OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Bungalow in quiet location with sea view, dogs welcome, private garden

Overview

Property

Updated: 25-Jun-2017
  • Sleeps 7
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Bungalow in Llangrannog, Ceredigion, Wales - 5 Minutes Walk To Beautiful Beaches, National Coast Path And National Trust Heritage Coastline

Morwelir occupies an elevated position above the popular holiday village of Llangrannog. It offers value for money accommodation in a glorious, quiet position and is surrounded by sun terrace , private garden and mountainside. The property has been in my family for 40 years and we have been letting it out for at least 25 years with many guests returning year after year, we hope you will be one of them.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Linda Synge
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
25 June, 2017

About Linda Synge

If you have got this far with my advert I hope you like what you see and are considering our property for your holiday. As a family we have had many happy times in Morwelir over the years, and put a good deal of thought and hard work into it. I hope my character is reflected in the property, flaws and wonky bits as well as the sleek and smooth bits!

Linda Synge purchased this bungalow in 1960

Why Linda Synge chose Ceredigion

I had my 2nd birthday at Bywell a house in the main village that my parents rented by chance because my mother loved Cornwall, and someone said that Llangrannog was very like Cornwall but a good deal nearer from our home in Warwickshire. We came every year after that. One day we walked up the track past Morwelir to picnic in the fields at the top and my mum spotted a grubby postcard in the window saying 'for sale'. My father bought Morwelir at auction in 1967 for £2000! Since taking over the property I have been trying to modernise and update it and all profit is used for repairs and improvements.

What makes this bungalow unique

As soon as I arrive at Morwelir I know why I love this place. Come wind, rain or glorious sunshine it is fun to be in. I love the fact that you can have an almost car free holiday just walking down to the beach for the day, it makes such a change from zooming everywhere in the car.

Llangrannog is a lovely safe village where children can have some independence and buy ice creams and things from the shop without parents always being right behind them.

People say isn't it boring to keep coming back to the same place but I still find places that I haven't been to and new things to do every year.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Bungalow far exceeded our expectations and had a lovely time in Llangrannog, as ever, nice to get away in peaceful surroundings with great views. Ps. When I win the lottery I will make Linda an offer she can't refuse for the property as we loved it. Oct 13



Morwelir is a lovely, quaint cottage in a beautiful location and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. May 13



The house is basic but comfortable- you get what you pay for, but has a great family feel to the place. Surprisingly big rooms too. We just stayed 2 nights, wish it was longer. May 12
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 1

Guestbook comments from the owner

Bungalow far exceeded our expectations and had a lovely time in Llangrannog, as ever, nice to get away in peaceful surroundings with great views. Ps. When I win the lottery I will make Linda an offer she can't refuse for the property as we loved it. Oct 13



Morwelir is a lovely, quaint cottage in a beautiful location and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. May 13



The house is basic but comfortable- you get what you pay for, but has a great family feel to the place. Surprisingly big rooms too. We just stayed 2 nights, wish it was longer. May 12
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 1

14 Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

5

Happy Holidays

  • 5 of 5

We visit regularly at various times of year and appreciate the recent improvements. We love the location so close to the village but also giving us peace and quiet at the end of a busy day. The views from the front are fantastic. A warm comfortable place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had another good holiday. Thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderful break

  • 5 of 5

If we had not have known that the property was in the progress of being done up we would have been disappointed. However, knowing this, we went prepared and found the property was homely and had everything we needed. It is in a wonderful situation, the village and beach are a short stroll away The pathway next to the house was great for walking the dog in the mornings and led to some beautiful cliff top views. We are looking forward to returning to Llangranog and also seeing the progress with the bungalow. Thank you Lynda for ensuring we had a lovely stay!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and are thinking of returning some day. PS The dishwasher had somehow got switched off behind itself! Sorry for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Too run down inside of house, out front nice, back of property shabby.

  • 2 of 5

Llangranog is a beautiful place with a beautiful beach, but would not stay at the same property. Tried to take one of the walks out of one of the books that were available, only to find the book 16 years out of date. The house is not up to a very good standard inside or out back.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the property or the selection of walk books. We have many guests who return year after year, i hope you have better luck with your next holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A comfortable, homely property with beautiful views of the sea and the surrounding countryside

  • 4 of 5

We had a short 3 day trip with my wife and 2 boys and a close friend and his wife and son. It was ideal for us with easy access to local beaches and via a short walk down the hill. Very safe for the kids. The house was ideal for us as the two couples had a room each with the plenty of space in the large attic room available for all the kids to share. The accommodation was homely but basic. This suited us. It wasn't luxurious, but that wasn't what I was looking for, as I didn't want the kids to have to worry about anything. The place was easy for us to look after and with a dishwasher we could easily put all the breakfast things in the there to get clean while we were out on the beach.

We were there during the Easter break so the wood burning stove was great for keeping us all toasty while we played board games later in the evenings. I particularly liked the patio chairs and tables towards the front of the house. Great for having a morning cup of coffee overlooking one of the best views in the world.

The village is small with a couple of good places to eat, two pubs and one small shop but to be honest that was all we needed. The roads there are very narrow so I would advise parking up outside the house for the duration of your stay and only use the car when absolutely necessary.

The owner was very helpful in her communication but the "owners direct" website less so. I certainly plan to go again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Stunning views

  • 5 of 5

If you want to stay in a quiet location with stunning views, then this is the place for you. Just 5-10 minute stroll into the village, where there are 2 pubs, 2 cafes and a small general store. The cottage is also comfortably equipped with all the usual mod cons. A perfect place to sit, relax and watch the world go by.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed the property, I agree the views are lovely and it's so peaceful.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location for a long weekend break for 2 adults.

  • 5 of 5

We booked this as a last minute, long weekend break at the end of March. The property is in a great location, 10 mins walk to the beach or the coast path in either direction. For a couple staying here, the property had everything we needed (we are simple folk) it was clean and felt very homely, We will certainly be back. Fantastic weather, great walks, good pubs and amazing coast path views. Even had the urge to do one of the jigsaws there... which nearly resulted in having to book an extra night!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed Llangrannog, it is a lovely place for a holiday. Do hope you will both be back for another visit before long. We can often arrange dates at short notice.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

I had my 2nd birthday at Bywell a house in the main village that my parents rented by chance because my mother loved Cornwall, and someone said that Llangrannog was very like Cornwall but a good deal nearer from our home in Warwickshire. We came every year after that. One day we walked up the track past Morwelir to picnic in the fields at the top and my mum spotted a grubby postcard in the window saying 'for sale'. My father bought Morwelir at auction in 1967 for £2000! Since taking over the property I have been trying to modernise and update it and all profit is used for repairs and improvements.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Barpub : Llangrannog at 0.5 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Llangrannog at 1 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Llangrannog at 0.5 Kilometres Nearest Ski : Dry ski slope, Llangrannog at 1 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Llangrannog, 5-10 minutes walk. at 0.5 Kilometres

Coast/Beach:

The seaside fishing village with its 2 beautiful beaches is a 5 minute walk away down the narrow single track lane (quarter of a mile) please allow 10 minutes to walk back up to the property. The National coast path can also be accessed from the village, and there are many lovely walks in the area both coastal and inland.

Travel:

A car is essential to access the property but not necessary for your holiday if you so choose. The nearest airport is Cardiff (about 60 miles) Car hire would be essential. Fishguard has a regular car ferry service from Ireland and is about 35 miles away.

Distances:

The village centre is quarter of a mile away. The nearest town is the ancient market town of Cardigan this is 12 miles away. Aberaeron with it's pretty harbour is 14 miles up the coast. There are many beautiful beaches up and down the coast, Penbryn is a National Trust beach and is 3 miles south of Llangrannog.

Further Details:

In Llangrannog there are 2 pubs offering food, 2 cafés and a small general stores. 2 miles away in Brynhoffnant is a good small supermarket and petrol store. The Urth (youth) Centre is just outside the village and offers dry slope skiing and other activities.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
June
2 Jun 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£150
for 2 nights
From
£75
£500
 
 
High Summer
30 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
September
1 Sep 2017 - 28 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£150
for 2 nights
From
£75
£500
 
 
October
29 Sep 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£140
for 2 nights
From
£70
£490
 
 
Winter
27 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£120
for 2 nights
From
£60
£400
 
 
Christmas & New Year
22 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£300
for 4 nights
From
£75
£500
 
 
Winter/Spring
5 Jan 2018 - 1 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£120
for 2 nights
From
£60
£400
 
 
Spring
2 Mar 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£140
for 2 nights
From
£70
£490
 
 
Easter
30 Mar 2018 - 6 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£490
for 7 nights
£490
 
 
Early Summer
7 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£140
for 2 nights
From
£70
£490
 
 
Mid Summer
25 May 2018 - 28 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
£160
for 2 nights
From
£80
£525
 
 
High Summer
29 Jun 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
September 2018
31 Aug 2018 - 27 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
£160
for 2 nights
From
£80
£525
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£150
for 2 nights
From
£75
£490
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Changeover Day:
Friday. Bookings cannot straddle a Friday unless your stay is for 2 weeks. Short break bookings need to start on a Friday or Saturday and end before the next Friday.
Important. Please provide your own bed linen and towels.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Avg/night
Enquire Now
Updated: 25-Jun-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

As soon as I arrive at Morwelir I know why I love this place. Come wind, rain or glorious sunshine it is fun to be in. I love the fact that you can have an almost car free holiday just walking down to the beach for the day, it makes such a change from zooming everywhere in the car. Llangrannog is a lovely safe village where children can have some independence and buy ice creams and things from the shop without parents always being right behind them. People say isn't it boring to keep coming back to the same place but I still find places that I haven't been to and new things to do every year.

Property Type

  • bungalow

General

  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Entertainment

  • Television

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • golf
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Small family bathroom with bath and in bath shower, wash basin and airing cupboard. Separate WC.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Double bedroom - 1 Double Bed
  • Twin room downstairs - 2 Single Bed
  • Attic bedroom upstairs - 3 Single Bed, Open staircase in this room.
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 ground floor, with sea and mountain view and double bed, Bedroom 2 ground floor, with twin beds, Bedroom 3 upstairs,sea and mountain view with 3 single beds, this room is great fun for children but not toddlers as it has an open staircase.

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Max. adults: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please smoke outside and clear all smoking litter away.
  • Please clear dog mess at all times while in Llangrannog. Dog wardens patrol the lanes and beaches.

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: The property has recently been re floored with a smart wood effect laminate floor throughout the ground floor. The accommodation is bright and cheerful. Outside: There is a patio/ terraced area round the property which gets sun most of the day and is a good place for an evening drink while watching the sunset go down over the sea. Over the track is a separate garden with a picnic bench and table and an area for barbecues. After Morwelir the road becomes a grass track and footpath up the mountain. Some garden chairs are kept in a cupboard in the house as well as a large garden cushion for the terrace. Utility Room: No utility room Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The property is cleaned after every let. Please bring your own bed linen and towels. There are plenty of pillows and one double and 5 single duvets and plenty of extra rugs and blankets. Other: Please note Morwelir is not a luxury property, we are in the process of upgrading and modernising and this is reflected in our prices. It is comfortable, clean and well equipped and provides an excellent family holiday base.