OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Coastguard Cottage With Sea Views

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Fairlight, Nr. Hastings, Sussex, England - Cliff Top Location With Amazing Views

This victorian coast guard cottage sits high on top on the cliff in acres of country parkland. With spectacular views from every window ! A paradise for walkers, it also has the benefit of being 10 mins drive from Hastings Old Town with its famous fishing community, eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, beach and rail link to london and brighton. 15 mins in the other direction takes you to the beautiful clique port town of Rye and the white sand beach at Camber beyond.


Owner
Karen Harrison
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
14 November, 2017

About Karen Harrison

Our family bought the cottage four years ago,we love this area and we never tire of coming here. We all enjoy a shopping trip to Hastings especially my teenage daughter, as there are great vintage shops and a bargain can still be found!!! Fish and chips at 'Maggies' in an old fishermans hut is a must. (definitely the best we've ever tasted) . Rye is also a favourite this time with my younger son, as it has two old fashioned sweet shops to choose from, and an amazing church tower to climb. But for views you can't beat the cottage and I often find my self staring out of windows entranced..... On a clear night you can see the lights of France twinkling across the sea. Last but not least, 'Stanley'our dog is in heaven chasing rabbits along the cliff top, and the birds across the beach.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Hastings in Rother District

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 2 - Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • First floor bathroom, with bath and over bath shower, wc and washbasin. Bedroom 1 has a roll top bath with wonderful views. Downstairs wc and washbasin.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 carpeted with super king size bed ( can be turned into a twin if needed) Bedroom 2 carpeted with king size bed (can be turned into twin beds) Bedroom 3 carpeted with double bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Notes:
Outside: Private leafy garden, with views . barbecue, deckchairs, picnic table, pebble and lawned areas. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All Linen and towels are included. Maid service available on fridays if staying for more than 1 week. Other: Wooden conservatory/sun room with wicker sofa, chair and table, lovely summer breakfast room. Doors open onto the private garden.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Coastguard Cottage With Sea Views
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
5

Amazing cottage with stunning views!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is easy to find. Its location is unique! Clifftop views from the French coast line over to Beachy Head. The master bedroom under the roof is great, as the sun wakes you up and the sunset lets you start dreaming. Inside you will find cozy rooms, exactly like you see on the pictures. We spend a relaxing week there and were blessed with sunny days and a cool breeze. One car can be parked in front of the cottage. The garden is beautifully located westwards and hosts a bench-table for 4. The welcome-gift was appreciated after a long journey. The wide land across the cliffs is just a step outside the cottage, where you can walk the unleashed dog.

It's truly a secret gem. We would like to come back asap, as we liked it so much! Thanks a lot for your hospitality, Karen!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Really lovely homely place to stay. Views & walks lovely

  • Review Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you 😊
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house in great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was lovely and comfortable for all six of us. The views from the upstairs bedroom were amazing - especially watching the Hares in the field opposite! The country park next door was great for walking the dogs (secure and far enough away from the cliffs to let them off the lead) and we enjoyed being only a few minutes by car to Hastings. Karen was great throughout booking and the welcome gift was very much appreciated! We do a family holiday every year and according to my dad this was the best yet - so thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope you will come back and stay again one day ! Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cosy Comfy Cottage with amazing views nt

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in the cottage for just four nights this July with our friends, another couple. It was comfy, clean and tidy with freshly made comfy beds.

The tearooms up the lane from the cottage serves good abd well priced food. Please note to date this business is for sale.

The views from the windows upstairs of the cottage were lovely and far reaching on clear weather days.

As I requested 2 pints sof fresh milk was left for us in the fridge. Also thoughtful extras of a small loaf and small pots of jam.

The main snag was despite this cottage being listed as " suitable for the elderly or infirm " it wasn't. Both baths were overly deep and getting in and out was positively dangerous. The main bathroom with shower over bath it's ventilation was poor. There are badly cracked floor tiles just as you enter this main bathroom. There was a suction handle provided but the area to enter and exit the bath was narrow due the the toilet being right beside it. Plus the shower door only opened out or in a small amount.

Have messaged the owner Karen that we liked the cottage but due to the issues with both baths and to take a shower being risky we wouldn't book again.

That is unless a walk in shower was put in place and instead of the cramped shower over bath arrangement.

Our party was made up of four physically fit adults aged 52 to 62 but we all struggled with getting in and out of both baths.

So sadly our rating of four stars instead of five was down to the bath and shower issues.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou so much for the 4 star rating, considering that you had so much trouble with the bathrooms. I'm so sorry. The week before your arrival we had the bathroom fan replaced as it was not working. I can only presume that the damp and mould on ceiling was left over from this. My housekeeper Sarah will be on the case. As for the cracked tile I had no idea it was sharp, we had it repaired (will look at it again , am so sorry) !! The shower over bath has never been a problem before .It is a standard size bath and if you are like me and prefer a bath to a shower it serves both options . Once again I can only apologise for everything. We love our cottage so much and try our best so that everyone feels the same way about it. But I guess sometimes it doesn't work out. 😔� Please let me know where it states that the cottage is suitable for the elderly and infirm as I did not know this to be a statement I had made.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great local

  • 5 of 5

Lovely walks

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Lovely Holiday

  • 5 of 5

The property was lovely and the views were just stunning. Cottage was cosy and ideal for a relaxing holiday with long walks and stunning views.

Thank you for making it such a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Coast/Beach:

30 min walk to local beach.

5 min drive to nearest pebble/sand beach at Pett Level

20 min drive to white sand beach at Camber Sands

Travel:

Car recommended. drive from London about 2 hours. from Dover (50 miles) 1 hour 15 minutes, or from the Eurostar at Ashford, (40 miles,) 1 hour 10 mins.

Train from london 1 hour 30 min to Hastings or Ore. taxi from hastings to the cottage takes about 12 min.

Gatwick airport 1 hour 30 mins drive

Heathrow airport 2 hours 15 mins drive.

Distances:

Nearest shop for simple groceries 3/4 mile

Farm Shop 2 miles

Nearest supermarket 3 miles.

Hastings town 2 miles

Rye 9 miles

Battle 9 miles

London 1 hour 30 mins by train from hastings.

Brighton 1 hour by car.

Further Details:

The cottage has plenty of on the doorstep walking and is well located for day trips to many beaches, castles, historical places of interest as well as easy access to cities such as Brighton and London.

Further information available on request as-well as a detailed guide provided at the cottage.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Hastings, Sussex

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 14
3 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£630
 
 
Rate15
22 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£680
for 4 nights
From
£170
£1,065
 
 
Rate1
5 Jan 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£645
 
 
Rate 2
24 Mar 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£930
 
 
Rate3
14 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£800
 
 
Rate 4
25 May 2018 - 28 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£930
 
 
Rate 5
29 Jun 2018 - 19 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£1,030
 
 
Rate 6
20 Jul 2018 - 23 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,085
for 7 nights
£1,085
 
 
Rate 7
24 Aug 2018 - 13 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,030
for 7 nights
£1,030
 
 
Rate 8
14 Sep 2018 - 27 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£930
 
 
Rate 9
28 Sep 2018 - 18 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£800
 
 
Rate 10
19 Oct 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£930
for 7 nights
£930
 
 
Rate 11
27 Oct 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£645
 
 
Rate 13
21 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
£800
for 4 nights
From
£200
£1,085
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
For bookings please email karen at , k.harrison612@btinternet.com. A deposit of
25% of the rental fee is payable when the booking is made. The balance is due 60 days before the start of the rental. Payment can be made made by cheque or bank transfer. The cottage is rented on a weekly basis from Friday to friday. Short breaks are also available min 3 nights.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Friday. Short breaks are three nights starting on Friday and ending on monday. Arrival time is 3pm . Departure time is 10am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable