OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

5* LUXURY - Hotub/sea/Forest/pubs/Village/park/sailing/tennis

People12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Peaceful Retreat with excellent access to amenities and motorways.Nr Chichester/Portsmouth

'Harbourways' is a unique, bright, spacious, newly renovated architect designed house. Set in the heart of the sort after village of Emsworth and adjacent to the beautiful mill pond. Excellent transport networks: bus and trains 2 and 5 minutes walk respectively. 0.5 km from the beach and an exceptionally well equipped village containing: restaurants (from good value eateries, kebab, pizza, Italian, Indian, Chinese, fish and chips, through to Michelin Star), cafes, butchers, 8 pubs, banks, hairdressers, charity shops, gift shops, delicatessen, large co-op with post office, Tesco, cobblers, chemists, antique shops, book shops, dry cleaners, ironmonger, museum, bicycle shop, doctor's surgery and more.

House always ready. 48 ft long lounge opens via v-fold doors onto a large south facing garden with large private hot tub house, BBQ, climbing frame, covered play area and more. Spacious bespoke ash and quartz kitchen open out to a large garden via 15ft oak french doors. American style fridge freezer with drink/ ice maker, all mod cons including built-in convection, microwave, steam ovens lots of spare cooking utensils, cutlery, glasses and table ware. Additional items include: ice cream maker, slow cooker, pasta machine, toaster, fondue, chocolate fondue, pop-corn machine, food warmers and ice buckets

Fresh ground coffee always available.

Everything new (including the beds and bedding) or antique. New thick pile carpets.

The open plan nature of the house and excellent access throughout the entire ground floor lends itself to family gatherings who can sit, talk and relax together whilst also providing lots of space and accessibility for young children.

Music area containing piano, guitar and more.

Log fire. Newly installed gas central heating throughout, powerful Bosch boiler to ensure constant hot water! Plenty of new spare duvets and blankets. New double glazing throughout. Bathrooms can also be en-suite.

Safe garden, peaceful location. Extremely popular for dog walking and children with the foreshore at the bottom of the road! Great area for running.

We are keen to make the house accessible, please let us know if you have additional requirements. Ramps and other assistance available. A complete guide to the house provided at any stage of the booking process - please feel free to contact the owner for further information or clarification.

Generally a Min 3 nights for weekend (£32/ppn) unless last minute and we have availability, which is are - can then leave anytime Sunday or Monday. Known to be incredible value for the hot tub and location.

More Details

Property Manager
Martine Walling
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French, German, Italian
Calendar last updated:
20 June, 2017

About Martine Walling

Harbourways

What makes this house unique

The house is in an enviable position, equidistant between the shore and village giving the best of relaxation and convenience on every level. Reviews reflect that Harbourways is unique in its ability to cater for families 0-100 years old!

Guestbook comments from the manager

“Super summer holiday - tons of space for in-laws and grandchildren on both sides!”



5 of 5 stars Reviewed today for a stay in August 2016







What a beautiful house with all mod cons, we love to cook and the kitchen is first rate, not only beautiful with bars stools and white leather sofas but utensils falling out of every cupboard! The children loved the playhouse, climbing frame, play parks, forest and foreshore and trampoline park. The sea really is on your door step and the village of Emsworth ( a few minutes walk) has it all - the amenities at the property and in the village are superb. The owner was incredibly helpful and even sent us money off vouchers for all the local attractions - too many to see in one trip. Thank you Martine, thank you Emsworth.





5 of 5 stars Ease of booking 5 of 5 stars Directions to the property

5 of 5 stars Key pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 stars Overall condition

5 of 5 stars Quality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen/utensils quality

5 of 5 stars Cleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 stars Quality of facilities/amenities

5 of 5 stars Service





Liked best: Catered for all age groups, verstile sleeping arrangements, beautiful setting and location





Travelling group: Extended Family





Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.



Recommended for:

Friends getaway People with disabilities

Older travelers Families with young children

Large groups People with pets





The property was "as advertised".

I recommend the location.

The property was a good value for the price paid.

The property provided wifi/internet access.

My security deposit was returned on time.





Less



Was this review helpful? Yes



This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 11

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Emsworth in South East England

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • New travertine family bathroom/wet room upstairs with bath and shower - can also be en-suite to main bedroom. New large wet room downstairs also has access to ground-floor bedroom with wheelchair access from the general living space, non-slip slate floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Flexible sleeping arrangements Notes on bedrooms: 4 large bedrooms. Upstairs; 30ft family bedroom with a Kingsize bed and sofa bed, a 20ft triple room with adult bunk beds and a single and a 3rd bedroom with extra king size bed. Large double downstairs with on-suite.Hair-dryers, storage, chairs and lamps etc.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: State of the art ovens and hob including steam oven and built in microwave. Large American Style Fridge Freezer. Full instruction pack provided. Full TV package. Fast fibre-optic broadband. New top of the range boiler for constant heating and hot water, modern floor to ceiling radiators. Children's equipment available. Brand new BBQ. Some pets allowed, but please contact owner in advance. Secure parking. Large safe front and back gardens - lush south facing rear garden. Outside: V-fold doors from 48ft lounge open completely back to expose a large south facing garden with large private Jacuzzi, BBQ, climbing frame, covered play area and more. 15ft hand-made oak doors also open directly out from the kitchen to the rear garden. Utility Room: Utility built into very large kitchen contains washer/dryer, ironing board etc. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Fresh white linen and towels provided throughout. Tea towels, oven gloves, dish clothes, washing up liquid and dishwasher tables etc provided. The property is cleaned and hot tub serviced for each stay. Other: The size of the lounge cannot be underestimated for ease of access - we like to go out of our way to help families with additional needs.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

4

Accommodation was adequate for our party of eleven. The location was excellent.

  • 4 of 5

There were plenty of varied activities for everyone: The museum at Portsmouth was popular; the Southdowns National Park was excellent; children liked crabbing in the harbour etc. Local amenities were within easy walking distance and we made use of the Indian restaurant and the fish and chip shop as well as the supermarkets. (Cooking facilities in the house were not brilliant for so many people and a coffee machine would have been nice.)

Maintenance on the house and garden seemed a bit neglected and the grass hadn't been cut for some time. Also the barbecue was dirty from the last visitors so we didn't use it. The bunk beds were only suitable for small children so we had to make use of a sofa bed in the sitting room for one of the bigger children.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed some of the great activities on your doorstep and thought the position of the house was excellent. You are right, we hadn't been able to cut the grass due to the typical Easter rains, but I'm glad to say the gardeners are back to their weekly visits! Thank you for pointing out there was a drip in the downstairs bathroom so that we could rectify it. The contract does mention the BBQ needs to be left clean so I'm sorry you were let down by previous visitors. We always strive to improve, so we have now provided an obvious kit for this purpose and it has been added to the maintenance checklist. The bunks do have full-size single mattresses as I have just replaced two of them but I'm glad you were able to use one of the two sofa beds not listed in the headcount. The one thing I was surprised to hear was that you were not happy with the cooking facilities as there is a full size built-in steam oven and a built in combination oven with grill, convention and microwave as well as a large hob and lots of additional means of cooking such as slow cooker, portable induction hobs, steamers, professional food warmers and chocolate fountain to name a few. I have taken your comments on board and will make these more obvious within the kitchen. With regards to a coffee machine, the cafetiere is in the kitchen by the kettle. I will be looking into providing an additional coffee machine as well. Thank you so much for your feedback, it really does allow me to keep on improving our lovely property!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great spacious rental close to all amenties

  • 5 of 5

We can see from the guest book that we are one of the many returners to this great find! With most rentals you expect a bit of tiredness after a couple of years but not this one - very new bar stools, new dinning chairs galore and fresh new bedding for a start! Martine's communication was fantastic from start to finish, instructions were very detailed and clear. Emsworth has to be one of the dream holiday locations in the UK, especially being so close to Portsmouth and Chichester, where can you find the shore and all amenties within easy walking distance, literally on your door step.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely to host you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home in a great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful, and the hot tub was a treat. Martine was always responsive and the instructions given were detailed and clear. Emsworth is also a surprise find - so close to London yet not on many people's radar.

Can definitely recommend - we hope to return soon!

Liam

  • Review Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Even better than we expected!

  • 5 of 5

This house is perfect for a relaxed group get away. Plenty of space for everyone to relax in, well stocked kitchen equipment & everything you need for a chilled break. Ideal location & Martine is a friendly, helpful host. Highly recommend 😊

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic house that caters for little ones

  • 5 of 5

This house ticked all the boxes for a friends get together. We had 4 couples and and 3 children aged 3 and under and there was more than enough space for all of us!

The home was clean and tidy on our arrival and the facilities were amazing. We couldn't believe how well it catered for children from high chairs and travel cot to plastic plates and cutlery and a selection of toys, we need not have bought half our stuff with us!

The hot tub was gorgeous and relaxing for the adults.

Would highly recommend for group get togethers, our group is rapidly expanding but would still envisage us fitting in this house for a little while yet!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Highly recommend,divine,well equipped,fab location

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house, it caters for everybody literally. We are an extended family to include children and grandchildren. First of all, a very big thank you to the owners, customer service was excellent, we've never had such good communication for any holiday from start through to post finish. They seemed to have insight into our needs that we hadn't even considered. Our son has cerebral palsy and the downstairs bedroom with access to en-suite, discrete portable ramps, wide open doors and spaces made life a lot easier for him and us. My husband loves to cook on holiday and was mightily impressed with the very well-equipped kitchen with three ovens. The grandchildren also loved the wide open spaces inside and out. We've never been to a holiday home with so many children's books. The fab breakfast/cocktail bar was a great place to relax when the youngsters were in bed. This really is a large luxurious house with a very well thought out design. The layout meant it was always easy to keep an eye on the mature and the young and the particular created a very well naturally lit house with the amazing French doors that opened out into the back garden. Lots of people have commented on her views about the location being to die for and it really is it's incredibly beautiful in so many ways. The area is stuffed with culture and you will find all manner of leisure activities within reach of this cool pad. We've never seen so many pubs and cafes in a genuine village, you must head to the Quay for Flintstones ice cream and we can also recommend the Bluebell pub fish and chips - in fact here we bumped into a lady who had been a victim of the floods a few years ago and she couldn't say enough about the owners who gave up their home for free until she was re-housed, this sums out hosts up I think! We loved all the small things as well such as mattresses, linen, carpets, huge TV, versatile lighting, deep deep bath , how many plates and glasses do you need, all shapes and sizes. The property was spotless, as described and excellently presented. Lastly, Daisy the dog had to be dragged into the car rather than back down to the sea - only a few steps away. Can definitely recommend for all!

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gillian, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback - it really is helpful to us and potential guests to see how wonderful the area is - I'm glad our hard work on the house gives so much pleasure - that is our aim always. Your and your lovely extended family are welcome back anytime! Thank you for leaving the house so well. Thank you, Martine
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
April/May
21 Apr 2017 - 13 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£900
for 3 nights
From
£300
From
£390
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,500
 
 
July 1
16 Jul 2017 - 20 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,320
for 3 nights
From
£440
 
 
Summer 2017
21 Jul 2017 - 7 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,395
for 7 nights
£2,395
 
 
Goodwood Rivial
8 Sep 2017 - 10 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 3 nights
From
£450
 
 
Sept/october
11 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£960
for 3 nights
From
£320
From
£390
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,300
 
 
October half term
20 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 7 nights
£1,750
 
 
October/Nov/Dec
27 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£960
for 3 nights
From
£320
£1,400
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£2,000
for 4 nights
From
£500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£870
for 3 nights
From
£290
From
£380
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,300
£4,000
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £350
Pet Fee £15

Booking Notes:
Hot tub is refreshed for each guest so please advise if required during your stay.


Changeover Day:
Flexible but often Friday or Saturday. Arrival after 3pm and departure at 10am. Late check outs can sometimes be arranged but will incur a fee as the house cannot be let that night. Weekend rates are a minimum of £380 pn and a minimum of 3 nights.

Notes on prices:
Terms and Conditions-Prices. A non-refundable deposit of 33% is required at the time of booking. The balance is payable 8 weeks prior to first day of commencement of stay along with a precautionary security deposit of £300 - refundable no later than 14 days after the end of stay.Late check outs can sometimes be arranged - graduated fees.
Cancellation conditions:Up to 12 weeks before – no charge. 8-12 weeks – 75% of total booking. 4-8 weeks – 50% of total booking. Less than 4 weeks – no refund.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable