OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

The Byre Farm Cottage In The Trossachs With Pool And Hot Tub



Updated: 01-Dec-2016
Farmhouse in Gartmore, Stirlingshire, Central Scotland - Peaceful Rural Location

The Byre at Back Borland holiday cottages. Situated in the fantastic location of the Trossachs National Park, these beautifully renovated 18th-century barn conversions, accessed via a rough track, lie in a peaceful location offering breathtaking views over Ben Lomond and the Menteith Hills. Gartmore is the perfect setting for those who love outdoor pursuits, with hundreds of kilometres of forest track easily accessible. Back Borland has two large fields, both with a stream running through them, in which guests are welcome to take children and/or dogs. The ‘endless’ swimming-pool provides optimal swimming conditions for a single swimmer and the current can be adjusted to a preferred level of difficulty. Even without the current, it still makes a lovely sized pool in which children can swim and have fun.

Please note that Back Borland is accessible by a farm track that may not be suitable for some vehicles with particularly low ground clearance e.g. sports cars etc..

  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Back Borland Holiday Cottages is run by Rosie Lang and her husband Dave. We provide great holiday accommodation, friendly service, in an amazing location.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Had a fantastic weekend break! So relaxing, & loved the personal touches as well as the 'endless' pool & hot tub. Highly recommend it & can't wait to come back!" - Julie, Glasgow 19-1-2014

"Beautiful cottage, loved the Cava & cake! Will definitely be back, & have already recommended the place!" Robert & Kelly, Glasgow, 3-1-2014

"Thank you for a lovely relaxing break, you made us feel really welcome. Cottage amazing, scenery amazing, hot tub amazing!" Ann & John, Chapel hall, 11-10-2013
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

6 Reviews

based on 6 holidaymaker reviews


A True Slice of Rural Heaven

  • 5 of 5

My wife, myself & my 5month old daughter were looking for a relaxing rural getaway to unwind & recharge our batteries.

We arrived at the cottage on the first day and were just totally blown away with how amazing & "tucked away" the place was...just what we were looking for!

Inside the cottage is extremely spacious with plenty of room for many more people than a single family.

The Kitchen came with all the cooking equipment you could need as well as cooking oil, seasonings, washing liquids ect... All the things you think "should we bring with us" before your stay.

The log burning stove is truly amazing!! The comfort of sitting in front of a fire while your inside is an indescribable feeling and it gives out one heck of a good heat too. I feel it's worth mentioning that the cottage is also equipped with central heating too which is good through the night when the log burner is off & especially when you have a baby.

The Hot tub & pool were the icing & cherry on top for us :) the view from the hot tub is jaw dropping and the only thing that beat the daytime view from the hot tub was the night time view. We were lucky enough to have crystal clear skies during our stay which meant we could sit in the hot tub at night & marvel at the view of the stars above us. For any stargazers out there who may be wondering...yes there is next to no light pollution & yes you can see the Milky Way.

The pool is a great size & warm, we would go for a swim & alternate between the pool & hot tub ever 1/2 hour or so...again AMAZING!

To summarise, the cottage was extremely tidy & well looked after, the beds were great & we slept like logs (All the time in the pool & hot tub may have helped with that lol)

The place is rural & surrounded by amazing scenery, fresh air & the quiet sound of nature.

My wife & I both agree this was a better trip away than even our honeymoon was....seriously!

We have never felt so relaxed & never experienced anything like the relaxing views from the hot tub.

Thank you Dave & Rosie for sharing your wee slice of heaven! We will definitely be returning :)

Mr & Mrs Sherry

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you both so much for such a fabulous review! We have been putting heart and soul into our business for 10 years now, and feedback like this makes it feel even more worthwhile. We fell in love with the location in 2003, and hope never to live anywhere else. It's a pleasure sharing the slice of heaven with people who feel the same way about it, and we look forward to welcoming you for your next stay. Many thanks again (& for leaving the cottage immaculate!), Rosie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was our 4th visit to the cottage, so that tells you somthing from the start. Age range 60 down to 3 year old and everyone in our party had a great time. WiFi is now fantastic and can keep you conected to the outside world if you so wish. Lots to do all very local, pleanty of places to eat out if you want. Rosie & Dave are fantastic hosts, and will go well beyond to make your stay as happy and peaceful. I read one comment below that stated they were unhappy. I can asure you all 100% if you have a problem ( And we all can from time to time ) then just ask Rosie or Dave and its sorted or addressed there and then. So to finnish of i am now just going to look at dates for our 5th visit. If you book i am 100% sure you will not be sorry and will have a fantastic holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very chilled 3night stay

  • 5 of 5

A warm greeting with home made cake and a bottle of bubbly, place was very clean and had lovely views, only downside is the mile long road which is very stoney for the car but other than that we throughly enjoyed our stay and would return 😀

  • Review Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review, Kathryn! It was a pleasure having you to stay, and we're so glad you enjoyed your short break. Hope to see you again in the future, Rosie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

fantastic....everything we wanted

  • 5 of 5

Lovely owners...beautiful views...large well equipped cottage...relaxing...nice walks...supermarkets delivery...only 30 mins from stirling...great for kids...familys or couples...hot tub outside under the stars and indoor pool...couldnt ask for more...will most definitley come back...x

  • Review Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Total relaxation

  • 4 of 5

Just back from a lovely relaxing week in The Byre. There were 7 of us, aged from 27 to 80 and we all loved it. As advertised the cottage is at the end of a farm track but as long as you drive slowly it's fine. It is just over a mile from Gartmore and we did several (!) walks to the Black Bull Hotel which serves great food and Liz & Andy, the owners, are so nice. The property was very clean and we were lucky to be the first occupants to use the property after its refurb which included new carpets and flooring thoughout. The hot tub was a great luxury and was used whenever we could. The property also included washing up liquid, toilet rolls, dishwasher tablets etc which was a surprise as it is a self catering apartment so we didn't expect this. Rosie and Dave were great - if we needed anything we just had to ask. The living/dining area definitely has the WOW factor and as my mum had not even seen any photos (it was a surprise holiday for her) she was speechless when we walked in. We were greeted with homemade flapjacks (thank you Rosie) and a bottle of Prosecco - my sort of welcome! Would highly recommend this property and I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review and kind comments. It was a delight having you all here, and there's always something particularly enjoyable about having 3 generations of a family to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Very disappointed

  • 2 of 5

On arrival we were all disappointed with this place, the road was terrible it was filled with pot holes, the car got stuck and we all to to get out and push it, which put us off right away, we were told by the owner that it would be fixed within the next few days, there was nothing done about it by the time we left, on entering the cottage we were not happy with cleanliness, as we noticed large cobwebs around the roof windows and also dust on inside of the windows which someone had wrote there names in and a dirty glass bottle with cigarettes sitting on the back step. The light bulb in the hallway was not working, there was no blind in the hallway, meaning anyone walking passed to there cars or the jacuzzi could see in and the cream carpet in the hallway was filthy. There was only one toilet roll in each toilet, which didnt last long and no kitchen paper at all.

As for the back door it was very dark with no outside lights and no lights outside the front door, as I tripped coming back in from the jacuzzi.

When I booked (a year before) it stated that the sauna was working but on arrival we were told it was broken, the shower in the pool area was disgusting, it was full of broken tiles and dirt and there was a rusty exercise bike sitting beside the pool, and to top it off we had to keep running in/out to chop wood as the heating seemed to be off more than it was on, as the timer was locked, and on leaving there was no-one to speak to as there was no answer at the owners house, for the price I paid I expected a lot better than this, I will not be returning and would not recommend this place at all.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: While we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday we feel you are maybe overstating your frustrations here. I'll address your points individually. The property is accessible via a farm track; we are clear in our advertising that cars with low ground clearance, such as yours, may not be suitable. The track had been damaged due to the extraordinary weather last year which affected communities and businesses throughout the UK. Remedial work was in the process of being carried out to which we had alerted you. This has now been completed. We have PIR lights throughout the property and I have tested these and all are working satisfactorily. We provide an initial supply of toilet rolls, and would gladly have supplied more on request. The property is cleaned to a very high standard between bookings, & we apologise if any details were missed. As part of continuous ongoing maintenance, the carpets have now been completely replaced throughout the property. The shower in the pool room was being decommissioned and has now been removed. The heating system, while completely automatic, is still easily user adjustable; you were shown how to operate this on arrival. We apologise for the lack of the Sauna; it hasn’t been advertised for a while. Some of the features of the property may have changed where the lead time from booking to arrival is long. Other changes in the last few years include: Free Wi Fi, Out Door Hot Tub, Large screen TV, Extra leather sofa. We aim to keep the property in good condition throughout and have completed a major refurbishment within the past fortnight including: New flooring in living area, New kitchen worktops, Super-fast Induction hob, Re-decoration of all bedrooms, hallway and landing, New blind in hallway. We do apologise profusely if we had missed anything and we do act upon any valid complaints. However little of this was brought to our attention despite your frequent trips to our door to complain about how isolated you felt in what is clearly advertised as a rural location. Happily, many of our guests return on a very regular basis, as we think many people appreciate the privacy afforded by being at the end of a track; the stunning views from the cottage and the hot tub, as well as the personal touches of a warm welcome, home baking and a bottle of fizz on arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4


From the Owner

Stunning location with high degree of privacy. Extremely centrally located. Loch Lomond 20 mins / 10 miles Glasgow 45 mins / 26 miles Stirling 30 mins / 20 miles Edinburgh 1 hour / 50 miles

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Glasgow at 26 Miles Nearest Barpub : The Black Bull, Gartmore at 1 Miles Nearest Golf : Aberfoyle at 3 Miles Nearest Train : Stirling at 20 Miles Nearest Restaurant : The Black Bull, Gartmore at 1 Miles Car: necessary


Glasgow and Edinburgh airports both about 1 hours drive. Car essential. Free parking.


Stirling 20 miles

Glasgow 26 miles

Edinburgh 50 miles

Further Details:

Fantastic central location for reaching lochs, mountains, cities, castles. Loch Lomond just 15 minutes drive; water sports and pony trekking both available locally. Good village pub.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 24
29 Oct 2016 - 19 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Rate 25
20 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Winter 17
4 Jan 2017 - 25 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
April 17
26 Mar 2017 - 29 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
May 17
30 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
June 17
27 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
July 17
1 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Summer 17
15 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Autumn 17
26 Aug 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Low season 17
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Festive 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10
Refundable Damage Deposit £75

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner. 25% deposit required to secure booking, balance due 6 weeks prior to arrival.

Changeover Day:
Please contact owner. Saturday is our usual changeover day, but we can be flexible with this. Please ask!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 01-Dec-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Peace and quiet, coupled with excellent leisure facilities seldom found shared between only 2 cottages.

Property Type

  • farmhouse


  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool


  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • forests
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • 2 en-suite toilet/shower rooms with the double rooms and 1 family bathroom with shower and jacuzzi bath


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 2 bedrooms with 1 double bed and 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds


  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle. Outside: Bespoke back garden area, BBQ available. Heated 'endless' swimming pool (16' x 10') and hot tub with fabulous views, shared with just one other cottage, each having 4 hours per day private use, as well as plenty of '1st come, 1st served' time. Utility Room: Washing machine and tumble drier available in adjacent garage Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen and towels supplied. Please bring extra towels if you are intending to use the leisure facilities.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot