OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Farmhouse + Cottage In Peaceful Rural Location, Perfect Mix Of Coast And Country - The Farmhouse Sleeps 8 + cot (4 Bedrooms) + 2 dogs

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Description

The Farmhouse Sleeps 8 + cot (4 Bedrooms) + 2 dogs

The Farmhouse sleeps 8 + cot, with plenty of space indoors and out. There are three generous bedrooms on the first floor two have king size beds and the other a double bed. There is also a small room with an armchair, bookcase with children’s books, puzzles, games and room for a cot. The family bathroom on this floor (refitted in Dec 2014) has a large shower-bath, wash basin and toilet.

The ground floor bedroom has twin beds and there is a shower room (also refitted in Dec 2014) on this floor with shower, wash basin and toilet.

The main sitting room has comfortable sofas and chairs, a wood-burning stove, 40in TV with Freeview, DVD and video players (+ free library of videos), and an iPod/iPhone dock. The small sitting room, leading off the main sitting room, has a sofa and 32in TV with Freeview.

The kitchen/dining room is well equipped with large fridge, separate freezer, double electric oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher and a large table to seat 8.

More Details

About the property

W1702

Lying at the foot of the Cambrian Mountains, yet only 15 miles from the sea at Cardigan Bay, Glandulas Uchaf is the ideal base all year round, whether you choose an activity-filled holiday or total relaxation with friends and family. Leave the city behind and escape to the cottage for a romantic getaway or enjoy relaxed country living in our family friendly farmhouse. For groups of friends, or a get together holiday with another family, the farmhouse and cottage can be rented together to sleep 12. Situated between Lampeter, the smallest university town in the UK, and Tregaron, an historic market town, you could explore the dramatic coastline in the morning, with its sandy beaches, seaside towns and villages, and the wild, mountainous ‘Green Desert of Wales’ in the afternoon.


Owner
Joan Floyd
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
21 April, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house and surrounding gardens were more than we expected. Beautiful large house for 6 of us, and we had a great time playing in the games room, set up the volleyball net in the garden and spent almost the whole weekend relaxing in the gardens, having BBQs and just enjoying time with the family. This house was the perfect escape from the city!
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 2

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Booking Notes:
A 25% non-returnable deposit is required to confirm the booking; the balance should be paid 6 weeks before the start of the holiday.

Changeover Day:
The Farmhouse and Cottage will be ready for you from 4pm, and we ask that you leave no later than 10am (to allow for cleaning).
The normal changeover day is Friday for the Cottage and Saturday for the Farmhouse, although we are flexible.

Notes on prices:
- Two dogs welcome in each property at £15 each per week or £10 per short break
- Heating and electricity included
- Initial logs/coal for fires provided, thereafter at cost
- 5% discount when farmhouse and cottage are booked together
- 5% discount when you book 2 consecutive weeks
- Smaller party reductions are available in the farmhouse at certain times for a maximum of 4 guests. Only 2 bedrooms will be made up, with a choice of 2 kingsize or 1 kingsize and 1 twin bedroom


Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for The Farmhouse Sleeps 8 + cot (4 Bedrooms) + 2 dogsin Tregaron in Wales

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , ground floor
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , ground floor
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Cot
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: * Free WiFi * Bed linen provided, and beds made up ready for your arrival * Towels included, please bring your own beach towels * Shared laundry room, with washing machine and tumble dryer * Cot (please supply your own bedding) and high chair available on request * No smoking Outside: * The Farmhouse and Cottage are adjacent to, although do not overlook each other, so are great for social gatherings but ideal for those who like their privacy. * The Cottage has french doors leading from the kitchen to a private, sunny terrace with wooden garden furniture and a small garden. * The Farmhouse has a terrace with wooden garden furniture to seat 8. * The Farmhouse garden is fenced, and there is a large lawned area with plenty of room for children to run around or adults to kick back and relax. * Both properties have the shared use of a games room, with table tennis, darts and a small pool table. * The picnic and BBQ area, furnished with a permanent stone BBQ and picnic tables, has lovely countryside views. * There is also a large, securely fenced paddock to exercise dogs safely. * There is plenty of parking.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

5

Gorgeous house. Plenty of space.

  • 5 of 5

We arrived in the dark, with a minor issue in that the website directions only seemed to show a map (no written instructions). But after a phone call to Ann we found it straight away. There is a very handy, large entrance hall , where our two dog slept. Kitchen is well equipped. Everything very clean and tidy- well managed. The driveway is pot holed 'country farm track' so I would imagine anyone with a low car would struggle.

There are some stunning walks from here and also from the coastal path- children had a brilliant time finding beach treasures and the waterfalls just inland near Cwm Tydu were magical.

We had a great time and would love to return for longer next time to explore more. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Very clean and well represented everything that you could need is supplied

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments, and we'd love to welcome you back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stoke on Trent
1

The property was lovely but is sadly being let down by the caretaker/cleaner.

  • 1 of 5

Once close to our destination we were informed rather rudely that we should have printed a map to get there instead of using satnav. Upon arrival we were greeted only with what we couldn't do at the property by the caretaker. Once inside the property the kettle would not work so we informed the caretaker who just moaned that the previous guests must have boiled it whilst empty and replaced it with her own (dirty) kettle. Upon inspection through the property we were impressed with the house but disappointed about the level or should I say lack of cleaning that had occurred. There were crumbs on the counters in the kitchen, the trays hadn't been washed at all, big cobwebs on ceiling fittings that had obviously been there a while, cobwebs in most rooms with bugs etc. attached, dead bugs around the skirting boards in the two downstairs living rooms meaning I had to clean upon arrival, in the twin room there was a sock from a previous guest under the bed, in the double bedroom there were 2 crusty used dirty towels also under the bed, in the upstairs bathroom there were long hairs in the drawers, the knobs on the bed in the red king size room were falling off, there were displays and the smell of damp in each of the rooms at the front of the house with excessive display of this in the front king size bedroom. Upon doing a single load of washing in the laundry room I was confronted by the caretaker and accused of doing a lot of washing as she didn't understand why people washed whilst on holiday as they should take it home with them. I found it amusing that the electric would 'trip' in the laundry room and games room (broken games) at around 8.30 at night before the caretaker went to bed at 9pm. The downstairs shower did not drain water away so water floods into the main entrance.

We also were not impressed by the fact that care had been taken to ensure that there were blocks screwed into the external wood of the sash windows to disable the ability of opening some of the windows and the door at the front of the house (all same wall of building) was locked with no key available hence breaking any adherence to The Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005, Building Regulations 2010 Part B, Housing Health & Safety Rating System ("HHSRS"), and Licensing Conditions.

Not once during our stay did I look forward to returning to the property after a day out despite its beauty. We shall never return nor recommend it. It needs some tlc to return it to its glory.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback, and positive comments on the farmhouse and the beautiful surrounding area. We’re sorry you experienced some shortcomings during your holiday, as guest satisfaction is tremendously important to us. Please be assured the housekeeping issues have been addressed, and we are continually carrying out maintenance to the farmhouse (which has to be fitted in once the busy summer season is over). However, we do rely on guests informing us during their stay of any issues so that they can be rectified as soon as possible, and contact details are always provided to that end.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Lovely cottage in a remote location

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic cottage with plenty of space and everything we needed. We really enjoyed the games room too. Not so easy to walk out from the cottage, as the only real route out was the driveway and the small country roads, but once these had been walked down there was some lovely surrounding countryside. Just to note, the driveway is quite rough in places and overgrown. All in all though, we had a really nice stay in the cottage and would certainly recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy and relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5

The farmhouse was quiet and secluded. It had everything we needed. Our daughter loved the games room, even though the house had wifi, she was outside the whole time. Ann was very helpful and I would highly recommend this farmhouse

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wirral
3

Dear Owner

  • 3 of 5

This house is beautiful in its design and decor, its views and its location. We fell in love with the interior on this site.

It is however dissaponiting that the house is not always as well maintained as it should be. A good dust, hoover, window wash and a spell of garden maintenance would give this holiday home the shine it deserves.

Please ensure bathrooms are cleaned to a suitable standard. Please take note that 2 non functioning showers is not a good feature in a house that shelters eight.

We did have a good holiday but my holiday could have been better.

Regards,

Lesley, D avid, Max, Sid, Harvey and Martha.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Location

Photos

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot