OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Bright And Airy Mid-Terrace House Near The Centre Of St Davids



Updated: 20-Oct-2016
Cottage in St. Davids, Pembrokeshire, Wales

The cottage is located only 4 minutes walk from the centre of St Davids and the shops, pubs and restaurants and local bus stop for Haverfordwest and Fishguard. The newly opened Goat Street Gallery and Steve Robinson Glass Studio are both in the same street as Poppy Cottage. A free parking permit is provided for the nearby public car park as well as free Wi-Fi service. 10 minutes walk away is Oriel y Parc Gallery and Visitor Centre includes a Visitor Centre, Artist in Residence Studio,a Discovery Room which hosts family friendly art and nature activities,a Tower which hosts local arts exhibitions and community run classes, and a café. There is also a Class A Landscape Gallery, which often features the work of Graham Sutherland,who bequeathed a body of his artwork to Pembrokeshire.

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Born and bred in Wales, I am the daughter of a country doctor who had a deep knowledge and understanding of the countryside. As a child I used to accompany him on his visits, and was encouraged from an early age to appreciate and enjoy the countryside and rural life.

Before I moved to west Wales I lived in Monmouthshire, running my own tourism business from a Grade 1 listed mediaeval home which I had restored over 20 years.

I founded and continue to organise the annual unique and whacky award-winning Really Wild Food & Countryside Festival, now in its 10th year. I am passionate about promoting local and wild foraged foods.

I also run a foraging business taking out groups or individuals.

Call Manager
Speaks English

6 Reviews

based on 6 holidaymaker reviews


Charming comfortable cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic fortnight at Poppy Cottage. It is very comfortable and spacious (we are a family of 4). It is ideal for exploring St Davids and the surrounding area. The coastal path is easy to reach from the house and St Davids itself has lots to offer. The cottage is kept to a high standard, with lovely furnishings and a well stocked kitchen, with everything you need for a self catering holiday. The garden is a lovely sun trap - overall a great place to stay!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Poppy Cottage and thank you for doing a review unprompted. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed yor holiday and hope that you will return some time. We have just created a facebook page so if you have time it would be gfreat if you would like us and review us on there. Very Best Wishes, Aud x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely cottage which has been thoughtfully furnished. We were very comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

We spent a great week walking on local costal paths. Pembrokeshire is beautiful and we enjoyed some very good weather. Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Poppy Cottage is a lovely property, perfectly located in the heart of St David's with lots of fabulous walks on the doorstep. Audrey was really helpful with the booking, and a minor issue on arrival was sorted quickly and easily. Excellent service. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We booked a short break here at quite short notice. Audrey, the manager was hugely helpful in sorting out our stay ( I suspect I was a bit of a pain, but she was invariably lovely.)

The cottage itself was spotlessly clean, furnished to a high standard and really cosy, in spite of the onset of Storm Imogen. We had let the housekeeper know that we would be arriving late on our first evening, and she had thoughtfully left the hall light on for us.

There are good walks right from the front door, and the bag of towels to dry off your dog in the hallway was a great idea. There is so much to see in St Davids and the surrounding area, even out of season that we were never at a loss for something to do. The cathedral is stunning, and the choral evensong is worth hearing even if you are not religious.

The Grove Hotel does exceptional food, and is very reasonable- and dog friendly!

All in all, we had a great stay, would definitely book this cottage again, and have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very disappointing.

  • 2 of 5

Not a happy experience and would not recommend anyone to stay here. Lots of problems in kitchen inc mould on crockery, used foil in oven, crumbs in food cupboard and more. Wi-Fi weak too. Otherwise OK but nothing special.

Lovely city and area. Great walks. Coastal scenery fantastic. The Shed at Porthgain well worth a visit and The Sloop nearby is a good pub . The Cathedral is amazing.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that this guest had an unhappy experience and we were very disappointed to hear this. It is true that there was some used foil left in the oven and this was due to a stand in cleaner on that day who was unfamiliar with our cleaning procedures and forgot to check the oven. They made no attempt to contact the housekeeper or owner who were available and had they been alerted to the issues during their stay would have taken action to apologize and remove the offending foil and clean the dish it was protecting. However, we fully accept that we missed this and we apologized and refunded the guest £50. As for mould on crockery the complaint never mentioned mould, which we would dispute, but instead said much of the crockery was chipped, which is incorrect. The cupboards were cleaned, but we can't honestly say whether crumbs were missed. Our usual standard is very high and supported by our glowing references and returning customers. We are disappointed to receive a review like this - a first - but we honestly do not think it is justified.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St David's

Short break

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful cottage all amenities catered for brilliant location although we have stayed in St David's many times as my husband lived their as a child it is the first time we have used this cottage highly recommended will definitely be going back

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Ferry : Fishguard at 12 Miles Nearest Train : Haverfordwest at 15 Miles Nearest Beach : Whitesands at 2 Miles

Special interest holidays:

The cottage owner offers foraging walks & courses through the lanes around St Davids and on local beaches.


Beaches In North Pembrokeshire

Aberbach (St.Nicholas)

Aberbach is a small pebble beach but at low tide golden sand is revealed....


Pebbles and extraordinarily dark sand made of pounded grey slate form this rural beach....

Aberfelin / Trefin A small low-tide sand and shingle beach near Trefin....

Abermawr is a remote rural beach with a pebble bank, backed by earthed cliffs....


Overlooked by the imposing craggy hill of Carn Llidi, this wide expanse of fine white san


Cardiff International Airport is 2 hours away by car and the Fishguard Ferry Terminal to Ireland (Rosslare) is 30 minutes drive from St Davids

Further Details:

St Davids has several cafes/restaurants/pubs/galleries as well as local shops and a supermarket. There are 2 banks as well as a doctors and dentists surgery.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 1
17 Oct 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Rate 12
30 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Rate 3
6 Jan 2017 - 3 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Rate 4
4 Feb 2017 - 3 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Rate 5
4 Mar 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

Booking Notes:
Full online booking details are available on the cottage website.

Changeover Day:
Booking is from Saturday to Saturday. Unless alternative arrangement have been agreed, guests are asked to leave by 10am and arrival is after 3pm

Notes on prices:
Short breaks are available during certain times of the year. Please refer to website - poppy cottage or contact Audrey on 07547 155262 for a quote.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 20-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • cottage


  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • near the sea
  • rural
  • town


  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • The bathroom has w/c with bath/shower over and heated towel radiator.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 1 Double bedroom and 1 twin room.


  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Outside: The small enclosed garden has a BBQ and alfresco dining area and its Grade 1 listed garden wall is part of the medieval city boundary which overlooks the Cathedral Valley. On sunny evenings guests can it outside enjoying a drink and listening to nothing more than the Cathedral bells or birdsong. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen is provided and the property is cleaned every week. Guests are expected to bring their own towels.Cot & High Chair Available on request. A log Starter pack is provided in winter

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot