OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Powderkeg Cottage - 3 Bedroom Property on Harbour Foreshore sleeping 5 (+1)

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Short Stays are Welcome - Please feel free to enquire.

Set over 3 floors Powderkeg Cottage is a beautifully furnished waterside property enjoying wonderful harbour views from its master bedroom, lounge, kitchen diner, 2 balconies and patio garden.

The property boasts 3 bedrooms sleeping 5+2 and can also be rented along with its adjoining Gunpowder Cottage sleeping up to 6+2 to allow group bookings of up to 11+4 and is located in a peaceful location with off road parking. Set in the southern coastal town of Gosport, Hampshire with 3 nearby beaches Gosport is a short 5 minute ferry ride to Historic Portsmouth and Gunwharf Quays which has over 90 designer retail outlets, 30 restaurants/cafes/bars, a 14 screen cinema, 26 lane bowling alley, Jongleurs Comedy Club, Grosvenor Casino, Tiger Tiger nightclub and the UK's second tallest accessible building The Spinnaker Tower making the property ideal for special get togethers, family holidays, business or crew accommodation.

Our prices are for up to 5 people over 3 bedrooms in a large 5ft king size bed within the master bedroom that can spilt to create singles, then 2 singles within the twin bedroom and a single bed in the smaller 3rd bedroom, plus we can accommodate 1 or 2 more people on bed settees. Additional guests over 5 are charged at a rate of £25 per week/part week, per head, or we charge £25 per set of extra linen requested.

More Details

Property Manager
Ken White
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
11 May, 2017

About Ken White

Complete Holiday Homes are a small professionally run friendly family business offering superior quality self catering holiday homes suitable for special get together, family holidays, business or crew accommodation in the southern coastal town of Gosport, Hampshire, alongside the historic naval city of Portsmouth, plus a lovely 2 bedroom apartment in the Portuguese Algarve. Whichever your destination we will strive to give the best possible service from point of booking on throughout your stay and will do our utmost to ensure your time at one of our properties is a memorable one.

Why Ken White chose Hampshire

Close proximity to Portsmouth's Historic Dockyard, home to The Mary Rose, Nelsons HMS Victory and the HMS Warrior is part of its appeal. With the addition of world class heritage sites, award-winning museums and historic trails, plus Fort Brockhurst, the 17th Century Village and the Alver Valley Wildgrounds, Gosport is packed full of surprises and interesting places. The Dockyard and the Spinnaker Tower are only a short 5 minute ferry ride away and with the retail outlet and leisure complex of Gunwharf Quays there is a range of options for those looking to explore, shop or simply relax and watch the boats go by.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Please see our website for guests comments including those registered to Trip Advisor
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Gosport in South East England

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • There is a downstairs cloakroom to the ground floor. On the second floor the master bedroom has an en-suite shower room with shower, wash hand basin and w.c. plus the main bathroom accommodates a bath, wash hand basin and w.c.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot , or 2 singles
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (3 Bedrooms) Guests over the party size of 5 are charged £25 per head per week/part week which is payable 45 days prior to arrival. Notes on bedrooms: To the master bedroom is a 5ft kingsize double bed that can split to create 2 singles with 2 singles to the twin bedroom and 1 single to the single bedroom. The master bedroom also has patio doors leading onto the balcony with uninterrupted harbour views.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • tennis
Notes:
Outside: The property is ideally positioned for walks along the foreshore or access into town and the short ferry ride from Gosport lands in Portsmouth Harbour and Gunwharf Quays which is home to the Spinnaker Tower from where you can stand on its splendid viewing platforms and look out over the water to The Isle of Wight and back inland as far as the eye can see. The area is also home to a number of forts, part of 'Palmerstons Follies', the then Prime Minister who commissioned these buildings to deal with or prevent another French invasion which subsequently never happened! These include Fort Brockhurst on land or The Spitbank Fort which sits in the middle of The Solent waters between Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight! Inland within a 5 minute drive we have The Wildgrounds or at Hillhead the Haven Nature Reserve and within a half hour drive The New Forest National Park and then the glorious chalk based South Downs. Alternatively you hop on a ferry for a day trip to The Isle of Wight or France! Utility Room: The separate utility room houses the washing machine, iron, ironing board etc and is situated off the hallway opposite the downstairs cloakroom. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen & towels are provided and are changed weekly with a mid week maid service available on request. Child cots and high chairs are also available at no cost. (If cots are provided guests are asked to please bring their child’s own bedding).

Reviews

4/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

5

Beautiful. Much nicer than the photos

  • 5 of 5

Lovely stay in Gosport. The property is really lovely with big picture windows over the harbour on all 3 levels. Shop 4 mins away and a decent take away. Pub 5 mins walk along the sea front. Nearby Explosion museum - perfect for family visit. Really a much better stay than I was expecting.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice location but requires maintenance

  • 3 of 5

We have been looking for an accomodation for our trip to Portsmouth and this seemed to be a good compromise. Walking distance to the ferry to Portsmouth but with a nice view and a bit out-of-town. The house at first sight seems to be lovely and the view from the garden is stunning but unfortunately it turned out to be not well maintained. Bed linen with stains, window leaking, pots and pans completely worn out, carpets need to be cleaned, lightbulbs not working, etc. Spoke to the agency and they professed that the property will be refurbished soon what would definitely move this property back up to a 4star rating. If so a lovely house for exploring Portsmouth and its attractions.

  • Review Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After this review we carried out a full inspection of the property and did find that ideally a couple of the saucepans could ideally be upgraded which was carried out straight away, along with replacing 2 light bulbs on the multi bulb chandeliers that were found to be blown. We did not find any bed linen with stains and we have not found a leaking window?.... We have since received 9 other fully positive 5 star positive reviews on Trip Advisor including one that was posted by guests whom stayed directly after the guests who left this review departed, so we are a miffed regarding some of the negative comments received. We always try our best to make guests stays as comfortable as possible and if there is ever anything we can do to help please just ask
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
May / June / July
18 May 2017 - 25 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
£730
for 5 nights
From
£146
£1,022
 
 
Summer
26 Jul 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£875
for 5 nights
From
£175
£1,228
 
 
Sept / Oct
4 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£730
for 5 nights
From
£146
£1,022
 
 
Oct Half Term
20 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£875
for 5 nights
From
£175
£1,228
 
 
Oct / Nov / Dec
30 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£585
for 5 nights
From
£117
£816
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,022
for 7 nights
£1,022
 
 
New Year
29 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£816
for 7 nights
£816
 
 
Jan / Feb
5 Jan 2018 - 8 Feb 2018
5 night minimum stay
£585
for 5 nights
From
£117
£816
 
 
Feb Half Term
9 Feb 2018 - 18 Feb 2018
5 night minimum stay
£730
for 5 nights
From
£146
£1,022
 
 
Feb / March
19 Feb 2018 - 25 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£585
for 5 nights
From
£117
£816
 
 
April / May / June / July
26 Mar 2018 - 22 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
£730
for 5 nights
From
£146
£1,022
 
 
Summer
23 Jul 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
£875
for 5 nights
From
£175
£1,228
 
 
Sept / Oct
3 Sep 2018 - 18 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
£730
for 5 nights
From
£146
£1,022
 
 
Oct Half Term
19 Oct 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
£875
for 5 nights
From
£175
£1,228
 
 
Oct / Nov / Dec
29 Oct 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
£585
for 5 nights
From
£117
£816
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,022
for 7 nights
£1,022
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£816
for 7 nights
£816
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£730
for 5 nights
From
£146
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £250
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

25% of rental to be paid at point of booking and the remaining 75% to be paid 45 days prior to arrival.

Deposit refunded within 7 days subject to no significant damages or excess cleaning.


Changeover Day - Flexible - Please contact us for details

Notes on prices:
Guests over the party size of 5 are charged £25 per head per week/part week which is payable 45 days prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable