OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Comfortable And Charming Villa With Private Pool And Fantastic Views



Updated: 07-Sep-2016
Villa in Salobrena, Costa Tropical, Spain - Fantastic Exclusive Location for Enjoying the Costa Tropical

Casa Romantica is a comfortable villa in a fantastic location, with spectacular views of the Mediterranean and the lovely town of Salobrena. The villa is south facing so enjoys the best of the warm sunny days of the Costa Tropical. The outside area is lovely, with several terraces surrounding the large swimming pool, which is for the exclusive use of guests at Casa Romantica (please note that the swimming pool is deep throughout). The views from here are simply breathtaking, whether it be mountains, the sea or the castle and the old town of Salobrena that you want to enjoy. With three double bedrooms (one with twin beds and two doubles), three shower rooms, a well equipped kitchen and two lounge areas, the villa has everything you would need to enjoy a relaxing holiday in this lovely part of Spain. The villa is in an elevated position with steps leading from the road. There are two entrances to the villa, one leading into the lower level of the villa, with lounge, bedroom and shower room. The upper level, with access to the terrace and pool area, leads straight into the open plan lounge, dining area and kitchen. From here, windows to the south highlight the wonderful views of the Med and Salobrena.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Helene and Ian run Totally Tropical, a property management and rental company based in Salobrena. We look after our clients houses as if they were our own and promise to do all we can to make your holiday a resounding success. Helene runs a tight ship and Ian does all the grunt work. But, we do live in an area where Tapas bars are plentiful and the scenery is stunning. If we can help you at all, please do get in touch and we will respond as soon as we can.

Call Manager
Speaks English, Spanish

2 Reviews

2 holidaymaker reviews


Stunning elevated position

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed a fabulous week at Casa Romantica. Photos and description of property lived up to our expectations. Loved sitting on the terrace enjoying the views, especially in the evenings as the sun went down. Fantastic large and deep pool, with spacious surround for relaxing. Property was very clean and the managers Ian and Helene were extremely helpful. New motorway enabled an easy drive from Malaga airport. Granada and Alhambra Palace about an hour away and well worth visiting. Shops and restaurants are within easy reach in Salobrena and plenty of places to eat at reasonable cost near the sea. Hope to return next year.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for you your kind comments Barry, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Oh dear, Oh dear - Dont Do it!!

  • 1 of 5

First of all lets talk about the good points, well there is only one - the view, the view is amazing. Now as for the rest of it, I have never been so disappointed in my life. It is not just tiny, it is miniscule!! The two double beds, turned out to be just one small double bed & two cheap twin beds pushed together. Not even double sheeting provided. The only thing double about it was that there was a double coverlet thrown over it! There were no bedside table, no chests of drawers. The master bedroom was so small that you have to kind of step around the bed to open the wardrobe door at all. The unlit shower cubicle, allowed water all over the floor despite closing the plastic curtain. it dripped incessantly too....Things did not get better when you tried to sleep. The mattresses must have been extremely cheap when new, and new they certainly are not now. It was excruciating to sleep on them. The mattress sagged into a nasty slump with springs sticking through! The kitchen is very very small, and despite everything being for a villa for 6 people, there are only 4 dining chairs to both the indoor and the outdoor seating.

When you arrive at the house you are confronted with steep steps up to the house. Lots and lots of them, a fact that no one mentioned but which made me very grateful that my elderly mother hadnt accompanied us after all as they would have been totally beyond her. These were unlit at night, and there is no handrail. When it rains they are very slippery! The sliding doors out to the very very small terraces do not open smoothly and, the little holiday booklet says that they are not meant to withstand any heavy rain, so when it does rain you are asked to roll up a towel and stop it flooding the rooms. Not that they leave towels for this purpose, bizarre though it is to have doors that dont withstand rain. you are expected to use some of the very few, very old and small towels provided to do so and then launder them again so you can continue to use them for your personal use.

Possibly the worst thing of all is that according to the book in the villa the swimming pool is 2 metres deep throughout, no shallow end! Nowhere anyone can stand up unless they are of giant proportions.Something that you would perhaps expect a mention on a family villa information sheet. Dangerous & possibly ruinous to a holiday with smaller children.

Would I recommend it? No never, dont do it! Its not cheap and its certainly not worth it.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Casa Romantica. We are surprised that you did not raise any of these issues with us at the time. Considering that the one request that you did ask to be met was done so within a couple of hours. Had your complaints been voiced, we would have done our utmost to rectify the situation. To respond; The house is small, to say it is tiny is extreme, There are 3 bedrooms, 2 of which are small, but the third bedroom is of a good size and there are 2 lounges, both a fair size. The photos of the property show the room sizes fairly. As to beds, there is 1 normal sized double bed, 2 twin beds and a further 2 twin beds that are made up as a double. This is the arrangement that suits most groups, and there is very little we can do to change this. As to the comfort of the beds, we have never received any other complaints about them, however we will of course discuss this with the owner. Yes the shower rooms are small, but if a dripping shower had been mentioned we would have changed it immediately, without question. There are 6 dining chairs throughout the house, which we arrange according to the group size. Similarly there are at least 10 outdoor chairs in the garden. We would not have thought that only actually having 4 surrounding both the indoor and outdoor table was an issue for a group of 3. Steps - yes there are. It is clear in the photo of the villa that it is in an elevated position, with steps leading up to it, something which is also stated in the description. They are of a less than standard size (8 inches), so they are not steep, at a little over 6 inches. There is an option within the advert to check a box that states that the house is suitable for the elderly, and this is not checked. As to them being slippery and unlit, there is a light to the side of the house to illuminate them. They are standard terracotta tile steps used throughout Spain, which are not slippery. This house is not new and the windows are of an older type. Given that we provided you with towels for 4 people (8 large,4 small) as we were told this was the number in your group, this should have been more than enough, but if asked we would have provided more. It states in the notes on accommodation that the pool is deep throughout, so fail to see how this can be a surprise to you - most people see it as a plus. In summary it is one of the lowest priced villas on the Monte and these comments are unfair and, in places untrue.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Malaga at 100 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : La Caleta at 2 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Motril at 10 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Motril at 10 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : La Caleta at 2 Kilometres Nearest Ski : Sierra Nevada at 100 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Salobrena at 5 Kilometres


The nearest beach, La Caleta, is a five minute drive away. Salobrena beach is a ten minute drive away.


Malaga airport is less than an hour's drive away. Due to the hillside location of the villa, a car is essential.


Salobrena - 5 kilometres

Almunecar - 13 kilometres

Granada - 70 kilometres

Malaga - 85 kilometres

Further Details:

Salobrena is an unspoilt, white washed town sitting on a rock on the southern coast of Spain. There is still a sugar cane factory in the town, the last surviving one on mainland Europe. The old town is a collection of narrow streets and secluded bars, we'll show you where they are ! The cobbled streets lead up the rock to the ancient castle, allowing you to enjoy the magnificent views of the surrounding area and the Mediterranean Sea.

If you love sea food, then the local fresh catches can be enjoyed in the many bars and restaurants in the town. There is a golf course, (club hire available) a sports park, water park and plenty of places to relax and watch the world go by.

The Costa Tropical is the neighbouring coast to the Costa Del Sol. It has 300 days of sunshine a year, dolphins swimming in the sea, and an unspoilt feel so rare in Spain. Granada, with the Alhambra are a must see, and at less than an hours drive, are easily accessible.

The larger town of Motril is just a short drive away and has a great selection of restaurants, bars and shops, the perfect place for spending a leisurely afternoon enjoying the relaxed spanish lifestyle .

Nearby Almunecar has regular markets and even more choices for shopping and eating out, La Herradura with it's harbour Marina Del Este is a lovely place to go for an evening meal and Nerja has underground caves that are well worth seeing.

Europe's southernmost ski resort, the Sierra Nevada is within easy reach, enabling skiing in the morning and sunbathing in the afternoon.

Malaga airport is less than an hour's drive away.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
8 Oct 2016 - 4 Nov 2016
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
5 Nov 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
17 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
7 Jan 2017 - 3 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Spring
4 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Apr 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
8 Apr 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Spring
29 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Summer
27 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Summer
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
30 Sep 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
4 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Deposit of 50% on booking, by bank transfer. Remainder to be paid on month before arrival.
A deposit of 200 euros to cover possible damage on arrival and returned on the day of departure after inspection.
Cancellations will be reimbursed as follows;
More than a month prior - in full with deductions for costs incurred.
A month prior - 50% of total money deposited
Three weeks prior - 25% of total money deposited
Two weeks or less prior - No reimbursement.

Changeover Day:
Saturday preferred but we will do our best to accommodate other days, please ask for details. Arrival time is 4pm, departure is 10am, but this can be flexible in quieter periods - please check on booking.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 07-Sep-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • villa


  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool


  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea


  • bay
  • caves
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • golf
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Floor Area

  • 100 m²


  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 3 - Shower Enclosure
  • Ensuite bathroom to Bedroom 1 with shower, basin and wc. Second bathroom with shower, basin and wc. Third bathroom with shower, basin and wc.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with twin beds and small ensuite shower room. Bedroom 2 with double bed directly opposite another small shower room. Bedroom 3 with twin beds on the lower level of the villa, with separate shower room


  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: Casa Romantica is a comfortable holiday villa, offering fabulous panoramic views of the Mediterranean and the beautiful town of Salobrena. Access is via a flight of steps from the front gate. All bedrooms are to the front and have there own access to the terrace area via sliding doors offering fantastic views to wake up to. From the lounge there are patio doors which lead out onto the lovely terrace with mature planting which offers privacy for relaxing by the large 9m x 6m private pool - the views from here are simply breathtaking ! A brick built barbecue, outside shower, shaded dining area and loungers complete this special outside space. Note - the pool is 2m deep for the entire length. There is a shallower area where the steps are situated, but its great for those wanting a proper swim ! To complete all of your holiday requirements, there are golf clubs and tennis equipment for those wanting to be a little more energetic ! Outside: The property has a lovely main terrace surrounding the substantial (9m x 6m) private pool. The pool is 2m deep throughout so great for a proper swim and the steps into the pool provide a nice platform for just cooling off without swimming. There is a shaded terrace with dining table and chairs, and a further small table outside of the kitchen for dining whilst enjoying the views. Loungers are provided for those wanting to soak up the sun. The garden area is mainly laid to gravel with mature planting, offering privacy to guests. Utility Room: Small utility room containing washing machine, ironing board and iron, laundry airers on lower level of villa. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen and towels are supplied, including pool towels. Villa is cleaned prior to arrival. Additional cleaning and laundry services can be provided on request for a small fee.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot