OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

2 Stippy Stappy - A Two Bedroom Stone Cottage With A Modern Cosy Interior

Overview

Property

Updated: 27-Nov-2016
Cottage in St Agnes, Cornwall, England - Quiet Central Location, Close To Popular Amenities And Only 5 Minutes Walk To Beautiful Beach

No. 2 Stippy Stappy is a traditional stone cottage with a newly modernised interior, attractive enclosed garden and modern amenities. The Stippy Stappy is a historical row of nine famous Grade II Listed 18th century cottages in the heart of St Agnes heading down a wooded valley. No. 2 is well positioned near the top of Stippy Stappy placing it close to all the town's popular amenities including the independent shops and award winning places to eat. Parking is available close by on the roadside. Accommodation is beautifully furnished and full of character with many of it's original features remaining. It comprises of a good sized dual aspect living room equipped with new modern furniture and technology with eating area for four. Also available is free fast WiFi, and complimentary games, books and DVD's. The kitchen is modern and well equipped. The entrance hall with stairs leads to two upstairs bedrooms and a large modern family bathroom. Beds are made up for arrival. All linen / bath towels provided (please bring cot sheets). We are happy to offer short breaks at certain times of the year - please enquire.

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Sarah and Steven live in Suffolk with their five children. They both have happy memories of Cornish family holidays as children and first came to St Agnes with their own children over 15 years ago. The family fell in love with St Agnes (so much so our whippet is named Aggie) and returned a number of times each year. Eventually we were lucky enough to be able to get our own place here. We walked past this house for many years - even taking a photo before it became for sale! Sarah is a midwife and Steven is a designer. Eventually we hope to make Stippy Stappy our permanent home. In the meantime we hope if you stay at Stippy Stappy it adds to some wonderful memories for you.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

'A home from home!' We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in 2 Stippy Stappy - beautifully decorated and furnished. Very comfortable. Lovely bathroom. The added extras were very much appreciated... the books, DVDs and games were enjoyed by us all. Fabulous location too. Thank you.

Family from Essex - October 2013



What a beautiful cottage and garden and what a fabulous location in such a historic part of St Agnes. Great place for walking the coast and exploring Cornwall! Very comfortable cottage, beautifully decorated. Thank you.

Couple from North Yorkshire - November 2013



Picturesque Cornish Beauty, home from home, Dec 2013.

After a few hours thawing out on the couch this December we decided that No. 2 could well be credited with introducing the concept of the boutique self-catering holiday. All eventualities seemed to be catered for.



Please see separate section for reviews on owners direct. 5 star for every review so far as of August 2014.
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 1

23 Reviews

5
based on 23 holidaymaker reviews

5

Wonderful second stay

  • 5 of 5

When we decided to return to St Agnes there was nowhere else to stay but 2 Stippy Stappy, Beautifully presented, brilliantly equipped and perfect location. Must visits are The Taphouse just down the road for excellent food, The Sorting Office in central St Agnes for the best coffees and hot chocolates, and The Blue Bar at Porthtowan for wonderful views. 2 Stippy Stappy is a real treat that needs to be kept a secret!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

beautiful cottage in beautiful village

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 3 nights. Beautiful cottage. Spacious. Clean. Very well equipped. Comfortable beds. Close to beach. Good local amenities. I would definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply lovely

  • 5 of 5

We have had the most wonderful time. The cottage is beautifully presented, warm, comfortable and very thoughtfully equipped for ease of living.

Well positioned… It couldn't be better positioned. Up the hill to the centre of St Agnes where there are great places to eat and drink and generally shop. Then down the hill to a wonderful beach (where there are also places to eat and drink.) I couldn't rate this lovely cottage more highly. Thank you so much Sarah and Steven.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay. We are glad you had a lovely time. We hope to welcome you to stay again in the future :-) Best Wishes Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at this very quaint cottage, the perfect size for the three of us. In a central location in this lovely village, a great place for site seeing. We visited the Minack Theatre, St Michaels Mount and Lands End. Some excellent places to eat all within walking distance. Unfortunately we couldn't park near the cottage and had to use the main car park but it's only a short walk away. Very good communication with the owners when booking. Would recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and great suggestions of places to visit from the cottage. I hope the fact it was Whitsun week and the village was busy with all its holiday celebrations did not interfere with your stay. The annual Victorian Fayre is very popular and results in the central road through the village being closed for one day. I'm glad you found alternative parking easily. You were wise going to the South West for this week as I believe you had sunny weather. It was freezing in the East of England and I thought of you with envy several times during the week. Really pleased you had a good stay. Thank you again for choosing to have your holiday at 2 Stippy Stappy and for taking the time to write an online review - we really appreciate it. Best Wishes Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

This lovely cottage totally lived up to our expectations. It is tastefully decorated to very high standard, beautifully clean and comfortable and ideally located for the little individual shops in St Agnes (who could resist popping into the wonderful Bakery!) and for a lovely stroll down to Trevaunance Cove. We also walked to Chapel Porth taking in the amazing coastline and tin mine of Wheal Coates, treating ourselves to a hedgehog ice-cream at the little cafe! It was a privilege to stay in this iconic property and would love to return.

  • Review Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

Stippy Stappy is nothing short of wonderful. Located in the heart of the lovely St Agnes, we couldn't have hoped for a more beautiful and tranquil holiday. Thoughtful decoration makes it appealing to adults, whilst being practical for children. Excellent facilities and possibly the most comfortable beds I've ever experienced, we didn't want to leave! I cannot recommend this cottage enough. We definitely want to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

We love St Agnes because of the friendliness of the strong community, the amazing landscape and beaches and the independent spirit of the place. There's great places to eat and great places to walk. Our favourite is walking Aggie the whippet from Chapel Porth beach to Porthtowan beach at low tide, having a cheeky beer and walking back before the tide comes back in. There's something great to do in St Agnes whatever the season. In summer there's the beaches, but also out of season the walking, surfing and atmosphere is wonderful. So No 2 Stippy Stappy is perfect for an all year round break. It has the best of both worlds, close to all the great amenities of the village, but in a very quiet spot.

Activity and Interests

Coast/Beach:

No. 2 Stippy Stappy is just a 5 minute walk to Trevaunance Cove, a large sandy beach at the foot of St. Agnes. Perfect for families, it’s great for rock-pools, surfing, and an evening drink as the sun goes down. The beautiful National Trust beach at Chapel Porth is only 2 miles away. At low tide you can walk from Chapel to Porthtowan beach. Perranporth beach (3.5miles) is huge and family/surfer friendly, Godrevy point (13 miles) is home to seal colonys where dolphins/porpoises are often seen.

Travel:

Newquay airport 35 minutes by car. Truro is 15 minutes by car and has a main line train station.

Distances:

Perranporth 4.5 miles, Truro 9 miles, Newquay 12 miles, St Ives 16 miles, Falmouth 13 miles, Gardens of Heligan and Eden project 20 miles, Lands End 28 miles.

Further Details:

We believe Aggie has everything. It's one of the most wonderful and vibrant communities in Cornwall.

An unspoilt spot on the North Cornish coast within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a World Heritage Site. It’s home to some of the most beautiful beaches in Cornwall and it’s got access to some stunning coast paths and walks. The town is full of independent shops, businesses and great places to eat.

No. 2 Stippy Stappy's location means you can enjoy the best food and drink St Agnes has to offer without needing to get in your car. Here’s a selection of our local favourites:

No. 4 Peterville is an award winning bistro serving seasonal and local food.

The Taphouse is lively and serves good food seven days a week.

Genki is a lovely little beach hut with a license to chill less than 5 minutes away. Smoothies, cakes, paninis, fresh salads, tapas and beer and wine are all available and the best barista coffee in St Agnes.

Driftwood Spars has open fires and stunning ale from their own award winning microbrewery just yards from Trevaunance Cove.

Schooners Bistro is a relaxed and informal cafe and restaurant with the best view over Trevaunance Cove.

The St. Agnes Hotel is family run 17th century restaurant just a few yards away.

Taste - guests rate highly!

St Agnes Bakery has been baking fresh bread and pasties in the village since 1905.

Cornish Pizza Company does gourmet pizzas with locally sourced toppings.

Traditional fish and chips from Fission Chips or gourmet fish and chips from Lewsey Lou's.

Self catering is simple as there’s loads of local shops to cater for what ever you need within 100m with some open until 10.30pm daily. There's the excellent Churchtown Fruit and Veg, butchers, Boots and newsagent. There is a Sainsburys, Tesco and Morrisons all within 5 miles.

If you fancy a surf lesson there’s more space to learn and enjoy surfing the beaches around here than heading up the coast to Newquay.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Winter
19 Nov 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
£420
 
 
Early Christmas
17 Dec 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£680
for 7 nights
£680
 
 
Christmas/New Year
24 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£765
for 7 nights
£765
 
 
winter
7 Jan 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£365
 
 
feb half term
11 Feb 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
winter
18 Feb 2017 - 17 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£315
for 3 nights
From
£105
£470
 
 
late winter
18 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£345
for 3 nights
From
£115
£500
 
 
easter
1 Apr 2017 - 14 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
late easter
15 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£690
for 7 nights
£690
 
 
late april
22 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
late spring
6 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£725
for 7 nights
£725
 
 
whitsun
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£765
for 7 nights
£765
 
 
summer
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£760
for 7 nights
£760
 
 
mid summer
1 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£830
for 7 nights
£830
 
 
summer
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
high summer
22 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 7 nights
£1,050
 
 
late summer
26 Aug 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£830
for 7 nights
£830
 
 
late summer
9 Sep 2017 - 22 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£725
for 7 nights
£725
 
 
end sep
23 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£690
for 7 nights
£690
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A 30% deposit is required to secure a reservation by bank transfer or cheque. Payment of the balance is required 6 weeks before your holiday begins or payment for the holiday in full if reservation is made within 6 weeks.

Booking terms will be supplied in full - please contact the owner.

Changeover Day:
During high season changeover day is Saturday. Other times of year this may is flexible - please call to discuss your requirements.

Normal arrival time is 4pm and departure time is 10am. There may be some flexibility if prior notice is given.

Notes on prices:
Our prices are for 7 night stays and include all electricity. During the high season we can only take bookings for a minimum of 7 nights. Out of season please contact us for short break prices (minimum of 3 nights).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: 27-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

The Stippy Stappy is a historic landmark in St Agnes. Being part of such an interesting landmark makes staying at No 2 more enjoyable. Sitting out the front with a cup of tea or a glass of wine watching the world go by is very relaxing. Just head out of the door, down the Stippy Stappy and along Quay Road and you're at a wonderful beach. Within a two minute walk you have the pick of some of the best places to eat in this part of North Cornwall. We've made the interior of Stippy Stappy modern and convenient for families whilst retaining all it's historic charm. We supply all towels (apart from beach towels), bed linen and cleaning stuff so you don't have to think about that.

Property Type

  • cottage

General

  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Television

Suitability

  • children welcome

Location Type

  • beach
  • village

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Large modern bathroom with separate electric shower and bath. Large airing cupboard for drying and airing. Bath and hand towels for 4 people provided (please bring beach towels). Handwashing soap provided.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 + cot (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom sleeps two in double bed with two built in double wardrobes and dressing table. Second bedroom sleeps two in two single beds with a built in wardrobe. Duvets/linen provided and made up for arrival. Cot available (please bring cot sheets)

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Outside: Well maintained enclosed private garden with patio at rear of property that is safe for children with lovely views down the wooded valley and terrace. The rear garden gets the full sun in summer until 8pm. Garden furniture for four people and kettle BBQ provided. The front of the property has a small garden with a bistro table and two chairs, plus a bench. The front garden gets the summer sun all day and is the perfect place for a cup of tea/glass of wine. Parking - a small number of free parking spaces are available on the road directly outside the cottage, and space to unload luggage etc. Otherwise ample free road parking is available on a residential street less than 100 yards away. Free large car park within centre of village is another option. Spaces outside the house often used by people to pop into bakery, so become available quickly! Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen with bath and hand towel provided (beds made). Dishwasher tablets, washing powder, dishcloths and soap provided. Complimentary milk, biscuits and flowers on arrival. Please bring your own towels for the beach. Other: BBQ / outside furniture available.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot