OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Romantic Cottage Near Whitby, North Yorkshire Moors And Coast, England, Uk



Updated: 08-Oct-2016
Cottage in Whitby, North Yorkshire Moors, Yorkshire, England - Quiet Location, Just 4 Miles From Whitby And On The Edge Of The North Yorks Moors

This cosy cottage offers the perfect romantic retreat. The cottage has an open fireplace, exposed beams, comfortable and vintage furnishings and beautiful art and crafts, giving the overall feel of stylish country cottage. Hideaway is also has a well equipped kitchen as well as other modern features such as an LCD TV, DVD player and MP3 speakers. The attractive and award winning fishing town of Whitby with it's shops, restaurants and other attractions is just 4 miles away and the cottage is close to Sleights, a picturesque village with pubs, general store, butcher/ deli, post office, fish and chip restaurant and tea room. Popular villages such as Robin Hood's Bay, Goathland and Grosmont are just a short drive away. The North Yorkshire Moors and coast offer a stunning location for a holiday or short break. Cobbled fishing villages, golden beaches, traditional pubs, stylish restaurants, cosy tea rooms and a wide range of independent retailers make this area a real treat to visit. Please note: we do not allow dogs or other pets.

  • Sleeps 2
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Garden
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We are Sarah & Dominic a professional couple with our own design and marketing business. We live in a village in the North East of England with our little boy. We love interiors, design and food and drink and we feel this is reflected in the offering at Hideaway, a stylish and well equipped cottage especially created with couples in mind!

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

"A cottage so perfect we wanted to fold it up and take it away with us."

"You have put your heart and soul into this place and it shows."

"A beautiful, cosy and comfortable cottage in an outstandingly beautiful location."
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 1

13 Reviews

based on 13 holidaymaker reviews


Cosy little hideaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a very enjoyable stay in this lovely cottage. A lot of thought has gone into it and there are lots of little extras like candles, paper napkins etc that you don't usually get. We loved the real fire and the bedroom is really charming with cute cushions and furnishing. The cottage was very clean and well looked after. We enjoyed the welcome info and suggestions for places to visit and eat. The area is lovely and we did lots of walking and lots of relaxing back at the cottage. We will definitely come back as its one of the nicest cottages we have rented and we would like to explore the area further.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there and think you very much for your kind review, especially when you'd already emailed to say thank you! We are so pleased you liked the cottage and enjoyed the area too! Please do come back soon. Very best wishes to you both.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely little cottage

  • 3 of 5

As we arrived and were looking for the cottage address we got a bit lost and were given poor directions by locals but eventually found the property, we found that we were originally in the right road but noticed the road sign is covered by overgrown bushes/foliage (by the fish and chip restaurant), the cottage is lovely in a pleasant location with a lot of nearby places to eat and visit. It is laid out well but we were disappointed with the general cleanliness of the cottage for example the bath mat was dirty and full of hair and there was a lot of long hair on the floor , carpet and bedding and the kitchen utensil drawer was dirty, we also thought that a hand towel each may have been useful, overall we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there, we are pleased that overall your stay was enjoyable and that you found the cottage comfortable and liked the area, it is a very beautiful part of the world. We visited ourselves recently and didn't find anything amiss but I have contacted the cleaner as soon as I got this info and asked her cleaner to assess the vacumn cleaner. We cleaned and changed the filter in early October so it should have been picking up well but perhaps there is now a blockage? I have also asked her to look at the drawer you mentioned too. We did take down new scissors which we put in the drawer and I must say I didn't notice the drawer not being clean but I'm sure that can easily be rectified! Thanks again for your stay and we hope that you do return. Very best wishes to you both
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cosy countryside retreat

  • 5 of 5

Cosy cottage in lovely rural location. Ideal location to get away from it all. The bustling town of Whitby just 4 miles away with picturesque bays and scenery close by. Runswick bay,Staithes and Robin Hoods Bay are particularly stunning. Owner particularly friendly and helpful. We mixed up our leaving date and she came to our rescue with outstanding customer service. Particularly good butchers/deli in the village and a very promising new restraunt in Whitby called The Edge. Well worth a visit.Enjoyed a lovely restful week.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so pleased to have had you as guests and to have been able to sort out your little miscalculation, it was no problem at all. We hope you visit us and North Yorkshire again some day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was an ideal base for exploring the Whitby area. It was clean and comfortable with everything needed supplied. One week was not enough to explore as there was so much to do and so many walks, restaurants, pubs etc. Good value property.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you so much for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We agree, the area is fantastic and it's very hard to fit it all in! Perhaps you will have to return! Very best wishes from us both and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

lovely cottage, very nice style and homely. we might suggest a few improvements for future stays, such as kitchen roll, more toilet rolls and liquid soap in the bathroom. The instructions were amazing and very comprehensive thank you. we were a little disappointed that there was not a microwave but we soon got over that one. the property was definitely not cleaned to a standard that we would have expected and the towels smelt fusty so we used our own that we brought for swimming and washed the guest towels provided. overall a lovely getaway and the area is amazing, we walked into whitby one day but drove other times as the roads are a bit dodgy!!!

thanks to you both and we would return in the future.

Sarah and Karla

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Sarah and Karla, thank you for your feedback and I'm glad that overall you like the cottage and the area and that you appreciated the instructions and found them useful. We are visiting ourselves this weekend and looking forward to our visit too. The reason for the lack of microwave is that as you will appreciate there simply isn't room for one - as anyone looking at the photos on the page will see. I suppose it's personal preference, we don't use one ourselves at home and just couldn't see how to fit one in without compromising food preparation space. There are two loo rolls left for each set of guests and also a kitchen roll in the kitchen cupboard. perhaps you didn't find this so I apologise. We do provide lots of extras like washing up liquid, cloths and sponges, foil, clingfilm, sandwich bags, toiletries, cleaning materials, tea lights, firelighters, tissues etc and a box of useful items like sewing kit, aspirin, plasters etc as well as DVDs, games, books, additional pillows, an alternate weight of duvet etc and like to think that in comparison to a lot of cottages that we provide a lot of little extras that you don't find elsewhere - we once booked a very expensive cottage through the National Trust which had NO loo roll and nothing at all to assist with washing up, not even a tea towel! We do provide a liquid soap dispenser in the kitchen which no doubt you found and also a fresh wrapped tablet of soap for bathroom use. We did use have an arran aromatics soap dispenser bottle in the bathroom but unfortunately people kept taking them home with them - they regularly disappeared! I can't really comment on the towels as naturally i wasn't there to see/ smell except to say that we have never received a complaint about the towels before, they are replenished for each customer and are stored in an airing cupboard so not in a situation where they would be exposed to a fusty atmosphere. But I will certainly bring this to the cleaner's attention as I agree that this wouldn't be an ideal situation. I hope that you do return and I hope you don't see this response as in any way defensive. It's simply that these reviews are public and do I am sure impact on whether we receive bookings or not. Naturally as this is a business for us I wanted to take the opportunity to respond and present a different point of view. Very best wishes to you both and thanks again for your custom.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay at Hideaway cottage, lovely area, walks and proximity to Whitby.

Very handy to park in Sleights and catch bus to Whitby. Sleights has excellent shops and

also enjoyed Ruswarp. Will definitely return soon

  • Review Submitted: May 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you very much for your feedback it is certainly appreciated! we hope you choose to stay with us in the future and would be delighted to welcome you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


From the Owner

Sarah spent many a happy family holiday in the area as a child. We do think the areas offers something for everyone. Serious walkers and bikers will find spectacular scenery and a varied terrain to enjoy whilst foodies will find so many wonderful places to eat and drink. The shopping in all of the beautiful independent stores and boutiques is wonderful. Whitby itself is fantastic but to stay there it can be rather busy and crowded at times. We think Iburndale where the cottage is located, on the edge of Sleights with its amenities offers a really good alternative, close to attractions and amenities but in a peaceful and tranquil rural setting.

Activity and Interests


A three mile drive to the sea.

Further Details:

We do not accept dogs or other pets.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
3 Sep 2016 - 4 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
5 Nov 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas & NY
17 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Bookings can be made by email or phone. We accept online & bank payments and where necessary cheques. Guests can pay the full amount at the time of booking or may prefer to pay 50% as a deposit with the remainder due 8 weeks before the stay. Bookings taken within 8 weeks of the stay must be paid in full.

Changeover Day:
Our breaks run either Saturday to Saturday for a week booking, or Friday - Monday for a weekend break and Monday to Friday for a midweek break. This can be flexible depending on availability. We have a minimum 3 night stay unless at short notice.

Notes on prices:
The cottage is available from £250 - £495 for a week. A minimum of 3 nights short breaks are available from October - March inclusive and at other times subject to availability. The cost per night is £80.

Cancellations: we offer a 100% return of fee if the cancellation takes place 8 weeks before your stay, Cancellations closer to the time will only be refunded once a new booking is secured at which point your booking fee will be returned - we reserve the right to charge an admin fee of £20 if necessary.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 08-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

This is a small but perfectly formed cottage! We have had many honeymooners, mini mooners, special anniversaries and the odd marriage proposal! We have put some really lovely features into the place, original art and crafts, handmade little touches and special and thoughtful extras such as Arran Aromatic toiletries as well as the more practical items like napkins, tea lights, fire-lighters (and matches!), washing up liquid and hand soap that many other cottages leave out. If you are an urbanite you won't believe how quiet the cottage is, especially at night, with the sound of the nearby beck and the odd owl to sooth you to sleep!

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Away From It All
  • Romantic


  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Television


  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • village


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Beautiful bathroom with travertine tiling, electric shower, heated towel rail and stylish white suite including a double ended bath, perfect for sharing! Complimentary Arran Aromatic toiletries are included as are plenty of fluffy towels and tea lights.


  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: In the eaves of the cottage this tranquil and elegant room benefits from lots of natural light by day and subtle mood lighting by night. Comfortable bed, romantic chandelier, stylish linens and décor by designers such as Laura Ashley and Cath Kidston.


  • Terrace
  • Garden


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: The cottage has an open fire plus a combination of storage heaters and integrated fan heaters to ensure a cosy environment. Coal and fire-lighters are included. PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept dogs or other pets. Outside: The cottage has an outside seating area and patio garden, perfect for sitting out in warmer weather with a glass of wine and a good book. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and bed linen are included. All guests will be supplied with two large bath sheets, two smaller towels suitable for hair etc., a hand towel and two tea towels.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot