OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cosy cottage near Whitby, North Yorkshire Moors & Coast

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Whitby, North Yorkshire Moors, Yorkshire, England - Quiet Location, Just 4 Miles From Whitby And On The Edge Of The North Yorks Moors

This popular and cosy cottage offers the perfect romantic retreat. The cottage has an open fireplace, exposed beams, comfortable and vintage furnishings and beautiful art and crafts. Hideaway also has a well equipped kitchen as well as other features such as an LCD TV, DVD player and MP3 speakers. We have rented the cottage as a holiday let for 10 years and have had many satisfied guests and many repeat visits. The attractive and award winning fishing town of Whitby with it's shops, restaurants and other attractions is just 4 miles away and the cottage is close to Sleights, a picturesque village with pubs, general store, butcher/ deli, post office, fish and chip restaurant and tea room. Popular villages such as Robin Hood's Bay, Goathland and Grosmont are just a short drive away. The North Yorkshire Moors and coast offer a stunning location for a holiday or short break. Cobbled fishing villages, golden beaches, traditional pubs, stylish restaurants, cosy tea rooms and a wide range of independent retailers make this area a real treat to visit. Please note: we do not allow dogs or other pets.


Owner
Sarah Raad
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
17 May, 2018

About Sarah Raad

We are Sarah & Dominic a professional couple with our own design and marketing business. We live in a village in the North East of England with our little boy. We love interiors, design and food and drink and we feel this is reflected in the offering at Hideaway, a stylish and well equipped cottage especially created with couples in mind!

Sarah Raad purchased this cottage in 1997

Why Sarah Raad chose Sleights

Sarah spent many a happy family holiday in the area as a child. We do think the areas offers something for everyone. Serious walkers and bikers will find spectacular scenery and a varied terrain to enjoy whilst foodies will find so many wonderful places to eat and drink. The shopping in all of the beautiful independent stores and boutiques is wonderful. Whitby itself is fantastic but to stay there it can be rather busy and crowded at times. We think Iburndale where the cottage is located, on the edge of Sleights with its amenities offers a really good alternative, close to attractions and amenities but in a peaceful and tranquil rural setting.

What makes this cottage unique

This is a small but perfectly formed cottage! We have had many honeymooners, mini mooners, special anniversaries and the odd marriage proposal! We have put some really lovely features into the place, original art and crafts and handmade little touches as well as the more practical items like napkins, tea lights, fire-lighters (and matches!), washing up liquid and hand soap that many other cottages leave out.

If you are an urbanite you won't believe how quiet the cottage is, especially at night, with the sound of the nearby beck and the odd owl to sooth you to sleep!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a lovely time at your cottage, we loved the big sofa and found the bed to be very comfortable. It was a lovely place to relax after our day spent walking and exploring the area. it is well equipped, clean and cosy. We recommend The Plough in Sleights for simple tasty pub food and also Staithes is well worth a visit.
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Sleights in Eskdaleside cum Ugglebarnby

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • Beautiful bathroom with travertine tiling, electric shower, heated towel rail and stylish white suite including a double ended bath, perfect for sharing! Complimentary Arran Aromatic toiletries are included as are plenty of fluffy towels and tea lights.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: In the eaves of the cottage this tranquil and elegant room benefits from lots of natural light by day and subtle mood lighting by night. Comfortable bed, romantic chandelier, stylish linens and décor by designers such as Laura Ashley and Cath Kidston.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The cottage has an open fire plus a combination of storage heaters and integrated fan heaters to ensure a cosy environment. Coal and fire-lighters are included. PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept dogs or other pets. Outside: The cottage has an outside seating area and patio garden, perfect for sitting out in warmer weather with a glass of wine and a good book. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and bed linen are included. All guests will be supplied with two large bath sheets, two smaller towels suitable for hair etc., a hand towel and two tea towels.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
18% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Cosy cottage near Whitby, North Yorkshire Moors & Coast
average rating of 4.4074073 based on 29 reviews
5

Excellent cosy cottage.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our 3 night break in this lovely cosy cottage, everything you need is there to make you feel at home. The night's were most enjoyable beside the coal fire. The cottage is a short trip into Whitby and the North Yorkshire Railway at Grosmont.

It was nice to live the village life away from the busy pace of life in towns and cities.

  • Review Submitted: 14-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Tasteful in lovely area

  • 4 of 5

Stayed from 30th March to 2nd April 2018, cottage had all we needed and was a dry haven after days in the rain. The pictures are exactly as the cottage looks, very tastefully decorated. Once we bought matches and got fire going did help to warm things up, and there was a spar very close selling coal and kindling so that was also not problem, there was some in the cottage on arrival too. There was a hot water bottle which was put to good use. The owner kept in touch, and was very friendly. We did spend evenings in, and tried the fish and chips at the top of the hill which were really good. Would only say the cottage could have been warmer, so take an extra jumper, and some matches! my husband was fine - I feel the cold more!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you Hazel! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked out little cottage. you do definitely need the fire on cold days like the ones we have had recently! thank you for your kind review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Sadly disappointing for us.

  • 2 of 5

The cottage was cold and felt drab and uninviting on our arrival after a 3 hour drive in the December dark and it felt like it needed a thorough clean. No firelighters had been supplied so we could not start a fire and the storage heaters were inadequate, we kept our coats on and then went to bed. The following morning at 8.45am we were disturbed by hammering on the front door, a neighbour told us in a very rude manner to move our car, this made us feel extremely unwelcome. We decided at that point to go home instead of staying for the two further nights, for us it was not the cosy 'romantic hideaway' that was described, a shame for our first wedding anniversary.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly I hope that prospective guests reading this might be comforted by the fact that a guest who reviewed a stay they enjoyed a mere week before yours found none of the drabness that you did (see the recent review from David R who also stayed in November) and in fact the guests that left the very day that you arrived, having had a three night break at the cottage sent us a text saying everything had been 'perfect'. My conclusion from your initial emails to us and now this review is that you seem unable to get past the small oversight of there being no fire lighters (for which I have apologized, twice) and that you took exception to the way that the neighbour spoke to you about where you parked your car. (I believe you blocked her into her drive). You said in your email that even after the fire lighters being absent and you being unable to light a fire and the perceived 'drabness' of the cottage, you were going to continue your stay. But after your run in with the owner of the adjacent cottage over your parking across her drive, you decided to leave. The fire lighter situation could have been overcome quite easily if you'd followed our advice - we do recommend in our email to guests sent before their stay that people bring kindling and newspapers to help light a fire. There are of course storage heaters in bedroom and lounge along with plinth heaters in the kitchen and a wall heater in the bathroom so you were not without heating. with regards to the altercation.We've owned the cottage for over 10 years and haven't had any other incidents reported to us and other neighbours in the hamlet that we are friendly with have not mentioned that she is an issue. Perhaps she was simply having a bad day, or perhaps no one else has ignored our very clear instructions as to where to park considerately in a small hamlet to avoid inconveniencing the neighbours? There's no excuse for rudeness as I have already expressed to you but I'm sure a lot of people would find being blocked into their own drive irritating. We are never casual about a guest being unhappy but based on your complaint, there was absolutely no need for you to leave and the cottage itself which is what we are responsible for, doesn't seem to have even been the main reason for you going home. You might find it of interest that we can also rate guests on this website but I won't stoop to being so petty. It's a pity you couldn't overcome a couple of minor set backs and enjoy your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

This cottage is fantastic. Situated in a quiet,idyllic hamlet near sleights,it's a perfect place .

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this cottage . Tastefully and thoughtfully decorated with everything that we needed. We particularly enjoyed the open fire. Everyone seems very friendly and the shops in sleights are amazing . Great butchers /deli and bakers. A lovely peaceful cottage for a couple .

  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for such a nice review Dave! The butchers IS fab isn't it! We hope you can stay again, thanks for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cosy!

  • 5 of 5

We loved it.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5

Hideaway cottage is exactly as it appears on the website - small, cosy comfortable and perfectly situated for exploring North Yorkshire. We wanted somewhere to relax, chill and recharge our batteries - this definitely did that, and more. There is a killer of a bank to get to Sleights, but well worth it, especially to go to The Plough. A friendly pub serving great food and drinks at very reasonable prices. I strongly reccommend a stay at Hideaway cottage - we will definitely be returning. Sarah you have an absolute gem, thanks for sharing it with us.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ah Lesley & Ken, that's such a lovely review, thank you! yes that bank is certainly an opportunity to work out the thighs but as you say it's worth the walk as The Plough is lovely and there are some nice places to pick up foodie treats too. We'd love to welcome you back and thanks so much for taking the time to review. Very best wishes to you both.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Coast/Beach:

A three mile drive to the sea.

Further Details:

We do not accept dogs or other pets.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Bookings can be made by email or phone. We accept online & bank payments and where necessary cheques. Guests can pay the full amount at the time of booking or may prefer to pay 50% as a deposit with the remainder due 8 weeks before the stay. Bookings taken within 8 weeks of the stay must be paid in full.

Changeover Day:
Our breaks run either Saturday to Saturday for a week booking, or Friday - Monday for a weekend break and Monday to Friday for a midweek break. This can be flexible depending on availability. We have a minimum 3 night stay unless at short notice.

Notes on prices:
The cottage is available from £250 - £495 for a week. A minimum of 3 nights short breaks are available from October - March inclusive and at other times subject to availability. The cost per night is £80.

Cancellations: we offer a 100% return of fee if the cancellation takes place 8 weeks before your stay, Cancellations closer to the time will only be refunded once a new booking is secured at which point your booking fee will be returned - we reserve the right to charge an admin fee of £20 if necessary.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable