OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cottage In Thames side village of Streatley between Oxford, Cotswolds and London



Updated: 02-Oct-2016
Cottage in Streatley, Nr. Reading, Berkshire, England - Ideally Situated For Sightseeing Being Midway Between The Cotswolds, Oxford, Henley And London

The cottage is immediately adjacent to The National Trust's The Holies, Lough Down and Lardon Chase, 67 acres of chalkland, supporting rare species of plants and butterflies. There is also an adjacent bridleway giving access to many picturesque walks including The Ridgeway National Trail and the Thames Path. The wider surrounding Chilterns is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with many picturesque villages. The Old Stables is within walking distance of public houses and restaurants including English, Chinese and Indian. Goring village has its own Railway Station and village shops, approximately 20 minutes walk away (railway station 1.45 miles), including food store/newsagent, chemist, gift shops, cafes and a bank. There are several National Trust and Country Houses within easy driving distance, with Basildon House right on our door step and within walking distance. Linden Cottage - The Old Stables is suitable for persons with limited mobility with one bedroom and wet room on the ground floor, however, the cottage is not suitable for wheelchairs. Children of all ages are welcome subject to a maximum of two under 5's. The cottage is not suitable for entertaining and guests are not permitted to host parties, meetings or gatherings. For booking information/terms please click on 'Prices & Availability', then 'View All Prices' and scroll down to 'Additional Pricing Information'.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I live on site in a neighbouring cottage with my husband, adult daughter and 2 horses (n.b. there are no dogs or cats on site). We have been established as a holiday let for 9 years, initially letting the 1 bedroom annexe to our own home. In 2013 we built a new holiday cottage in place of an old stable block. Our holiday cottage is the main focus of my attention and I take pride in presenting the cottage and grounds to a high standard. We do not let through agencies, preferring to provide a more personal service by fully managing the cottage ourselves. Once we have checked you in, we will leave you alone to get on with your holiday and you may well not see us again until check out day. However, being next door, we are always on hand if needed to assist with any queries, and taking our cue from our guests, we are always happy to chat.

Book with confidence - click on the link to our own website (below my photograph)to reveal the full postal address. We have not signed up for OD on line bookings/payments, hence, there is no service/booking fee applicable on this property. The property may be booked online via our own website. Please feel free to research our credentials.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fantastic holiday, children really loved it, lots to see and do, superb cottage, thanks.

We have enjoyed the cottage, comfortable and well placed for walking and visiting. Well worth the visit.

We have had a fabulous time in Linden Cottage. The owners are lovely and the location is ideal. We will definitely be back.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 1

11 Reviews

based on 11 holidaymaker reviews


Perfect & awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Just like home or better

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind review and I'm glad that you appreciated the facilities and home comforts. I can only return the compliment; you were the most perfect and awesome guests and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Linden Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Once again the moment we entered the front door of Linden Cottage we were greeted by the owner who takes a great deal of pride in her premises. The charming interior is decorated so exquisitely. Once again, everything we required was at our fingertips. Adore this cottage and wouldn't hesitate to make it our third return visit to our home away from home

MM, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

  • Review Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Repeat guests is the best we can ask for! I'm glad that you liked my added touches since your last visit and we hope to see you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a great find!

  • 5 of 5

We were thrilled to find this cottage close by to lots of attractions, amenities and a wedding we were attending in Henley as a family of 4 (2 under 2). The owner obviously takes great pride in the house and rightfully so. The photos don't do it justice. It is fairly compact but so thoughtfully laid out, decor is very attractive and homely. A lovely touch was the Christmas decorations including a tree - thank you! Unlike many self-catering accommodations, this was very well stocked with everything you need eg. Kitchen utensil and basic essentials. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You would be most welcome to return. I'm so glad you appreciated my added touches; it makes it all worth while and gives me great pleasure to provide what I would like to see in a holiday cottage. Hope to see you again and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful cottage in gorgeous location.

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 (2 adults and 4 children, 13,11,9 and 7) stayed for in the cottage for a week. It was simply 'home from home'. The cottage had everything we could possibly need. It had 3 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a further separate toilet and ample living space we never felt on top of each other even with 4 children running around. The cottage itself was beautifully decorated and immaculate. The cottage is situated next to some fields, our children loved watching the horse, cows and calves. The surrounding area and villages are lovely to wander into. We used the cottage as a base to visit London (train station 5 mins away), Windsor, Thorpe Park, Chessington, Coral Reef Water Park, Oxford and Reading. If we visit down south again we would look to stay here again. We would definitely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your 5* review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the children enjoyed themselves seeing the livestock too. We are glad that you were comfortable in the cottage; it is certainly larger on the inside than it appears from the outside! Your family would be very welcome to return and we hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Old Stables

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable for the two of us occupying just the ground floor accommodation of this recently constructed Eco House for almost 4 weeks between house moves. There was ample off road parking and good adjacent access to the A329 and the National Trust 'Holies' chalk hillside. We enjoyed weekend walks from the doorstep with far reaching views over the River Thames valley and Chiltern Hills, sometimes in the snow. Our constructive comments would be :- A shelf in the shower in the wet room, a couple of serving spoons and another, perhaps smaller, chopping board in the kitchen and perhaps a few more paving slabs by the front door to prevent some of the gravel coming in.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for awarding us 5 stars. We are very glad that you were comfortable here and enjoyed our lovely walks and scenery. Please accept our apologies for the absence of a wet room shower shelf; we agree it is essential. We had to remove a free standing one just before your arrival but have now sourced a more suitable hanging shower caddy. Thank you also, for the kitchen suggestions - the items are now in place in the cottage. We hope you are now settled into your temporary home and that your house purchase progresses to a positive outcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely property

  • 5 of 5

I booked this property for a business team meeting as it was fairly close to the office and we didn't want stay in a hotel. The property was lovely, the pictures do not do it justice. The accommodation was as described and I liked the fact there was a bathroom downstairs as well as upstairs and an additional separate toilet. I would mention that if you are very tall (over 6ft) you may struggle a little with the upstairs bathroom as did one of my party, but we noticed this early on and she took the downstairs bedroom/bathroom. Shops are a 15-20 min drive away, but you don't mind that when you are driving through such lovely scenery. The local pubs again a short drive away were great, as recommended by Sue the owner. There is an amazing farm shop on the way back towards the M4, fair price but such great quality. Sue was very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I would definitely use this property again for business purposes and if I lived further away as a holiday home as well.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for rating us with 5 stars. We are delighted that you considered us as alternative accommodation for your business colleagues and we are very glad that it worked well for you. There is slightly restricted head height in the first floor shower due to sloping eaves. I have measured the headroom and can confirm that it is 6'3", however, the alternative ground floor wet room is full height. The large hypermarket is about 20 minutes drive away on the motorway junction, however, there are several smaller supermarkets and a village shop for basics much closer. We have now included a full list in the cottage with opening hours and are e-mailing the list to guests prior to arrival, so that they may more easily locate the alternatives. Thank you very much for your constructive comments which will benefit futures guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

We bought the property 12 years ago mainly for its location being close to the village but also for its immediate access for walking, riding and cycling. The property is set in 4 1/2 acres and is located on the main Pangbourne to Streatley road which runs along the side of the Thames. The cottage is well set back from the road (approx. 150ft) and is extremely tranquil. The property is also well located for rail and road links to many major tourist destinations.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Heathrow at 39 Miles Nearest Barpub : The Bull Public House at 0.5 Miles Nearest Train : Goring on Thames at 1.5 Miles Nearest Restaurant : The Bull Public House at 0.5 Miles Car: recommended


Heathrow Airport - approx. 39 miles.

Car Recommended although there is a local railway station.


LEGOLAND and other theme parks approx. 1 hour driving distance.

Goring and Streatley village approx. 1 mile.

Reading and The Oracle shopping centre is 10 miles distant, Oxford 20 miles, London 54 miles (30 minutes by direct train from Reading or 1 Hour from Streatley), Junction 12 of the M4 8 miles.

Further Details:

Linden Cottage is within walking distance of The Thames and Streatley Youth Hostel (YHA), public houses and restaurants including English, Chinese and Indian. There is also shops including a chemist, post office and bank in the village.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
22 Oct 2016 - 28 Oct 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
29 Oct 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Notes on prices
Our maximum occupancy is 6 named guests, plus one infant under 2 years sleeping in a travel cot, with a maximum of 2 under 5's in the party. None of the named guests may be substituted by another individual during the period of stay.
•Heating, Electric, Bed Linen and WIFI are included in the Rental.
•Towels are not included, however, they are available for hire @ £3.00 per person for 1 bath sheet and 1 hand towel.
•Payments may be made by bank transfer, cheque, Paypal invoice (No Paypal account required but Paypal fees apply) or for currency transfers via Transferwise.
•Saturday change over day for full weekly lets between June - October. Friday, Saturday or Monday arrivals available between November - May.
•Short breaks considered between November - May (3 nights Fri-Mon or 4 nights Mon-Fri).
•Maximum rental period 31 days.
•We do not accept bookings for hen/stag celebrations.
•The ground floor may also be considered for rental separately (but with exclusive use of the cottage) from £500.00 per week for 2 persons maximum during school t/time or late availability.

Arrival Times between 3.30-6.00pm (arrivals after 6.00pm by prior arrangement).
Departure Time by 10.00am.

A deposit of £200 (the initial rental deposit) is payable at the time of booking. Confirmation of a booking is only effective when this payment has been received. The balance of the rental, as well as a £200 security deposit (to cover any damages etc), must be paid to the proprietor no later than two calendar months before the start of the rental. The security deposit will be refunded by bank transfer, Paypal or Transferwise, less any applicable deductions, within 1 week of departure

£200 rental deposit payable to secure booking. Rental balance plus £200.00 refundable security deposit due two calendar months prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Updated: 02-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

The cottage is immediately adjacent to The National Trust's The Holies, Lough Down and Lardon Chase, 67 acres of chalkland, supporting rare species of plants and butterflies. To the side of the cottage is a bridleway giving access to many picturesque walks including access to The Ridgeway National Trail and the Thames Path. There is a huge variety of places to eat out in Goring and Streatley, and the surrounding area, and there are several attractions within walking distance to suit all ages.

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television


  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • river
  • rural
  • village


  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking

Floor Area

  • 120 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, Wetroom suitable for elderly/infirm
  • Additional WC - Toilet
  • The Shower Room is an en-suite wet room to ground floor bedroom 3. First floor bathroom 1 has a sit down bath/shower (please note the head height in the shower is restricted to 6'3" due to sloping eaves).


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, 1 Child Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 comfortably, with a maximum of 2 children under 5 years in the party. All ages count towards the total occupancy and all guests must be declared regardless of how many nights each individual stays during the booking period. Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - with hair dryer, radio/alarm clock, additional black out blinds. Bedroom 2 - with additional black out blinds. Ground Floor Bedroom 3 with hair dryer, radio/alarm clock, additional black out blinds. This bedroom has an en-suite wet room.


  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: No smoking/pets. Children welcome. Highchair, Travel Cot, Baby Bath and Stair Gate available upon request. For your comfort there are also black out blinds on all bedroom windows. There is a separate Laundry Room/Cycle Store with washing machine, clothes airer, ironing board and iron. Heating, Electric & WIFI Included. Bed linen is included and changed weekly for durations of 14 nights or more. Towels are not included but are available for a small hire charge. The cottage is highly insulated and incorporates renewable technologies including under floor heating, a heat recovery system, an air source heat pump, and an exhaust air heat pump, all of which provide an extremely comfortable living environment.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot