OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Comfortably Furnished Waterside Apartment Sunny Balcony & Harbour Views. ,

Overview

Property

Updated: 10-Nov-2016
Very comfortable apartment in Sovereign Harbour, Eastbourne , East Sussex - ideal all year round! - Quiet Location, Yet Close To All Amenities, 5 Minutes Walk To The Beach And Waterfront Restaurant

Waterside is a modern apartment in a purpose built apartment block, situated at the water's edge in Sovereign Harbour North. The views across the harbour are lovely! It is well furnished and equipped, and very welcoming at any time of the year. It is particularly cosy in wintertime. LONG WINTER LETS WELCOMED - prices flexible for winter lets OVER 4 WEEKS. BT WiFi, freeview 32" TV and DvD player. We like to keep the property as if it were our own home, and furnishings and decorations are regularly refreshed and updated. The balcony is a lovely place to sit particularly on summer evenings, The apartment is on the first level above a ground floor garage area, and benefits from a lift right up to the front door.

The harbour has a wide range of amenities, including waterfront restaurants, bars and shops just a short walk away. There is a shopping centre including a multiplex cinema, a large supermarket, fashion outlets and a pharmacy all nearby - a further 10 minutes' level walk away.

The harbour was built around 20 years ago and is now the largest composite marina in northern Europe. We welcome yachts from all over the world, and for European sailors we are the first arrival point on the south coast.

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We are a people - friendly couple in our 60's. We have travelled extensively and enjoy helping others to get as much out of their holidays as we do!

We love travelling and getting to know the places we visit, and having lived in East Sussex for over 20 years, we know the area very well, and feel we are well qualified to help our visitors to get the most out our their stay with us.

We have run our holiday letting business for over 8 years and enjoy the hands-on approach and meeting all our visitors personally wherever possible. To that end, we always send a personal email once the final balance is paid, including DRIVING DIRECTIONS!

We look forward to meeting you!

Call Owner
Speaks English, French, Spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lovely flat, beautifully presented - the balcony is the perfect place for breakfast!

Lovely apartment with every possible comfort, the welcome bottle of wine and fresh flowers were very nice (family from France)

This is a 5 star apartment, very, very good. We both felt at home and absolutely loved staying here.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 1

2 Reviews

2 holidaymaker reviews

5

Excellant apartment

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week over New Year. The weather was awful but the apartment was lovely and warm. It had a lovely view across the harbour from all windows, the balcony and terrace. The apartment was spotlessly clean. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. It is only a short walk to the bars and restaurants and the retail shopping area (about 10/15 minutes depending on your pace). We met Bonnny one of the owners who was very helpful with enquiries during the booking process and upon our arrival. We hope to book again very soon.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sue for such a nice review. We are so glad you had a good stay at Waterside in spite of the terrible wet weather. We think the property works as well for summer and winter alike, and it's nice to see that our visitors agree!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely peaceful apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay in this apartment over Christmas 2015 with my elderly mother-in-law. The apartment itself is well appointed, with comfortable rooms, a well-equipped kitchen and spacious lounge/dining room. The views over the marina are peaceful and pretty and there's very little noise either from upstairs or the path outside. It's a short walk from the apartment to the seaside (pebble beach), a cafe and pub, a multiplex cinema and various shops including a large supermarket. Altogether, a conveniently located, pretty, peaceful apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Neil fir your lovely review - we are so glad you had such a good stay at Waterside. Kind regards Bonny and Gordon
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

From the Owner

We originally bought our apartment on Sovereign Harbour as part of a downsizing exercise and as a "lock up and go" home, as we love travelling. Our children commented that staying in the apartment was like being on a great holiday, so why go anywhere else? We love living on the harbour so much that we bought a second apartment in the same building to live in (when we aren't travelling) and letting out our original home, which has the benefit of two balconies and is really great for year round vacations. It is a real "Home from Home" and is welcoming and cosy especially in winter. The area has a lot to offer - there are areas of outstanding natural beauty with fabulous views and well marked country walks as well as historic towns and villages all in the immediate area.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : London Gatwick at 30 Miles Nearest Barpub : There are several on the Harbour at 100 Metres Nearest Ferry : Newhaven (to Dieppe, France) at 15 Miles Nearest Golf : Pevensey at 1 Miles Nearest Train : Eastbourne at 4 Miles Nearest Motorway : M23 / A 23 at 20 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Several on the Harbour (the Waterfront) at 100 Metres Nearest Beach : Sovereign Harbour Beach at 50 Metres Car: not necessary

Coast/Beach:

Our local beach is a 5 minute stroll from the apartment! many other South Coast beaches are between 20 minutes and 1 hour distant, with family restaurants located on many of them. Most of the beaches are shingle, with sand at low tide, however during the violent storms of 2013 / 14, many more sandy areas were exposed by the waves - so this could be a voyage of discovery for you!

Travel:

Our nearest airport is London Gatwick (around 90 minutes away) To hire a car is probably the most convenient, but not essential. If you don't wish to hire a car, there are regular trains between Gatwick and Eastbourne. The taxi fare from Eastbourne station to Waterside is approximately £6. Buses run into town from just outside the apartment.

The nearest Channel port (to Dieppe) is at Newhaven, approximately 20 minutes' drive away. Again, there is a train service from Eastbourne to Newhaven.

Distances:

The Sovereign Harbour shopping complex is about 10 minutes' walk from Waterside. Eastbourne town centre is about 4 miles away, where there are 2 theatres, an excellent selection of restaurants and bars, and some good shopping!

There are a number of places of interest including the former homes of many famous people, including Virginia Woolf and Rudyard Kipling in the area, and our ancient Downland villages mostly have an old English pub, serving locally brewed beers and excellent hearty meals.

Further Details:

East Sussex has been on the political map since Julius Caesar landed just up the road in Pevensey in AD 48. You can still see the Roman foundations of nearby Pevensey Castle, which was improved and strengthened by William of Normandy "The Conqueror" in 1066. It was in use right up to the end of WW2 as a garrison for Canadian soldiers and used as a look-out point.

Further inland, there are a number of "stately homes", one of which, Firle Place, was built with Caen Limestone, which was introduced by the Normans into England after their arrival, to build castles, strongholds and cathedrals.

Other historic houses - Penshurst Place, Henry VIII's hunting lodge, and beautiful Hever Castle, the home of Anne Boleyn, both near Tonbridge in Kent. Batemans with its beautiful gardens, the former home of Rudyard Kipling, in the village of Burwash,is now owned by the National Trust. Visit www.thenationaltrust.org.uk for more places of interest!

Two art galleries well worth visiting: The Towner in Eastbourne, and The Jerwood in Old Hastings and both showing many important works

The town of Brighton, around 25 miles to the west, also on the sea, is a great place for a visit. Originally a fishing village, in the early 19th century it became a popular resort, thanks to the Prince Regent (who later became King George IVth) who fancied a small residence by the sea, and created the world famous Brighton Pavilion, an exuberant extravagance. Brighton is also known for its quirky shopping streets "The Lanes" - the whole town is well worth a visit! (can be visited by train or bus if you don't have a car)

Closer to home, there are as previously mentioned a good selection of supermarkets and other outlets close by, and many others - Tesco, and Sainsbury's to name just two, within a couple of miles from the apartment.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate10
11 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Rate11
23 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£725
for 7 nights
£725
 
 
Rate12
6 Jan 2017 - 27 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Rate13
28 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
Rate14
26 May 2017 - 12 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£725
for 7 nights
£725
 
 
Rate15
13 Oct 2017 - 9 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
Rate16
10 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Rate17
22 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£725
for 7 nights
£725
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
From
£78
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
£200 non refundable deposit on booking- we welcome payments using your debit or credit card via Paypal!
The balance is due 6 weeks prior to your arrival.
We also take a £100 refundable deposit against damage, and this is refunded within 10 days of the end of your stay.
English sterling cheques are of course welcome. Cheques to be made payable to Mrs F B Jameson.
Are your chosen dates already booked? Contact us, we may still be able to help!
PLEASE NOTE!
THIS IS A STRICTLY NON-SMOKING APARTMENT!
GUESTS ARE ASKED TO VACATE THE PROPERTY NO LATER THAN 10.00AM ON THE DATE OF DEPARTURE, LEAVING THE PROPERTY IN A CLEAN AND TIDY STATE.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday. Regret we cannot be flexible on this.
Arrival time can be any time from midday onwards on the Saturday.
Departure time by 10.00 am at the latest on the Saturday.

Notes on prices:
During the months of November to March (Excluding Christmas and the New Year) for periods of four weeks or more, Speak to us about prices!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 10-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Waterside" is situated right on Sovereign harbour, between the marina and the beach. It is extremely well equipped and very comfortably furnished, all bedlinen and bath towels are provided, and a small welcome pack is included with our complements. We hope we have thought of everything you might need for your stay, whether its just a week, or perhaps a bit longer. For stays of more than one week fresh linen and towels are provided. For stays of three weeks or more, our cleaners will come in every two weeks. It is on the first level, with secure designated parking in the ground floor garage (electric gate entry). There is a lift from the garage directly up to the apartment, and we frequently welcome wheelchair users who have commented on how comfortable they have been. There are two outside areas, one bang smack on the water's edge, giving lovely views across the marina to the pretty green hills beyond.

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Lift ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
  • waterfront

Attractions

  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite to master bedroom, fully tiled throughout, with shower, toilet and basin. Family bathroom, fully tiled, with bathtub (shower head fitted), toilet and basin.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with king sized double and en-suite shower/toilet, second bedroom with twin beds.

Outside

  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: The accommodation is not really suitable for children under the age of six, and regrettably pets of any kind are forbidden in the apartment building as a whole. This is a Strictly Non-Smoking apartment! There is plenty of crockery, cutlery and glass, more than enough for 4! There is a tumble dryer (integral with the washing machine)There are clothes racks and a line in the family bathroom. Outside: There is one private balcony overlooking the marina and accessed from both the master bedroom and the living room. The outside seating area that is accessed from the second bedroom is shared with other residents on the same floor. In reality, this area is seldom used to capacity. We have seating on both balconies for 4 people, so no need to move furniture around! Both these areas are planted with potted summer flowering plants. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bath towels and bed linen are provided. The property is presented as immaculate and freshly cleaned, and for visitors staying more than 1 week a Saturday cleaning service is offered with a change of bed linen and towels, at no extra charge. Other: Are your chosen dates un available? Contact us, we may still be able to help!!

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot