chairs to seat four people.... the apartment offers stunning uninterrupted views over the Coquet Valley. When you walk through the door you'll be amazed by the feeling of space and the simply stunning views of the Coquet Valley through every window. Through the entrance there is a large central hallway with access to all the other rooms. All the accommodation is on one level, with a few steps to enter the property.


Property Manager
Andrew Bothamley
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
20 November, 2017

About Andrew Bothamley

I have managed and owned Holiday Cottages for many years now and I'm very proud of the standards that we maintain. All of my properties have a 5 star tripadvisor rating and we take this feedback very seriously! We go to an extreme amount of effort to make sure everything is just right and that's why we get such good reviews and guests returning year after year.

Andrew Bothamley purchased this apartment in 2013

Why Andrew Bothamley chose Rothbury

The location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park is just the perfect base from which to explore all that Northumberland has to offer. From Cragside House nearby to Wallington and all the Castles, to the stunning Northumberland Coastline.

What makes this apartment unique

The views are just to die for! Many of our guests say that they didn't need the TV, they just sat and admired those dramatic views across the Coquet Valley. We're also lucky to have 2.5 acres of private grounds for all our guests to enjoy.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Owners

- good communication from owner via email prior to booking and arrival

- warm welcome



Apartment

- beautiful, spacious, luxurious, well equipped and well appointed with French doors that looked out onto stunning views of Northumbrian countryside.

- really appreciated the free wi fi as you cannot get phone signal.



Location

- absolutely fantastic, just outside of village, peaceful and ideal for a stay in the country.

- excellent spot for days out to attractions such as Alnwick or Bamburgh castle or Cragside House or Hoy island.

- nice village with local shops.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Rothbury in Rothbury

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • The Master Bedrooms offers a full En Suite, ideal for couples as you don't have to share. There is also a family bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: The Master Bedroom has a king-sized bed, large wardrobe and chest of drawers for storage and most importantly those views! French doors open up the room to the balcony. The second bedroom is a twin..
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
Notes:
Outside: The 2.5 acre grounds are maintained, planted, watered and manicured by myself, a labour of love that keeps the flowers and plants in bloom all year round (and keeps me fit!). We're more than happy to offer advice on where to go, where to eat or anything else you might like to know about the local area. We're so passionate about Northumberland we've even written a guide about it! All our guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful Grounds at Westcliffe House during their stay. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen and towels are provided within the price.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

42% Complete
42% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Holiday Home With Unrivalled Valley Views - Log Burner, Pets Welcome
average rating of 4.285714 based on 12 reviews
4

Overall very good property, details lacking.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice property and overall well presented.

Lacked details though, nowhere to hang towels in bathrooms or kitchen.

Very quiet location with lots to see and do round about.

Coquet valley is really beautiful and good walks around.

Cragside is a great place for walks and seeing old technology with water.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's always appreciated. Apologies you couldn't find anywhere to hang tea towels or towels etc. We do have a rail over the radiator in the kitchen for this and also in the bathrooms there are hooks on the bath of the doors and also towel rails over the radiators. We were really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

Great location, everything we needed for a week's stay

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice property with a good decor and layout and with lovely views

  • 3 of 5

Although the interior has quite a lot in its favour the outside needs some attention. Missing and loose steps leading up to a patio area gaining access to the house floor level where there is low guttering full of unsightly moss that appears to have been there for some time. A flower pot on the glass patio table had not been moved for some considerable time and was stuck solidly to the glass top. Also the table was dirty and leafs from the flower were also stuck solidly to the glass. In the kitchen there was a smell almost like a sewage type smell although I do not believe it was related to the sewage. The owner did send someone round to look at it but I don't think they grasped that the fault was not in the drains inside, there is a strong possiblity that it somewhow came from the outside. On arriving the first day I could smell it even before I had the door opened. It was always worse in the morning - possibly this was to do with the kitchen door being closed at night. One thing that was apparent, after heavy all day rain on the Tuesday the smell was not there and did not return until later on in the week. It did strike me that this was not a new problem. There was also a partly rusted knife in one of the drawers.

All these things can be easily rectified, making it a very nice place to stay and enjoy a holiday with all the home comforts. (the double bed does squeak a bit when turning during the night)

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to review Coquet View, however I fear that you have reviewed the wrong property. The description you make doesn't match the property at all and I will contact Owners Direct and request that it be removed. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay (wherever it may have been).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely spacious flat for three people and a dog

  • 4 of 5

The only reason it didn't get a 5 star (would have given 4.5 if I could!) is that the kitchen wasn't equipped well enough for us, didn't have a grill pan or baking sheet...we like eating in a bit, but everything is was super...and love, love, love the deep baths.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for leaving your feedback, I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coquet View so much. Apologies that there was no grill pan in the oven, this has now been rectified thanks to your feedback. Many thanks for booking Coquet View and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, tidy, spacious and restful!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed in Coquet View apartment with husband, our two lads and dog. First impressions - very spacious. The place was also very clean and tidy. Everything worked and had all the equipment you needed. For me the best thing was waking up to the views, making a brew and sitting on one of the balconies and watching the sun move round. It was so quiet. The village was lovely and just a walk away. Everything you needed on the doorstep. The owner was helpful prior to holiday and contactable whilst in the property. Would highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A home from home! Lovely cottage in a glorious location.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely quiet location with gorgeous views over the valley. The cottage itself is very spacious with enormous bath tubs, perfect for a long hot soak after a day out walking. The balcony offers breathtaking scenery to be enjoyed at any time of day or night. The kitchen is well equipped (even washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets are provided), and there was a welcome basket offering scones, tea bags, bread and fresh milk upon arrival - always a lovely touch. The kitchen has a dining table but there is a second dining area overlooking the valley which is where we enjoyed our evening meals. The cottage is child friendly and included a variety of toys and books for our little girl to play with. The travel cot provided was brilliant, probably the best we've experienced in terms of comfort for our little one! The only thing I could fault is the quality of the bed in the master bedroom. We found it quite uncomfortable and incredibly noisy (creaking upon every turn during the night). However, the beds in the twin room (where I ended up sleeping), were very comfortable indeed. Overall, we would highly recommend this property. We had a lovely week with glorious weather in an idyllic location. The village itself offers a great variety of shops, pubs, cafes and a lovely river walk with playground area for kids. There are plenty of National Trust and English Herititage properties and grounds to visit and explore nearby, and the coast and bigger towns such as Alnwick and Bamburgh (also well worth a visit) are just a few miles away. It truly was a great holiday, we'd happily return!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A huge thank you for taking the time to review Coquet View. Having read your comments about the bed I'm pleased to let you know we replaced it immediately with a new high quality bed frame and mattress. I'm very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Coast/Beach:

The stunning Northumberland Coast is just a short drive away, about 20 - 25 minutes depending on the route.

Distances:

Rothbury is just a ten minute walk away along a beautiful, quiet country lane with stunning views of the valley! Here you'll find an excellent rang of cafes, pubs, restaurants, tea rooms, art galleries, shops etc

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Rothbury, Northumberland

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winteer
28 Oct 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£375
 
 
Festive
22 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner.

Changeover Day:
We are flexible with changeover days but prefer a Friday or Saturday start day for week bookings in peak seasons, but please enquire if you have other needs. Outside of school holidays we can usually accommodate and requests.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable