OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Seabirds House - 4 Lovely Holiday Flats with Best Possible Sea Views In St Ives - Flat 1 Sleeps 5 (2 Bedrooms)

Overview

Property

Updated: 03-Dec-2016
Apartments in St Ives, Cornwall, England - Less Than 5 Minutes Walk From Porthmeor Porthgwidden And The Harbour Beaches, Shops And Restaurants

Seabirds House is a large Edwardian sea-captain's house with a very commanding position overlooking St Ives and the sea in all directions. The views are superb - even window cleaners are amazed by them! It’s almost unique in St Ives to be able to see both the crashing waves on the Porthmeor surf beach, and the sheltered harbour beach – and you can see right around St Ives Bay and down the north Cornwall coast too. Godrevy Terrace is quiet with very little passing traffic - you'll only hear the wind, the seagulls and the sea itself. Yet it's 2 or 3 minutes down the hill to the lively heart of this bustling little holiday town, and equally quick to get to the 3 main beaches. It takes a little longer to walk back up the very steep hill - so Seabirds may not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems. The flats are bright and modern, comfortable and convenient with everything you need for a holiday, but we don't claim to provide "luxury" accommodation and we don't have dishwashers or very posh kitchens so our prices are reasonable. Our 2 bedroom, family flats do have washer/dryers and allocated parking spaces, and there’s a garage that can be hired by anyone staying in one of our other flats.

Details for holiday apartment Flat 1 Sleeps 5 (2 Bedrooms), 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, 1 Bathroom

Flat 1, on the ground floor of Seabirds House, sleeps up to 5 people in 2 bedrooms. The larger bedroom has a double and a single bed, the other bedroom a double.

The large sitting/dining room has expansive sea views right round from Porthmeor and "the Island" to the harbour and Bay. It has a door to a large raised private terrace with the same amazing views. The terrace has decking with a table and chairs for outdoor eating and a large area covered with local Gunwalloe gravel. There’s TV with Freeview, a DVD player, and broadband internet access.

The kitchen is well equipped with gas hob, electric oven, microwave oven, toaster and kettle. A washer dryer is in a cupboard beside the bathroom, which has an in-bath thermostatic shower with glass shower screen.

Flat 1 has its own allocated parking space immediately behind the house. Short breaks – minimum 3 nights - are available at quieter times, or at the last moment, just ask.

  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Internet
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Hello! We are Mary and Henry Brown, the owners.

We live in London and have a wonderful team of people in St Ives who help us to take care of Barnoon and Seabirds House. Henry looks after any issues with the building, and I manage the bookings. I really enjoy the contact with our guests - many regulars feel like friends even when all the contact has been by email.

Apart from St Ives and family, our main interest is sailing - in a dinghy on the Thames and a bigger boat on the sea.

Call Owner
Speaks English, French

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I put in the visitor book that it

was exactly as advertised. I mean that as a genuine compliment

because in my experience often places are marketed with creative

descriptions, but in your case there is no need and it was a lovely

space. B.P. (Flat 1)

Just returned from the above & what a lovely time we’ve all had. We were all blown away by the fantastic view & looked forward to coming back to the flat to watch the world go by, so relaxing with a glass of wine in one hand & a good book in the other.J.B (Flat 4)

Hi Mary. Just to let you know my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the

weekend in St. Ives and the flat was lovely. Your description of the

views were not exaggerated! JW (Flat 4)

Thanks once again for the privilege of staying in this wonderful flat - it just gets better every time. M and H (Flat 2)

It was a wonderful stay in St Ives and in flat 3. We were sitting a lot by

the window just watching the harbour scenery. TG (Flat 3)
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 1

8 Reviews

4.3
based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

Wokingham
5

Our favourite stay in St Ives!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Flat 1 in July 2016. This was our fourth time holidaying in St Ives and our first time at Seabirds House. We loved it and have already rebooked for next year! The first time we've returned to the same property in St Ives - we just can't beat this flat in terms of location and price.

Location is perfect. Fabulous views of Porthmeor Beach, the harbour and rooftops of St Ives. Possibly my favourite thing of our stay was sitting in the large bay window looking out at the view.

A very short walk (albeit pretty steep - but our young children managed it fine) to the town and beaches and you don't have to drive through the centre of St Ives to get to the flat, which we think is a huge positive. It makes going out in the car much easier. The parking space is fine - we have a large people carrier and the other car in the parking area was a 4x4 - there is definitely enough space although the walls around the parking area did require us to manoeuvre with care - but we've never parked anywhere in St Ives that didn't require careful parking!

The flat is really spacious. We had lots of room to spread out. We gave the kids the larger bedroom which gave them a nice place to play too! The living/dining room is large, light and airy with the fantastic views. The kitchen is small but adequate (and has a nice view from the window!).

Everything was clean and tidy when we arrived, and we ordered 2 packs of towels which were in the flat too.

Wifi was easy to connect to and worked fine.

The terrace has great views - wish we could have used it more but the weather wasn't really on our side!

The flat is not luxurious, but we weren't expecting that. It is furnished very comfortably, with lots of space and great views in one of the best locations in St Ives - we think it is amazing value. (The flats next door are far more expensive!)

Looking forward to our return in 2017!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

What a lovely find!

  • 4 of 5

We have just returned from a three night break which was a surprise for my partners 40th birthday. We travelled with our 11 month of boy and had a lovely time.

There were no hidden unwelcome surprises. Just exactly what we expected. All to often places show photos that are a bit economical with the truth. However, we stayed in flat one and all the pictures are a true reflection on what you find.

The view was outstanding and the terrace was ideal. The shops and beaches are a very short walk away. We did plenty of walking with a buggy or carrier and it was more than comfortable for two very out of practice walkers!

The kitchen is a little small but perfectly manageable. There were a few points that were a bit of a shame in terms of maintainence such as rusting shelving in the bathroom painting needed in a few rooms where some badly patched repairs have been done. There isn't a travel cot or high chair due to storage constraints. We took our travel cot and had to buy a booster seat to attach on the dining chairs. A booster seat would fit under the stairs in the cupboard, which it's worth mentioning has several things for beach activities for kids such as body boards, a football and windbreaks etc.

We are honest with our review and are genuinely delighted with our stay. One star lacking from the full five purely due to the maintainence mentioned.

Owners direct gave a different price to the owners when I contacted to book. They were very reasonable and apologetic about this. Despite the stay being over my planned budget I am thrilled I booked. Mary was brilliant in term of communicating with me and always prompt.

We are already thinking ahead to next year and heading back for more, thanks for a lovely stay.

Emma

  • Review Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m so pleased you had a good time, and thank you very much for giving us a review. I also appreciate your feedback. We meant to replace the bathroom shelf – mea culpa, I forgot about it. The shower head we didn’t know about so that’s really useful – will get that replaced asap. The patches of repaired paint is part of an ongoing and intractable problem. Granite walls – you’d think they’d keep damp out but they don’t! We’ve dry lined in parts, had repointing done, sprayed the outside, sprayed the inside … But at the end of the day it gets through and local patching and repainting has be done on a horribly regular basis! I just wanted you to know – it’s not for want of trying. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing accommodation

  • 5 of 5

We have had a fantastic holiday and we can't speak more highly of the accommodation. The flat is excellently kitted out and the views are amazing! Our three children (8, 5, 3) want to abort our summer plans and return here! The accommodation is supplemented with a more than ample parking space. It should be said that another car utilised a parking space next to ours and there was still plenty of room and both cars were people carriers. Great holiday

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A fantastic home-from-home

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful week here. I found it hard to drag myself away from the fantastic view and my 7 year old son loved watching the boats and the seabirds from the big window- make sure you bring binoculars! We loved nipping down the picturesque little alleyways to get to the Tate (we did a great Beach Art workshop organised by them), the beaches, the harbour and our favourite ice cream shop (Moomaid) and fish & chip shop (The Balancing Eel), all only a few minutes away. We found Porthmeor beach best in the mornings for body boarding, while Porthgwideon, though a bit more crowded, is more sheltered for sandcastle building and paddling. St Ives has so much to offer we hardly drove anywhere, so we very much appreciated having a parking space so we didn't have to worry about the car.

The flat is very clean and well maintained and had more equipment, such as kitchen items, than you usually expect in a holiday let. With two young children, it was really good to have such a generous sized living room, especially the few times it rained. We were even able to have my parents over for dinner when they came to stay nearby. The children also liked playing in the safe little garden- looking at other holiday cottages nearby, this flat is blessed with a lot of space.

In terms of places we went to, the Minack theatre is only about 40 mins drive away. We went to see a children's show, but it's spectacular in it's own right. We used our visit to the Eden Project to break our journey home, but it was an easy enough hour's drive away.

Everything about arranging the stay went very smoothly (we got lost on the way into town the first time, but that's because we were using Satnav and not the instructions!) and we've already recommended Seabirds House to our friends- and are plotting when we might return!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Flat 1

  • 1 of 5

The cleanliness of the flat was lacking, the cutlery tray in drawer did not look like it had been washed for some time with a tin opener that was broken(we had to go & purchase one).Odd numbers of cutllery, glasses & a plate that had a chip. The cooker and grill pan were dirty with old, damaged cooking utensils. I found an out of date magazine & a dirty tissue behind sofa. Only 4 dining chairs when it sleeps 5, no attention to detail.Table & chairs on terrace had seen better days. The so called 'probably the best view in st.ives was dissapointingly obscured with rooftops. The washing machine soap dispensing drawer was absolutely disgusting. The base ot the beds was covered with material which had all come away and was exposing the bed frame, only visible under the valance.Parking space is no way big enough for 2 family cars, it would be ok for 1 large car or 2 small cars so be prepared to pay car parking fees if you have a big car. As the owners are not on sight or within easy reaching distance the general cleaning etc is being run by a cleaning company which unfortunately is not being done with much care, and unfortunately this shows throughout the flat. The price of staying in Seabirds is obviously because of location but for me the cleanliness & general upkeep of the property should come a long way before location if you want value for money.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry indeed to receive this review, it is a real shock. Unfortunately the guests did not contact us directly about any of the issues except the parking. If they had we would have sent a replacement can opener and offered to send a cleaner. Huge apologies for the flat not being as clean as it should be. Our cleaning agency has let us down on this occasion. There are in fact 5 chairs but one is stored in a cupboard as most often there are fewer guests. I now realise I haven't made that clear in the information pack, and will do so in future. As for the parking 2 normal cars do fit. This time there were 2 large vehicles. When the reviewer told me they needed to go to the public carpark for the last few days I voluntarily refunded the cost, and she seemed happy. She made no mention of any of the other issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent accommodation

  • 5 of 5

The flat gave us everything we needed for our holiday. We always love holidaying in St Ives and the flat is so close to everything that you can get to the beach or the shops within just a couple of minutes. Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

In 1998 we bought a little flat in Barnoon Terrace, having fallen in love with St Ives, and the view. We let it as well as using it ourselves from the start. Then we saw another property just up the hill which was in a very sorry state indeed. We bought it and had the inside completely rebuilt, turning the original 7 flatlets into 5 lovely flats, taking full advantage of the view. This is Seabirds House. and we think the position and views are unbeatable. The flats are bright and cheerful, IKEA style. No chintz!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Newquay at 28 Miles Nearest Barpub : In the town at 200 Metres Nearest Golf : At Lelant at 2 Miles Nearest Train : St Ives - connection to London-Penzance mainline at 300 Metres Nearest Restaurant : Many restaurants in the town 5 minutes away at 200 Metres Nearest Beach : Porthmeor and the Harbour beach both very close at 100 Metres

Coast/Beach:

It's a 4 minute walk from Seabirds to Porthmeor Beach or the Harbour beach. Porthmeor is wide and faces west, so that there are often good waves rolling in from the Atlantic. There's a surf school, surf board and wetsuit hire, and an excellent cafe. The Tate Gallery also overlooks this beach.

2 minutes round the headland is the smaller Porthgwidden Beach.

3 minutes in the other direction is the picturesque harbour with its clean golden sand at low tide.

It's 6 minutes to Porthminster beach.

Travel:

St Ives can be reached quite easily by train. Many main line trains from London to Penzance stop at St Erth from where there is a charming little branch line to St Ives with a frequent service. Seabirds is 15 minutes walk from the station or there are plenty of local taxis.

There is a small airport at Newquay, 30 miles away.

From west of London, including Heathrow Airport, it is a 6 hour drive to St Ives.

Distances:

Lands End 16 miles

Penzance 8 miles

Marazion and St Michael's Mount 9 miles

Minack cliff top open air theatre 14 miles

Falmouth (Maritime Museum) 24 miles

Eden Project 38 miles

Padstow 42 miles

Newquay (airport) 28 miles

Further Details:

Restaurants: St Ives has many very good restaurants - mostly open all year. We send some recommendations with your booking information.

Shopping: The town also has all the small shops and banks you will need, including 2 small Co-op supermarkets. There is a Tesco on the outskirts of town, and Tesco also does home delivery to Seabirds.

Places of interest: Tate Gallery St Ives, Barbara Hepworth's House and Sculpture Garden, Bernard Leach Pottery, St Ives Museum

A local company, Oates Travel, does coach trips to other places of interest in Cornwall including the Eden Project.

Activities: Learn to surf on Porthmeor Beach at the St Ives Surf School.

Improve your painting and drawing skills at the St Ives School of Painting.

Fabulous cliff top walks - around the "Island" which takes around 45 minutes, or all the way to Zennor 2.5 hours if fit and fast, 4 hours to stop and gaze ...

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
21
29 Oct 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£222
for 3 nights
From
£74
From
£76
Thu,Fri,Sat
£460
 
 
odd days before xmas
17 Dec 2016 - 21 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£198
for 3 nights
From
£66
 
 
Pre xmas event
22 Dec 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£50
for 2 nights
From
£25
 
 
Christmas event
24 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£400
 
 
post xmas event
27 Dec 2016 - 28 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£50
for 2 nights
From
£25
 
 
pre NY event
29 Dec 2016 - 30 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£56
for 2 nights
From
£28
 
 
New Year event
31 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£560
 
 
post NY event
2 Jan 2017 - 4 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£84
for 3 nights
From
£28
 
 
odd days after NY
5 Jan 2017 - 6 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£132
for 2 nights
From
£66
 
 
1
7 Jan 2017 - 3 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£222
for 3 nights
From
£74
From
£76
Fri,Sat,Sun
£470
 
 
2
4 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
From
£77
Fri,Sat,Sun
£480
 
 
3
1 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
4 night minimum stay
£352
for 4 nights
From
£88
From
£91
Fri,Sat,Sun
£565
 
 
4
22 Apr 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
From
£87
Fri,Sat,Sun
£550
 
 
5
29 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£264
for 3 nights
From
£88
From
£90
Fri,Sat,Sun
£570
 
 
6
6 May 2017 - 19 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£291
for 3 nights
From
£97
From
£99
Fri,Sat,Sun
£630
 
 
7
20 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£315
for 3 nights
From
£105
From
£107
Fri,Sat,Sun
£690
 
 
8
27 May 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£740
for 7 nights
£740
 
 
9
10 Jun 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£351
for 3 nights
From
£117
From
£119
Fri,Sat,Sun
£775
 
 
10
17 Jun 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£384
for 3 nights
From
£128
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£850
 
 
11
24 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£417
for 3 nights
From
£139
From
£141
Fri,Sat,Sun
£925
 
 
12
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£148
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£990
 
 
13
8 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
From
£162
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,075
 
 
14
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,105
for 7 nights
£1,105
 
 
15
2 Sep 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£875
for 7 nights
£875
 
 
16
16 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£324
for 3 nights
From
£108
From
£110
Fri,Sat,Sun
£710
 
 
17
30 Sep 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£249
for 3 nights
From
£83
From
£85
Fri,Sat,Sun
£535
 
 
18
14 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£261
for 3 nights
From
£87
From
£89
Fri,Sat,Sun
£560
 
 
19
28 Oct 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£222
for 3 nights
From
£74
From
£76
Fri,Sat,Sun
£470
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Short breaks are often possible at quieter times or at the last moment. Our short break pricing formula is weekly rate divided by 7, multiplied by the number of nights, plus £25.
The minimum is 3 nights.

Changeover day for weekly bookings is Saturday, with arrival at any time after 3pm, and departure before 10am.

The flats are no smoking, and sorry, no pets.

To make a booking please email or phone me and I will send you a booking form. We ask for £50 per week deposit, and the balance one month before your holiday. On our own website there's also an online booking system.

Bedlinen is provided, towels can be hired. It is £10 for a batch of towels for 2 people (2 hand, bath and teatowels). Other quantities on request.

The garage is £50 per week. The garage door is only 7ft wide so check your car before booking. Once inside, there's more space so you will be able to open the doors!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 03-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

General

  • Internet

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • town

Attractions

  • bay
  • cinemas
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2

Outside

  • Golf ...

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Outside: Flat 4 has a small balcony. There are two folding chairs that can be taken outside. Flat 1 has a large private terrace with a garden table and chairs for outside eating. Flats 2 and 3 have no private outside space. At the back of the house beside the parking are there is a retractable washing line that can be used by any of our guests.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot