OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Mijas Villa with heated pool and hot tub set in a picturesque valley

People13
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms7
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa in Mijas, Costa del Sol, Spain - There simply is no other country estate that compares to ‘Fort Inglés’

It's uniqueness is awe-inspiring with its stunning panoramic views. It is conveniently situated on the scenic road between Fuengirola and Alhaurin El Grande - yet close to all amenities and 6 championship golf courses. It is approximately 35mins from the airport and about 20mins to the beach.

The villa is set in its own private grounds of 62,000 square metres (15 acres) approached through electric gates down a 100m drive into the courtyard. All the reception rooms are spacious, light and airy and have double French Doors opening onto picturesque terraces, balconies, or the pool area.

There are five bedrooms, all en-suite. The main master bedroom has a king size bed and an ensuite bathroom with bath and separate shower. It features a 'minstrel' gallery with a curved wrought iron balcony rail. This comprises a lounge area and two extra beds for children to sleep in the same room as their parents if required.

The second master bedroom has a bathroom, also with bath and separate shower, a dressing room and an en-suite sitting room. It should be noted that two more single beds can be put in the in the en-suite living room if required. At the expense of privacy, this effectively increases the maximum sleeping capacity from 10 to 12.

The third bedroom has an en-suite bathroom, also with superb views through the picture window and a wraparound balcony and terrace..

On the lower ground floor there are two separate bedrooms with bathrooms en-suite, having their own covered balcony with magnificent views and a walkway along the cactus path to the pool/recreational area.

The owners/staff live in a separate apartment next to the main house. For the summer months this apartment is closed and the staff move a short distance from the villa. Facility maintenance will still occur - at pre-arranged times for guests. Staff are available for any assistance you require; booking taxis, reserving restaurants, baby sitting, etc.

More Details

Owner
Michele Greene
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2017

About Michele Greene

15 years ago Martin and I sold up in the UK and decided with our family to start a new life in the sunshine. We spent five years designing and building our dream home.

We wanted everything incorporated in the Villa that we enjoyed so that we could share the amenities with our family and friends.

Now the children have left home and we have opened our home.

We've been so lucky to have had so many wonderful guests stay with us, some whom have remained friends.

Michele Greene purchased this villa in 2001

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Alhaurín el Grande in Malaga Province (Costa del Sol)

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Master bedroom with bath, shower, and bidet. Second master bedroom with bath, shower, and bidet. Third bedroom with shower and bidet. Bedrooms 4 and 5 en-suite bathrooms. Cloak room at bottom of stairs. Separate changing rooms with showers by pool.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
    Bedroom 6 - 3 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with minstrel gallery overlooking super-king size bed. Second master bedroom with en-suite sitting room and balcony. Third bedroom with queen size bed and wraparound balcony. Fourth and fifth bedrooms with twin beds & shared terrace.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outside: BBQ and bar next to the pool for your 'al fresco' dining. Gentleman and ladies changing rooms with hot showers in the pool area. Utility Room: Fully equipped for all your washing and cleaning needs. Washing machine and tumble dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels are included. If required, maid service is available by the live-in staff in the separate apartment. Other: Welcome gift of cava, red and white wine, beers, soft drinks, water and fruit juices. Fresh fruit basket and nibbles. Wireless internet is available. The satellite TV shows the main UK channels.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

5

Fantastic week at Fort Ingles

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a Fort Ingles for a week during a tour of Spain in our classic Jaguars and had a fantastic time. Michele and Martin ensured that our stay went smoothly and were very helpful in organising local restaurants and taxis. The location is brilliant, secluded and secure with stunning views. The villa is really spacious and well equipped with ample space both inside and out. The leisure facilities were great with swimming pool, hot tub, table tennis table and pool table getting good use.

Thanks Martin and Michele for a great week, we'd love to come back.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: And we'd love to have you back! Brilliant company. It was a pleasure having you all stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Stunning location

  • 5 of 5

Fort Ingles was a great venue to accommodate 18 family members across three generations for my 50th birthday celebration and holiday. There was plenty of relaxing in the Jacuzzi with fantastic views of the mountains. There was also plenty to keep the little ones entertained. The house is well placed to get out and about to explore the local area and only a short drive from shops and restaurants and the beach. Owners Michele and Martin could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Wonderful Holiday in an amazing house!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures of 'Fort Ingles' didn't lie, the place is far better than we expected.

The villa offered everything we needed for our holiday.

Even though we knew we weren't going to be by the beach, it was only a 15 minute drive to the beautiful beaches of La Cala.

The owners were always available to answer all our questions, even though their presence was never intrusive.

We look forward to seeing you again next October.

Best wishes

Sally

  • Review Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful with fabulous views, beautiful sunsets.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at "Fort Ingles"

As keen golfers, the proximity to the Alhaurin Golf course was ideal. We spent many a happy hour playing golf and enjoying a lovely lunch at the clubhouse.

There were so many ideal golf courses within a short drive away that we were spoilt for choice.

At the end of the day it was so lovely to relax in the Hot tub with a glass of beer enjoying the beautiful sunset.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Villa for a lovely holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dennis. We're so pleased you had a good time. Hope to see you back again in the future. Regards to the family. Michele & Martin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fort Ingles - Lads Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

As soon as the electric gates opened to reveal this magnificent Villa, my mates and i knew we were in for a treat (and we weren't disappointed!!!). Martin and Michelle couldn't do enough for us and we couldn't have been more grateful. Being on site was an added bonus. They were "invisible" until we needed them, either for things around the house or where to go. Their help calling taxis, suggesting superb restaurants or any of the many requests we made were invaluable. They know the area like the back of their hands, which only helped my disorganised mates and i make the most out of our time there - Especially when arranging day time excursions and exploring the local area.

I really hope that we will be seeing you guys again in the future for another trip. We're already looking forward to it!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely Villa but not as described

  • 3 of 5

Having read some of the reviews my family booked a 2 week holiday for 9 that included 4 teenagers and a baby.

There is no doubt that the owners have built an interesting villa with wonderful photographic opportunities (it has been offered for weddings etc) and the location is ideal.

The advertisement for the property does not state that the owners are permanently on-site and that their accommodation is the 2 bed separate apartment shown in the outline plan. This was a surprise to us upon arrival, as was the German Shepherd dog that also resides on site and the under-cover parking is reserved for the use of the owners.

There are 2 bedrooms below the ground level not shown on the plans and it is very easy to conclude that the separate apartment is included in the rental.

Although the owners attempt to reduce their visibility, the fact that their apartment overlooks the pool area intrudes the privacy that would normally be present when renting a villa. This was compounded by the fact that the villa is not locked and security is entirely dependent upon the owners presence and a single set of electric opening doors. On occasions we would return to the villa with the knowledge that someone had entered and used the facilities. I assume it would have been the owners but an explanation would be have been courteous.

The inside of the villas is laid out for entertaining and although there are massaging showers and whirlpool baths, these cannot be used due to the shortage of water in the location. Air conditioning use is restricted although curtains are not available in all rooms to "shut out the sun" and help cool the villa.

The half size statues by the pool give the impression of a larger size whilst the "gym" overlooking the pool was retained by the owners. Similarly one of the walk-in wardrobes in a bedroom was replaced with a wardrobe and locked.

The kitchen area is clean but "white goods" are in need of servicing. The owners did attempt to resolve most issues that arose but the impression formed was of a villa that has been built to serve as a "function" business being used to provide holiday letting. Whether the villa is capable of maintaining a 24 hour living accommodation over an extended period remains to be seen.

Overall I suppose I expected a fantastic villa but I was disappointed, mainly due to the fact that it is not stated that the owners are permanently on site and the plans show that they take up about 50% of the ground floor plan.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that Wayne didn't fully enjoy his stay with us. We appreciate his comments on our photographic scenery and ideal location. However, much of his review is unfortunately inaccurate or highly exaggerated. We would like to address some of the points Wayne has made for the confidence of our future guests. It is clearly stated on the property listing that the owners or their staff live on site. To say they occupy 50% of the floor plan is completely untrue. The live-in staff remain as discreet as possible so not to invade privacy. During the summer months the owner or staff do not live on site, but are a short distance away - easily available should any clients require assistance. The maintenance of the property facilities is always at times that won't disturb or inconvenience our guests. The villa has electric gates, security lights and sensors which are more than enough to deter unwelcome visitors. In the last 12 years we have never had the slightest cause for alarm. One of the main attractions of our villa is the comfort of security and freedom. During the summer months, there is sometimes a drought in Southern Spain. This does not affect our guests as we have recently installed a 95m borehole which has never run out. There are not curtains in every room of the house, but of course in every bedroom. The air conditioners are unrestricted and function efficiently. However, we do ask our guests to keep doors and windows closed whilst they are in use. A few other notes: We have a harmless German Shepherd, Freddie - which clients are always forewarned about and given the option to be relocated. The 'half size statues by the pool' actually stand 148 cm tall (nearly 5 foot). The white goods are not 'in need of servicing'. They are excellent quality and the dishwasher is brand new this year. We cannot understand why Wayne has chosen to write this poor review other than to put off future clients. We wish that he would have mentioned any of these points while he was here and given us the opportunity to address them and make his stay more comfortable. We are very proud of our villa and stand by our reputation and the satisfaction of our guests. Please see our other reviews and don't hesitate to contact us with any questions or queries.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Mid Season
19 Mar 2017 - 31 May 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,964
for 5 nights
£2,750
 
 
High Season
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£2,679
for 5 nights
£3,750
 
 
Autumn Season
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,964
for 5 nights
£2,750
 
 
Winter Season
1 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,607
for 5 nights
£2,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£1,964
for 5 nights
£2,750
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £500

Booking Notes:

We require a 25% deposit on booking and final payment 6 weeks prior to arrival. Also, a £500 security deposit.

Changeover Day:
Please contact owner.

25% deposit required on booking. The balance 6 weeks before arrival. Payment by bank transfer.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals